Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    88
    Amid a sea of sloppy ports, the Wii U version Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed shines like a veritable beacon: with the possible exception of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 it's the best multiplatform title on the console, and might just have the edge over the PS3 and 360 versions of the game, not least because offline play is now available for five players instead of four.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    Broken modes, both online and off, bring the otherwise enjoyable Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed to a screeching halt.
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    60
    It's still a fun game and the GamePad adds to the experience, actually making it better than its other versions--when it's working properly. However, ultimately its improvements are marred by a slew of technical follies.
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    80
    It doesn't make the most of the GamePad, but allows five players simultaneously which should be enough to make it even more fun than the other versions.
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    83
    A well done port of an exciting and really fun arcade racer based on the SEGA universe.
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    Added up, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a total blast in the spirit of Sega's beloved racing titles. [Dec 2012, p.80]
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    The result is a game which is far more focused and entertaining than the original Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing.
  8. 80
    If you're looking for a solitary campaign and online experience, then Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is the game for you. If you want chaotic multiplayer party fun, wait until Mario Kart on Wii U.
  9. Nov 30, 2012
    70
    It's really a shame that such obvious and ostensibly easy-to-fix bugs are out there right now, because without them, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is an excellent entry into a monopolized subgenre that does things differently enough to be well worth a look. I feel pretty confident that a true fix will be realized eventually. As of a week a half after launch, though, this is a slightly busted version of a great game.
  10. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    The GamePad introduces a fifth player, career map, rear-view mirror ... This edition of Sonic & All-Stars Racing: Transformed is the most complete and with possibilities for a fun title that stands out this year and it assembles all of Sega's stars.
  11. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    It really is a breath of fresh air for the kart racing genre. If anything, it goes to show that Nintendo may need to do a little more than just add a new feature to their next iteration of Mario Kart.
  12. The mixture of Sega and Sumo should have made for a game that was as accomplished as it was nostalgic. Instead, it's just a bit flat.
  13. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    A really good port of the PS360 versions, with fluid animation both on screen and on the GamePad, that will undoubtedly help those who'd have loved a Mario Kart at launch.
  14. 60
    Temporary replacement for Mario Kart ended up somewhere in the middle of the road – not quite a bad game but technically it remained far beyond its expectations. [Christmas 2012]
  15. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    Great graphics and controls, but two of the game modes are actually broken.
  16. Dec 8, 2012
    84
    Transformed is one of the best fun-racers in recent months and a classy alternative to Mario Kart, whose dominance is crumbling away. Without the frame-rate problems during split-screen races the speeding hedgehog might even have outpaced the racing plumber. Nonetheless with GamePad support and exclusive modes the Wii U version snatches the pole position.
  17. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    I'll go on record and say that this is the best kart racer in some time (yes, even better than Mario Kart 7) – now that's saying something.
  18. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a fantastic racer. The tracks and racers are great, and the controls – small jet niggles aside – are excellent.
  19. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    Sonic's second foray into the motoring world is his best yet, with a game that headlines the defining advantages of the Wii U format whilst providing more than enough to see and do for SEGA fans both young and old. Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed retains trademark aspects of the karting genre, but also provides enough variation on it to be able to stand side-by-side with Nintendo's eventual Mario equivalent.
  20. Jan 20, 2013
    80
    A pleasant surprise for every gamer with any platform that wishes to try out entertaining arcade gameplay in Mario Kart fashion. There's nothing to criticize, just the framerate drops in multiplayer. Although this is an arcade classic, it is excellently worked out. All thumbs up.
  21. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Granted, there's no real competition as of yet, but Sonic and Racing All-Stars Transformed on the Wii U easily takes the role of a really, really good Mario Kart game. It is the definitive game of this sort - and not by virtue of being the only one. The plumber will have to give it his best shot to regain his pole position on his own console.
  22. Jan 23, 2013
    85
    You are, for sure, waiting for a Mario Kart on the Wii U, but until that happens, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed can satisfy your "hunger".
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, definitely a sleeper hit. It lots of the characters from sega's past, which is great if you grew up with those games.This is a great game, definitely a sleeper hit. It lots of the characters from sega's past, which is great if you grew up with those games. If you didn't, it might be harder to relate to the characters but it's a racing game so it shouldn't matter too much.

    The tracks are very well designed and play extremely well. There are three parts to this game: Cart, Airplane, and boat. The cart plays the best in my opinion, it is completely flawless. The airplane and boat can sometimes be hard to control but that may just be me.

    There IS a gamepad only mode. You just need to swipe down on the gamepad when the game starts up and then you can play it on there. It was extremely simple to do and I had no problems.

    The only beef I have with the game is Danicka Patrick, not sure why she is there when they could have had someone like Vectorman in there but to each his own, maybe some people will like her.

    Overall, I give this game a 10 because it is truly a great game, one that is overlooked and this should not be the case. This is not a port either because the game was developed equally for xbox 360 and ps3 and even came out the same day. The game also has a few wii u specific modes that I have yet to try. Overall, there are very little flaws and the game is miles ahead of the last game, which I personally thought was fun to begin with. All in all, this game is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    Let me start off by correcting some things mentioned in an earlier review by @specialmias. This game is far from a straight port. There areLet me start off by correcting some things mentioned in an earlier review by @specialmias. This game is far from a straight port. There are bonus tracks, ability to play as your Mii's, up to 5 person local multiplayer, and the addition of stickers for your license (I was told this sticker portion was new, but I may have been misinformed, so it may be present on other consoles). When Playing alone the gamepad serves two main functions, a minimap and a rear view camera. Although to be honest you won't be looking down too often. Gamepad only mode is supported, and is incredibly easy, just swipe on the screen from top to bottom, and bottom to top to play on the TV again. Pretty much the only thing stated that was correct is that the game looks gorgeous, and there is absolutely no frame rate drop. As for gameplay, this game certainly impresses. I was skeptical that this would be a cheap Mario Kart rip-off, but i couldn't be farther from the truth. The game is addictive, beautifully paced, and offers many different modes to choose from. Not only can you race, but there are also fun battle stages, elimination races, and many more to choose from. The controls handle very well, the steering is fluid and very responsive. The music in this game is decent, some is even addictive. I wouldn't give it any awards though. The game's gimmick, transforming, is incredibly fun. It does it so much better than Mario Kart 7. They keep the race fair, and in many courses you can choose if you want to drive or fly/boat at certain points. For example my brother prefers to drive the car rather than the boat. So while I dive into the water, he steers off to the right and keeps on the road. This isn't always an option, but it is nice when present.

    This game even comes with an affordable price tag, at a modest 39.99 at most stores. I honestly would recommend this over any Mario Kart game, ever (and yes I have played them all).
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I'm absolutely loving this game. I'm surprised at the price point for this one honestly. It is a steal at US $40. My other Wii U games haveI'm absolutely loving this game. I'm surprised at the price point for this one honestly. It is a steal at US $40. My other Wii U games have been being a bit neglected thanks to Sonic Racing Transformed. Unlike the impression a fellow reviewer tries to give below the game is indeed supported for gamepad only play. Besides that though the game doesn't really need any other touch screen enhancements and stands on its own as a great addition to the Wii U library. Full Review »