Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 88
    In the end it's a great game with some new challenges and it is a bright light for what we have in store as Nintendo's newest console begins its life cycle.
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    86
    A solid entry in the Mario franchise. It doesn't do anything to shake up the formula, but I think this is one of those franchises that have proven time and time again that you don't mess with a good thing.
  3. Struggles to capture the creative spark of its NES/SNES ancestors, but this is rock solid platforming elevated through a renewed focus on skilled play.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    85
    As a multiplayer scrolling platformer, NSMBU successfully ad libs from a well worn Mario script to produce an evolution of the 2D platformer and importantly, a step forward for quality multiplayer games on the Wii U.
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    85
    The New Super Mario Bros series finds its dimension in the home consoles, where it becomes an amazing multiplayer game. But it has nothing to share with the innovation, brilliance or quality of its ancestors, and its single player is poor compared not only to Super Mario World, but also to the recent Donkey Kong Country Returns.
  6. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Nintendo rediscovers fun for the core gamer: New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly surprising, but delivers quite a challenge with its classic jump & run roots.
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    Beyond the jump to HD, New Super Mario Bros U isn't a great showpiece for the console, but it's one the kings of the 2D platformer genre.
  8. Nov 17, 2012
    85
    It's consistently charming, often challenging, and an excellent illustration of that which makes Mario games so special. Nintendo seemingly recaptured traditional, distilled platforming, but also incorporated a newfound attention to modern gaming trends and expectations.
  9. Nov 16, 2012
    85
    The New Super Mario Bros. gameplay is as well balanced as ever, with new items and better graphics. The tunes sound very familiar. Nevertheless: Mario's Jump & Run is the perfect game for you if you've enjoyed the series since 1985.
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    85
    What separates New Super Mario Bros. U from its "New" predecessors: It adds something to the Mario formula. It's exciting and full of inventive ideas.
  11. Nov 15, 2012
    85
    Players know exactly what they're getting with this one -- an entertaining and incomplex bit of gaming that provides challenge and smirks in equal measure. While certainly a "safe" game to launch with, it is by no means unremarkable and the only people who would fail to have fun are those with a fundamental aversion to Mario or platformers in general.
  12. Nov 18, 2012
    84
    Nintendo really has this kind of game down to a science, to the point where players can almost take for granted that the newest Mario game will hit a certain standard of quality. It's not the most inspired piece of work, but New Super Mario Bros Wii U satisfies the requirements for a great platformer and does a good job of putting the system's touchscreen to interesting use. The game is actually at its best when another human being is involved, and if you're on board with the Wii U, it's a great chance to get in touch with your new system.
  13. Nov 15, 2012
    83
    Carries the standard proudly, offering all the smart level design, split-second escapes, and tight gameplay that creates (and deserves) such devotion. But it's not a system seller, and it lacks inspiration. Mario U is comfort food … warm, filling, and delicious but not particularly remarkable. And Mario should be.
  14. Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  15. Dec 14, 2012
    81
    New Super Mario Bros. U may not be the most innovative Mario platformer, but it's incredibly polished and a lot of fun. [Dec 2012, p.68]
  16. Nov 27, 2012
    81
    It needs to evolve, but still it's a great game. It's easily become one of the best games on Wii U, however, we can and we will ask for a step forward in the series.
  17. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    By drawing on past glories, Nintendo delivers the best traditional side scrolling Mario game in years. [Feb 2013, p.62]
  18. Jan 14, 2013
    80
    New Super Mario Bros. U shows that the old 2D Mario still has the magic when the property is treated with care and affection.
  19. Dec 27, 2012
    80
    The New Super Mario Bros series was never one to defy expectations, but rather build upon years of refined nostalgia. New Super Mario Bros. U is formulaic Mario and is a delightfully fun time for it.
  20. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    It's a game that shows there are a few tricks even Mario hasn't learned quite yet. The plumber is back at something approaching his very best, and that's something audiences – and Nintendo, with a new console to sell – will be particularly delighted about.
  21. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    Everyone with a Wii U should buy this good platform title. It's a 2D Mario adventure in high definition. But the game doesn't use the GamePad in a good and innovative way.
  22. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  23. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    New Super Mario Bros. U definitely plays things safe and mostly sticks to the framework established by the "New" offshoot series established back on the DS, but the tougher design and beautiful look make it a great Mario game no matter how you look at it.
  24. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    His moustache remains the same, but other than that Mario finally went for a new and modern look. New Super Mario Bros. U does honor the history of the old plumber and brings back all the known characters and worlds, which are now more alive than ever. The graphical leap also allows for more experimentation with gameplay, which shows in a more challenging and fresh platformer than you might expect.
  25. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    Not quite a killer app but certainly the best New Super Mario Bros. game so far, and an occasionally inspired 2D platformer in its own right.
  26. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    As far as launch titles go, you can't beat a Mario game, and the same is true here.
  27. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Mario's Wii U debut will no doubt attract the usual detractors and jaded observers, but there's more to this than rigid routine. It just all depends on what you want from it.
  28. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Beyond the obvious aesthetic appeal of the jump to HD, New Super Mario Bros U doesn't make a particularly convincing case for Nintendo's new console, and there's very little here that couldn't have been done on Wii. But if it isn't a great showpiece for the console, it may have to settle for being a very good Mario game, perhaps the finest of the plumber's side-scrolling adventures since his 16bit heyday.
  29. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    While it seems that all the games, even the most forgivable ones, feel the need to have a twist in them to break or turn upside down an established code, how can one with "retro" and a certain "opposition to change" both carved into its DNA surprise? In New Super Mario Bros. U, the princess doesn't get kidnapped, it's the hero that gets booted outside the castle to the far end of the realm. But it doesn't change anything: the game is a clear declaration that one does not need to change what already works perfectly.
  30. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    A fantastic game hindered by a disappointing opening act. It feels like a game of present and past, where the first half reminds us why today's games greatly miss the second half's nostalgic excellence.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 110
  2. Negative: 7 out of 110
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    There is really nothing to say here. If you like 2-D Mario you are gonna like this. It looks great in HD even though some of the backgrounds are a tad boring, the control is fine but it in a 2-D Mario game. The multiplyer which I have only played with one other person is decent but not a big game changer. Actually it feels like a cheat when someone puts up a pad for you. I like the mode where the screen goes faster to make the game harder although it picks up the pace after a few hours of play. The story sucks. The music is lame. It is just normal Mario. It feels like I have played this before and I have. On the DS and the Wii. It is a good game but I could live without it and since it is the only exclusive for the system I currently own that is a disappointment. It is a solid Mario game but it isn't as good as Donkey Kong Country Returns and is not even close to the brilliant and more beautiful Rayman Origins. But it is a 2-D Mario game and for most fans it will be enough. Good game. But nothing special or new. I really like the new blue cases. But I was told the Wii U would have a trophy system. Where is it? Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    In my opinion this game is a throwback from a bygone era. I will never understand the heaps of love bestowed upon the Mario Franchise. Each game, is a rehash of the game before. In addition the game does nothing to showcase the graphical power of the Wii-U. It's time to do something different with Mario, I would have preferred to see something creative like the Super Mario RPG with an action RPG twist as opposed to this game. Full Review »