Call of Duty: Black Ops Wii

Call of Duty: Black Ops Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise set during various Cold War conflicts.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Black Ops on Wii is a fantastic shooter packed with all the features of its HD brothers, with the only exception being split-screen multiplayer.
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    90
    Thanks to an excessively robust feature suite and developers not treating the console with kid gloves, you're not going to find a finer online multiplayer shooter on Wii than Call of Duty: Black Ops.
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    This is one of the best games on the Wii and arguably the best first-person shooter made for the console.
  4. Dec 17, 2010
    85
    Call of Duty: Black Ops is the best episode of the series ever made for Nintendo Wii.
  5. Nov 19, 2010
    80
    I would have to say that even with its shortcomings, the Wii version of Call of Duty: Black Ops is a great game that will provide hours of play, particularly online.
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    75
    Call of Duty: Black Ops for Nintendo Wii retains its HD counterparts' qualities and demerits. The gameplay is not something particularly elaborated, as the production's best values reside in the entertaining direction, but this element is partially hampered by Wii's lack of power. The multiplayer instead is quite good, and rewarding for those who prefer this type of experience; others, who focus on single player, should be better off looking somewhere else but, luckily enough, not so far.
  7. Jan 18, 2011
    50
    Unless you're desperate for CoD and only own a Wii, pass on Black Ops or get it for a different console. Discerning Wii owners looking for a good FPS should get GoldenEye, and start saving for Conduit 2.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Call of duty black will have your heart pumping like it never pumped before The single player is fantastic. Awesome game! This is an amazingCall of duty black will have your heart pumping like it never pumped before The single player is fantastic. Awesome game! This is an amazing upgrade from call of duty mw2 and call of duty back. Everything in the game is just so balanced. To me this is the best call of duty ever. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Ignore the trolls here, COD BlOps is unashamedly Call Of Duty so if you don't like the series you won't like this and it's dumb spamming theIgnore the trolls here, COD BlOps is unashamedly Call Of Duty so if you don't like the series you won't like this and it's dumb spamming the reviews.... For the game itself it's at least as good as the Modern Warfares with extras such as the Wager Matches and COD Points system pipping the MP ahead IMO. Zombies and Dead Ops are much more enjoyable than MW2's Spec Ops as well Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Give this game a solid 9 out of 10 for several reasons. This game is a huge! step up from Reflex. I love the fact that you can buy your accessories for your guns instead of waiting to unlock them, Also you can change your perks this same way. The headbanger mic for the wii works amazingly, although I wish more people owned it, come on folks its worth the money! Online mode is pretty sweet you can pick your kill streak rewards, after three kills you can get a RC car that explodes thats pretty awesome! Their is a ton more stuff to choose from than Reflex. So for wii owners I say COD: Black ops is a must have. The game features online, and offline zombies mode this is real fun, although a little hard to do team work when not everyone has a mic. The only bad thing I have encountered is a few freezing problems when i was trying to connect to wifi, idk if thats the game or the servers, but i bet the problem will be resolved. I havent even touched story mode yet so I cant tell you about that. Hope this review was helpful! Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2015
    8
    ótimo jogo, ele apresenta uma ótima história, porém o modo multi player dele deixa a desejar, da pra jogar online, mas não da pra jogar de 2ótimo jogo, ele apresenta uma ótima história, porém o modo multi player dele deixa a desejar, da pra jogar online, mas não da pra jogar de 2 no modo local, isso é ridículo, eu tenho um ótimo FPS pra jogar e só posso jogar só ou online, não posso chamar um amigo em casa pra jogar o jogo de 2, o jogo é ótimo, porém perdeu alguns pontos por conta disso. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    7
    Stripped off most Zombie maps, sub-HD graphics, split-screen and Theatre mode, Call of Duty Black Ops continues to fight the good fight andStripped off most Zombie maps, sub-HD graphics, split-screen and Theatre mode, Call of Duty Black Ops continues to fight the good fight and earn money while doing it. Does it succeed? Kind of, because while it is immensely fun it feels like its rushed and lacking a certain thing. For some reason, you are given the option to choose maps in the Zombies mode when theres only one map! A good game without many of the key features that it deserved, Call of Duty Black Ops for the Wii is a good game to buy... if you're not interested in one of its funnest features, Zombies. Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    6
    Its alright since this is the only Call of Duty game i'll get, everything just seems to be ok but the multiplayer brings the game up from a 5 to a 6..
  7. Nov 19, 2011
    3
    Perhaps this wasn't the best game with which to start playing this series, or perhaps it was. I cannot speak on what others say about Call ofPerhaps this wasn't the best game with which to start playing this series, or perhaps it was. I cannot speak on what others say about Call of Duty: Black Ops being regurgitated material. I can, however, assure you it is a horrifically-paced, shoddy shooter that rewards hyperactive speed over any sort of tactical gameplay. The campaign is laughably bad and manages to raise some serious questions as to why we are treating the protagonists as heroes, and the multiplayer is a stark affair based solely on random bursts of gun play and, confusingly, crossbows. Perhaps worst of all is the unrelenting serious tone; the way the game treats everything that it contains as an absolutely relevant and important event. A definite miss. Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#8 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010