Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nintendo Land is a theme park featuring 12 different attractions, each with its own play on a Nintendo franchise. Each attraction features it's own special gameplay experiences made possible by the Wii U controller. Depending on the particular attraction, players can compete individually or against other players, or even team up to play cooperatively. Up to 5 players can participate in dynamic multiplayer modes in select attractions. The experiences change each time, depending on whether players are using the GamePad, holding a Wii Remote or just watching others play on the TV screen. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    Nintendo Land's strongest selling point, though, is just how easy it is to jump right into these games.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    86
    Nintendo Land highlights the potential of the Wii U console, especially when it comes to the capabilities of the GamePad that is definitely a very impressive gaming controller. By combining elements of the 3DS and a Tablet with streamlined Nintendo controls, this game not only plays well but gives the player and players some great single and multiplayer excitement. Add in high scores, trophies and lots of unlockables and this may be the future of gaming! Brilliant!
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In a wonderful cartoon world populated by Mii characters, the players are able to play twelve different games, inspired by Nintendo biggest franchise, from Super Mario to Zelda. Nintendo Land is the perfect bundle game for the imminent launch of the new Nintendo console. We suggest the game to all the Wii U buyers, Nintendo fans, and casual gamers.
  4. 80
    Nice set of mini-games with a visible touch of the Nintendo spirit. Nothing good for lone-wolves to be found here but family sessions should be satisfied. [Christmas 2012]
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    78
    If you're buying the Premium version, Nintendo Land is a great addition, but if you're buying the basic one, keep in mind this game is meant to be played with friends and family. One way or another, Nintendo Land is a title every Wii U user should, at least, try.
  6. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land's defining quality is how it teaches the Wii U system to the player without making it complicated. This unfortunately also means depth is sacrificed.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    50
    A strong heritage results in a bland mix of mini games. To only include three competitive games (which happens to be the best thing in this compilation) is just insane, especially when the majority of the others goes from "pretty okay" to "horrible".

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 2 out of 79
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun. Definetly a nice addition with the deluxe model. I would even go to say that this game IS worth 59,99$. Collapse
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Wow... SO amazing! The 12 attractions are so developed and polished that they could each be their own standalone game! WIthout a doubt, Nintendo has put a lot of thought into each of these minigames and how they could show off the awesome potential of the Wii U; thank God they brought Pikmin in too, because more people should be psyched for Pikmin 3.

    Each of the attractions have amazing graphics and the competitive (2-5 players) attractions are the most fun I've ever had using a game console with my friends. It is amazing to be a ghost and sneak up on your friends without them seeing... it is very unique! Not to mention thrilling! If you have 2 players, Mario Chase's chase-plaza is smaller than if you have 5, etc. They really worked out the kinks and made this game super-polished and adaptable. Switching players (Gamepad and Wii Remote) is really convenient and painless as well -- it asks "Is ____ still using the Gamepad?" You just select no, and then point at who is, and it automatically switches the two Mii's controls. It's swift and creative.

    I have played all of the minigames, and I really love the Ninja throwing-star one, and every single one is just so graphically impressive and the art style on the attractions really provides a unique take on every franchise Nintendo has made into minigames in this game. It simply blows me away how much time obviously went into this game, and it really pays off! The replay value is endless because this game never gets boring. You can spend hours just playing Mario Chase and switching who is getting chased -- you can even see the paths of everyone chasing who's "it" afterwards!

    Every little detail point into this game is amazing. The various ways to play adds to the fun and adaptability of the game and Wii U in general. It's definitely not having an identity crisis and it's not a gimmick! It's amazing! I cannot believe that the User scores are so low! This game is a must-buy and fully worth the $60, or (like me) buying the Deluxe set!!
    Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    Nintendo Land's great gameplay and fun design shows that Nintendo knows how to have a good time. When I played it for my first time it told me in itself to get a Wii U. When I got one and got the game I always had my friends and family over to play the game. Nintendo Land is without a doubt the greatest party game ever made! Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    If this game came with your console, then congratulations you own a very fun multiplayer game. Playing it by yourself gets old really quick so I can't recommend paying $60 for it if you're only going to play alone, but with friends it's something you can play for hours and not get tired of it. Nintendo continues to be better than all other consoles when it comes to entertaining an entire living room full of people. Kinect has nothing on this Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    This is a must own if you plan on having a bunch och game sessions with friends and family. You will have most fun playing the competitive attractions which are: Mario Chase, Luigi's Ghost Mansion and Animal Crossing: Sweet Day. Also the Team attractions are really good aswell but not quite as entertaining as the competitive ones. When It comes to the singleplayer attractions there are some good and bad, no reasons to buy the game here, but nice to have If you want to pass some time on your own. I highly recommend that you are 5 people when playing this game. I've had some great moments playing this game with a bunch of friends and it's a blast. However, If you won't be able to play with that amount of people I can't really recommend this to you. It's meant to be played togheter with a group of 5 players. I give this game a solid 8/10! Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    At first i thought this was a silly gift to increase the deluxe value, but the truth is that it is a very nice game. It makes a great job teaching how to use Wii U and gave a lot of fun to my family at the same time. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    This game, and the Wii U in general, represent nothing less than Nintendo execs sitting in their offices laughing histerically at so easily ripping off the uninformed videogame customer. This is another stupid mini-game collection. Yet this time we're supposed to be excited because it uses a cheap, boring, pointless second screen controller. Give me a break. The Wii U in general has the soon to be obsolete power of the current (much better) systems and it comes with a pathetic amount of hard drive (you, know, because Nintendo would actually have to spend money to give us a good amount of hard drive), yet somehow Nintendo is gonna make money because the controller contains a (cheaply made) screen? And a thrown-together game like Nintendo Land is the perfect example of what this system is gonna become. Another gimmic that uneducated gamers will fall for. Nintendo is a con artist. Con artist will go away if people stop falling for their tricks. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.