User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AH
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Great game. You'll get a bit tired of Gray and Brown, but overall, the graphics, combat, music, items and most importantly, the story are all great.
  2. RyanS.
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    This game is a lot of fun. Atlus lovers and rogue-like fans should not pay attention to bad reviews! This game will not be easy to find for long!
  3. RolandS.
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Ignore the Destructoid score of 4 it is the worst review I have ever seen. Here is a quote that captures the effort and intelligence behind the review: "The game NEVER tells you this clearly, and it was only after I read the instruction manual that I understood how this worked." What else can I say? A 10 it may not turn out to be but it certainly does not deserve such treatment.
  4. THONDORUSA
    Jul 4, 2008
    8
    Like the other guys stated- "if you like roguelikes you'll love this." Although, this gameplay occurs in real time- takes a special kind of gamer to "get" and appreciate this game. This is not a mainstream game by any mewans and I'm sure Atlus didn't expect oustanding critical/commerical success. Re-making this game and bringing it to the West was an act of love for a great Like the other guys stated- "if you like roguelikes you'll love this." Although, this gameplay occurs in real time- takes a special kind of gamer to "get" and appreciate this game. This is not a mainstream game by any mewans and I'm sure Atlus didn't expect oustanding critical/commerical success. Re-making this game and bringing it to the West was an act of love for a great game that will really be enjoyed by it's, admittedly, very niche audience. After losing interest in Square-Enix after getting ripped-off by "my Life as a King" this is my premier choice for this genre of game over Chocobo Mystery Dungeon on Wii. Yes, the character has amnesia, however, it's not like Final Fantasy where everybody BUT the character knows what happened- you really discover what happened along with the character and trust me, this story can't be easily guessed at. Expand
  5. JeanGuy
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    One of the most amazing dungeon crawlers i played. Only down is that it takes time to understand what you must do.
  6. TomS.
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    Ignore the Destructoid review - they're known for awful attention-grabs like that, and the reviewer only pretends to understand the genre. If you enjoy roguelikes, you'll have a blast with this game.
  7. JoshS
    May 23, 2008
    9
    I am an Atlus fan and mainly got this because it was an Atlus RPG for the Wii...but before I got it, all the reviews flooded in. They gave it horrible scores and, after playing the game, I wonder if they knew what they were getting into. It's like they played it expecting Kingdom Hearts or something. I love it, it may be hard but hating it for that reason means you have to hate Fire Emblem.
  8. NachiK.
    Apr 24, 2009
    10
    Best game ever. Any critics that didn't like it either played it for like 30 minutes or are stupid. Or both. "You can only fire the gun five times!!11" lol. "It's too haaaard." Double lol. I didn't know what a Roguelike was until I started this thing, and I have to say that those sound a bit dull. The awesome plot development more than makes up for whatever else this game Best game ever. Any critics that didn't like it either played it for like 30 minutes or are stupid. Or both. "You can only fire the gun five times!!11" lol. "It's too haaaard." Double lol. I didn't know what a Roguelike was until I started this thing, and I have to say that those sound a bit dull. The awesome plot development more than makes up for whatever else this game lacks, which in my opinion is very little. The battle system is not "flawed;" it's difficult. Get over yourselves and go watch a movie if you can't handle pushing buttons more than once every hour. Surviving the dungeon requires more skill than luck, and is a constant and exciting challenge. The music is awesome. The story is awesome. The setting is awesome. This game is awesome. And sadly, totally unique. If you want a fun, mentally and physically challenging game that can be played for hours on end, Baroque is for you. Ignore the critics, who probably shouldn't be reviewing video games seeing as they find them so "difficult" and "pointless," (both features of every great video game ever) and get it before it's impossible to find. Expand
  9. jojodahoboh
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    OK, you critics are entitled to your opinion, but severely abuse that right by giving this game such low scores. It was awesom, and creating characters made it more awesom. I almost always agree with the critics, but you got me on this one. Maybe The only people who reviewed this game were retards who recently underwent craniumectomies done by another retard that just had a craniumectomy.OK, you critics are entitled to your opinion, but severely abuse that right by giving this game such low scores. It was awesom, and creating characters made it more awesom. I almost always agree with the critics, but you got me on this one. Maybe The only people who reviewed this game were retards who recently underwent craniumectomies done by another retard that just had a craniumectomy. (for those seeking a vocabulary update, a caniumectomy is having your brain remvoved. Expand
  10. KevinAwesome
