Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII Wii

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardMitsuda
    May 6, 2009
    9
    My 8-year old son loves this game and he took it quite seriously, too. He's a WW2 fanatic, so he would spend hours each day playing this game. Although I do agree that the game can get repetitive, it's a very good to play.
    Anyway, my son finally got through Mission 15 earlier this week (Top Secret) and is on the last mission tonight. I'm terrible at this game, and he
    My 8-year old son loves this game and he took it quite seriously, too. He's a WW2 fanatic, so he would spend hours each day playing this game. Although I do agree that the game can get repetitive, it's a very good to play.
    Anyway, my son finally got through Mission 15 earlier this week (Top Secret) and is on the last mission tonight. I'm terrible at this game, and he whoops my butt every time we dogfight each other.
    Expand
  2. DonK.
    Jul 8, 2008
    2
    I'm not sure you all had played the same game I did, since this was less of a game and more a test of patients and general tensil strength test for your Wii remote as you try to snap it in two out of frustration. I liked this game alot at first, controls seemingly worked well, blowing up planes is alot of fun and all but I began to notice I was losing control from time to time.I'm not sure you all had played the same game I did, since this was less of a game and more a test of patients and general tensil strength test for your Wii remote as you try to snap it in two out of frustration. I liked this game alot at first, controls seemingly worked well, blowing up planes is alot of fun and all but I began to notice I was losing control from time to time. Sometimes I would be pitching the remote up and my plane was in a nosedive spiral straight into the ocean, taking some quick manuevers to regan control. I'm surprised more people didn't talk about these dead zones, I made sure nothing was around me to interfere, I moved the sensor bar forward I even stood closer to the screen but I was still htting these dead spots which would either send me straight down or just cruising in whatever direction it had been going before incountering the dead spot. maybe this was a bug that had been fixed by a patch since this was months ago I played this, but these problems are just inexscuseable. Expand
  3. KristopherR
    Jun 29, 2008
    9
    Just bought the game and finished the first 5 missions. Amazing! The controls are very intuitive. The graphics are sharp. The audio is terrific and the missions are engaging. I'm hooked!

    Regarding another players complaint about waiting for the software to correct flying upside down by rolling you out of it being a pain. Why not just get better and learn to kill the enemy while you
    Just bought the game and finished the first 5 missions. Amazing! The controls are very intuitive. The graphics are sharp. The audio is terrific and the missions are engaging. I'm hooked!

