Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 90
    Toki Tori 2 demands a lot from players, more than the vast majority of modern games do. We have come to rely on games holding our hands and pointing out what to pay attention to as soon as we come across a puzzle, before we've had the chance to work it out. Allow Toki Tori 2 to remind you just how satisfying it can be to solve a clever puzzle entirely by yourself. This opportunity is all too rare today.
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    90
    With the same level of cleverness as its predecessor, Toki Tori 2, or rather its inceptors at Two Tribes, smashed another hit on a Nintendo console. It's absolutely beautiful, sounds great, and gives great value for money.
  3. May 30, 2013
    86
    Repays the dedicated in spades. Top stuff. [July 2013, p.79]
  4. Toki Tori 2 features puzzling of the highest order in a world that could afford to be a little more user-friendly. Be brave and give it a go.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    85
    This is a different and challenging puzzle, with its own personality, that makes you think in a creative way. It may be quite hard for some players, but if you're not afraid, then it's for you.
  6. May 13, 2013
    80
    Toki Tori 2's way of leaving the player to their own devices is a double-edged sword. Having to repeat solved puzzles all the time due to backtracking or missing a key clue: bad. Having to figure almost everything for yourself: very refreshing and rewarding. [May 2013]
  7. May 6, 2013
    80
    Toki Tori 2 has genuinely surprised us. With very few but perfect ideas the game is one of the most intriguing puzzle in recent years.
  8. Apr 29, 2013
    80
    Toki Tori 2 looks like a cute, little puzzle adventure, but hidden underneath those pretty, yellow feathers is a monster of a platform puzzler. It can be frustrating at first, because the game doesn’t give away much information, but once you get used to the logic of the puzzles, that’s when Toki Tori 2 really shines.
  9. Apr 15, 2013
    80
    It matches this respect for its players with easy controls that belie the game's complex puzzles. It's surprisingly refreshing, and yet very unassuming. While the occasional frustration may grate, it's this charming simplicity that will always pull you back in.
  10. Apr 10, 2013
    80
    Sure it may have some small setbacks, but the gamble Two Tribes took with Toki Tori 2 really paid off. The clever design and simplistic mechanics really click, and when that discovery of how it all worked hit me, I was in love. The Wii U may not have a plethora of must-own titles, but if you own the console, this game is definitely one to pick up. The eShop could continue to be a spawning pool for brilliance like this; let’s just hope developers continue to bring their great vision to the platform.
  11. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    Not only funny to look at, Toki Tori 2 presents an enjoyable and hardcore experience based on some original puzzle platform mechanics.
  12. Apr 5, 2013
    80
    Toki Tori 2’s incredibly slow pace and lack of any true action make it an experience that is definitely not for everyone - but kids, puzzle lovers, and fans of all things adorable are in for a truly delightful and well-crafted experience.
  13. 80
    Beneath its cute exterior beats the heart of a demandingly difficult brainteaser which rewards invention and persistence, but has no time for trivial puzzles – or gamers.
  14. Apr 9, 2013
    76
    A very good new installment of one of the best puzzle games featured in the WiiWare shop a long time ago.
  15. Apr 16, 2013
    75
    Toki Tori 2 is a fun and intuitive game, though the lack of direction may lead to frustration.
  16. Apr 3, 2013
    73
    Toki Tori 2 is no ordinary sequel. The game delivers a brand-new puzzle experience, pretty slow-paced but nice.
  17. Apr 21, 2013
    70
    Fans of Fez and Braid can find here a quite valid alternative, although its gameplay affects the final result.
  18. Apr 20, 2013
    70
    Toki Tori 2 might seem like a kiddy game at first, but turns out to be a complicated and often intelligent puzzle game. Every puzzle can be solved with only two moves! It lacks some explanations and subtle hints, though, that can turn those ingenious puzzles into a game of frustration and trial-and-error. The map attests to this, which a 17th century cartographer wouldn't even be able to decipher.
  19. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    A nice game that asks you some patience before showing his true appeal.
