Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 384 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle is under attack with the Princess trapped inside—and the heroes have been cast out to the four corners of the Mushroom Kingdom. Will they make it back in time to save the day? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    95
    There are curmudgeons out there who will skip this game because of the liberal Mario throwbacks, but they're missing the forest for the trees. Inventive level design, loads of content, and the shockingly profound boost mode make this one of the best 2D platformers out there.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros U is truly a "new" game in the series. A Must Buy for every Mario fan on the Planet.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Nintendo rediscovers fun for the core gamer: New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly surprising, but delivers quite a challenge with its classic jump & run roots.
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    60
    Everything about New Super Mario Bros. U is pretty exciting, except the game itself. Is it possible that this is the best game in the "New" series to date--not to mention one of the best exclusive Wii U games on the market, by default--and at the same time kind of flatly uninteresting? Apparently so. The game is perfectly well made for what it is, and I had plenty of fun playing it in short bursts here and there, but at this point the series' by-the-numbers design philosophy is starting to lend the name "New Super Mario Bros." a degree of unintentional irony.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 104
  2. Negative: 7 out of 104
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    In my opinion New Super Mario Bros. U is The Best 2D Mario Game Ever Made! Take it from someone who loved super mario world and still plays it. NSMBU has it beat. Level are fun and get pretty challenging. the multiplayer changes the game in a cool way. not to mention the Challenge modes will keep you coming back for for! I'm glad nintendo started packing this game in with the system, cause it is a system seller like super Mario World was! Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Collapse
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    The game is simply fun to play. It's a classic Mario game with some new twists and turns. Having the gamepad as a 2nd screen and being able to play the game on the gamepad by itself is a thing gamers have been dreaming of for quite some time. Throw in the new challenge modes that are available and you have a game that has some nice alternatives to try out once you are done with the main story mode. Overall I really enjoyed this game and have had a blast playing it. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    My girlfriend, bro and myself had some fun times, some good laughs and beat a few levels, too. Being with Nintendo since the NES, I may be a little biased but we're definitely impressed! Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    It's a New Super Mario Bros. game. There isn't much else to say. If you like Mario games than you will like this one. The kids like it, I like it, my wife likes it. Good graphics and controls as usual. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2013
    8
    When I played New super Mario Bros 2, I was worried Nintendo had run out of new ideas, but New super Mario Bros U has proved me wrong. This is not as good as the Mario Bros DS and Wii, but it comes close. The world map is all connected, a bit like Mario World, but it's not really different from the world maps in the other mario games. Mranwhile, the levels are fantastic, full of creativity, challenge, and great design. Almost every level was cleverly designed, and the perfect difficulty balance. Especially the last three worlds were challenging, but super guide is usually there to help out noobs. Multiplayer makes it yet crazier. Some may not like multoplayer but I do. It is annoying though when the screen freezes mid-jump while someone else is collecting a power-up. That is a stupid idea. But the game doen't end there. There is also challenge mode, which contains about sixty challenges, each of which tasks you with a specific aim, eg speedrun a level, or bounce on bullet bills withput touching the ground to earn sixty 1-ups. Even the easier challrnges could have you failing many times, and the hardest could possibly have you dying hundreds of times. Challenge mode is a fantastic addition. There are also boost rush modes and coin battle. But how does nsmbu make use of the gamepad? The answer is boost mode, in which players use wiimotes, and an additional player places blocks using the gamepad. Is it fun? No- it's as creative as it sounds. But despite not using the gamepad in a good way, NSMBU is a fantastic mario game. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    1
    I remember when new mario games by Nintendo EAD were always genre defying AAA epics. It literally feels like i've beaten this game before and it literally feels like Nintendo is lazier than ever.

    Too lazy to go with a 4th character instead using a color palette swapped toad, too lazy for actual minibosses reminicent of the yoshis island series, to lazy to put any real heart into their new mario games instead pimping out a cheap SUB-PAR completely acceptable standard product unlike in the olden days before wii fit, wii sports, wii play, and wii party when nintendo actually thought they had to put effort and content into their games for them to sell.
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.