Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    75
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is not as "unlimited" as supposed, but it's still a good option for people looking for taking advantage of their imagination.
  2. Feb 24, 2013
    80
    For players with a large vocabulary, Scribblenauts Unlimited can be pretty simplistic and challenges overcome with a modicum of creative thought. However, kids will appreciate the paper-esque sensibility and chance to just do whatever pops into their heads. Good, clean fun all-round.
  3. 79
    If you are a creative person and want a game that promotes imagination, or are simply looking to have a relaxing time in short spurts creating unheard of objects, Scribblenauts Unlimited is a great choice to play on your new Wii U console.
  4. Dec 18, 2012
    85
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is a perfect match for the Wii U's hardware, making brilliant use of the GamePad controller to deliver a wonderfully creative sandbox puzzler.
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    Brilliant and light-hearted, with a smart and sophisticated structure and a design standing out for imagination and variety, Scribblenauts Unlimited alternates a prefect rhythm to a simple but perfect puzzle game nature.
  6. 80
    In terms of animations and graphics, Scribblenauts Unlimited takes a big step forward. But the best is its rich content. All the characters have a of their problem and, in the end, it seems that we spend all the time finding the right keys to enter a multitude of chests and spread sheer insanity.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    83
    To push Scribblenauts Unlimited to the limits of its vocabulary is impressive, and seeing how objects interact with one another is always amusing. Scribblenauts Unlimited's ability to blur the line between game and toy is one of its greatest strengths. Finding the more obscure and bizarre ways to solve puzzles is where the experience shines, largely because it's the kind of fun you create for yourself.
  8. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is the best looking and playing entry in the series to date. It's also the easiest, so if you didn't like the first two due to their difficulty, at least give this a rental.
  9. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    Who thought playing with words could be this much fun?
  10. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is easily the best entry in the series to date, thanks to its family-friendly nature coupled with creative, wide-open gameplay.
  11. Dec 5, 2012
    88
    Serious wordsmiths may bemoan the lighter difficulty and more streamlined puzzle play, but it's hard to grumble when the simple act of noodling around with your wacky word creations is so blissfully absorbing on its own.
  12. Nov 17, 2012
    88
    Despite some dips in overall puzzle difficulty this time around, the game has a massive amount of content to both discover and create from scratch.
  13. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is not the game Wii U needed right now, nor that kind of production that can highlight the uniqueness of the new Nintendo hardware... nonetheless, it’s a funny language laboratory and a clever gaming workshop. The Gamepad allows for some sharing between who’s playing and the ones sitting along on the sofa, making 5th Cell effort a good choice for some evening sessions between friends and relatives.
  14. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    There are few better places for creative players and unchecked villainy to prosper than in Scribblenauts Unlimited.
  15. Dec 5, 2013
    78
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is in fact limited, but it's a different and creative experience. The universe of creations opens and works perfectly in a touchscreen of Wii U GamePad and 3DS.
  16. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    If you're a fan of previous entries in the Scribblenauts series, then you're going to love Scribblenauts Unlimited. If you've never played one before, then now is absolutely the time to start. The campaign could be considered to be on the short side, and the multiplayer gameplay leaves much to be desired, but, as always, Scribblenauts is about the pure joy of extending your imagination. This is the kind of game that looks great, controls well, and provides a whole heck of a lot of family-friendly fun.
  17. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    As far as gameplay goes, Scribblenauts Unlimited isn't terrible different from its predecessors. [Dec 2012, p.70]
  18. Jan 14, 2013
    75
    The gameplay is a tad one-dimensional, with each challenge amounting to little more than summoning a specific object, but there are plenty of humorous moments to keep you engaged in the experience, especially if you have someone around to share them with.
  19. 90
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is a polished and fun launch. It is the purest realization of what makes the series so fun to date, and proves that, after so many portable iterations, Scribblenauts might actually be best suited for the TV and Nintendo's Wii U GamePad.
  20. Dec 6, 2012
    84
    If you own a brand spanking new Wii U, buy this game and give your imagination a workout.
  21. May 13, 2013
    82
    The first thing you do when you start scribbling with Wii U, is to turn of the television. This game is best played with the uPad and unfortunately you are chained to the living room. The game is still good fun, but a home console isn't the best possible platform for this type of game. [May 2013]
  22. Feb 5, 2013
    75
    The time spent with Scribblenauts Unlimited is mostly good time, but there are some issues that are preventing it from becoming a complete experience. Once players get the grasp on the mechanics the game becomes excessively easy, and the many puzzles not always are capable of offering a diversified experience. 5th Cell's game seems built around the Wii U Gamepad, a plus, but that shows the portable origins of the series, a series that needs something more to compete in the home-consoles environment.
  23. Dec 9, 2013
    80
    The object editor added in this version is indeed the reason to choose this version over the handheld one. Scribblenauts is still as fun as always, and the expansion of its possibilities will satisfy all those fans looking for more.
  24. Jan 20, 2013
    83
    The fourth installment in the series is another great title for the lineup of Wii U.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    It's not that the game is terrible, it's just i had more fun seeing things on fire or making my own fun than the actual game quests itself.It's not that the game is terrible, it's just i had more fun seeing things on fire or making my own fun than the actual game quests itself. Sure you can use your imagination, but I'd rather not make my own restricted fun. You see a crying girl, how will you cheer her up? Add adjective: naive Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    3
    I was really looking forward to this game, but I was extremely disappointed. The premise is great. You have a magic notebook in which you canI was really looking forward to this game, but I was extremely disappointed. The premise is great. You have a magic notebook in which you can write anything you want, and (if it's in the game, which pretty much everything is) it'll appear in front of you. The way the developers utilize this is downright dumb, though. Your goal is to collect star bits. You do this by making people happy. That's okay I guess, but here is where it gets dumb: They have like 500 characters who each say something like "My hair is messy, wish I had something to comb it with", or "I can't go out without my helmet", etc. You basically just have to write whatever word the characters says, or what they need. It's fun for about an hour, but that's it. Graphics are nice, music is okay. But all in all, it's not worth your time or money. Concept: 9
    Execution/Gameplay: 2
    Graphics: 8
    Music: 6
    Replay value: 0
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This is the first scribblenauts game that I have played. It's completely addicting and takes a good imagination to play. I'm completelyThis is the first scribblenauts game that I have played. It's completely addicting and takes a good imagination to play. I'm completely hooked. Makes great use of the wii u's game pad. In fact, you never really have to look at your tv screen. The only reason I leave the tv on while playing is for my kids to watch (they get a kick out of it too). Full Review »