Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join Mario and Sonic and the rest of your favorite characters as they team up and compete in events at the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 39
  2. Negative: 8 out of 39
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    70
    Mario & Sonic at the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games isn’t all that bad, but it’s not great either. The controls for a lot of the events are iffy at best, but there are events that are still enjoyable, especially the Dream Events. This is one where I’d check out the demo or rent it first to see if you like it before plunking down $50 for it.
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    Mario and Sonic 2014 certainly has its issues, but it’s definitely a step above previous titles in terms of event design and overall enjoyment. It’s a more complex and engaging than the usual minigame menagerie, and the distinct franchise twists in the Dream Events are a welcome bit of fanservice. It’s not a gold medal winner just yet, but Mario and Sonic 2014 is a stronger contender than it’s ever been before.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    65
    Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games Sochi 2014 is very similar to its predecessors, managing to entertain and persuade only party games enthusiasts.
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    60
    Mario and Sonic 2014 feels like a minor progression, and not the huge leap you might be expecting.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    55
    Liberally recycled events and poor GamePad implementation make this stylised collection of winter sports utterly mediocre.
  6. The controls are too tricky, the action too dull, and the time spent preparing and waiting to actually play is too long.
  7. 30
    The worst Mario & Sonic game yet and not just a waste of a crossover but a genuinely poor mini-game compilation, and one that makes both the Wii U and the GamePad look bad.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Mario and Sonic have returned in Russia! Although the game is quite similar to Vancouver 2010, the graphics are better and the gamepad isMario and Sonic have returned in Russia! Although the game is quite similar to Vancouver 2010, the graphics are better and the gamepad is nicely integrated into gameplay, although it lacks a certain depth that could have made the game better. Great for occupying kids for hours though. Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    I find this game very underrated. I think it is actually the best game in the Mario and Sonic series. The graphics are amazing! The dreamI find this game very underrated. I think it is actually the best game in the Mario and Sonic series. The graphics are amazing! The dream events are some of the best in the series. The gameplay is great. I think that Mario and Sonic at the Sochi 2014 is an amazing game and if you don't have it, I recommend you buy it. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    i understand that this game is the same as the other
    But i dint played mario and sonic crossover before
    so i enyojed this game. its a good
    i understand that this game is the same as the other
    But i dint played mario and sonic crossover before
    so i enyojed this game. its a good game,with a good gameplay
    and with good graphics
    Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    5
    The Olympic Games are not off to a good start for Wii U as Mario and Sonic return for another Olympic Games that they are doing.. here's theThe Olympic Games are not off to a good start for Wii U as Mario and Sonic return for another Olympic Games that they are doing.. here's the problem with game the controls were bad enough that most of the events use the Wii Remote as there were only around four events used the Wii U Gamepad to use. Disappointing title.. Well I say something positive I liked the Mario and Sonic TV Channel that you can use on the Gamepad while on the menu. Who ever thought about this needs a pat on the back Collapse
  5. Apr 12, 2015
    5
    I got this game on Christmas of 2013, I was hoping for it to be as good as the previous Mario & Sonic Olympics, but unfortunately it was aI got this game on Christmas of 2013, I was hoping for it to be as good as the previous Mario & Sonic Olympics, but unfortunately it was a giant MEH to me for being boring with unresponsive controls and extremely limited amount of events to choose, and even the online mode was weird for having very few people and always alone, this should be changed for the next installment! Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    4
    Probably the worst Mario game made for Wii U so far. After you play it for a while, it gets so boring! Just like all other Mario and SonicProbably the worst Mario game made for Wii U so far. After you play it for a while, it gets so boring! Just like all other Mario and Sonic games! but this one is probably the worst, scoring a 4 out of 10 from me. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2014
    0
    There's barely anything to do, played it twice and just returned it, worse than all the past olympic games they've come up with, why can'tThere's barely anything to do, played it twice and just returned it, worse than all the past olympic games they've come up with, why can't Mario and Sonic have an adventure game or fighting or racing game or something? This whole olympic thing is stupid now. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews