• Publisher: Shin'en
  • Release Date: May 30, 2011
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jun 2, 2011
    90
    It's another amazing accomplishment for WiiWare graphic-wise, but like its previous games, it has the gameplay content to back it up.
  2. A sensational racer, it's far more polished than most full-price racers on Wii. [Aug 2011, p.102]
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    Shin'en has truly outclassed not only all other WiiWare developers, but also itself with FAST: Racing League; a quintessential download title and an essential purchase for all Wii owners.
  4. Jun 12, 2011
    90
    As it stands FAST Racing League is an excellent addition to the anti-gravity racing sub-genre and one that can stand proud as a true rival to F-Zero while retaining enough elements of its own that make it an excellent alternative well worthy of purchase.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 30, 2011
    9
    This is a fantastic smooth futuristic racer which totally blew me away. Shin'en has done it again! This may look and play a lot like f-zeroThis is a fantastic smooth futuristic racer which totally blew me away. Shin'en has done it again! This may look and play a lot like f-zero or wipe-out without weapons, but it has its own special features to make it feel different. Energy cells are placed all around the track. Racing into one of these will allow you to switch your racer from white to black. When racing over long black or white speed panels you then switch on the d-pad to the right color to get the boost. In the same style there are ramps to master and its possible now and then to fling to the ceiling when obstacles are blocking the way which also gives a nice little boost. You can also press on the d-pad for a super boost when collected 5 cells. The game offers a tutorial mode to get you into the swing of things so don't worry you will soon master these tricks.. The game consists of 3 leagues set on different planets, a total of 12 tracks(maybe more unlockables) raced in 3 classes + time attack with cpu racers + a bunch of challenges and multiplayer. There are 7 other competitors in the race and it all runs very smoothly in around 60 fps. The tracks are fun with s lot of twisting and turning and loops. The graphics are really good and I like the spectacular animation when you fly of the track or crash into obstacles. Multiplayer we have with up to 4 player with cpu racers . 2 player runs in a smooth 30 fps or a variable which makes the framerate even smoother but more inconsistent, 3-4 player is also rather smooth. This is a game worth buying and if you like racers like f-zero this is a must. Sadly the game doesn't support online racing, then this would have been a solid tenner. Full Review »
  2. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    When I first started playing this game, I was absolutely blown away. I couldn't believe what they could fit into a Wiiware title. Sure itWhen I first started playing this game, I was absolutely blown away. I couldn't believe what they could fit into a Wiiware title. Sure it doesn't have the track or car variety that Wipeout has, nor does it have weapons, but it runs extremely well with great graphics, and the whole light/dark switching mechanic works a lot better than I expected. HOWEVER, this game is brutally hard. Insanely, ridiculously hard. I could win the beginning few races almost every single time, but then I got to a point where I couldn't even come close. I can't remember exactly what race it was, but I tried many many times, and never even cracked top 3. I played maybe 8 or 9 hours of this game and had a blast, but the difficulty being as insane as it is, I got bored and frustrated. Shin'en did an utterly amazing job, and I'm glad they have my money so they can make more like this. However, the ultimate test of how great a game is is this: Do I want to play it right now? That answer, sadly, is no way. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    I've read some of the mixed reviews, so I thought I'd offer my two cents. First off this is a solid game. Good graphics, good controls (II've read some of the mixed reviews, so I thought I'd offer my two cents. First off this is a solid game. Good graphics, good controls (I prefer using a classic controller), good level design (12 tracks), decent music, three difficulty settings and enough bonus challenges to keep the average gamer busy. The best thing about this game is the switching between white and black to get boosts. If you see a black boost strip, turn black and watch your racer blaze at fast speeds. It goes the same with white strips. There are also magnetic white or black ceiling strips which can be used as convenient short cuts. Each time you turn either black or white it costs you one point of energy. If you use a manual boost it costs you five points of energy. You start each track with five points of energy and you can gain up to ten by finding energy cells which are spread across every track strategically. Finding the perfect balance between changing colors and using a manual boost can be challenging and requires some tactical thinking. Be warned that this is a challenging game, but practice makes perfect. The only negatives for me were that the computer doesn't make very many mistakes when you race against it, so if you get behind it is extremely difficult to catch up, especially at higher difficulties. And there is no online racing mode which would have been awesome, but you can play the game with four player split screen. Still, the game was well worth the ten bucks I spent. Full Review »