Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
Buy On
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 9, 2015
    100
    It's everything I wanted it to be, and Melee's true successor. [Issue#257, p.60]
  2. Jan 13, 2015
    100
    There wasn’t a single minute while I was playing this game that I wasn’t smiling, oohing, or aahing at something, whether it be a new detail in a stage, or a big time move pulled off by another player. The Smash Bros. museum is open once again, and anyone who’s ever loved Smash Bros., Nintendo, or video games in general, should immediately subscribe to the lifetime pass.
  3. Jan 9, 2015
    100
    If you’re looking for a game massive, multifaceted, and fun enough to eat your life for the next six to twelve months, you’ve found it in Super Smash Bros. for Wii U.
  4. Dec 31, 2014
    100
    Super Smash Bros. is a shiny masterpiece, and one of the most entertaining and universal fighting party games out there. If you have a Nintendo Wii U, than you need this game, in order to play it casually with your family and friends, or to compete online against the best players around the world. This is a perfect mix of awesome graphics, tons of content, and superb gameplay.
  5. Dec 15, 2014
    100
    Online in Super Smash Bros for Wii U makes an already brilliant game even better.
  6. Dec 8, 2014
    100
    Super Smash Bros. for Wii U delivers hour after hour of fun fighting game play, even if you hate fighting games.
  7. Dec 8, 2014
    100
    The ultimate showdown between 50 of Nintendo’s brightest stars.
  8. Dec 5, 2014
    100
    Super Smash Bros. for Wii U makes some of the biggest advances in the series and it's recommended for anyone who likes fighting games, Nintendo characters, multiplayer and just games in general.
  9. 100
    There's no better time to buy into the console.
  10. Dec 1, 2014
    100
    With Smash Bros. for Wii U, Nintendo offers a meticulous and generous game, technically stunning and with an indestructible replay value, whether playing alone or with friends, in local or online multiplayer. If entertainment is a science, Smash Bros. for Wii U deserves the Nobel.
  11. Nov 21, 2014
    100
    The overall experience has a trim and polish that is exceptional even by Nintendo’s standards, and while there are a few nitpicks that longtime fans of the series might find, it’s hard to argue against this being the best game in the series to date.
  12. Nov 19, 2014
    100
    This is easily the most robust, addicting, and fun Smash Bros. experience yet, and if you have any love for Nintendo’s iconic characters, I’d urge you to pick up Super Smash Bros. on Wii U come November 21st.
  13. Nov 19, 2014
    100
    In a holiday season rife with games that are riddled by bugs and glitches of all sorts, it’s beyond refreshing to know that I can sit down and repeatedly wail on Mario or pummel Samus into submission to my heart’s content in lag-free glory. Smashing truly never felt so good.
  14. Nov 19, 2014
    100
    Smash is fun. That’s one of the most boring words to use in a video game review, I know, but I can’t sum it up any other way. Nintendo’s developers made it an obvious objective and they’ve unequivocally hit the motherload. You’ll feel like you did too, so make sure you’re tossing opponents off-stage to explore it all.
  15. Nov 28, 2014
    98
    Nintendo did it again. It's a great game to play with friends, with so much content we can literally spend months playing it. Also, yet another reason to buy a Wii U.
  16. Nov 22, 2014
    98
    Its mix of accessibility and deep strategy is remarkable, and it’s an instant lock in my party-game rotation.
  17. Nov 21, 2014
    98
    Nearly every aspect of Smash Wii U seems fine-tuned not only to appeal to the nostalgia of long-time Nintendo fans, but also to be accessible to new players. Once they’re hooked, it draws them in deeper with a set of great modes and tempting rewards.
  18. Nov 21, 2014
    98
    The Wii U version is a fantastic addition to the series. The new modes are great, but the excellent mechanics and huge, varied roster make it potentially the best entry in the franchise yet.
  19. Nov 19, 2014
    98
    Some thirteen years after Melee’s release, Nintendo has finally formulated an experience which compares appreciably to the masterpiece that we all love (and many of us still play). Whether for fun or for glory, Super Smash Bros. for Wii U is the follow-up Smash fans have been anticipating since.
  20. Jan 23, 2015
    97
    Everything we wanted from a Super Smash Bros Game and more. It´s great fun for playing solo or enjoying eight player combat. One of the best Wii U games so far.
  21. Nov 19, 2014
    96
