Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Wii

Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three years have passed since King Ashnard of Daein invaded neighboring Crimea and, in doing so, almost doomed the world by awakening the slumbering goddess of chaos. Now, the fires of war burn bright once again, and a band of freedom fighters unites to break the foreign chains that bindThree years have passed since King Ashnard of Daein invaded neighboring Crimea and, in doing so, almost doomed the world by awakening the slumbering goddess of chaos. Now, the fires of war burn bright once again, and a band of freedom fighters unites to break the foreign chains that bind their homeland. As this new war spreads, Ike and the Greil Mercenaries find themselves caught up once again in events that threaten to awaken powers that will judge the world - and find it wanting. A goddess' judgment could threaten once again to bring ruin to all of Tellius. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Nintendo Power
    95
    It's the best it its class, and motion-control or not, it's only on Wii. [Dec 2007, p.80]
  2. 88
    Even though this is not the definitive strategy RPG of our time, like some have labeled games such as Shining Force, Final Fantasy Tactics, or Disgaea, it's pretty damn close.
  3. Hardcore RPG/strategy gamers should love Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn. Along with some stylized visuals the game has simple and streamlined gameplay including very basic control which really makes the game easy to pick up and play.
  4. 80
    If you’re looking for an entertaining, challenging, traditional strategy game, look no further, as Fire Emblem is as good as it gets. Just don’t expect anything more than GameCube presentation, visuals, and control for $50.
  5. 75
    Hardcore strategy wrapped up in candy coloured clothing. If you can get past the dreadful storytelling and focus on the tactical battles and RPG aspects, you'll have fun.
  6. 70
    It's a Fire Emblem game, which means, yes, while it's diabolically hard, the gameplay is solid. More than solid – it's worthwhile.
  7. If you are looking for a game experience similar to recent Final Fantasy games, you will ultimately be disappointed with Radiant Dawn. However, if you craved focused gameplay and a story without embellished full voice acting or tons of FMV cut scenes, then Radiant Dawn fits the bill.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. XilanoA.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game pretty much fixed everything that was wrong with PoR, an already fantastic game. For that, and for simply being a finely crafted This game pretty much fixed everything that was wrong with PoR, an already fantastic game. For that, and for simply being a finely crafted game, Radiant Dawn gets a 10. Expand
  2. Alex
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    After paging through some of the reviews, I found a lot of them to be completely nonsensical. Please, let me know how you integrate After paging through some of the reviews, I found a lot of them to be completely nonsensical. Please, let me know how you integrate meaningful motion controls in a turn-based strategy/rpg. Moving on, the game's story drew me in and kept me there(as FE games tend to) and the gameplay and challenge was everything I expected. In short, another excellent Fire Emblem experience. Expand
  3. AlexC.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    When you buy the 10th fire emblem, you will get is a interesting story which asks what is evil, and who is evil, or misguided, or has a When you buy the 10th fire emblem, you will get is a interesting story which asks what is evil, and who is evil, or misguided, or has a difference of opinion. The story will also have you wondering when the ends justify the means. On easy mode this should be a fairly easy game. On normal and hard mode you will be getting a good challenge. On these difficulties, the game will make you plan ahead and think about how you can conquer each battle without losing any of your team. Fire Emblem radiant down is a good game, and will keep you playing and having fun though all ~50 hours of the main story. After it is finished, you will likely want to come back to tackle hard mode. Hard mode will most likely take you even longer due to the fact that it is well, really hard. When push comes to shove, it Expand
  4. LordS.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Fire Emblem is a game of thinking. It's like chess except with living fighting characters
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    Unreal game. Gripping story, addicting game-play and an awesome score. While not perfect it is worth your time, as to me it stands as theUnreal game. Gripping story, addicting game-play and an awesome score. While not perfect it is worth your time, as to me it stands as the single greatest turn-based strategy game on the market. Expand
  6. DLippert
    May 7, 2008
    9
    Anyone who complains that this game doesn't use motion controls doesn't quite get the Wii. It's not all about the motion Anyone who complains that this game doesn't use motion controls doesn't quite get the Wii. It's not all about the motion controls, it's also about playing fun games on a system that is still reasonably priced. Second this game is very challenging, and the instruction do tell you to play on easy if you are new to this series. I did and was very happy (got a bit easy towards the end). Finally as far as the graphics are concerned I thought they were great. I play on a 42" LCD with component cables and it looked great. Could it have looked better on a PS3 or 360 sure, would it have made a difference NO! But it Play it Love it. It is too long to rent and if you are not a tactical veteran or a veteran of this game play on easy and if you want the challenge restart on hard after the first chapter. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    This game is absolute disaster. Maddening difficulty,poor design choices and with the worst story ever in any game makes this one a completeThis game is absolute disaster. Maddening difficulty,poor design choices and with the worst story ever in any game makes this one a complete failure. I wonder, how this one could fail so hard when its a direct sequel to previous Fire Emblem released on gamecube and that was a playable one. I dont know, but i know this...stay away from this game. Collapse

See all 48 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#5 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007