Mutant Mudds Deluxe Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Love pixels? Fond of platformers? Is there a special place in your heart for the 8-bit and 16-bit era? Want to have fun? Yes!? Well, youve come to the right place, my friend. Mutant Mudds Deluxe is a 12-bit action platformer full of pixels and platforming fun!

    Our hero, Max, may be just a
    2D sprite, but he can leap into the third dimension by jetting between the background and the foreground playfields with his trusty jetpack in this unique dimensionally-woven experience.

    Armed with a heavy-duty water cannon, Max has what he needs to vanquish his long-term nemesi: the Mutant Mudds. Max must blast and hover his way across the soiled landscape to seek out mysterious Water Sprites. Legend says collecting all of the mysterious Water Sprites will wash the filthy Mutant Mudds away for good!
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 95
    The game isn’t weighed down by copious story or in-depth upgrade systems, it’s just a boy, his grandma, and a heaping helping of baddies; it is pure platforming bliss. The deluxe version of the game is equal parts delicate retooling and new content, making it perfect for old and new fans alike.
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    91
    For new players of Mutant Mudds, I would wholeheartedly recommend Deluxe. However, if you already have it for 3DS, you have to ask yourself if the addition of checkpoints and the extra ghost levels is worth buying the game again.
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    90
    While Deluxe could have brought more new content to the table, it preserves the core Mutant Mudds experience to perfection, and then some. If you haven’t played Mutant Mudds to death already, the new ghost levels offer up enough of a challenge to make it worthwhile, and newcomers should not miss this chance to introduce themselves to a modern classic.
  4. Jun 14, 2013
    85
    Mutant Mudds has served its purpose as an unapologetic retro celebration, but at this point, I'm ready for Renegade Kid to build upon this foundation and pursue something truly original.
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    80
    If not for the confusing fake 3D effect, Mutant Mudds Deluxe would be the definitive version of Renegade Kid’s 2D platformer, with the same tight gameplay, charming graphics, and chirpy soundtrack bolstered by more levels than ever before.
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    All in all, Mutant Mudds is a charming, challenging, fun, well-crafted game, and we recommend it.
  7. Jun 14, 2013
    70
    Mutant Mudds Deluxe doesn't feel quite at home on larger screens, but it's still a very enjoyable game. Its crisp visuals and great soundtrack are as nice as ever, but it feels like a handheld experience at heart. The lack of 3D and layered scenery also means that it's sometimes difficult to tell what platforms and hazards are actually on your plane, which can lead to some unexpected deaths.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    I liked this game enough to finish everything in it. The level of difficulty felt good with the option of increasing it if I wanted to. For the price, I would say that it was worth it. However, I don't think I would ever replay it. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    this game is every penny of the 10 dollar price. the game-play feels like an inspiration from dozens of classic games. if you enjoy classic nes games or platformers in general you will get hours of entertainment out of this nice little download game Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    8
    It's a perfect game for bus rides or job/study breaks. The graphics are not typically 8-bit style, so it looks more like an app than a vintage game (ie. Shovel Knight). There is no storyline much so you don't have to get so into it to appreciate it. It gets very hard at some point it can be frustrating to restart the whole level but it's not nearly as bad as the old 8-bit games... The levels are relatively short so it's never such a long way to get back to where you were, plus, there is a checkpoint at mid-way. I finished all the 60 water sprites with about 14 hours of gameplay, and I still have to complete 19 granny levels that seem pretty crazy... so it's worth the 5-7$ on the e-shop! Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    7
    I will say it this game is incredibly hard but because of the challenge every time I complete a level I feel a huge amount of accomplishment because of how many times I died. From a technical stand point though the graphics do seem to still be trying to take advantage of the 3D (on Wii U) and the enemies take a lot of hits to kill which I find to only be tedious and not to bring much of a challenge. Collapse