Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring an enhanced MyCAREER mode and new gameplay features, NBA 2K13 lets gamers pit the best players in NBA history against the new dynasty of talent, including the much-debated matchup between the 2012 U.S. Men’s National Team and the 1992 “Dream Team.”
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    95
    NBA 2K13 on Wii U remains the best sports simulation available.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    91
    The few Wii U-exclusive options are hardly worth double-dipping over if you've already bought it for another console, though, and odds are you won't use them much regardless.
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    It doesn't mean much due to it having no competition the past couple of years but NBA 2K13 continues the series' dominance in the basketball sim genre.
  4. Feb 3, 2013
    85
    The king of basketball games delivers pure quality, as it did on the other consoles. Its Wii U-exclusive may not warrant a purchase, but the great experience and fluent controls certainly do.
  5. A fantastically well put-together game hamstrung only by the inherent limitations of the sport itself. No other Wii U title offers such great value for money.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    83
    In the end, NBA 2K13 is another great release from the folks at 2K Sports. Aside from the confusing menus, the strange inclusion of the Celebrity Team, and the somewhat awkward controls, it's a fully functional Basketball sim with some nice features.
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    60
    Using the GamePad screen to play gives the best experience and also frees up the TV for other use, which has proven to be an unexpected bonus of the Wii U overall. If it weren't for the choppy framerate of the standard game modes, NBA 2K13 would be a contender for the best sports game on the platform.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This is a great basketball game. The graphics are well done. Controls are perfect. Game options are top notch. So many teams to choose from including the Dream team vs Team USA 2012 which is a great idea many of us wanted. I did notice that the 2K servers were down a few times which was annoying but that seems to have been a temporary issue which I haven't seen again and hopefully it stays that way. At the end of the day this is a great basketball game. Collapse
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    I own NBA 2k11 on the PS3, but I like this one a lot better. I love being able to play on the GamePad while my wife watches American idol and I love being able to call plays with the touch screen. I love it. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This game is by far the best basketball game I have ever played on any game system. I was very impressed by all aspects of the game. Graphics, Controls, Variety, Music, classic players and teams, etc. It's hard to point out any "flaws" but I would call them "wishes" for the future. I would like to be able to unlock the regular, adult, explicit lyrics for the songs and I would love to see a NCAA version of this game. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    This game is an 8 something by itself on all three platforms. It's no different graphically on the Wii U. But being able to play it on the controller is awesome and gets it at least a nine in my book. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    I'm more a fan of the arcade style basketball games, but this game is very well done. There are some frustrations that exist that you just have to suck up, and the menu system is one of the worst I've ever seen, but fans of the sport will find much enjoyment in this game, and it is probably the best sports genre game you can get on the Wii U. Expand