Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nintendo Land is a theme park featuring 12 different attractions, each with its own play on a Nintendo franchise. Each attraction features it's own special gameplay experiences made possible by the Wii U controller. Depending on the particular attraction, players can compete individually or against other players, or even team up to play cooperatively. Up to 5 players can participate in dynamic multiplayer modes in select attractions. The experiences change each time, depending on whether players are using the GamePad, holding a Wii Remote or just watching others play on the TV screen. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    Nintendo Land's strongest selling point, though, is just how easy it is to jump right into these games.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    86
    Nintendo Land highlights the potential of the Wii U console, especially when it comes to the capabilities of the GamePad that is definitely a very impressive gaming controller. By combining elements of the 3DS and a Tablet with streamlined Nintendo controls, this game not only plays well but gives the player and players some great single and multiplayer excitement. Add in high scores, trophies and lots of unlockables and this may be the future of gaming! Brilliant!
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In a wonderful cartoon world populated by Mii characters, the players are able to play twelve different games, inspired by Nintendo biggest franchise, from Super Mario to Zelda. Nintendo Land is the perfect bundle game for the imminent launch of the new Nintendo console. We suggest the game to all the Wii U buyers, Nintendo fans, and casual gamers.
  4. 80
    Nice set of mini-games with a visible touch of the Nintendo spirit. Nothing good for lone-wolves to be found here but family sessions should be satisfied. [Christmas 2012]
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    78
    If you're buying the Premium version, Nintendo Land is a great addition, but if you're buying the basic one, keep in mind this game is meant to be played with friends and family. One way or another, Nintendo Land is a title every Wii U user should, at least, try.
  6. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land's defining quality is how it teaches the Wii U system to the player without making it complicated. This unfortunately also means depth is sacrificed.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    50
    A strong heritage results in a bland mix of mini games. To only include three competitive games (which happens to be the best thing in this compilation) is just insane, especially when the majority of the others goes from "pretty okay" to "horrible".

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 75
  2. Negative: 2 out of 75
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun. Definetly a nice addition with the deluxe model. I would even go to say that this game IS worth 59,99$. Collapse
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    My relatives come over to the house just to play this game. We have an absolute blast together. There is no other experience out there quite like it. Typically the person on the gamepad is put in a much different role to the other players and more often than not in the role of an 'enemy'. After each game we pass the pad to the next player in the circle and continue on. Hours can pass so quick without notice. There are also solo games which use the gamepad in very unique and fun ways. But these too are not just single player and a second player can help out with a wii mote. I couldn't fault any of the games in particular but I would say that Metroid Blaster was definitely my most played and the game I had the most fun with. Take the game for what it is, a fun game designed for bringing people together and you will get hours of entertainment. If you want a purely single player experience that exhibits all of the games qualities then this is not the game for you. But hey, that's just my opinion, I still did have a blast playing some of the solo games on my own. This is my most played wii U game to date. Its replay value is off the chart. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    That's a little description of the game: Nintendo Land is a beautiful game made up of several minigames that are inspired from the Nintendo Franchise Like :Mario , Zelda, Metroid... . This game is one of the funniest videogames to play with friends and not ! Is simple and the graphics is clean, a 1 year baby can play it too. Every single minigame is perfectly done from the gameplay to the style to the function with the Wii u GamePad; the GamePad is an important part of the game and every single minigames need it for different action.The Game is perfect to play with friends or with other people of your family. The Final thing that i want to say is that the game is funny and beautiful. Surely a good Killer Application for the Wii u! Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    In my opinion, this was a better pack-in title than wii sports. This game was a ton of fun to play with the brothers and my friends. But you can only play 12 short minigames so many times without getting board. And without online leaderboards, it's hard to say that many people will be playing it a year from now. Fantastic game, but wait for a drop in price before you buy it. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    come on people who review it badly IT'S A PARTY GAME DIRECTED AT KIDS! ages 4-9. It is obviously innovative since it defines the console (along with ZombiU). And it is very fun. sure it lacks story and depth 2 things THAT IT DOESN'T NEED TO HAVE AT ALL. although i do think they could of done more with it and maybe make Donkey Kong's Crash Course not so Fricken BRUTAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Anyway it is a great game. lol :p Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    At first i thought this was a silly gift to increase the deluxe value, but the truth is that it is a very nice game. It makes a great job teaching how to use Wii U and gave a lot of fun to my family at the same time. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    This game, and the Wii U in general, represent nothing less than Nintendo execs sitting in their offices laughing histerically at so easily ripping off the uninformed videogame customer. This is another stupid mini-game collection. Yet this time we're supposed to be excited because it uses a cheap, boring, pointless second screen controller. Give me a break. The Wii U in general has the soon to be obsolete power of the current (much better) systems and it comes with a pathetic amount of hard drive (you, know, because Nintendo would actually have to spend money to give us a good amount of hard drive), yet somehow Nintendo is gonna make money because the controller contains a (cheaply made) screen? And a thrown-together game like Nintendo Land is the perfect example of what this system is gonna become. Another gimmic that uneducated gamers will fall for. Nintendo is a con artist. Con artist will go away if people stop falling for their tricks. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.