Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 604 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle isIt was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle is under attack with the Princess trapped inside—and the heroes have been cast out to the four corners of the Mushroom Kingdom. Will they make it back in time to save the day? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    95
    There are curmudgeons out there who will skip this game because of the liberal Mario throwbacks, but they're missing the forest for the trees. Inventive level design, loads of content, and the shockingly profound boost mode make this one of the best 2D platformers out there.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros U is truly a "new" game in the series. A Must Buy for every Mario fan on the Planet.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Nintendo rediscovers fun for the core gamer: New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly surprising, but delivers quite a challenge with its classic jump & run roots.
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    60
    Everything about New Super Mario Bros. U is pretty exciting, except the game itself. Is it possible that this is the best game in the "New" series to date--not to mention one of the best exclusive Wii U games on the market, by default--and at the same time kind of flatly uninteresting? Apparently so. The game is perfectly well made for what it is, and I had plenty of fun playing it in short bursts here and there, but at this point the series' by-the-numbers design philosophy is starting to lend the name "New Super Mario Bros." a degree of unintentional irony.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 133
  1. Jul 18, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Do you want play a great classic game? Just you play with New Super Mario Bros U. I loved the levels and the boss battle (the final stage it's epic!). Also the DLC called New Super Luigi Bros U is awesome. High recommended. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want IThis is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    New Super Mario Bros. U is a safe game that doesn't really show off the power of Nintendo's new home console. The gamepad isn't used in a newNew Super Mario Bros. U is a safe game that doesn't really show off the power of Nintendo's new home console. The gamepad isn't used in a new and inventive way, the graphics are in HD, but only in 720p, not 1080p, (which, after playing Rayman Ledgends, baffles me) and in terms of Mario games, this one doesn't do anything super special. However, it does do something that the "New" series has struggled to do for the past 6 years, and that is to really make a Mario game that isn't just good and or even great, but to make a 2D platforming Mario game that recaptures what the original Mario games had on the NES and SNES and make it amazing and maybe even better. This game, NSMBU, is easily the best of the "New" series and, in my opinion, is one of the best Mario games out there and if you have a Wii U, you NEED to get this game. It's a fun game that is actually challenging, another thing the other games in the "New" series have struggled to do. It has enough original ideas to make in feel fresh, and it has enough of the old concepts to make it fell like a true Mario game. Going back to the challenge aspect, the game is hard. It's not the kind of hard that will make you want to eat a toxic mushroom, but ti's the kind of hard that will make you think, "should I throw the controller on the floor and buy a new system, or should I just try to resist?" And the integration with Miiverse is fantastic. Let's say you die on a level 10 times (which WILL happen). A little prompt will come up asking, "Would you like to post your thoughts about this course to Miiverse," or, "would you like to write a letter to Bowser about this course on Miiverse," or a few other questions. It's nice to say, "Don't do ______ because of ______," or see someone say "DEAR BOWSER: I HATE YOU!!!" That being said, did I see some inappropriate drawings and words? Yes, I did. To summarize, New Super Mario Bros. U is the best game in the "New" series, and is a fantastic game in general. Not only that, but it is one of the best Mario games out there, which is welcome after New Super Mario Bros. 2. However, the game is a safe game, and not one that dares to push the limits of the system or Mario. So, if you're looking for a fun Mario game or a fantastic 2D platforming adventure, PICK THIS GAME UP. However, if you're looking for something that is truly monumental and defines the Wii U and what it can do, or is a Mario game that will be remembered as the holy grail of Mario games for eons to come, you might want to wait for the next 3D Mario game that might come out this year or the year after that. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I love that Nintendo still releases side-scrolling Mario games. Super Mario Bros. 3 is one of my favorite games, and I still enjoy playingI love that Nintendo still releases side-scrolling Mario games. Super Mario Bros. 3 is one of my favorite games, and I still enjoy playing its style of gaming. New Super Mario Bros. U takes on the traditional formula with added HD graphics, a new power-up, challenge modes, and most importantly all-new levels.

    Nintendo's focus was on gameplay and it hit the nail on the head. First and foremost it is important to note that NSMBU is an extremely fun game. The storyline is essentially non-existent, the graphics are improved but nothing to rave about, and the challenge modes are a nice addition, but this game prides itself on side-scrolling goodness and Nintendo does it best.

    Simply, if you like side-scrolling platforming, you'll love NSMBU as it perfectly executes the genre.
    Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    I like this game and the additional features such as the mini games. I am a little spent with the star coins I think they should change thatI like this game and the additional features such as the mini games. I am a little spent with the star coins I think they should change that up. Also how come there is no way to tell which flags you have not reached...? If you beat the game without going through every level...you get the point!! No online? Jeeze Wii U should allow players to play with others same with Nintendo Land not just Mii Verse. It's 2013 Nintendo get with the program everybody is playing multiplayer online! All and all a fun Mario game but no where near the calibur of Super Mario Galaxy 2. Sorry Nintendo try again and when you do, try some co-op online multiplayer! Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    This was just a great fun little game to play. The art style and music is top notch. The only reason I didn't score this games higher was theThis was just a great fun little game to play. The art style and music is top notch. The only reason I didn't score this games higher was the total length and difficulty. This game will only take you about 5-6hrs. to beat and the level difficulty is so easy a 5 year old can play (they did that on purpose so they can). This is a great start to Mario in HD hopefully some tougher games come in the future.

    PS.
    The homage to old school Mario at the end was awesome
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2015
    0
    I am very disappointed in Nintendo for making this game. It plays almost exactly the same as the New SMB for Wii--same sound effects, sameI am very disappointed in Nintendo for making this game. It plays almost exactly the same as the New SMB for Wii--same sound effects, same music, same graphics (except the upgrade to HD which is not that dramatic given the graphical style of mario games. Miyamoto said he wanted to release a mario game with each new console, which I agree with, but please do so by making a completely new game, not by just increasing the difficultu and adding a few things. I don't need my mario games to become ever more complex. I just need them to be FUN. And New SMB Wii U is simply not fun if you've already played New SMB Wii. Expand

See all 133 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.