Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    100
    While not as revolutionary as Mario 64 or Galaxy, 3D World manages to feel simultaneously fresh and nostalgic in a way the New Super Mario Bros. series never quite realized.
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    100
    You wanted a reason to buy a Wii U? Here you go. [March 2014, p.67]
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    100
    A mastery of games design, Super Mario 3D World shows that Nintendo are still on top of their game. Blending the old and the new into platforming gold, this is everything we could’ve wanted and more. The reason to own a Wii U has arrived.
  4. 100
    As usual, expect pure gameplay with a lot of amazing ideas, both old and new, thrown in the mix. Currently the best game available for the system. [Issue#237]
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    100
    It’s fun, it’s fast and it’s the best multiplayer experience on the Wii U!
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    100
    In the end, everything comes down to the incredible level design and the pure joy of playing. Super Mario 3D World makes 3D Land seem like a prototype. It's a product from a team at its creative peak - it's Mario in its purest essence.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    100
    It’s a masterpiece.
  8. Nov 27, 2013
    100
    A peerless title full of virtuosity and richness that combines the tight mechanics of old school games with sophisticated formal experimentation, full of liberty, complexity and mastery that reminds us that art has no limits.
  9. Nov 25, 2013
    100
    It's more than just a simple Mario title with multiplayer bolted on. The game weaves together a plethora of unique, compelling and occasionally downright bizarre ideas that simply work.
  10. Nov 25, 2013
    100
    Super Mario 3D World is a master class in platforming fun, and deserves every bit of praise heaped upon it.
  11. Nov 22, 2013
    100
    It really is a fantastic game. That thrill of hitting the top of the flagpole is still there after all these years, Mario and co leap about at the top of their game, it's colourful, friendly, joyful, and the most fun I've had with a platform game since Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  12. Nov 21, 2013
    100
    Super Mario 3D World is a great game full of amazing games inside. The boundaries of the imagination were again overcome and the strong interactivity and magnificent achievements in technical terms prevails.
  13. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    World might not be the same revelation that Super Mario 64 or Super Mario Galaxy were, but it doesn't look at traditions as a crutch, and instead uses what you know as a way to delight and entertain.
  14. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    Super Mario 3D World justifies a Wii U.
  15. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    To some, Super Mario may appear tired: a mascot whom Nintendo trots out every few years to sell another console with repackaged but fundamentally stale ideas. Super Mario 3D World is a fierce rebuttal to the accusation. Mario and his makers once again assert their dominance of spatial navigation games, displaying a rude abundance of ideas to delight, surprise and celebrate innocence and playfulness.
  16. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    A triumph from start to finish. Beautiful, colourful, amusing, and bereft of any cynicism whatsoever. An utter breath of fresh air that plays like a dream; this is almost certainly the game Nintendo should have launched the Wii U with. However, here we are, finally getting the incredible Mario title we deserve.
  17. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Once again, Nintendo completely re-defines platforming with the latest Mario installment. This is the game to buy a Wii U for and co-op will probably never be much more fun than this.
  18. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    The closest we will ever come to a perfect Mario game, one that is a culmination of every right decision ever made in the series. Alone, or with friends, the first time, or the tenth time, it does everything right. It's a wonderful adventure.
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    It's platforming perfection, brimming with clever ideas and flawless execution.
  20. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Super Mario 3D World is both gorgeous and about as enjoyable as a video game can be. There is an immense amount of depth that kept me coming back for more, time and time again. This is the rare type of game that I believe ten years down the road we will be coming back and playing again and again. It’s that good.
  21. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Put simply, Super Mario 3D World is stunning. Its world is beautiful, its design is impeccable, and its fun is infectious. I'm running out of superlatives here, so let me finish where I started: Go play it.
  22. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Super Mario 3D World can be easily summarised — it’s a terrifically enjoyable, tight and impeccably structured experience. It recalls the mascot’s 3D heritage while providing the perfect starting point for those that prefer 2D platforming, catering to an audience of beginners and skilled veterans alike. Nintendo’s also mastered Mario multiplayer for, arguably, the first time; it’s still manic and can be either co-operative or competitive, but there’s also a sense of space that allows determined groups to progress coherently.
  23. 100
    Thankfully 3D World isn’t just a refinement of the Mario formula, it’s a powerful re-imagining. It’s an explosive cavalcade of color and excitement as well as a well thought out evolution of Mario.
  24. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    It was then that I realized that Super Mario 3D World had achieved a level of platforming design that's close to perfection, and there was almost never a moment where I didn't have a smile on my face. This is the unequivocally the best Mario game since Galaxy 2, and it shows up anything the "New" series has ever done, and then some.
  25. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Compact by the standards of the Galaxy adventures but still loaded with bountiful secrets, beneath the warm familiarity of 3D World lies one of the strangest Mario games in years - or at least one of the most random in its influences and its moment-to-moment indulgences. And that's a very, very good thing.
  26. Dec 10, 2013
    98
    The game is breathtakingly simple, polished to perfection, and tonnes of fun - by yourself or with friends. The only reason it’s not getting a perfect 10 is because I miss the story elements, and some of the bosses were just far too easy to overcome.
  27. 98
    There is no doubt that this is the best game available on the Wii U system to date, and in my opinion it may just be the best game in Super Mario history. Make no ‘ifs’ ‘ands’ or ‘buts’ about it, Super Mario 3D World is a must buy as it is the game Wii U owners have been waiting for.
  28. Nov 19, 2013
    97
    It is beautiful. It sounds amazing. Its controls are perfect. It loves you with its pacing and variety, and it never wants you to get bored.
  29. Nov 20, 2013
    96
    Super Mario 3D World is another fantastic example of what it means to be a Nintendo game. If you have a Wii U, you can't miss this one.
  30. Nov 19, 2013
    96
    It fulfills the promise of a multiplayer Mario much better than anything that the Japanese game maker has done before. Super Mario 3D World is marvelous, and its constant variety and fantastic light-hearted co-op play proves that Nintendo still knows exactly how to tweak their Mario formula in fun ways.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 839 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 233
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    By far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The local multiplayer is an absolute blast anyone can join & leave whenever. Perfect game for families or hanging out with friends. Highly recommended! Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    It's launch day, so I may be rushing to judgement here, but up through the first half of the game this has to be one of the best platformers ever made. The 4-player co-op is even better than in New Super Mario Bros. because there is more space for a casual player to keep safe while the experienced gamers lead the way. As is typical for a Mario game, the levels start off very easy but ramp up in difficulty as it progresses. The level variety and design is just the best in the industry. The double cherry power ups alone are a brilliant and well-executed idea worthy of a whole game: in some levels you can control a huge amount of clones by collecting cherries. It works amazingly well and controlling all of the clones at once is actually manageable and intuitive. If you're all about the gameplay and don't care about realistic graphics or storyline, there isn't any better game on the market. I'm saying this as someone who owns an Xbox and Playstation, too. I have plenty of games to play right now, but there's nothing I'd rather play over this. Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    This game is pure platforming fun. Something everyone from every skill level can enjoy. Tons of power ups, innovative levels, art direction.. perfect controls. It's everything you want out of a Mario game. This is the real deal an excellent buy for anyone with a wii u. Full Review »