Nano Assault Neo Wii U

  • Publisher: Shin'en
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2012
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Shin´en delivers a solid and frenetic shooter designed exclusively for Wii U owners. An interesting eShop title.
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    94
    Nano Assault NEO is an excellent eShop title that would be a great addition to any growing Wii U game collection. And for $10, there's no reason to pass it up.
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    89
    Too-generous upgrades grind the difficulty curve into the dust. [Feb 2013, p.89]
  4. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    Nano Assault Neo is their boldest, more beautiful shooter yet, and Wii U owners absolutely shouldn't miss out on its shiny twin-stick shooting.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    80
    Nano Assault Neo is a great game that is a little light on content, but it still packs enough of a punch to keep gamers occupied. There isn't a plot to be seen, but the focus here is definitely more on arcade-style high score seeking action, all while looking and sounding great. With highly addictive twin-stick shmup gameplay and difficulty levels that will have you trying over and over again, you'd be remiss to pass up on what could easily become an arcade classic.
  6. 85
    Still, Nano Assault Neo is fun, plays well, and looks great whether you are looking at the TV or playing solely on the GamePad's screen. The ease of getting in and out of a game means that any unsuccessful attempt at improving your scores will likely compel you to try again.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    75
    Nano Assault Neo is the hardcore twin stick shooter that fans where expecting thanks to a carefully arranged gameplay and state of the art graphics. Sixteen levels are roughly enough to keep playing for a couple of hours, but chasing your friends high-scores is going to take longer. Shin'En's game is sold at a budget price of 9,99 Euros, making it a must buy for every fan of the genre.
  8. Dec 2, 2012
    90
    It's a difficult game, spectacular and addictive, filled with personality. It's definitely one of the best titles on Wii U so far, so if you are interested in the genre, go ahead and buy it.
  9. Dec 27, 2012
    80
    Yes, this game is short. No, that doesn't matter. With different game modes, fantastic visuals, low price and great GamePad implantation this is definitely a game worth checking out.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game, the developer keeps getting better and better with their games. The controles feel amazing and I love the buy upgrade system.Beautiful game, the developer keeps getting better and better with their games. The controles feel amazing and I love the buy upgrade system. If you have a wii u and you don't have this game, you need to go right to the nintendo store and buy it., it's really cheap! My only complaint is that it's a bit to hard, but that may just be me. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Very nice game, lots of action and cool graphics. The control is extremely simple, you just need to use the L/R sticks, what for me is greatVery nice game, lots of action and cool graphics. The control is extremely simple, you just need to use the L/R sticks, what for me is great (I don't like having to memorize 10 buttons control schemes), and the difficulty level is adequate, I'd say 7 in a 0-10 scale. My only complaint is about its length, it could be longer. Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The only reason I didn't give this game a 10 was because of the length: there are only 16 levels total (not counting bonus levels). Perhaps IThe only reason I didn't give this game a 10 was because of the length: there are only 16 levels total (not counting bonus levels). Perhaps I am a little harsh as this game is designed to be more about achieve high score than anything.

    Other than that, this is a solid twin-stick shooter game and well-worth the $10 I paid. I was very impressed that the game is actually in LPCM 5.1 as well! Despite having very limited enemy types and an interesting art-style (you are essentially fighting on the cells of some organism, I assume a human), the graphics are amazing!
    Full Review »