    Regarding another players complaint about waiting for the software to correct flying upside down by rolling you out of it being a pain. Why not just get better and learn to kill the enemy while you are upside down? It's not that hard and enables you to pull up on the stick to change direction and nail a second target very quickly. I use it to my advantage.
    Collapse
  4. CmdrWhiteWolf
    May 1, 2008
    5
    This game has a fair number of setbacks. While I'm "casual flyer", both my friend and I found several parts more difficult than we liked.
    The one really shining point of Blazing Angels is the variety of controller setup choices, though it was kind of annoying that it didn't remember our selections when we hopped from one multiplayer game to another during our play session.
    This game has a fair number of setbacks. While I'm "casual flyer", both my friend and I found several parts more difficult than we liked.
    The one really shining point of Blazing Angels is the variety of controller setup choices, though it was kind of annoying that it didn't remember our selections when we hopped from one multiplayer game to another during our play session.
    Another thing we didn't really care for was linear nature of the game.
    Expand
  5. hl
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    the gameplay is great. much better on wii than PS3. Missions are a little easy, and you can win the game fairly soon. Your squad mates are rather annoying at times, especially when you have to keep replaying missions, but the history is nice (except for one absurd mission in Norway). However, the flying is a pretty good feel, and it is one of my favorite games on the Wii
  6. Anonymous
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    Best Wii game I found. Fun.
  7. BlackberryA.
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    Nice Porting! The control is good. This is one of my favourite Wii games too.
  8. JimB.
    Aug 6, 2007
    8
    Many people have said that "Heatseeker" is the best flight game on the Wii. Yet after 10 minutes with "Heatseeker" I was done. I rented "Blazing Angels" and decided that it is a buyer. The controls are responsive, not to mention a ton of control options. The graphics are decent while not spectactular. But most of all it's simply fun. I'm afraid the length of the game may be too Many people have said that "Heatseeker" is the best flight game on the Wii. Yet after 10 minutes with "Heatseeker" I was done. I rented "Blazing Angels" and decided that it is a buyer. The controls are responsive, not to mention a ton of control options. The graphics are decent while not spectactular. But most of all it's simply fun. I'm afraid the length of the game may be too short but is sure is a blast while it lasts. Expand
  9. LukeG.
    May 28, 2007
    8
    This is one of my favourite Wii games. The graphics are good, even up close, with very realistic water. The levels vary greatly in difficulty. There are many different control setups for players to use. There are many multiplayer modes and maps.
  10. [Anonymous]
    May 14, 2007
    5
    This was the freaking hardest game i have ever played. It was fun until I got to the second ice level, where you have fly in a REALLY small canyon, with a small time limit, and terrible controls. Yeah, took 3 days to beat that one. But once I did, I unlocked the D-Day level. But every single level after that is freaking hard. I don't know if there was a difficulty option, but if This was the freaking hardest game i have ever played. It was fun until I got to the second ice level, where you have fly in a REALLY small canyon, with a small time limit, and terrible controls. Yeah, took 3 days to beat that one. But once I did, I unlocked the D-Day level. But every single level after that is freaking hard. I don't know if there was a difficulty option, but if there was, I chose easy. Expand
  11. DustinP.
    May 11, 2007
    9
    This is one of my favorite Wii games to date. The controls were at times a little "laggy", but everything else made up for that. This game was a little tougher to beat than I thought it would be (especially mission 15, I wanted to throw it out the damn window) <-- I think that is what a great game does to someone. It mentally and physically breaks you down, and you won't stop untilThis is one of my favorite Wii games to date. The controls were at times a little "laggy", but everything else made up for that. This game was a little tougher to beat than I thought it would be (especially mission 15, I wanted to throw it out the damn window) <-- I think that is what a great game does to someone. It mentally and physically breaks you down, and you won't stop until it's over, and that's what Blazing Angels did for me. Expand
  12. DustinP.
    Apr 30, 2007
    7
    When this game came out I was unsure about it due to the magazine reviews giving ait a right royal pasting. Having it given some positive reviews from friends, I dipped my toe in and purchased it. If you liked Rogue Squadron, you
  13. SamF.
    Apr 30, 2007
    8
    This is a decent game and worth far more than the 60% average that this site gives. The easiest way to describe this is to say it's Rogue Squadron (Star Wars game) from the Gamecube with World War 2 planes and missions. The controls, using the Nunchuk as the control stick, are relatively intuitive and quite responsive. The graphics and sound are all solid. However, what makes the This is a decent game and worth far more than the 60% average that this site gives. The easiest way to describe this is to say it's Rogue Squadron (Star Wars game) from the Gamecube with World War 2 planes and missions. The controls, using the Nunchuk as the control stick, are relatively intuitive and quite responsive. The graphics and sound are all solid. However, what makes the game stand out is the atmosphere it creates... no other conflict in the history of mankind has quite the effect or drama of World War 2 and this is the best example of a World War 2 flight combat game I've played. Expand
  14. DeanR.
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    I was a little frustrated with the controls at first but once I got used to them it was pretty fun. The multiplayer was much better than I expected. Graphics wise it was pretty good. If you like WWII style dog fights this is the perfect game to get.
  15. SamS.
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome. Yes, the controls take a while to get use to, but the game play is awesome. There are many game modes which makes this game fun to play.
  16. BuckD.
    Mar 30, 2007
    4
    This could have been a fantastic game if they would have gotten the controls right. But to keep this short I'll focus on the one major control glitch that ruins this game completely. Flying with the nunchuk as the motion sensitive control and using the setting of "arcade" mode, you have no control over the roll of the plane. You can change the setting to "simulator" mode and have This could have been a fantastic game if they would have gotten the controls right. But to keep this short I'll focus on the one major control glitch that ruins this game completely. Flying with the nunchuk as the motion sensitive control and using the setting of "arcade" mode, you have no control over the roll of the plane. You can change the setting to "simulator" mode and have roll control, but then you have too much roll. The major problem that ruins the game occurs in arcade mode, when using the camera button during a dog fight. The camera button is an important part of the game, and allows you to see a target when it is not directly in front of you. So if you are circling around on a target plane in camera view, you can manage to get your plane flying upside down. Then once the target is in front and you release the camera button, the plane is still upside down - the camera view is stuck. No problem, you say? Simply roll the plane over. Well that would work, except there are no roll controls in arcade mode. So you are stuck ... the controls are useless until the software corrects you. And by the time it does, your target is long gone. For the first 16 levels this is a minor annoyance, but on level 16 "Counter Attack" when you must fight the largest swarm of planes you have yet faced, it becomes so frustrating you wish you had never purchased the game. To be so close to the end of the game, and have a glitch in the software make it impossible to score, leads me to think they were more interested in making money than making the game right. There are other minor annoyances that I don't have room to mention. This game might be fun to rent, knowing you won't have time to finish it. But I would not buy it again. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#35 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#17 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    70
    There's already a better air combat game on the Wii in the shape of "Heatseeker," but if you'd rather try something more historical this isn't too bad. [Apr 2007, p.78]
  2. Nintendo Power
    70
    Still, the game's biggest problem is a simple lack of mission variety. [May 2007, p.87]
  3. 57
    A game that had a ton of potential, but just didn’t execute well.