• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However,When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However, when the Deadly Six rise up against their new master, Sonic must unite with his arch nemesis Eggman and explore the mystical Lost Hex in order to take them on head-to-head. Use Sonic's unique new moves and incredible Color Powers to speed across a variety of unique terrains, racing inside, outside and upside down in every level. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    Sonic Lost World is a great platform game. SEGA did a great job creating a brilliant level design and mashing up the best elements from Colors and Generations. This is a solid Wii U exclusive which, along with Rayman Legends, can easily sell the Nintendo console to platformers lovers.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Even though the hedgehog’s deceleration is a resounding success, that precision in gameplay is hindered by a temperamental homing attack and subsequent cheap deaths. That aside, though, Sonic Lost World is unquestionably a return to form and a reason to care again – thankfully without the rose-tinted specs.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Sonic Lost World is the ideal title for those seeking an immediate and funny platform meanwhile waiting for a new Mario.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    65
    Sonic: Lost world introduces a few very strong new elements, but clings to old formulas that can’t be combined with the new 3D-style. That makes Sonic: Lost World great from time to time, but an awkward failure at others.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Lost World could have been a great Sonic game, but agitating cutscenes, an overly complicated control scheme and a really unclear general direction puts a stop to that. I have a hard time imagining this will satisfy anyone to a full extent.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's more clear than ever that Sega doesn't know where to go with Sonic. The game tries to do a lot of things and end up failing at most of them. Those of you who want a great platformer for the Wii U should just pick up Rayman Legends or wait for Super Mario 3D World.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    20
    If you love him as I once did, you’ll agree that it’s time to take Sonic out back and put him out of everyone’s misery.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 117
  2. Negative: 17 out of 117
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is aThis is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is a game that is worth your time and money if you are a sonic or platformer fan Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Do not listen to the reviewers. This game is amazing! I had a blast with this game since the day I got it until the game I beat it and I'mDo not listen to the reviewers. This game is amazing! I had a blast with this game since the day I got it until the game I beat it and I'm still playing it. Sonic Lost World lets you speed into amazing stages that let you run on or up walls and lets you use unique color powers. The story is really well done, at least better than Sonic Generations story. Sonic Lost World has an awesome 2 player vs. mode that is really fun and competitive when you have friend come over. This game is a big reason to own a Wii U, because your not gonna get this game on any other console that runs at 60 fps and is 1080p. The gameplay is fluid, the controls are tight, and the graphics are beautiful. The game gets some getting used to Sonic's new play style, but after a few levels or more you will start be coming a pro at it. I hope you can enjoy this game as much as I did. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    I just don't understand the negative reviews this game has been receiving. I'm going to go ahead and say its the best Sonic game sinceI just don't understand the negative reviews this game has been receiving. I'm going to go ahead and say its the best Sonic game since Adventure 2 on the Dreamcast. The controls are spot on, and holding the Z button to instantly run is perfect. To me, this game more closely resembles the 16 Bit Sonic games than any of the other 3D attempts. People forget but Sonic games on the Genesis had plenty of sections where You had to slow down and be very precise to make it through the levels. Playing this game just makes me think Sonic games are going to get bashed no matter what. In the past reviewers complained that Sonic had too many scripted 'go fast' events, now they complain that its too slow and methodical. Personally I feel that this game has a refreshing mixture of both. Maybe its just me, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this game to Sonic fans or anyone looking for a quality platformer. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    Sonic Lost World is a very fun game. A huge problem with the game on your first playthrough is that the game does a terrible job explainingSonic Lost World is a very fun game. A huge problem with the game on your first playthrough is that the game does a terrible job explaining you the mechanics. Some stuff I didn't even know you could do until just recently. But once you get used to the controls and the parkour mechanic you're good to go. There are a few levels that can be annoying, and some levels do feel a bit gimmicky (take a look at Frozen Factory act 2 for example) But there are too many fun levels that overshadow these parts of the game. This game is actually one of the more difficult Sonic games, you might end up getting a couple of game overs on your first playthrough. But none of the deaths made me call the game cheap, or made me rage quit. The grinding levels get heavily criticized for being cheap, although those levels are exactly like the minecart levels in Donkey Kong Country Returns, except in returns everything kills you in 1 hit, but apparently people love those... Anyway, this game is definitely worth it in my opinion, but I know this game is very mixed so perhaps try getting it used or at a cheap price. Expand
  5. May 22, 2014
    7
    Sonic Lost World is a game that shows just how important the fluidity of controls are to any experience. First I'll start with the positives.Sonic Lost World is a game that shows just how important the fluidity of controls are to any experience. First I'll start with the positives. Right off the bat you can tell that the game is absolutely gorgeous. Honestly the visuals in this game are very impressive and I'm surprised that more people have not praised it for it's impressive art style (which is a tasteful nod to the Genesis era Sonic we all love) and high graphical fidelity.

    Next the sound is also very well done. The music is catchy and sounds like it belongs in a Sonic game. The story is fresh and the new characters, while at times silly, are ultimately a plus. It's fun to play against someone other than Robotnik, err Eggman, as Sonic. I welcomed their presence. Also the game is focused entirely on Sonic, which is a great positive.

    The content in the game is also pretty extensive. Each level has red rings which of course leads to the Chaos Emeralds and there's also a co-op mode and time trials along with online leaderboards. I also love the Yoshi and Zelda DLC as they feel like they were put together using a lot of effort and charm. Overall the amount of content is pretty good.

    Now it comes time for me to mention the gameplay. Firstly I would like to say that I found the level variety to be very enjoyable and added to the experience. There are several different types of levels (ranging from both 2D and 3D) that keep the game fresh throughout. Another positive is the new moves that were added to the gameplay. The wall jumping/running is a welcome addition. But that is where things turn sour.

    Unfortunately for Sonic Lost World it has a very...clunky feel to it. And clunky just doesn't work with video games. In fact I would go as far to say that if anything should be as far from clunky as possible, it's Sonic. I just don't feel nearly as fluid as I had while playing other Sonic games. Of course there is a learning curve and you can learn to adjust, but it still isn't at the level of past Sonic titles (but better than Secret Rings). Sonic loses momentum very easily and seems to be very touchy while doing a lot of his moves. The double jump is sporadic and can often screw up any wall jumping or running leading to cheap deaths. There's nothing I hate more than cheapness. Overall the gameplay just feels a bit....off.

    In the end I really want to love Sonic Lost World. I am willing to go as far as to say that if the gameplay was more fluid that it would be the best Sonic game since Sonic 3. Everything is superb except for those controls, which aren't awful, but a bit frustrating. If you're a die hard Sonic fan, pick it up. If not, it's probably not for you.
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2014
    6
    Now this is an interesting case... It's not bad and it has the great Sonic-feeling like few previous titles but then sometimes level design orNow this is an interesting case... It's not bad and it has the great Sonic-feeling like few previous titles but then sometimes level design or controlls brings you back to on Earth - and hardly. It can be extremely frustrating few points like flying segments and using whisps but overall it's okay, I think... Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    0
    So this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to aSo this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to a mental hospital this game is for you. Just in case you was wondering what that would be like play outlast in real life Expand

See all 117 User Reviews