• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 19, 2013
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Jun 8, 2013
    88
    If you’re looking for something deep and significant, something that will eat away 100+ hours of your gaming life and still offer more, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is here and waiting.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    100
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for the Wii U is an excellent introduction to the series, easing you into its systems and ensuring that you are well-equipped for the challenges to come.
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    91
    The ultimate Monster Hunter is really what Wii U needed right now. It may not be the prettiest game on the block, but damn if it isn't the most addictive. When the clock is 3 am, and you're wondering whether you should do another hour long hunt, you know you're hooked. [Apr 2013]
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    92
    Aside from these niggling flaws, the game is bloody amazing, and easily the best instalment in the Monster Hunter series to date. I've got over 80 hours on my save file already, but I feel like I'm still scratching the surface.
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    88
    A game with considerable bite and a hulking frame that dwarfs the competition. [May 2013, p.64]
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    90
    Very few games have Monster Hunter Tri Ultimate's depth. It's a survival simulator and one of the best co-op multiplayer experiences on consoles. The lack of matchmaking and a decent explanation regarding the game's mechanics are only minor gripes. This is the best the Wii U has to offer.
  7. Apr 5, 2013
    88
    In order to fully experience and enjoy Monster Hunter, there is a considerable amount of commitment required. Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate does little to ease in new players or entice those that aren’t already fans. However, old vets and fair-weather fans alike will find an enriched experience with a hefty amount of new content. Coupled with the online capabilities and graphics overhaul, this is well deserving of the title “ultimate.”
  8. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    Even if you played the original Tri on your Wii, it's worth hunting again in this beautiful and immense world that Capcom has created.
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    92
    But if you’ve been craving an action game which offers up the unique satisfaction of defeating big, truly difficult monsters and carving a new set of armor out of their salvaged skull, get this game now. You won’t regret it.
  10. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    This Ultimate version is one of the best in the series and a reference for future games.
  11. Mar 25, 2013
    91
    The only real complaint I can file against the game, is that once again I do not care for underwater combat.
  12. Mar 21, 2013
    88
    I don't think it is any secret that Monster Hunter is one of my favorite gaming franchises, and Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is hands-down the absolute best Monster Hunter yet. There are literally hundreds of hours of stuff to do in this game, and the upgrades from Monster Hunter Tri make this an even more tantalizing treat.
  13. Mar 20, 2013
    90
    While the visuals are far from stunning and the online lacks any sort of host migration, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is one of the best and most rewarding experiences in a long time, and will certainly keep you busy for a while.
  14. Mar 18, 2013
    87
    A very deep and engaging action adventure experience plenty of monsters to kill, objects to collect and characters to customize. A very addictive game for Wii U users.
  15. Mar 18, 2013
    90
    Everything is of a piece, whole and entire, as if the developers set out to make exactly this game and succeeded. That doesn't mean it's flawless. It only means that, sometimes, it feels like it.
  16. Mar 18, 2013
    88
    Despite being an updated port of the episode on Wii, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate delivers a fresh and unique experience thanks to a smart use of the gamepad, new content and cross-usability between Wii U and 3DS. Not a game changer but the best way for a launch window title to forget some out-of-date visuals.
  17. Mar 17, 2013
    90
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is the perfect name choice, as this takes the already exceptional Wii title and adds a daunting amount of new content and a HD sheen. It's also not a game for everyone, and those that go in with eyes closed may be in for a nasty surprise at the level of commitment and skill required.
  18. Mar 17, 2013
    88
    The monsters are stunning, the fights can be incomparably exhilarating, and the 3DS and Wii U connectivity is really impressive – even if the online infrastructure is still rather archaic.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 219 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The first Monster Hunter game I ever played was Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii and I loved it so much that I invested around 100 hours offline and over 500 hours online. This game is almost identical to the Wii version except it has updated HD graphics, added maps and 70+ monsters. There are 12 different weapon types and every hunter has a weapon type that fits them best. And each and every monster has weapons and armors that can be forged from their materials that you carve from them in Hunt quests or Capture quests. The armor and weapon upgrade system is very addicting and you will find yourself crafting new armor sets and using different armor sets for a better advantage against certain monsters. This game is challenging and it has a huge learning curve, but once you get past that, Monster Hunter will be one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences you could ever have. It's easily the best multiplayer experience available on the WiiU or in the gaming industry in general.. It's so thrilling to go on long hunts with friends and it feels like such an accomplishment after you take down a monster that you've been battling for 30 minutes. The controls feel great and you can choose between the WiiU Gamepad, Classic Controller Pro, or the WiiU Pro Controller. Overall, I know that I will invest hundreds of hours into this great game. Even though this game isn't perfect, it still deserves a 10/10 in my opinion. For many people, this game is the sole reason for purchasing a WiiU. If you own a WiiU, buy it now. Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game is loads of fun. I've already put more hours into it on the first day than it takes to complete certain games. Every weapon(There are 12 weapon types) feels like a completely different game, and each is fun. To add each fight feels different, even if it is the same monster 6 times in a row. This game is the most fun thing I've ever played. Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    As my first foray into the series I was pleasantly surprised! It shares many similarities with action RPGs like Dark Souls or Fable. I find the game to start off quite slowly, taking anywhere up too 5 hours to hook the player in; however, the game becomes quite fun from there on out. This game is a pack rats dream. There is so much to explore, collect, kill, combine, and just simply learn about the game. One downside, if you can call it that, is that there isn't much of a story much of it is presented in cutscenes of new locations or animals to hunt.

    This game isn't just the best Action RPG on the Wii U but it's a game that others without a Wii U will pine over.
    Full Review »