Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Span Smasher combines the hands-on fun of tennis with the nonstop action and instant
    gratification of pinball.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 12 out of 26
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    75
    Addictive simplicity. [Dec 2010, p.86]
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    65
    The hero is a lot of fun, the setting is interesting and gameplay is somehow original. A shame for all the repetitiviness and the annoying controls.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    60
    If you find you have a knack for the basic gameplay of FlingSmash, beyond willing yourself through the levels as I did, there's plenty of replayability.
  4. 50
    FlingSmash is full of interesting gameplay ideas that would've been a lot more fun if the game controlled well, or at the very least, compensated for the poor controls by being a little more forgiving.
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    40
    The game is bundled with a Wii remote plus controller so you might think this platformer is a delight to play. But the main problem with the game is in fact: the controls. It's very inaccurate and it'll usually make you frustrated. The game has some fun moments, and it looks pretty good, but it's short and some levels are really dull.
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    40
    FlingSmash's reliance on a very basic, flawed control scheme saps most of the fun from all of your flinging and smashing.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    30
    FlingSmash's title might be short, snappy and to the point, but the game itself only manages the first of those three.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Feb 16, 2015
    8
    I honestly don't know why FlingSmash has gotten so much hate on the site. So I've decided the review into a few parts to show you why I loveI honestly don't know why FlingSmash has gotten so much hate on the site. So I've decided the review into a few parts to show you why I love FlingSmash.

    Graphics- The game looks simply great! The style stands out and the colors are hyper-vibrant. Just puts you in a good mood.

    Music- It's nice-ish kind of. Not my style but definitely doesn't make me cringe of anything.

    Story- Damsel is distress. Save her. Done. If you're playing this for the story, their isn't much to offer here.

    Content- Short, yes. Worth it for the low price. YES! Level design is superb, if you were wondering.

    Controls and Gameplay- It works. The controls, contrary to popular belief, are decent. I also enjoy the numerous power-ups.

    Special Round (BOSSES) - The boss fights are so fun. Especially the last one, I love it.

    So yeah. Sounds fun? You decide.
    Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    This game's only problem is the fact that is on CD. It should be damned WiiWare. Controls are okay and main villain is kind of cool, but mostThis game's only problem is the fact that is on CD. It should be damned WiiWare. Controls are okay and main villain is kind of cool, but most of time you just have to mindlessly swing Wii remote to every possible direction. Stages with metal characters shouldn't be in game (game's normal mindlessness times three) The best thing about game is fact that it comes with Wii Motion Plus and it's cheaper than controller alone! Collapse
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    2
    As nintendo world report put it: FlingSmash is full of interesting gameplay ideas that would've been a lot more fun if the game controlledAs nintendo world report put it: FlingSmash is full of interesting gameplay ideas that would've been a lot more fun if the game controlled well, or at the very least, compensated for the poor controls by being a little more forgiving.

    The game is mediocre and not worth your time. Artoon is horrible.
    Expand

Trailers