    An enormous fighting game and a celebration of the Nintendo universe. Technically amazing, extremely imaginative and a step or two over the limit: again, a Nintendo game deserving a standing ovation.
  22. Nov 28, 2014
    95
    A powerful fan-service punch with all the Nintendo fantasy you like. Many scenarios, fighters and game modes to play for months. It's the definitive smash for Wii U.
  23. Nov 28, 2014
    95
    Smash Bros is the new king of multiplayer games. Full of content, new characters, stages, modalities and features (8 players). A really must have for Nintendo fans and Wii U owners.
  24. Nov 26, 2014
    95
    Anyone who has loved prior entries will fall in love with this, and if you’re a lapsed fan, you’ll be reminded of why you loved the series.
  25. Nov 23, 2014
    95
    Not only is it an incredible party fighting game to casually play with up to 8 players, but it’s also a fantastic 1-on-1 fighting game for those who put in the time and dedication to master its mechanics.
  26. NintendoWorldReport
    Nov 23, 2014
    95
    The online multiplayer isn’t perfect, but it’s light years beyond what was present in Brawl and comparable to the 3DS version. Even still, the easiest way to say it is like this: The Wii U release is the best version of Smash Bros. to date.
  27. Nov 21, 2014
    95
    Pound for pound, Super Smash Bros. for Wii U has been the most fun I've had playing video games in 2014, and a well-polished crown jewel in the Wii U's library. I've spent dozens of hours Smashing roomfuls of friends into oblivion, grinding through events and hunting down unlockables — and, happily, I feel like I'm just getting started.
  28. Nov 21, 2014
    95
    Get this game at the earliest opportunity and gather your friends—Smash Bros on Wii U is now the undisputed king of party games.
  29. Nov 20, 2014
    95
    With so much content, numerous game modes, beautiful graphics and the seemingly endless collectibles to find, this is a game that can be played for not just months, but years to come. There is truly something to offer for all audiences.
  30. Nov 19, 2014
    95
    A middle ground between the mindless fun of Brawl and the more serious play of Melee, Super Smash Bros. for Wii U is a pretty solid iteration, packed with content, charisma and lots of versatility.
  31. Nov 19, 2014
    95
    Super Smash Bros. for Wii U offers the most modes, fighters, and stages in the history of the franchise, with a surprisingly high level of polish across the board. Whether you prefer multiplayer or toughing it out against CPU fighters, you’ll find hours of excellent fun throwing down with your favorite Nintendo characters.
  32. Nov 19, 2014
    95
    Super Smash Bros. for Wii U delivers all of the rock-solid mechanics that the 3DS version gave us, with the joy of playing on a big screen with friends and a heap of worthwhile modes. It certainly doesn't negate the greatness of the 3DS edition, but for those who have a bunch of friends anxious to Smash and can only get one, this is the version to get.
  33. Nov 19, 2014
    95
    A beautifully polished, impeccably tight game. While I’d have liked more 3DS integration, and the much-touted Amiibo inclusion isn’t anything to go crazy over, the game remains an absolutely stellar fighting game that I’m finding very difficult to tear myself away from.
  34. Dec 5, 2014
    94
    Super Smash Bros. for the Wii U is a no-brainer. If you own the console, there really is no reason for not owning the title already. There is enough content, fun, and joy to keep players busy for perpetuity.
  35. Nov 19, 2014
    94
    The new Smash Brothers has a lot to live up to, but it manages to deliver on all fronts. Smash Tour is slightly disappointing, but everything else is top-notch. From the addictive gameplay to the pretty graphics and new modes; this is Nintendo's best Wii U game.
  36. Games Master UK
    Jan 31, 2015
    93
    A sprawling ode to Nintendo and punching, this'll keep fans scrapping for years to come. [Feb 2015, p.66]
  37. Nov 22, 2014
    93
    Super Smash Bros. on Wii U is pure Nintendo magic and it is a lot better than its 3DS brother. The fighting system is challenging and for every element in this game there is a wide range of options. We would have liked a real single-player mode, but the multiplayer is so good: this is the Wii U game to get this season.
  38. Nov 22, 2014
    92
    After playing this game, nostalgics will still prefer the first episode on Nintendo 64, pro gamers Melee, and Subspace Emissary fans will still prefer Brawl. But, despite the lack of innovation, this is the definitive Super Smash Bros.: the most complete and detailed one.
  39. Nov 19, 2014
    92
    If you want a fighting game that is easy to get into and even easier to enjoy Super Smash Bros. for Wii U is the only fighting game you need to have.
  40. Dec 1, 2014
