Far Cry Vengeance Wii

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Dec 12, 2006
  • Also On: PC

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 19 out of 23
Buy On
  1. 40
    The presentation – everything from the dozens of graphics shortcomings to the sometimes broken AI logic – is just too sloppy and too rushed in this quick-and-dirty Wii incarnation of the classic franchise. A fundamentally solid shooter is hiding somewhere underneath, but good luck finding it between the blurry textures and the sluggish framerate.
  2. Far Cry Vengeance tries to blend recycled content with new gameplay designed for the Wii, but the results are lackluster across the board.
  3. I know the Nintendo party line stresses gameplay over graphics, but taking a majestic title like Far Cry and giving it the Wii treatment is like getting your Ferrari tuned up by a guy who normally works on Chevy Impalas. It doesn’t make much sense to port a franchise known for its amazing visuals, open-ended action, and dynamic enemy AI to a system lacking the power to achieve any of the above on the scale accomplished by the original game.
  4. This game is just a complete mess. It appears that it was just hastily ported to the Wii to try and cash in on the lack of good shooters for the system. I can't stress this enough, stay far away from this game.
  5. 30
    Scant fun portions aside, if Far Cry: Vengeance cost the same as a soft-shell taco, I'd suggest you run for the border. I know Uwe Boll got one of his tentacles on the Far Cry movie license; I'm wondering if he directed this game as a warmup.
  6. If you want to summarize Far Cry: Vengeance, take Red Steel, polish the controls to a mirror sheen, toss in the Predator mode that is now a trademark of the series, and then pull out some steel wool to scratch up everything else.
  7. At no point was it an unpleasant game to play, it's merely completely retrograde in several key areas and lacking any sense of presentation or style. It's an ugly game, but one which, crucially, works as a game at its most basic level - which, to my mind, weighs heavily against the problems it has in most other areas.
  8. 30
    The simple act of turning around in Vengeance is more difficult than wiping out an entourage of baddies in clear view. Plus, jumping (lift the nunchuk) and operating vehicles is more annoying that doing a sink full of dirty dishes.
  9. Games Master UK
    The graphics would shame a third-party N64 game - theyr'e that bad. [Mar 2007, p.74]
  10. If the GameCube could handle Metroid Prime's environments and beasties so beautifully, there's no reason the superior Wii can't deliver a first-person shooter worth remembering. Unfortunately, Far Cry Vegeance sure as hell isn't it.
  11. Edge Magazine
    Vengeance feels like a small-minded attempt to corner the Remote-controlled shooter market at the earliest opportunity. "Red Steel" may have failed in a similar bid, but at least it had the excuse of being a new franchise, not one already established. [Feb 2007, p.78]
  12. 40
    Far Cry Vengeance is the game that will make you think twice about coming within 100 yards of a first-person shooter on the Wii.
  13. We expect something special from Far Cry and, frankly, Vengeance just isn't up to scratch. Like a Z-list celebrity, leave this one in the jungle.
  14. Nintendo Power
    The Far Cry series is built largely upon its ability to absorb you in its sun-drenched vistas; subtract that high level of immersion, and you're left with an otherwise unremarkable first-person shooter. [Feb. 2007, p.93]
  15. The implementation of the Wii controls is solid, but there’s no getting around the fact that this is an old game that’s been repurposed for Nintendo’s new controller to make a quick buck.
  16. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    A bad conversion of an almost year-old Xbox game. Vengeance is playable but it's a massively disappointing Wii debut for the Far Cry series, and the worst FPS on the console so far. [Mar 2007, p.84]
  17. Nintendo Gamer
    Turns your living room into some kind of talent vacuum. This waste of development time makes three strong brands - Wii, Far Cry, and Ubisoft - look woefully incompetent. [Mar 2007, p.54]
  18. One of the Wii's worst games, an underdeveloped mess that will turn off most of its players by the middle – or possibly even the beginning -- of level one. Ubisoft attempted some innovative control techniques, but most of them feel awful-- even doing simple things like jumping and lobbing grenades sucks.
  19. Vengeance continues Ubisoft’s trend of releasing rushed port after rushed port to the Wii in hopes that gamers are indiscriminating enough to buy a game they’ve already played with added motion control. Given another month or two in development, it might easily have been worth it. In its current state, however, Far Cry Vengeance is harsh, glaring proof that this strategy isn’t working.
  20. Certain play aspects are really fun on the Wii controls, such as driving like a maniac through the jungles, and roaring along in feral mode, swatting enemies like you're hitting a home run. But the game suffers from weak graphics, and a why-did-they-bother multiplayer mode that supports only two players.
  21. Far Cry has gone downhill ever since it lost the Hawaiian shirts. But for Wii shooter mayhem, the future looks bright.
  22. 30
    The real problem here is the complete disregard for performance. The frame rate drops so frequently that the game is nearly rendered completely unplayable. I can't even imagine how this got through a certification phase prior to release.
  23. An unplayable and sorry excuse for a game. It should never have been released, and we can’t figure out how the hell something this bad would ever get e green light.

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2006
#5 Most Shared Wii Game of 2006
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. ACE5
    Dec 18, 2006
    You can try nintendo, but no matter what you say... "You are a kiddie console !" Just as I and almost everyone else thought... The Wii will You can try nintendo, but no matter what you say... "You are a kiddie console !" Just as I and almost everyone else thought... The Wii will be like the Gamecube and the N64, as in most of the best games for the system will be nintendo made games. And more adult oriented games from third parties will suck on this system for at least the first year or two. But by that time most companies will be moving away from the Wii, and then it's all kiddie games for the rest of the consoles life. This game doesn't play anywhere nearly as good as the 360 version. I didn't love the 360 version or anything, but it plays a lot better than this. I thought the Wii mote would have been ideal for PC type games as essentially you still have a point and click type of gameplay. But somehow I guess that part of the gameplay got lost somewhere. The Wii mote and games like this could have started to bridge the gap between PC gamers and console gamers, but now PC gamers have something to use when they declare that the PC has the best controls..."AGAIN!" Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    A painful compilation of bad controls, abysmally stupid enemy AI, and awful graphics. Far Cry Vengeance barely delivers what most people wouldA painful compilation of bad controls, abysmally stupid enemy AI, and awful graphics. Far Cry Vengeance barely delivers what most people would consider a "finished game". Full Review »
  3. Nini
    Feb 28, 2007
    If I had to pick a word to describe this game, it would be... "Dreadful". Really. What are the main things we expect from Far Cry? Gorgeous If I had to pick a word to describe this game, it would be... "Dreadful". Really. What are the main things we expect from Far Cry? Gorgeous environments? Excellent AI? Well you won't find either of those things here. Look at the ground about 10 metres away. Its just green. Walk forward. 2 metres away, it renders some foliage. Try driving a vehicle. If you can live with 10fps, you're a better man than me. The AI is *wait till you get close then shoot badly, repeating uncomprehendable phrases*. Redeeming features: Some of the feral powers are cool, but not really new. Environments are pretty big. So yeah, mostly awful. Full Review »