Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Wii

Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three years have passed since King Ashnard of Daein invaded neighboring Crimea and, in doing so, almost doomed the world by awakening the slumbering goddess of chaos. Now, the fires of war burn bright once again, and a band of freedom fighters unites to break the foreign chains that bindThree years have passed since King Ashnard of Daein invaded neighboring Crimea and, in doing so, almost doomed the world by awakening the slumbering goddess of chaos. Now, the fires of war burn bright once again, and a band of freedom fighters unites to break the foreign chains that bind their homeland. As this new war spreads, Ike and the Greil Mercenaries find themselves caught up once again in events that threaten to awaken powers that will judge the world - and find it wanting. A goddess' judgment could threaten once again to bring ruin to all of Tellius. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Nintendo Power
    95
    It's the best it its class, and motion-control or not, it's only on Wii. [Dec 2007, p.80]
  2. 88
    Even though this is not the definitive strategy RPG of our time, like some have labeled games such as Shining Force, Final Fantasy Tactics, or Disgaea, it's pretty damn close.
  3. Hardcore RPG/strategy gamers should love Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn. Along with some stylized visuals the game has simple and streamlined gameplay including very basic control which really makes the game easy to pick up and play.
  4. 80
    If you’re looking for an entertaining, challenging, traditional strategy game, look no further, as Fire Emblem is as good as it gets. Just don’t expect anything more than GameCube presentation, visuals, and control for $50.
  5. 75
    Hardcore strategy wrapped up in candy coloured clothing. If you can get past the dreadful storytelling and focus on the tactical battles and RPG aspects, you'll have fun.
  6. 70
    It's a Fire Emblem game, which means, yes, while it's diabolically hard, the gameplay is solid. More than solid – it's worthwhile.
  7. If you are looking for a game experience similar to recent Final Fantasy games, you will ultimately be disappointed with Radiant Dawn. However, if you craved focused gameplay and a story without embellished full voice acting or tons of FMV cut scenes, then Radiant Dawn fits the bill.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. XilanoA.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game pretty much fixed everything that was wrong with PoR, an already fantastic game. For that, and for simply being a finely crafted This game pretty much fixed everything that was wrong with PoR, an already fantastic game. For that, and for simply being a finely crafted game, Radiant Dawn gets a 10. Expand
  2. DavidS.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    I've never played this series before. It's fantastic. It bugs me that all the critics could see is that the graphics weren't I've never played this series before. It's fantastic. It bugs me that all the critics could see is that the graphics weren't jaw dropping. Maybe I'm just too old school, but the game looked great to me. This game delivers in everything it tries to. Most engaging story in a war game I've played, and I think it's the first actually hard strategy game I've played in a very long time. Expand
  3. AlexC.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    When you buy the 10th fire emblem, you will get is a interesting story which asks what is evil, and who is evil, or misguided, or has a When you buy the 10th fire emblem, you will get is a interesting story which asks what is evil, and who is evil, or misguided, or has a difference of opinion. The story will also have you wondering when the ends justify the means. On easy mode this should be a fairly easy game. On normal and hard mode you will be getting a good challenge. On these difficulties, the game will make you plan ahead and think about how you can conquer each battle without losing any of your team. Fire Emblem radiant down is a good game, and will keep you playing and having fun though all ~50 hours of the main story. After it is finished, you will likely want to come back to tackle hard mode. Hard mode will most likely take you even longer due to the fact that it is well, really hard. When push comes to shove, it Expand
  4. MearshD.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    Great character development and story line. Solid game, though liquidy at times.
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    This is easily one of the greatest Wii games of all time IMHO, although that is a title that is not hard to aim for. Even having not playedThis is easily one of the greatest Wii games of all time IMHO, although that is a title that is not hard to aim for. Even having not played all of Path of Radiance, I found the difficulty to be engaging, the story to be compelling, most of the major characters to be rather fleshed out, and the RPG elements to be on par.

    The FMV cuts are gorgeous, even if a bit sparse, and the lack of voice acting in the major dialogue scenes can get rather tiring, but this is a minor complaint.

    The only reason why this doesn't deserve a ten is a few gameplay gripes. The graphics clearly could have been better, especially when you're on the map playing. The battle music has little variation and gets old quickly. The inability to repair forged weapons easily makes the game even more difficult beyond the actual strategy. Ranged units rarely are ranged enough (would it have been hard to make damage fall with distance and let the archers actually be archers!?), there are too many Condition: Rout battles, and the difficulties in distributing EXP and making certain units as useful as they should be just make the game hair-rippingly difficult in the second half of the third chapter and all of the fourth.

    However, the relatively deep strategy for a console game, simple controls, wide variation in unit types, functions, and strengths, the great story, and the slightly-more-than-passing-thought RPG elements easily makes this one of the best games on this console.
    Expand
  6. OmanL
    Mar 22, 2009
    9
    Quite a brilliant and underrated game. Not for the fainthearted though, even on easy mode it's a tough game. I'm a big strategy Quite a brilliant and underrated game. Not for the fainthearted though, even on easy mode it's a tough game. I'm a big strategy game fan- the only reason I haven't given it a ten because the lack of a good support system like in previous games. The various parties also add another level of difficulty to the game. The Laguz Kings in the final levels is very easy, Ike's party is easy, Elincia's party is normal and the Dawn Brigade is Hard. It's a long game which has kept me coming me back every time, I've completed it nearly ten times. For hardcore gamers it's a dream, but the casual gamer will have a hard time. The best in the series though, if you ask me. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    This game is absolute disaster. Maddening difficulty,poor design choices and with the worst story ever in any game makes this one a completeThis game is absolute disaster. Maddening difficulty,poor design choices and with the worst story ever in any game makes this one a complete failure. I wonder, how this one could fail so hard when its a direct sequel to previous Fire Emblem released on gamecube and that was a playable one. I dont know, but i know this...stay away from this game. Collapse

See all 45 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#9 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007