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    Most People Are Looking At This Game The Wrong Way, The Combat Might Seem Repetitive But That Was Probly Said By The People That Got To The SIxth Floor And Gave Up Because They Kept Dying. This Game Was Well Built For Out Of The Box Thinking, Also A Good Player Finds Ways To Keep Some Of His Items For The Next Time Through So Your Not Always Completly Restarting. The Items In The Game AreMost People Are Looking At This Game The Wrong Way, The Combat Might Seem Repetitive But That Was Probly Said By The People That Got To The SIxth Floor And Gave Up Because They Kept Dying. This Game Was Well Built For Out Of The Box Thinking, Also A Good Player Finds Ways To Keep Some Of His Items For The Next Time Through So Your Not Always Completly Restarting. The Items In The Game Are All Double Edged Which Makes It Interesting, Like Food You Could Use Right Away And Heal Or Wait Till Your Full To Maxamize The Amount Of HP You Can Have. As For The Story Line, It's Well Done. It Has Mystery With A Add On Of Sadness, For This Constant Setting For The Whole Game Which Makes You Kinda Start To Care About The Char In The Game. The Graphics Are Well Done But Could Have Been Picked Up On The WIi, But The Avatars Are All Really Detailed And The Rendering Is Not All That Bad. As For The Music It's One Of The Most Well Done Set Of Tracks To Add Ambiance And Feeling To The Whole Game. It Is A Very Well Done RogueLike Dungeon Crawl With Great Replay Value, And With 5 Diffrent Endings You'll Find Yourself Replaying It If You Can Get Over Some Of The Flaws In The Game, Which Are Very Minior Compared To Some Of The Unique Features This Game Included. Expand
  11. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Baroque is a rouguelike game, it means that the dungeon or dungeons will be all generated at random, however this is what makes rouguelikes interesting as you will always start both fresh on some dungeon or will keep items but every dungeon you visit will be different. The Wii and Possibly the Ps2 version start with an anime intro that will give you a vague idea of this contents, you start as the 'chosen one' who is amnesic and does not knows anything about who or what he is, this was just the thing that made me take the bait, moving on you will see nearly everyone is twisted and few are not physically twisted but rather mentally, example are the bagged one, the horned girl as physical twisted mentally is the grave keeper and a few others. Moving on you will see the Archangel who will give you the angelic rifle and warns you to use it against the absolute god (yes i know you were just asked to kill god this shocked me A LOT), once you enter the neuro tower you will start by seeing that the only stable element is the first floor it never changes and it's very advised to come armed, so go to the grave keeper and finish his dungeon/tutorial and you will probably have some bones, meat, seeds a coat and a sword. The way of progressing on this game is reaching the bottom of the neuro tower and shot, or embrace the absolute god, the ending sequence for the first games for some is bizarre as hell, so allow me to explain until you trigger a flag in the game the protagonist is asleep so to speak, and is being cloned en masa my dear readers, so it keep going and going until said flag is triggered, afterwards you can start to collect the idea sephiras (their souls so to speak what was their embodiment) and so you will need to keep heading down and down. The Challenge on this game is on 4 points, the first your VIT bar, you need to eat to restore it and level up so you can survive longer on the tower, the second is the items, unless you are able to search and use the orbs you WILL lose all you collected on your current run, enemies will get stronger, but so you will get better equipment. So what still wondering what is this all about? here it is: The archangel conspired with the Dr.Angelus to steal from the Absolute God the ability to feel pain, unable to feel and understand pain the absolute god went crazy and started to unleash the distortion, people slowly began to look what they were inside, then the protagonist comes in, he was part of a double being, conjoined twins after the death of one of the twins the surviving one kept on with his life until he was offered a chance to fuse with the absolute god, yes said being was about to regain what she lost and more become more humanlike, but sadly the archangel had a hand to play on this, he interrupting the ceremony caused the blaze essentially accelerating the distortion and choosing to blame all on the protagonist. All the reason was for the Archangel to get revenge on the absolute god as she stole his sister, he would steal her godhood and embody it within him. The protagonist was to mend things, sadly after you finish the game you learn that it's impossible to turn back the hands of the clock, as the blaze truly revealed mankind deepest wishes but as a fix they chose to create a consensus reality were they can try to make the events less Traumatic for mankind. Baroque crude play style is truly the only bad thing that surrounds this game aside from the limit of objects you can take out of the tower. In the end Baroque is an excellent gothic rouguelike game with a deep saddening atmosphere, with a deep reaching story that will make all those hours of suffering worth something, and the game can take up to 50 hours just to finish the story part if you a re patient you can get up to 300+ hours of pure game play!. Before i forget this game is a re make of the Saturn game known as Baroque and it was originally a FPS not a 3rd person. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. 78
    The gameplay can be cheap, but it does have a good degree of challenge. Technical aspects are weak, but there is some style going for it.
  2. 54
    Baroque is unique in concept but lacking in fun. That idea that you have to die in order to put the pieces of your life together is interesting and could work, but you still have to give the player a sense of direction and accomplishment.
  3. Not a terrible game but if you want to be scared witless, go for Resi 4 instead. [Issue#22, p.78]