Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 469 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pikmin 3 is a reimagined, mass-action strategy title from the critically acclaimed Pikmin series. Players take control of 3 explorers and an array of cute Pikmin in a struggle for survival. By exploiting the unique abilities of these little Pikmin creatures, players solve puzzles, battlePikmin 3 is a reimagined, mass-action strategy title from the critically acclaimed Pikmin series. Players take control of 3 explorers and an array of cute Pikmin in a struggle for survival. By exploiting the unique abilities of these little Pikmin creatures, players solve puzzles, battle dangerous predators and forage for food needed to save the explorers' home planet. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Pikmin 3 might not be the game that gets people rushing to buy a Wii U, but it certainly should be.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    The ending may not be the best thing ever, but it can't tarnish the incredible enjoyment you'll get out of Pikmin 3. This is probably the best game yet on Wii U.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is a great refinement of the original formula and is still a joy to play. But after nine years we expected some more content, and the final stage is really disappointing.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is the game that should have launched the Wii U. Its combination of calming atmosphere and strategic gameplay create a unique and mesmerising experience while it lasts. While it may be over too soon for some players it still remains by far the best first party game currently available for Nintendo’s latest system.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    85
    Pikmin 3 is a fantastic game that oozes with charm. The levels are short enough that they scream “just one more day”. It also helps that game play is so tight, and the design feels so good. While it may not be my most anticipated franchise from the Nintendo stables, I cannot help but fall in love with the quirky Koppites and their quest for food. Pikmin 3 is one of the best reasons to own a Wii U so far.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Pikmin 3 is a cute game with plenty of soul. It takes the concept from the two previous games one step further with the way it combines tactics with roleplaying. In terms of graphics this is probably the most beautiful game the world has ever seen on a Nintendo console.
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    60
    The new flying pikmin are a nifty twist for how they break the level design.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 115
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Really good game. It is certainly the best game on the wii u since its release. This game should also increase the popularity of the wii uReally good game. It is certainly the best game on the wii u since its release. This game should also increase the popularity of the wii u among consumers. Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    26yo. I was skeptical, not only about the graphics or the gameplay. I was also not sure whether this was a game just for children. Blown away!26yo. I was skeptical, not only about the graphics or the gameplay. I was also not sure whether this was a game just for children. Blown away! Gorgeous! Fun! I've never played anything like it, not even remotely. I would recommend it to anyone. I had a few friends play it, and everyone has come back saying "hey lets play that Pikmin game again."

    If you're on the fence just jump over already, you will like it.
    Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    A Classic. The cleverest design level you have ever seen on a piece of art since Super Mario Galaxy. The quality of music is superhuman. TheA Classic. The cleverest design level you have ever seen on a piece of art since Super Mario Galaxy. The quality of music is superhuman. The capacity to surprise does not end even when you play it for the third time (as I do now). Pikmin 3 is the contemporary cult classic that the industry needed. Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    It's like playing Pikmin 2 again for the first time and now I can call Pikmin a game series. The game has great characters, a much moreIt's like playing Pikmin 2 again for the first time and now I can call Pikmin a game series. The game has great characters, a much more involved storyline then the other Pikmin games, great wii remote integration, 2 new and very useful types of Pikmin as well as all the originals, and many nods to the previous games. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    A few frustrating moments using the gamepad lessened my overall enjoyment with the experience, I recommend wii mote nunchuck for someA few frustrating moments using the gamepad lessened my overall enjoyment with the experience, I recommend wii mote nunchuck for some battles. Overall great game though. I read that Miyamoto is possibly prepping up some downloadable expansion content. I hope this happens! Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2014
    9
    This game is an absolute gem and once played I was so addicted I bought and played the first and second game in the series as well!
    If I was
    This game is an absolute gem and once played I was so addicted I bought and played the first and second game in the series as well!
    If I was Nintendo I would be working on some dlc levels not battle and most defiantly the fourth title!
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    Simply put, this game is inferior in almost every way shape and form to the previous entries in terms of gameplay. It ranges from littleSimply put, this game is inferior in almost every way shape and form to the previous entries in terms of gameplay. It ranges from little issues such as the character not adjusting to the camera when moving which forces you to stop moving just to recenter and fixed camera angles which force you to move around until it breaks free, to big problems such as guiding the Pikmin with the C-Stick being taken out entirely or the fact that the whistle ranges is far too sensitive and does not cover nearly enough space as it needs to.
    My biggest problem however, comes from organization. The areas are now so big that they require load screens to change areas which are actually quite fast. Here's the thing though, you change screens instantly while your Pikmin do not. As such Pikmin can get stuck in a load screen while sunset is approaching and get left behind before they can change screens. Pikmin also have a new feature in regards to piles of fruit or bridge pieces in that they will return to gather more upon delivering the piece they are holding.
    This sounds good in theory, but seeing you'll have more than enough Pikmin to gather up the entire pile in a single trip it just makes you wish the Pikmin would stay at the base as opposed to returning to the location and standing idle. Even the whistle has now got some serious issues. The whistle's sensitivity is too high and as such can be tricky to aim when trying to gather a group of Pikmin.
    During boss fights you are often in a large room that the Pikmin will be thrown around in and it's frustrating trying to gather them all up when you can't move your whistle appropriately and lose Pikmin that you could have saved in the other two games.
    It's just a miserable experience when you really think about it as you play.
    Expand

See all 115 User Reviews