Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    77
    No matter how much content is recycled here, New Super Mario Bros. U is a gem in Wii U’s launch line-up. Problem is, there is nothing that sets it apart from a long line of its predecessors.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros. U is maybe the best platform of the "New" series due to an inspired level design and lots of game modes. The Challenges are just what hardcore Mario fans were looking for, and are capable of pointing out the best elements of one of the most refined gameplays ever created. The last Mario adventure is, without doubt, a killer app. for the Wii U, even without an intensive use of the Wii U Gamepad.
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    It's a game that shows there are a few tricks even Mario hasn't learned quite yet. The plumber is back at something approaching his very best, and that's something audiences – and Nintendo, with a new console to sell – will be particularly delighted about.
  4. New Super Mario Bros. U boasts a few new innovations, but ultimately this is the same Mario we've seen many times before. It's still a lot of fun, but it may not nudge a wavering gamer to rush out and buy the new console.
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    80
    The New Super Mario Bros series was never one to defy expectations, but rather build upon years of refined nostalgia. New Super Mario Bros. U is formulaic Mario and is a delightfully fun time for it.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    81
    It needs to evolve, but still it's a great game. It's easily become one of the best games on Wii U, however, we can and we will ask for a step forward in the series.
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    A fantastic game hindered by a disappointing opening act. It feels like a game of present and past, where the first half reminds us why today's games greatly miss the second half's nostalgic excellence.
  8. Nov 16, 2012
    85
    The New Super Mario Bros. gameplay is as well balanced as ever, with new items and better graphics. The tunes sound very familiar. Nevertheless: Mario's Jump & Run is the perfect game for you if you've enjoyed the series since 1985.
  9. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  10. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    Everyone with a Wii U should buy this good platform title. It's a 2D Mario adventure in high definition. But the game doesn't use the GamePad in a good and innovative way.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 577 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 127
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want IThis is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    There is really nothing to say here. If you like 2-D Mario you are gonna like this. It looks great in HD even though some of the backgroundsThere is really nothing to say here. If you like 2-D Mario you are gonna like this. It looks great in HD even though some of the backgrounds are a tad boring, the control is fine but it in a 2-D Mario game. The multiplyer which I have only played with one other person is decent but not a big game changer. Actually it feels like a cheat when someone puts up a pad for you. I like the mode where the screen goes faster to make the game harder although it picks up the pace after a few hours of play. The story sucks. The music is lame. It is just normal Mario. It feels like I have played this before and I have. On the DS and the Wii. It is a good game but I could live without it and since it is the only exclusive for the system I currently own that is a disappointment. It is a solid Mario game but it isn't as good as Donkey Kong Country Returns and is not even close to the brilliant and more beautiful Rayman Origins. But it is a 2-D Mario game and for most fans it will be enough. Good game. But nothing special or new. I really like the new blue cases. But I was told the Wii U would have a trophy system. Where is it? Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    This game could be worse, but not much worse. This is a Mario Bros. game, which is such a popular franchise because of their addictive gameThis game could be worse, but not much worse. This is a Mario Bros. game, which is such a popular franchise because of their addictive game play stemming from tight controls, without tight control. Want to run, for example? Then you better have half the screen in front of you before you start. I don't know if this is because of the game itself or because of the game pad, but it makes the game nearly unplayable. The bottom line is that I would only recommend this game for kids. Kids young enough to not know the difference between good and bad games, because that's who this game was made for. If you really want to play a newer Mario game do yourself a favor and get Super Mario 3D Land for the 3DS instead. Full Review »