    91
    This game needs to be in every Wii U owner’s collection.
  41. CD-Action
    Mar 4, 2015
    90
    It would not be easy to find another game that offers so much content. [02/2015, p.61]
  42. Jan 22, 2015
    90
    Along with Mario Kart 8, this is by far the best Wii U game. With tons of content and superb design, this SSB will keep you hooked for months.
  43. Pelit (Finland)
    Jan 21, 2015
    90
    Nintendo does what it knows THE best. Nostalgia is the greatest power-up of them all. [Jan 2015]
  44. Jan 21, 2015
    90
    There's only two questions that matter when it comes to Super Smash Bros.: "Do you love Nintendo?" and "Do you enjoy hitting things 'til they go flying off into the stratosphere?"
  45. Jan 14, 2015
    90
    One of the best games for Wii U. Nintendo has once again improved and refreshed a proven formula. Super Smash Bros. is an almost perfect brawler.
  46. Dec 22, 2014
    90
    It’s not perfect; online multiplayer still harbours some niggling issues, and it still has no answer to Melee’s brilliant Adventure mode. But if you love Super Smash Bros., fighting games or even just Nintendo as a whole, you should snap up this game without a second thought.
  47. Dec 16, 2014
    90
    Not as surprising as Brawl, but this new Super Smash Bros. is a more polished version of one of the most fun games Nintendo has ever made.
  48. Dec 15, 2014
    90
    Super Smash Bros. is dressed with Nintendo’s best tradition and makes each combat frenetic and a page of the company's history.
  49. Dec 8, 2014
    90
    When I sit back and think about Smash Bros I think about how amazed a gamer from the mid 90s would find it.
  50. Dec 4, 2014
    90
    It is perhaps not the most comprehensive set of online options, with Nintendo still looking like they are feeling their way with online multiplayer. But there are flashes of inspiration, such as the involving spectator mode. But most importantly, Smash’s online mode works beautifully well.
  51. Dec 4, 2014
    90
    Smash is yet another reason to own Nintendo’s machine, and anyone looking for a fun romp would be wise to pick it up, along with some Gamecube controllers for maximum enjoyment.
  52. 90
    It's downright glorious in its focus on local multiplayer. Cramming your room with seven friends and playing this until dawn like it was the mid-2000's is just the best reminder of why I love video games.
  53. Dec 1, 2014
    90
    Super Smash Bros. Wii U is a quality game indeed. Brilliant, full of life, meticulously animated, this brand-new episode will rejoice those who were delighted by the 3DS opus.
  54. Nov 30, 2014
    90
    Super Smash Bros. for Wii U may not correspond exactly to what everyone was yearning but this does not take the spotlight away from Nintendo's flagship brawler. A fantastic graphical environment, involving and fun gameplay, magnificent soundtrack and a lengthy lifespan all contribute for yet another monumental chapter of the series.
  55. Nov 29, 2014
    90
    It's a bright, bustling multiplayer fest that deserves a place in any Wii U library.
  56. Nov 25, 2014
    90
    Whether it bests past entries like Super Smash Bros. Melee or Brawl doesn’t matter; it’s a spectacular work unto itself.
  57. Nov 25, 2014
    90
    Super Smash Bros. for Wii U is an expertly crafted, deep fighter that is a pure joy to play no matter your skill level.
  58. Nov 24, 2014
    90
    The latest Smash is a fast game, exciting, frighteningly rich in content and can be appreciated by every type of player. In practice, the embodiment of everything that has made the series a success.
  59. Nov 24, 2014
    90
    Poor internet functionality is, thankfully, a blight on an otherwise incredible game. Between the Masterpiece Collections, which are short demos of the classic games that inspired Smash Bros., the many fighters and stages, the deep character customization for fine-tuning your fighters to suit your play style, and the extensive screenshot editing tools, there’s just so much to do.
  60. Nov 24, 2014
    90
    Same great Smash Bros. gameplay, amazing new presentation on the Wii U. Whether you're looking for technical depth or enjoyable chaos, you'll find it here.
  61. Nov 23, 2014
    90
    The search for the perfect offline mode continues, but even without it this is the best Smash Bros. so far and one of the best fighting games of all-time.
  62. Joystiq
    Nov 23, 2014
    90
    Smash is an intelligent, creative, blissful continuation of the "Who's better?" character debate, and I look forward to changing my answer as I reconfigure Smash's roster and find new favorite ways to send Donkey Kong into the stratosphere.
  63. Nov 21, 2014
    90
    The online component for Smash Bros. is astonishingly smooth.
  64. Nov 21, 2014
