ZombiU Wii U

ZombiU Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 757 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For only the second time in history, a great plague has descended upon London, infecting the human race with a deadly disease. Big Ben tolls as hundreds upon thousands of the unprepared die or are infected by a sickness worse than death... You continue to breathe, for now. But how long willFor only the second time in history, a great plague has descended upon London, infecting the human race with a deadly disease. Big Ben tolls as hundreds upon thousands of the unprepared die or are infected by a sickness worse than death... You continue to breathe, for now. But how long will you survive in the labyrinth of London streets and underground as the infected close in around you? The horrifying remains of humanity ravaged by the foul disease shuffle through the streets, waiting to prey on your living flesh at every turn. ZombiU is designed to take advantage of the Wii U and its new controller and will test your will to survive in a zombie Survival-Horror First Person Shooter. So grab hold of the height of survival kits – your new controller – and stock up your Bug-Out Bag with supplies. Make every second count; you only get one chance. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Ubisoft Montpellier
  • Genre(s): General, Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: 1-4
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. ZombiU will send shivers of fear and excitement up and down your spine in equal measure: it's the perfect showcase for what the Wii U is all about.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    These minor problems, however, rarely interfere with the pulse-quickening thrill of diving into a mass of infected and coming out alive on the other side. ZombiU isn't for everyone, but those who stick with it, through its unforgiving and occasionally frustrating difficulty, there's a an exhilarating experience to be had.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    84
    It's not perfect and it's not for everyone, but ZombiU is a fantastic return of the survival horror genre.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    ZombiU is awkward, ugly, crawling in its pace, and often nonsensical with its narrative ... and I remember when horror games weren't ashamed of any of that, even actively exploiting it to create alienating, frightening atmospheres that stuck in a players' memories and made them too spooked to want to take another step forward. ZombiU did that to me.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    It is unforgiving and brutal, but in the best of ways that challenges players to carefully consider each step. For those who don't shy away from a challenge, ZombiU may just be the best reason to own a Wii U at launch.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    The game-ending glitches can be a real pain and the same goes for some of the developers choices concerning the use of the GamePad. But if you are willing to look past those problems you'll be left with a true and immersive survival horror experience.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    45
    With an uninteresting world and dull combat, the survival horror game ZombiU is a weak link in the Wii U's launch lineup.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 221
  1. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Never would have thought after looking at some game plays on utube that I would have enjoyed this game so much. Seemed typical enough but itNever would have thought after looking at some game plays on utube that I would have enjoyed this game so much. Seemed typical enough but it is not. Suspenseful and surprising. The very seemingly innocent variation of having to start fresh from your last game save without your stuff in hand and having to go back and get it with a "new" character makes it very frustrating and challenging at the same time. What some reviewers have written about this fact is true but it makes you try harder next time around...with a little more angst in the bat to compensate :) and put more game in you to beat the developers at their game. Played through twice which I don't think I've ever done for any game. Definitely would enjoy an add on to this. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Very good survival game; thx ubi.
    This game isn't made for casual; difficulty level is high.
    En francais : excellent jeu pas fait pour les
    Very good survival game; thx ubi.
    This game isn't made for casual; difficulty level is high.
    En francais : excellent jeu pas fait pour les **** joueurs cependant; direction artistique de toute beauté a mon goût
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on theThis was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on the amazing gamepad and has a really adventures twang to the game this is the best game I've ever played you guys have got to get it! Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    I would rate the scare factor up there with Fatal Frame. I would rate the zombie content next to Resident Evil. I felt that the game play wasI would rate the scare factor up there with Fatal Frame. I would rate the zombie content next to Resident Evil. I felt that the game play was satisfactory and the graphics were good, not great, but definitely solid. The bugs have been fixed as far as I can tell. I have never encountered any except for when I phased through a gate getting an item. I didn't mind though because it saved me time walking the long way around to get it lol. The game is slow, that is until you learn how to play it. The slow pace builds suspense. It is an intense game and I love it. On my second play through I figured out how to use crawl points and bottle necks to kill zombies easier. I've also found explosives in the areas I can shoot to kill more zombies, learned how to use the flares, mines, and molotov cocktails. The thing is you need to learn how to survive and once you do this game becomes awesome and allows for multiple strategies. Most people I've seen play this hate it because they don't understand it and how to play it properly. It is not a FPS run and gun. You have to think about your next move if you want to survive. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    Ok, before we get started lets just get this out in the open, this game has guns and it's in first person. That being said, this game is not aOk, before we get started lets just get this out in the open, this game has guns and it's in first person. That being said, this game is not a FPS (first person shooter). I will be reviewing it as a survival horror game because that is what it is.

    When you start off you are put in a world where you have very little control of whats happening. The world has fallen apart and zombies walk the streets looking for someone to eat. As it so happens you seem to be one of the very few that are still living. Game Play: Using the game pad is the predominate way to play ZombiU. The touch screen handles most of you inventory and scanning. You are constantly looking back and forth between your TV to make sure that you are not in any danger of being eaten while checking if you have enough ammo or when healing. It creates a sense of real danger and fear. To defend yourself you have been given a cricket bat that constantly makes you re-think your methods. Once you get **** with it and miss swing on a single Zombie you are quickly scrabbling to make space for another try to defend yourself. Guns fire and handle as you would expect and so do explosives. Getting killed is part of the game, after being killed you come back as a new survivor and have to kill the previous survivor to get your old gear back. Be warned that newly turned zombies are a pain in the ass to kill. Story: It's the end of the world and the story is kind of bare bones. The real story is your survival, the experiences you have and the things you have to do is the story here. Art direction:

    This game fits it's theme, for a launch title I didn't expect anything to advanced.Most launch titles don't take full advantage of new systems. It looks good where it needs to. Sound: It's scary, the zombies sound like they should and the guns sound like they should. Not much to say.

    Overall: I give this game a 8 because it's a good survival game. Some say that this is the road that Resident Evil should have gone. I say give it a rent at least because these types of games can beat up gamers with swaying difficulties. Just keep going and enjoy the experience.
    Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2015
    8
    Never have I ever played such a tense game as this one. Most games these days have been way to forgiving and practically holds your hand.Never have I ever played such a tense game as this one. Most games these days have been way to forgiving and practically holds your hand. ZombiU is one unforgiving game and I loved every minute of it. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2015
    0
    ZombiU was an entire mistake, controls are confusing, game difficult is not ok and the game does not worth the price as day one. AnotherZombiU was an entire mistake, controls are confusing, game difficult is not ok and the game does not worth the price as day one. Another fiasco as the wii u. I was very upset after bought the console and game Expand

See all 221 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.