New Super Mario Bros. U Wii U

New Super Mario Bros. U Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 717 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle isIt was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle is under attack with the Princess trapped inside—and the heroes have been cast out to the four corners of the Mushroom Kingdom. Will they make it back in time to save the day? Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    95
    There are curmudgeons out there who will skip this game because of the liberal Mario throwbacks, but they're missing the forest for the trees. Inventive level design, loads of content, and the shockingly profound boost mode make this one of the best 2D platformers out there.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros U is truly a "new" game in the series. A Must Buy for every Mario fan on the Planet.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Nintendo rediscovers fun for the core gamer: New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly surprising, but delivers quite a challenge with its classic jump & run roots.
  5. Games Master UK
    Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    60
    Everything about New Super Mario Bros. U is pretty exciting, except the game itself. Is it possible that this is the best game in the "New" series to date--not to mention one of the best exclusive Wii U games on the market, by default--and at the same time kind of flatly uninteresting? Apparently so. The game is perfectly well made for what it is, and I had plenty of fun playing it in short bursts here and there, but at this point the series' by-the-numbers design philosophy is starting to lend the name "New Super Mario Bros." a degree of unintentional irony.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 149
  1. Jul 21, 2016
    10
    The 2nd best Wii U platformer is this one and it isn't really the same of the "new mario" game series. The levels and the controls as well asThe 2nd best Wii U platformer is this one and it isn't really the same of the "new mario" game series. The levels and the controls as well as the music is perfect! Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want IThis is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    If you have ever played a Mario game, you already know what this game is. It has the same core as mario did, but this game adds new mechanicsIf you have ever played a Mario game, you already know what this game is. It has the same core as mario did, but this game adds new mechanics throughout the game to stop it from being a redesigned New Super Mario Bros. The new concepts, like the falling head statues, are welcome and make this one of the bet games Mario has to offer. If you put all nostalgia aside, and look at this game as a single release for quality, you'll know that this is one of Mario's best adventures thus far. If your looking for some redemption on New Super Mario Bros 2, this game is it. It shines as a diamond in the pile of similar mario games. If you enjoy good fun games, treat yourself to this game. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    This is a game that is worth the money easily, just like the first one.

    PROS -Graphics were HD -easy controls -Nice story -Fun gameplay
    This is a game that is worth the money easily, just like the first one.

    PROS
    -Graphics were HD
    -easy controls
    -Nice story
    -Fun gameplay

    CONS
    -A little glitchy
    Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    Very fun game, but it was too short and easy to beat. Fun to do with younger siblings and cousins who really enjoyed it. Overall it wasVery fun game, but it was too short and easy to beat. Fun to do with younger siblings and cousins who really enjoyed it. Overall it was enjoyable and I would recommend it to casual and younger gamers. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    Let's sum-up my feelings about this game, considering i had New Super Mario Bros. Wii

    Positive: -Graphics *-* ! I really find myself
    Let's sum-up my feelings about this game, considering i had New Super Mario Bros. Wii

    Positive:
    -Graphics *-* ! I really find myself looking at the decor and saying it's beautiful.
    -It still pleasant and funny !
    -There are some new interesting mechanics
    -The baby yoshis is a nice add
    -Catching Nabbit is quite easy but adds a bit more challenge
    -The new games in the toad houses

    Negative:
    -It may be me but i had the feeling the levels were quite short
    -It's much easier if you already experienced super mario bros on Wii, and it feels more like a New super mario bros Wii 2 than a brand new game
    -Indeed, more innovation wouldn't have be bad

    That's almost all i have to say. In conclusion, it's a really nice game, but i suggest that if you're hesitating between this game and another platformer (like DKtropical freeze which is coming soon), you'd better buy the other game. Yep, i'd put Mario Bros U as a secondary game for Wii U even if it's very good !
    Also, i mut precise that i bought it with New Super Luigi U (which i didn't experienced yet) and i think it has the capacity (with what i saw from it) to offset New Super Mario Bros. U problems. One last thing, i suggest you buy the version with NSLU included, it's cheaper from what i saw.
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2015
    0
    I am very disappointed in Nintendo for making this game. It plays almost exactly the same as the New SMB for Wii--same sound effects, sameI am very disappointed in Nintendo for making this game. It plays almost exactly the same as the New SMB for Wii--same sound effects, same music, same graphics (except the upgrade to HD which is not that dramatic given the graphical style of mario games. Miyamoto said he wanted to release a mario game with each new console, which I agree with, but please do so by making a completely new game, not by just increasing the difficultu and adding a few things. I don't need my mario games to become ever more complex. I just need them to be FUN. And New SMB Wii U is simply not fun if you've already played New SMB Wii. Expand

See all 149 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.