Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [WiiWare] Race across the moon, kicking down crystal walls and sliding under chomping moon-slugs. Bound through the Robotic Mines and face off against the MinerMech. Dash through the Big City on a quest to find friends and defeat the final boss together. RUNNER is the fourth entry in the[WiiWare] Race across the moon, kicking down crystal walls and sliding under chomping moon-slugs. Bound through the Robotic Mines and face off against the MinerMech. Dash through the Big City on a quest to find friends and defeat the final boss together. RUNNER is the fourth entry in the award-winning and critically acclaimed BIT.TRIP series. You control CommanderVideo as he runs, jumps, slides and kicks. With exciting modern and retro challenges, you can move through more than 50 levels of game play. Chiptune supergroup Anamanaguchi makes a guest appearance. Join CommanderVideo on his most epic journey yet! [Aksys] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Bit.Trip RUNNER epitomises the best qualities of the Bit.Trip series in terms of being a fun game to play as well as honouring the pioneers of console gaming.
  2. Bit.Trip Runner is unique in every way. It's a game that combines platforming and rhythm, with great old-school graphics and sounds. And it's addictive in the same way the old Arcade classics are: based on the player's belief that he can play better the next time.
  3. Dashes straight to our hearts, serenades our ears and paints our retro-loving souls with every color of the rainbow.
  4. 80
    I suspect the brutal difficulty in Bit.Trip Runner will be polarizing -- some will find the challenge exciting, and some will find it too stressful. My personal experience occupies something of a "sweet spot" in the middle.
  5. Finally here is a game that can put you in a gamers trance again. Without thinking about it you can guide your character past obstacles and entire levels. It takes a perfectly balanced game to achieve this, and that's exactly what Bit.Trip Runner is. This is the purest platformer we've played in a very long time.
  6. bit.Trip Runner stands practically alone in a crowded lineup of Wiiware releases. Like its predecessors, the nostalgia-fueled gameplay makes up most of this game's charm and it's easily recommendable as a downloadable title.
  7. Inoffensively made, but the blood rage it invoked is unforgivable. Avoid it - you'll feel better. [July 2010, p.70]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. vgb
    Oct 26, 2010
    10
    This game is legendary. The entire bit.trip series is unmatched in terms of art and music, in my highly refined opinion, and this is the bestThis game is legendary. The entire bit.trip series is unmatched in terms of art and music, in my highly refined opinion, and this is the best of the bunch. Extremely addictive and challenging and manic-grin inducing even after 10 hours of play. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    This is the BEST of the Bit.Trip games. Honestly I don't understand the negative reviews this game gets. Yes it is very difficult - but it hasThis is the BEST of the Bit.Trip games. Honestly I don't understand the negative reviews this game gets. Yes it is very difficult - but it has a good learning curve. Supposedly less than 10 people worldwide have gotten 100% on all levels and bonus levels, and I believe it. Even so it is a BLAST - my roommates and I play this every day, passing the controller around every time we die. Buy it, that's all I can say. Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    Great Aesthetic, Learning Curve, Price.

    This is another review, just like two others I've done. I think that those three qualities are
    Great Aesthetic, Learning Curve, Price.

    This is another review, just like two others I've done. I think that those three qualities are going to be my key points for all the reviews I do (this is the third).
    This game has a great aesthetic. The music interfacing with the gameplay seamlessly (if you enjoy this feature, check out Everyday Shooter), the graphics are wacky and whimsical. This game is alternatively hypnotic and frustrating, it is a fantastic game to play in a trade-off fashion with some friends. This will help keep the frustration down and also build a shared sense of accomplishment.
    Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    It's hilariously good. The environment reacts on every obstacle you pass and after some time you find yourself bouncing in the rhythm as theIt's hilariously good. The environment reacts on every obstacle you pass and after some time you find yourself bouncing in the rhythm as the game takes you with it. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2010
    6
    Bit.Trip Runner is, obviously, the fourth game in the Bit.Trip series, and it pretty much stands out from the rest, but not by much. While theBit.Trip Runner is, obviously, the fourth game in the Bit.Trip series, and it pretty much stands out from the rest, but not by much. While the gameplay is simple enough, the difficulty curve tends to become difficult to scale as time goes on, eventually making some levels require super-human reflexes, which, unfortunately, some of us lack when all we really want is to advance through the game, which is absolutely frustrating.

    The good things about this game is the music within the game, which is quite fun to listen to, when you're not forced to listen to the same loop over and over again when you're stuck on one level. The art is quite good too, mixing 8-bit-like sprites with a 3-D world.

    In short, an okay game, but 800 Wii points is just too much for a frustrating game such as this.
    Collapse
  6. Jul 8, 2011
    2
    Well yes it's concept is fun bubt it's SOOOOOOOOO frustrated,I would bang the Wii Remote on my head because I was so frustrated at it, IWell yes it's concept is fun bubt it's SOOOOOOOOO frustrated,I would bang the Wii Remote on my head because I was so frustrated at it, I nearly THREW my Wii Remote at my Wii. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2011
    0
    Never in my life have i been more frustrated. While it looks and sounds okay It is just to frustrating to recomend . Seriously, avoid thisNever in my life have i been more frustrated. While it looks and sounds okay It is just to frustrating to recomend . Seriously, avoid this game unless you like to be frustrated Expand

Trailers