Tekken Tag Tournament 2: Wii U Edition Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time on any Nintendo console - Tekken Tag Tournament 2 promises to deliver completely updated features and the most comprehensive Tekken experience to date. Play with the largest Tekken roster ever, in all new stages, utilizing fully re-engineered multiplayer functionality forFor the first time on any Nintendo console - Tekken Tag Tournament 2 promises to deliver completely updated features and the most comprehensive Tekken experience to date. Play with the largest Tekken roster ever, in all new stages, utilizing fully re-engineered multiplayer functionality for optimum online matches. Enjoy exclusive Wii U features including special battle modes and exclusive costumes. Play like a pro with easy shortcuts on the Gamepad. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    Tekken's first appearance on a Nintendo console is a complete and outstanding success.
  2. 90
    TTT2 Wii U edition is an excellent example of how to best use the Wii U. The technical side of things is top notch, and the features of the Wii U game pad are brilliantly utilized. The new game modes and mini games are highly entertaining, and the whole package just oozes quality and effort.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is a great fighting game. This version is as great as the others, and the nice extras are good enough to grant fun and laughters. If you're looking for a good fighting game for the new Nintendo console, this is your best choice.
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    85
    Due to a very large roster and the solid gameplay mechanics, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 closes with style this long chapter of the series.
  5. Dec 12, 2012
    84
    An enhanced Port with merits, especially Nintendo Fans should enjoy.
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    The Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U port is rather successful, although playing with the GamePad is not easy at first. Fortunately, shortcuts on the touch screen are nice, but that being said, nothing beats a good arcade stick of course! Another interesting point: you can play on the GamePad screen itself. Regarding game modes, the Mushroom Mode is good fun, but not for long, and the online mode works pretty well. In short, TTT2 on Wii U is as good as the other consoles versions, but its new features, funny at first, finally don't bring so much to the experience.
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    67
    It's far from a simple rehash of its ported cousins, and it manages to successfully carve out its own unique and compelling features that you won't find on the other iterations.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    The bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting onThe bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting on characters and the Nintendo themed costumes make this port of the game superior by far. Tekken ball is ok, but the game itself is fun on all consoles. With a massive roster of characters, each character has their own entertaining ending. This game lasts a long time before it is complete. I have owned this game for around a year now, and still am not finished with it yet. Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    finally a Tekken game on a nintendo system..a lot of fun with tekken ball mode and versus mode..but this game doesnt use the gamepad with allfinally a Tekken game on a nintendo system..a lot of fun with tekken ball mode and versus mode..but this game doesnt use the gamepad with all its power like zombi u or nintendo land.. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2016
    9
    O jogo em si é muito bom, mas esse port é excelente. Trazendo muito conteúdo extra desde novos modos de lutas, mini games extras e até novasO jogo em si é muito bom, mas esse port é excelente. Trazendo muito conteúdo extra desde novos modos de lutas, mini games extras e até novas customizações. Se pelo menos algumas desenvolvedoras como a 505 Games soubessem fazer ports bem feitos como esse...
    9/10
    Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2014
    8
    Tekken finally on a Nintendo system? Sounds cool, and it is cool. I didn't get a Wii U until a little later into it's life, so I only everTekken finally on a Nintendo system? Sounds cool, and it is cool. I didn't get a Wii U until a little later into it's life, so I only ever played Tag 2 on the 360 or PS3. I always heard about these cool features the Wii U version had, and I didn't understand why the 360 or PS3 versions didn't have them. Then I realized, Nintendo probably ended up conducted a deal with the Tekken developers. This was just a little thought I always had.

    With that aside, as usual it's a Tekken game and is amazing. The extra content, like volleyball mode and mushrooms mode is fun. Mushrooms mode is a little glitch and volleyball mode can take some getting use to, but they're still something different and fun.

    The graphics are amazing, It's great seeing a Tekken game with upgraded graphics for the Wii U. It just shows what the Wii U will be capable of in the future.

    Now there is something I would like to mention, I'm a big online player and mostly only play this game online. What I found really cool, was something I found really stupid at the same time. you are able to place actions into the Wii U gamepad in practice mode, and they follow through into online mode. I don't mean just single moves, I mean fairly lengthy combos, you can also place in the power moves. Sure it doesn't allow the 10 hit combos, but you can place 5 combos into it, and it can basically act as a 10 hit combo, if not more, with the tap of the screen. You tap each combo, etc....On the gamepad, and it does it with a single finger tap. I did a little test online, and just spammed all 5 inputs. It was almost impossible for the other person to hit me. Now this may appear as "Awesome". Let me tell you, it was cool, but also very stupid. It was good to the point where you didn't need to get frustrated, for not being able to do a specific combo. It was extremely stupid to the point where it just takes no skill and my 3 year old nephew could beat a fairly skilled player.

    If you like an easy win, then do this. If you're more into skilled playing, then I would suggest staying away from this feature. It is fairly odd they would put in a feature like this. After all, Tekken is all about skill.

    Anyway, we all know the deal. It's Tekken, and it's fun. Sure it's not perfect, but no game is. I give it an 8.
    Collapse
  5. Jan 25, 2016
    8
    This is a great fighting game with a lot of depth. There's a ton of content here and the Wii U exclusives are definitive, in my opinion. I'dThis is a great fighting game with a lot of depth. There's a ton of content here and the Wii U exclusives are definitive, in my opinion. I'd have rated it higher except that it has surprisingly long loading times which are very jarring and make the otherwise smooth title feel glaring under-optimized. This is a great companion to Super Smash Brothers and offers a very different take on the genre, though it's exclusive Mushroom Battle can offer a surprisingly similar experience and there's a fun cast of characters to be found here as well. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2015
    8
    Got this game to go along with Smash Bros and was not let down. the game is great and a blast to play with friends. Its not hard for those notGot this game to go along with Smash Bros and was not let down. the game is great and a blast to play with friends. Its not hard for those not big on fighting games to play, so its a great game for new comers and all ages. They did a really good job bringing this game to the Wii U, helps add to the great fighting games Wii U has. Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2014
    3
    I bought this game because I ADORED the original Tekken Tag Tournament, but I was soo disappointed when I picked it up. I realised what a badI bought this game because I ADORED the original Tekken Tag Tournament, but I was soo disappointed when I picked it up. I realised what a bad mistake I had purchasing this game. Terrible control in my opinion, lackluster features and no attention to detail led me to never play this since the day I picked it up. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews