Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    All in all, those new to the franchise would be better served to pick up the Mass Effect Trilogy releases that came out at the same time and would get all 3 games for the same price. However, if you don't have access to an Xbox, PS3 or a gaming PC, this isn't the worst way to go.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    Without doubt, Mass Effect 3: Special Edition is easily one of the best offerings on the Wii U right now, but it simply cannot be stressed enough that players must seek out the two previous games in the series before playing this one.
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    The Special Edition of Mass Effect 3 is an interesting release that those gamers with only a Wii U shouldn't miss. For everyone else, the fullest experience can be had elsewhere.
  4. Dec 20, 2012
    90
    The same game as previously released on other systems, but the first two games of the series are glaringly absent from the Wii U. To make up for that, the developer included a motion comic to catch players up on the previous story. It's lacking, but what can you do?
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    It's not as special as the title suggests. But that doesn't make it any less – or more for that matter – of a brilliant game.
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    Mass Effect 3 for the Wii U is exactly the masterpiece that we experienced on the other systems, plus some welcome new GamePad features. If there were a way to import the saved games from the previous chapters, this would have been our preferred console version.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    Mass Effect is also a masterpiece on Wii U, despite the fact that Bioware did not push some of the features of the New Controller in the game as strongly as we hoped.
  8. 90
    The differences from previous versions of the game are miniscule, but Mass Effect 3 still offers a fantastic story with grand moments. A great place to start your Wii U collection.
  9. Jan 15, 2013
    89
    Still great, but the port should have had more. [Feb 2013, p.77]
  10. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Mass Effect 3 retains its powerful impact on a new platform, merging action and storytelling into an exciting and memorable adventure across the Milky Way.
  11. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    If you really, really want to play Mass Effect and simply can't get your hands on it for other consoles, the Wii U version will definitely work, and it's a fine iteration. But unless you fall into that niche, it's likely worth grabbing the games on other consoles so that you can get the full experience.
  12. Dec 3, 2012
    87
    Despite the missing Omega DLC and the frugal use of the gamepad features Mass Effect 3 conquers the Wii U with its well-known qualities as the war for survival wages on.
  13. Nov 21, 2012
    95
    Mass Effect 3 on its own is still easily one of the best games of the year – and some (like me) would argue that it's the best game in the trilogy – and that hasn't changed on Wii U. The only thing that's changed is your access to the rest of the series.
  14. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    If Mass Effect 3 Special Edition is your only shot at dipping into BioWare's universe, you may as well take it. If you've already experienced the previous games, and you don't mind missing out on importing your character, you'll find a competent port with a few novel extras.
  15. Nov 30, 2012
    88
    An interesting port for the Wii U, despite the unstable frame rate and minor flaws. Using the Wii U GamePad you can experience new ways of fighting against the Reapers. The game includes some interesting DLCs content, but not all of them. Mass Effect 3 Special Edition works fine if you didn't play the original game.
  16. Jan 9, 2013
    90
    Despite the rare occurrence of frame rate drops, and the stunted online play, Mass Effect 3: Special Edition is a love letter to video game and science fiction enthusiasts everywhere, as it does all it can to please the fans and engage newcomers to its immense and beautiful universe.
  17. Nov 30, 2012
    91
    An absolutely amazing game. The lack of sixty hours of content leading up to it does rob the story of some of its impact and many characters don't get the proper time needed to fully flesh them out, but the great writing and high stakes of the events still make the game's thirty or more hours exceptionally compelling.
  18. Dec 17, 2012
    87
    I liked Mass Effect 3 when it first released and I have to say I am liking it even more on the Wii U. Again, I think it is the graphics and the controller that do it for me.
  19. Dec 4, 2012
    90
    A great port, with some decent gamepad functionality. A pity the previous chapters aren't on Wii U though, since the legacy comic doesn't really compensate for their absence.
  20. Dec 5, 2012
    90
    As an adaptation, it's somewhere between PS3 and Xbox 360, but one way or another it's an outstanding game. However, it's quite weird playing the end of a story, no matter how many comics we find along the way.
  21. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    Mass Effect 3 on Wii U is a tough sell. The game on its own is fantastic. The shooting is solid, the narrative is great and the characters are memorable, but you are simply missing so much of the experience by not having played the previous two. In the case that you have played them on other consoles, there is no incentive to lose your save and progress to migrate to Wii U.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    This game is exactly the same as the 360/PS3 counterparts with a few exceptions. The frame rate runs smoother than the PS3 version I have but the color looks off. As in it looks good but looking side by side some parts of the level looks different on the Wii U. Not bad, just different.
    The Wii Pad is not really put to good use here and is mainly for inventory purposes and it kind of sucks not getting 1 and 2 on the Wii U. The biggest problem is EA has the audacity to change $60 for this when you can get the trilogy on other platforms for the same price. Really EA? And you can't figure out why no one likes you.
    I can't hate on the game too bad and feel I should rate the game on its own merit, and they at least added a 20 minute comic at the beginning to catch Wii U owners up on the story. But EA has been doing a lot of stupid things lately so I am docking 3 points. The game itself is a 9. But for the price you are better off getting it on another system. But if all you have is a Wii U, then by all means.....Pick it up.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game. with the new extended cut mass effect 3 ends the trilogy in a great way. its epic, exciting, dramatic, its equally as good as mass effect 2. the only negatives are the journal system sucks now...but the gamepaly, characters, graphics, everything is top notch. the best game of 2012 and one of the best games ever overall Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    The WIi U version is great - the reason it has 6.1 is probably due to all the XBOTS / PS Drones. It runs a lot smoother - it's a great experience, and the WIi U gamepad functionality really adds a new dimension to the game which I (now realised) that I lacked on the 360 version and PS3. Unfortunately, the Wii U gamepad functionality isn't as great as I would have hoped - but it's still a superior version to the others. I felt they could have added a lot more, but there is a lot of untapped potential. However, this is to be expected from a launch port - future iterations are most probably going to utilise the gamepad a lot better. However, from a game perspective, it's as great as it's always been. The ending left a bit to be desired, but the whole gameplay experience more than made up for it. Full Review »