Wii Sports Club Wii U

Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play your favorite Wii Sports games on the Wii U console! With Wii Sports Club, you can now take the competition online with tennis, bowling and golf - baseball and boxing are coming soon. Join a club, compete against other clubs from around your region, or play online multiplayer with yourPlay your favorite Wii Sports games on the Wii U console! With Wii Sports Club, you can now take the competition online with tennis, bowling and golf - baseball and boxing are coming soon. Join a club, compete against other clubs from around your region, or play online multiplayer with your friends. You can also use all-new training modes to improve your skills and support your club.

    Wii Sports Club takes what was fun about Wii Sports - cooperative and competitive gameplay together with friends and family - and moves the experience online. Each sport uses Wii MotionPlus technology to give you more control.

    Ways to Play

    Just set up an Internet connection and the SpotPass feature on your Wii U to automatically download Wii Sports Club. First-timers can try it out a 24-hour free trial. After the free trial ends, you can purchase two different types of passes exclusively on the Nintendo eShop: a Day Pass gives you access to all of the available sports for a 24-hour period and a Club Pass gives you unlimited access to a single sport with no time limit.

    Features:
    -Play online with friends and other competitors.
    -Join a club and compete against rivals for better rankings.
    -Improve your skills with all-new training modes and help your club move up in rank.
    -Build community with fellow club members and friends online by sending tips, pep talks, and other messages via Miiverse.
    -You now have more flexibility to play the way you want to with varied purchasing options.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    83
    With only two sports currently available, Wii Sports Club isn’t as robust an experience as it could be, but what is there will still keep players entertained for hours. With the promise of additional sports in the future, there’s a lot of potential for Wii Sports Club, and it’s easily worth a download for anyone who owns a Wii U.
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    75
    Wii Sports Club is a mixed bag, with some good things and some bad things. Tennis is great, especially online, and baseball is nice too, while the new golf and bowling minigames don't shine as they could have and boxe is a complete mess.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    70
    As a golf experience, Wii Sports Club offers one of the most satisfying gameplay to date, thanks to the clever use of the GamePad and the precision of Wii Motion Plus controller. But it's no more the game you can pick and play to have fun with your friends and family, losing all the casual appeal that Wii Sports series had.
  4. Aug 4, 2014
    70
    Six years later, Wii Sports finally goes online. It hasn't got everything you would expect from a 2014 online experience, but it's the usual good game for every kind of audience.
  5. The game you loved, primarily unchanged. [Dec 2013, p.81]
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    60
    The business model and the online mode are the main new features and, while paying just for the games you're going to play seems fair, the online experience has not been smooth for us.
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    60
    Rather than advancing upon the legacy of its predecessor, Wii Sports Club comes off more like an HD remake of the same old game with some additional motion plus and gamepad support. While this may have been a groundbreaking package eight years ago, today it feels altogether lackluster.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    I enjoy it, its fun for my family and its fun to be able to play this game with friends.

    If you like this kind of game then definitely
    I enjoy it, its fun for my family and its fun to be able to play this game with friends.

    If you like this kind of game then definitely check this one out.
    Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Wii Sports Club On WII U is The Best Game i Have Enjoyed
    the game fetures online multplayer this would been cool if it original version had
    Wii Sports Club On WII U is The Best Game i Have Enjoyed
    the game fetures online multplayer this would been cool if it original version had this
    in the future i hope to enjoy more of this when they have more available
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    This game will be judged harshly I think as it is a game that is easy to blame when you lose, or have little patients.
    For the record, the
    This game will be judged harshly I think as it is a game that is easy to blame when you lose, or have little patients.
    For the record, the control scheme is accurate and skill based but takes time to master. Gone are the days of waggle, with precise strokes replacing it. If the control scheme is fooled then pressing down of the D-Pad will re-centre your racket in tennis, but once you have got use to it, this is rarely needed.
    I've heard lots of complaints of people having lag in the tennis, but just as many people saying they have had minimal amounts. Me myself, I have a laggy game about once in ten and have fibre optic BB. So this lag is obliviously when I get paired with someone with slow BB, or who is sharing a connection with someone using torrentz Either way, with a good connection speed it is so much fun! Been hooked since lauch
    Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    Take the original Wii Sports, add better accuracy with the WiiMotion Plus controllers and add online modes to create Wii Sports Club. The gameTake the original Wii Sports, add better accuracy with the WiiMotion Plus controllers and add online modes to create Wii Sports Club. The game is best with friends playing local multiplayer, but online mode is a great alternative for solo gamers.Unfortunately, the online matches does suffer from internet connection issues when playing others without a strong internet connection. Hopefully those issues will be resolved with future updates and more people joining the Clubs.
    Bowling is better than ever, and golf is a lot of fun with an extra use of the gamepad (placed on the floor as the tee/golf ball). At $10 per "sport" Wii Sports Club is worth buying your favorite one or two (or three).
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    So far It's a 6 for me. While tennis is fun to play online and off, something happened with bowling because each time I try to hit the pinsSo far It's a 6 for me. While tennis is fun to play online and off, something happened with bowling because each time I try to hit the pins the ball just goes in the opposite direction, this was never a problem with the original Wii sports. I'll most likely give it a better score once golf, baseball, and boxing comes out. Collapse
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    The original Wii Sports was the best-selling game of all time, and it’s clear Nintendo want to attract the original game’s audience to Wii U.The original Wii Sports was the best-selling game of all time, and it’s clear Nintendo want to attract the original game’s audience to Wii U. That’s fine, but at least make some changes to the game. And it’s true, they have. Wii Sports Club is different from the original in that it’s free to download, but you then have to buy each sport you want individually. The main problem is that the prices are too high. The original was free with the Wii, but here each sport costs £8, a lot for something like this.
    The HD update adds nothing to the sports. In fact, you can barely tell that it’s HD. The sports run similarly, except that you need Motionplus to play them. It makes a difference to golf, which also makes clever use of the gamepad, requiring you to put it on the floor facing up. It shows a close-up view of the golf club and the ball, so it’s as if playing a real golf game even more. This is the best thing about Wii Sports Club, but sadly none of the other sports available use the gamepad, which isn’t a disappointment in itself- how do you weave second screen gameplay into a game of tennis? But the sports themselves, apart from golf, are largely unchanged, nor are they enhanced by motionplus. There was great potential here for tennis, but I was disappointed by how it was the same.
    There is a success in Wii Sports Club, however, and it’s in the online. This is what perhaps slightly justifies downloading some of the sports, but then again it doesn’t. £8 for the addition of online (and a few new modes)? Certainly not a bad price but not a good one either. Better to blow the dust off your old Wii if you want more of Wii Sports.
    Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2015
    0
    The pinnacle of lazy game design. Wii sports had 5 mini games, Wii Sports Resort had 12, and Wii Sports Club manages to have... 5?

    This is
    The pinnacle of lazy game design. Wii sports had 5 mini games, Wii Sports Resort had 12, and Wii Sports Club manages to have... 5?

    This is a lazily pieced together overpriced game do not buy it.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews