• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2009
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 9 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidK
    Mar 1, 2009
    8
    I actually find it much more enjoyable than many said. I've never played the original, so this might be why i'm not caught up with comparing it all the time but can focus on this game. I'm sure this will offend many, but I kinda like it better than RE4 - and thats just because of the modern setting in a mall to begin with. Sadly, but not surprisingly, it isn't as I actually find it much more enjoyable than many said. I've never played the original, so this might be why i'm not caught up with comparing it all the time but can focus on this game. I'm sure this will offend many, but I kinda like it better than RE4 - and thats just because of the modern setting in a mall to begin with. Sadly, but not surprisingly, it isn't as atmospheric as RE4. But on the other hand there no such fun as zombie-mowing in the park! Expand
  2. crapbag
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. The team that created Re4 is the team that work on chop til you drop, and it shows. The targeting mechanic is a huge upgrade from the 360 version, and frank moves far more fluidly. I love that guns are a larger focus in this version and everything else is wicked fun, but entirely optional. The camera is no longer used by the player either which makes me happy. I This game is awesome. The team that created Re4 is the team that work on chop til you drop, and it shows. The targeting mechanic is a huge upgrade from the 360 version, and frank moves far more fluidly. I love that guns are a larger focus in this version and everything else is wicked fun, but entirely optional. The camera is no longer used by the player either which makes me happy. I hated the camera. The graphics don't seem to have taken a major hit. They're of course not as good, but there is so much blood spray, zombie poodles, and parrots along with so much ammunition from downed enemies the graphics are hardly a factor. Thank you capcom for fixing the 360 issues. You have created a superior version. Collapse
  3. jemspelaci
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    this is the best game in the world...i wanted it before it didnt even come out and when i discovered it was approchable i went "bonkers" and i have it with the price ssstill on it 49.99$ i actually giot it for 1$ and i love it even though i cant play it for a month cause i backtalk to much -_- lol but oh well all im doing now is either staring at it or sleeping with it MMHHMMHMHMHMH
  4. nop
    Sep 13, 2010
    2
    Dislike this game. Very intresting idea, but really bad implementation. Boxy washed-out graphics, awkward controls (you have to press two buttons simultaneously to pick up an object, talk, open door, etc.), main characted can't step over 1-foot high barrier or drop from 2-foot platform except for specially indicated places, zombies respawn in empty room just behind his back, animation isDislike this game. Very intresting idea, but really bad implementation. Boxy washed-out graphics, awkward controls (you have to press two buttons simultaneously to pick up an object, talk, open door, etc.), main characted can't step over 1-foot high barrier or drop from 2-foot platform except for specially indicated places, zombies respawn in empty room just behind his back, animation is clunky, battles are unrealistic and unfair, making you basically swim through a pool of zombies coming from nowhere until your health is depleted. Expand
  5. lexiphanicism
    Mar 5, 2009
    7
    Having purchased and played DR:CtyD, I have to say a solid 7 is an appropriate score for the game. Anything more ignores the limitations it suffers in comparison to the original; anything less ignores the inherent decency of the control system and the overall fun of the gameplay itself. Here's a breakdown of my opinion regarding issues specific to this port: Things I enjoy about Having purchased and played DR:CtyD, I have to say a solid 7 is an appropriate score for the game. Anything more ignores the limitations it suffers in comparison to the original; anything less ignores the inherent decency of the control system and the overall fun of the gameplay itself. Here's a breakdown of my opinion regarding issues specific to this port: Things I enjoy about CtyD: Easily manipulable aiming reticule Enhanced zombie AI Zombie poodles (They're fun to kill) New weapons Some new quests Kill drops (Doesn't make much sense, but it works, and I like the idea of eating something that fell out of an undead poodle. Am I sick?) Things I do not enjoy: Zombie parrots (Fun once, annoying ever after) Survivor AI (It seems worse, if possible.) Running zombies (It violates canon, danggit!) Inability to jump Inability to carry more than one melee weapon (2 if you count large/special weapons) Things toward which I am ambivalent: Graphics (Adequate, but nothing special) The Menu scheme (It's different, not worse) Path blockages (Done to increase challenge, which it does, but feels limiting) Stores no longer have multiple items available in them--pretty much one store, one weapon. Anyway, speaking personally, I can testify that it IS possible for a die-hard fan of the 360 game to enjoy CtyD. Would I play it if I had the original and the money for an X-box? Likely not. Is it good enough to satisfy my addiction in the meantime? Definitely. Expand
  6. JeremyV
    Feb 25, 2009
    8
    Hard to rate being that I just got the game but in some ways... not so much. I don't own an X-Box 360 so I don't have to obligingly compare its graphics to a machine made for graphics. Instead, I get to judge it on its own Wii merits and so far, this is a lot of fun. It seems like you can use a ridiculous amount of items as weapons. The cut scenes are good. The story is creepy. Hard to rate being that I just got the game but in some ways... not so much. I don't own an X-Box 360 so I don't have to obligingly compare its graphics to a machine made for graphics. Instead, I get to judge it on its own Wii merits and so far, this is a lot of fun. It seems like you can use a ridiculous amount of items as weapons. The cut scenes are good. The story is creepy. It's a rockin' zombie-killin' good time! My only real complaint is that you can't jump over everything. I'm not a fan of having large, sprawling locations that feel like you should be able to go anywhere you want without actually being able to. That's too much of a tease and annoying when you really need to hop a small divide to escape but for some random reason cannot. The controls are great, the graphics are serviceable, the sound is great. (The controls may be Resident Evil 4 but the graphics aren't quite there.) But what do I care about? I care most about the fun factor and thanks to the controls, which is what Wii games should be about IMO, coupled with the concept, this game has me hooked. I dare say it will have you hooked too. Swing away. Expand
  7. JohnFuqua
    Oct 19, 2009
    7
    GRAPHICS: The visuals are adequate, even compared to fellow Wii games. There likely isn't anything that'll impress you, but thankfully the graphical limitations doesn't get in the way of the gameplay experience. GAMEPLAY: The controls work very well. This game is fun to play and I never found the gameplay mechanics to be tedious. If anything, I wish the story gave moreGRAPHICS: The visuals are adequate, even compared to fellow Wii games. There likely isn't anything that'll impress you, but thankfully the graphical limitations doesn't get in the way of the gameplay experience. GAMEPLAY: The controls work very well. This game is fun to play and I never found the gameplay mechanics to be tedious. If anything, I wish the story gave more opportunites to bash zombies arounds. PRESENTATION: If you're looking for something fun and cheesy, this game will likely hit the spot. The menus look like something out of the 16-bit era, but they're not dealbreakers. The story feels trucated, likely due from so much being editted out from the 360 original. Wii's Dead Rising is not going to "wow" you, but as an overall package this game gets the job done. Expand
  8. Fozzy
    Feb 26, 2009
    7
    I've played both versions now. For the sake of argument the gameplay is pretty similar. Sure, the graphics are turned down and there's not as many zombies on screen at a time, but for those new to Dead Rising, that's not an issue. The controls feel a little awkward but it's not terrible. Of course, they had to "Wii-atize" the game and add motion controls. Why people I've played both versions now. For the sake of argument the gameplay is pretty similar. Sure, the graphics are turned down and there's not as many zombies on screen at a time, but for those new to Dead Rising, that's not an issue. The controls feel a little awkward but it's not terrible. Of course, they had to "Wii-atize" the game and add motion controls. Why people feel the need to add a remote "swing" to swing a bat in a game is beyond me. But I like the gun aiming mechanism. Biggest critisims is the missing ability (mini-game even) of taking photos. It gave "Frank West" more depth and the whole opening scene just bizzare because they cut out all the parts of Frank seeing the events happening in the city. It is truly one of the greatest parts of the game and it's gone. At the end of the day, it's a game where you get to kill zombies in a mall. That's all I'm asking for. =) Expand
  9. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    I was a little skeptical about this port. this game was fantastic on the Xbox 360, and I'm proud to say it's fantastic on the Wii as well. It's for the most part the same game, but with features both added and removed. The most notable is the fact that there are a lot less zombies on screen than in the 360 version, but they make up for this with new kinds of zombies, like animal zombiesI was a little skeptical about this port. this game was fantastic on the Xbox 360, and I'm proud to say it's fantastic on the Wii as well. It's for the most part the same game, but with features both added and removed. The most notable is the fact that there are a lot less zombies on screen than in the 360 version, but they make up for this with new kinds of zombies, like animal zombies and what I like to call super zombies that are designed after a few psychopath boss battles that were removed from this port. There are still psychopath boss battles, just less than the 360 version. Another new feature is the fact that this port doesn't focus on melee weapons like the 360 port, but rather on guns. If you've played the 360 version you remember how awful aiming was in that version, but aiming is easy to do by just pointing the Wii remote at the screen. And do to this change the game is a lot easier and more forgiving than it's 360 predecessor. Another big change that makes the game more forgiving is that it's actually possible to save those moronic survivors this go around. But by far the thing that affects the game the most is that the timing system that was on every mission and frustrated loads of gamers, and even made some give up on the game has been completely removed making the game feel less stressful this go around. I recommend Chop Till You Drop to gamers who found the 360 version to difficult or stressful do to the time limits and gave up on it yet still want to know how it ends, Wii owners who wanted to play it but didn't have a 360, or gamers who just want to see how the game works and is different on the Wii. Sure its got some issues, but so did the 360's version and no matter which system you play it on it's fantastic either way. Expand
  10. Apr 20, 2015
    2
    this game somehow managed to throw out the window everything that made the original good in the first place.
    bad graphics, reused Resident Evil 4 mechanics, very clunky controls... don't buy this.
    if you're gonna buy Dead Rising, make sure it's the Xbox360 version.
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. 69
    A lot of corners have been cut to get this game on the Wii and the result is not the impressive next-gen experience it was on the 360. Rather, it's a breezy weekend diversion with some fun gameplay and subpar graphics.
  2. Another example of a game that greatly underperforms on a perfectly capable console.
  3. Capcom gives us a wiimote to go shopping again in Willamette. Probably, Dead Rising: Chop Till You Drop had deserved an independent design, instead of a port, but it still can be a good survival-horror action choice for gamers who don't own an Xbox 360.