  20. Apr 10, 2013
    70
    A joyful and intriguing experience. I love how the developer trusts my instincts and completely lets go off my hand right from the start. Super cute creatures and wonderfully warm environments makes it a particularity good choice for the younger audience.
  21. Apr 4, 2013
    70
    Although charming and admirable, Toki Tori 2 at times is almost too minimal.
  22. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Toki Tori 2 deserves praise for asking its players to take a leap of faith; it’s just a pity it’s not always prepared to follow them over.
  23. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Toki Tori 2 takes the Two Tribes mascot in a bold, ambitious new direction, and represents a unique offering on the Wii U eShop. At its best it's a visually appealing, intuitive experience that truly teaches you to use powers of deduction and to think creatively.
  24. Apr 16, 2013
    67
    Toki Tori 2 won’t be for everyone. The pace is slow and the price tag will keep away a lot of people on the fence. But for those that enjoyed the original, or puzzle fans that might have missed the boat, this is a very unique and cerebral experience that shouldn’t be missed.
  25. Aug 2, 2013
    65
    Less of a platformer and more of a straight puzzler, Toki Tori 2 is right up the alley of those that love games requiring unconventional thinking. Its easy controls and basic gameplay ensure that anyone can pick it up and try it, while its difficulty curve, frequent sticking points and general lack of explanation means that only the most determined will finish it.
  26. Apr 5, 2013
    65
    The small challenges are entertaining, the confused concept is not. The hidden shortcuts that need to be discovered and the lack of clues make it hard for me to appreciate this charming puzzler.
  27. Apr 8, 2013
    60
    Toki Tori 2 is fully built around the idea of being something simple and grand at the same time. And indeed, it manages to surprise you again and again with interesting puzzles, despite only being able to do two things. Unfortunately it can be completely unclear what you're supposed to be doing at times. This is exacerbated by an unclear map that doesn't encourage backtracking. Toki Tori 2 is therefore sometimes slightly too grand to retain simplicity.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Toki Tori 2 is the second game of the Toki Tori series. It's a really nice game, in a peaceful world, well, a peaceful world that is in trouble, where there is a chicken, which had skills, but now can only whistle and stomp. It's worth it, totally if you like puzzle or adventure. Full Review »
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    This game is stunning. Rarely I had the opportunity to feel so involved in a game on many levels: mind bending puzzles, a wonderful sense of exploration, things to be figured out on my own... What I find strange is that if a game is original, and has really something unique in it, it rarely gets very high scores. Just try it out, believe me. Money are not wasted (a lot of value and effort has been clearly put in this game) AND if it clicks with you, you can find ANYTHING like this around. It's a superb and intoxicating experience.
    Do you want an island that's basically a gigantic puzzling mechanism, open-world from the very beginning, where you don't need keys to open doors or power ups to pass previously locked scenarios? You can go everywhere if you figure out how to! It's refreshing, immersive and outstanding.
    I am close to the end of the game, but it's already amongst the best I played ever. And I played a lot of games.
    Don't underestimate this one, let yourself get lost in the gigantic puzzle-filled island, because unique experiences today are rare
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I completely agree with Jackrov's review and I'm really sorry to see that people is so dumb nowadays (basing this observation on the "professional" reviews). This game feels exactly like the old time gems that made the history of the video game media (games for c64, nes, atari vcs etc.) where very little if nothing was explained to you and you had to figure out what to do and how to do and also why to do it. Toki Tori 2 feels the same, every area, every inhabitant of its world is surrounded by a halo of mystery like I hadn't experienced much in my latest years of gaming (Fez has been a rare example). Probably in this era of one-button mobile games there isn't the "enlightment" necessary to understand a game like this and in fact many reviewers complained about the lack of "tutorials, hints, motivation" etc. completely missing the point. It has been a bold choice for the developers to follow this road (and it's certainly hasn't been done to reduce the development costs because production value is outstanding for a game sold at this price and the soundtrack is amazing by the way). If you think that you are "deep" (or old) enough to understand a game like this please don't overlook it, it would really be a pity... Full Review »