    90
    It's a game dedicated to fans, and it doesn't show any interest in bringing in newcomers. Despite that, players that loved the previous chapters will find here countless hours of epic fights.
  65. Nov 19, 2014
    90
    The attention to detail afforded to its characters is matched only by the comprehensive nature of its soundtrack and stage selection. On top of that, the Wii U brings with it a huge amount of single-player and multiplayer content, putting it a notch above its similarly strong handheld counterpart.
  66. Nov 19, 2014
    90
    Gorgeous, addictive and absolutely exploding with content, this is the ultimate Super Smash Bros. experience. Though the stage design tool is once again lacking and Smash Tour will be hit or miss for some, you’ll still be playing this for years to come.
  67. Dec 1, 2014
    85
    This is a content monster. With crisp controls and support for up to eight players, this is party mayhem at its best. Unfortunately the online-mode can’t deliver once more.
  68. Nov 22, 2014
    85
    If not for the inconsistent online functionality, Smash for Wii U might have been the definitive Smash installment. It offers up every control option under the sun, including the much desired GameCube controller support, delivering the most accessible version in the series. It’s definitely an improvement over Brawl and the recent 3DS counterpart, though Nintendo could still learn a few things from Melee to include in future installments, like adding a competent adventure mode back into the mix.
  69. Edge Magazine
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    While a smattering of minor blemishes mean it shines a bit less brightly than 2014's other headline acts, it's not less essential for it. [Jan 2014, p.112]
  70. Jan 9, 2015
    80
    Smash Bros shows that despite the Wii U’s constant struggle to gain mainstream acceptance, Nintendo are still ploughing ahead, producing the most fun content you can find. Gather some friends together and there really is nothing better.
  71. Dec 23, 2014
    80
    Just like its 3DS sibling Super Smash Bros. for the Wii U combines the best elements from its predecessors. The result is a game that works equally well for competitions as it does as a pure party game for the family. Even though the matches are a bit too chaotic and some game modes plain boring, it does not prevent Super Smash Bros. for the Wii U to be the best entry in the series.
  72. Dec 4, 2014
    80
    The Wii U version of Super Smash Bros. definitely is the most rich one. This fighter offers an awesome package for both newbies and veterans. Fights with up to eight people in one arena make for a great party. We would have liked to see the new features a little more refined.
  73. Nov 28, 2014
    80
    Smash is still too unrefined to be the choice of the Nintendo connoisseur, perhaps, but as long as you don't take it too seriously, it is riotously good fun.
  74. Nov 21, 2014
    80
    Some modes flop in Super Smash Bros. for Wii U, but the important thing is that the core game is expanded upon and significantly improved over entries in the franchise’s past. Its roster and stages are unmatched, and the variety of controller options is fantastic.
  75. Nov 21, 2014
    80
    Here, then, is another sign that Super Smash Bros. for Wii U is self-aware: It knows the difference between those who win and those who get in the winner’s way, and that one is no better or worse than the other.
  76. Super Smash Bros. for Wii U has holes that simply can’t be filled with trophies and an encyclopedic soundtrack. The customizable characters are interesting, amiibo’s have their finer points, and the multiplayer is smooth, but at its core this is a game left unchanged.
  77. Dec 4, 2014
    70
    The core mechanic from the original game is still there, but it feels more refined and polished than before. Though the amiibo integration feels like an after-thought it's still a fun party game to play with your friends.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1828 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    Amazing game, may even be the first time a smash game gets a goty award as it is filled with content a ton of new modes and characters( 8Amazing game, may even be the first time a smash game gets a goty award as it is filled with content a ton of new modes and characters( 8 player smash is awesome) and stages. It is truly a next gen game.
    I think everyone knew this would be hit with awesome review scores however the real test is how much it helps the wii u, and I hope it helps it a lot
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2014
    3
    First we had “Super Smash. Bros.” Then we had “Melee.” Then it was “Brawl.” And now, it’s “4.” Or, “WiiU.” Take your pick.

    Unfortunately,
    First we had “Super Smash. Bros.” Then we had “Melee.” Then it was “Brawl.” And now, it’s “4.” Or, “WiiU.” Take your pick.

    Unfortunately, the lack of creativity in the title reflects a lack of creativity in the game, too. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but this is the weakest of the Smash Bros. series.

    In a nutshell, here’s why (with more elaboration below):

    1) No new Adventure Mode
    2) Old modes aren’t as fun
    3) Worst replay value of the series
    4) Way too gimmicky
    5) “Brawl 2.0” would’ve been an appropriate title

    1) First and most glaringly, there is no Adventure Mode like there has been in the past two games. The closest you get to an Adventure Mode is the “Smash Tour,” which is a super confusing game board that culminates in a regular Smash Bros. match anyway. Without that Adventure Mode, I feel like I’m meaninglessly playing the game over and over without any kind of real direction. Instead of slowly learning how characters work and unlocking players as the story goes on, the game starts with most of the characters already unlocked and you’re just supposed to play endless matchups until you get the hang of each character.

    2) As you would expect it to, Smash 4 offers most of the same game modes that its predecessors have. Except, this version has not only failed to build upon previous versions, but actually takes a step backward. Classic mode is clunky and awkward: why can’t I just go through a lineup of matches like in past versions? Adventure mode is okay (and I like the concept of fighting characters in reverse chronological order), but I still think Brawl takes the cake on this one.

    3) Saying that a Smash Bros. title has poor replay value is not what you would expect, but that’s what you get here. Part of this is because there’s no Adventure Mode. But mainly, this is because there are so many tedious events to do with each character – like home run challenge, endless smash, cruel smash, etc. – that there is no way I am going to set a record for each individual character as I have in Melee and Brawl.

    4) Throughout the game, you’re collecting these power-ups that are supposed to power-up your “create your own” character. The problem is, I have no interest in creating a character and having them get powered up. This is Smash Bros., not an RPG. Unless I’m playing an Adventure Mode (and not against other people), I want an even match every time. The thought that some obsessive player is currently focusing on powering up his character, and can someday play against me and have a huge advantage because of all the equipment they’ve found, is a very disheartening one. I feel that too much time was spent on gimmicks like these and not enough was spent on actual gameplay.

    5) The worst part about this game is that it’s basically another “Brawl” and not much else. They’ve taken away a few of the better characters (like Snake and Ice Climbers) and replaced them with 14 new characters. Except, most of those characters are minor revisions to other characters. (Seriously… “Dark Pit” couldn’t have just been a different skin of “Pit?”) Of all the new characters, I was only excited about 5 of them.

    The levels are perhaps the most disappointing part of this game. 21 of these game’s levels are identical versions of past games. Listen, everyone likes retro and to see new versions of old levels re-appear, but this shouldn’t be the emphasis. There are only 25 new levels, and keeping in mind that “new” often just means a platform with a new background. I would say there’s only about a dozen truly “new” levels being offered here.

    That’s not to say there wasn’t effort put into the game. The game is polished and doesn’t lag (unless you’re online), and the 8-player smash option is a great improvement. I am very pleased with the additions of Pac-Man, Mega Man, Little Mac, Duck Hunt, and the bosses that appear on some stages. Also, the Event Mode seems to be the best of the all the Smashes so far.

    Otherwise though, I just feel like all the effort was put into the wrong places. Here I am, on Day 2 of owning this game, and I’ve already lost interest in playing it much more because I’ve already unlocked all the characters and have just a couple stages left to unlock.

    So, go ahead and click “this review wasn’t helpful," but I am thoroughly disappointed with this title. I plan to return to Hyrule Warriors as soon as the new DLC is released this coming week, and maybe even sooner.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    Gaming is about having fun. That is what Super Smash Bros. for Wii U delivers, unlike a lot of other major game releases this year, which haveGaming is about having fun. That is what Super Smash Bros. for Wii U delivers, unlike a lot of other major game releases this year, which have been major disappointments this year. Smash Wii U is a breath of fresh air, and there is so much to do that I know i'll get hundreds of hours out of the game. Full Review »