Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The United States has a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. A group of rogue nations have had enough and initiate a terror ultimatum called the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on U.S. interests. Sam Fisher is the leader of the newlyThe United States has a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. A group of rogue nations have had enough and initiate a terror ultimatum called the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on U.S. interests. Sam Fisher is the leader of the newly formed 4th Echelon unit: a clandestine unit that answers solely to the President of the United States. Sam and his team must hunt down these terrorists by any means necessary, and stop the Blacklist countdown before it reaches zero. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 80
    We can say that Ubisoft did what was expected of an adaptation of Blacklist for Wii U. Without adding new content and unique functions that would elevate the game to a new level, it opted to keep a similar experience in all versions, the difference being that the Wii U adapts some mechanics to the GamePad.
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Consistently competent and without great ambitions beyond the volume of content, Blacklist is not the definitive experience of Splinter Cell, but reunites the series.
  3. Like the world's darkest buffet, Blacklist offers a lot to choose from, but all of it seems a tad undercooked. This is almost always good, but very rarely great.
  4. 70
    If you feel like you can put up with copious loading screens and cutscene glitches, then I would say this is worth picking up. However, if you’re looking for the tight, polished package that Splinter Cell games used to be, then you’ll likely be left wanting.
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Ubisoft takes bold steps with tradition in Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist in an attempt to please as many as possible, but by doing so dilutes the game's stealthy strength in favour of chasing new audiences.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    I decided to go with this version over the others because of the Wii u features and off screen play. But was not sure it was any good due toI decided to go with this version over the others because of the Wii u features and off screen play. But was not sure it was any good due to no reviews. I have been playing it for several hours and I'm safe to say it's fantastic. Graphics and frame rate is great and off screen play is awesome. I've played all the splinter cells and this is one of the best. Don't understand why reviewers can't be arsed to review it on Wii u or if they have their reviews aren't on here but it's safe to say it's a great game. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    I've been enjoying this game a lot: graphics are gorgeous, and the gameplay is very solid. It really feels great to walk around in theI've been enjoying this game a lot: graphics are gorgeous, and the gameplay is very solid. It really feels great to walk around in the shadows, picking enemies one after the other, with all the weapons, tools and moves at our disposal (even though the game accomodates a more aggressive playstyle, stealth still rules). It's actually the best game I've played on Wii U so far IMO. I had played "SC: Double Agent" on Wii just before, and thought it was a fun game, but this one is thousands times better. Really the only flaw is the long loading times between missions, but they're rare enough that it's easily forgiven. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Simply awesome. This game had me glued to the TV addicted to the gameplay and story. The gamepad is used in useful ways. Switching betweenSimply awesome. This game had me glued to the TV addicted to the gameplay and story. The gamepad is used in useful ways. Switching between guns is easy and it acts as a camera sometimes. The load times suck but I can dig it. Recommended Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    Excellent game, one of the most played on my Wii-u. Graphics and effects are great, but the game has tons of content and different missionsExcellent game, one of the most played on my Wii-u. Graphics and effects are great, but the game has tons of content and different missions and play styles. Online is great too, tough the servers could be better. a problem seen on the other ports as well. Best splinter cell to date ; don't miss it ! Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    This game is a great example of what the Wii U can do. The GamePad was put to good use for a variety of actions and interface needs. IThis game is a great example of what the Wii U can do. The GamePad was put to good use for a variety of actions and interface needs. I enjoyed being able to customize my loadout and to store some loadouts in my base.

    I think one of the best aspects of this game is how you are rated at the end of each mission. You're ranked in three categories that reflect your style of gameplay. It gives the player a reason to revisit missions to either raise their scores or to play in a different manner.

    The story was compelling and the presentation reminded me fondly of the Mass Effect trilogy. Overall I think that Wii U owners should definitely get this game.
    Collapse
  6. Apr 6, 2015
    9
    By far the best console to play this on, the wii U offers enhanced graphics, brief load times, creative options for control schemes (Don'tBy far the best console to play this on, the wii U offers enhanced graphics, brief load times, creative options for control schemes (Don't worry though, you can always just use a pro controller if you're used to your playstation) and generally masters an already great game.

    Story is actually kind of good, and Sam Fischer is characterized through tiny quirks in his movement and subtle hints in the choices he makes. The game is packed with content, and even Uplay isn't too obnoxious. The partner app, "Spider-bot" is also a ton of fun. It's got some great classic stealth to balance the modern shooting in the console release. Don't cheat yourself. Grab Splinter Cell Blacklist for wii U.

    Fair warning though, this IS a tough one.
    Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2014
    4
    To get idea of how this game plays, just picture Prince of Persia with guns. Not good picture considering this series was about stealth,To get idea of how this game plays, just picture Prince of Persia with guns. Not good picture considering this series was about stealth, planning your next move, and taking it slow. This game has more in common with Rainbow Six Vegas and Prince of Persia than the previous titles in the series. It has become a mere shadow of its former self... Expand

See all 21 User Reviews