User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The hardest thing about this game is by far and large adapting to the controls. I'm a very avid tennis player and fan of professional tennis, and I have to say from life experience that this is the most accurate tennis game I've ever played. The game advises to use slow and easy full swings (using the Wiimote Plus), and that takes some getting used to, but once you start to do itThe hardest thing about this game is by far and large adapting to the controls. I'm a very avid tennis player and fan of professional tennis, and I have to say from life experience that this is the most accurate tennis game I've ever played. The game advises to use slow and easy full swings (using the Wiimote Plus), and that takes some getting used to, but once you start to do it consistently you'll be able to plan your shots with remarkable precision. It is very important to return to a ready stance (as if holding the racket up in front of you) and keep the direction of your hit aimed at the sensor bar for the game to accurately pickup your movements. You can't play as if you're on a full size court. Instead, I played as if the length of my TV was the size of the singles court (22-inch) with the length of the TV case it stands on as the net length and baseline. At that point it became very simple to hit early when aiming left or hit later when aiming right. Every slice, topspin, flat shot, and degree of speed started registering completely naturally as I am used to hitting on the real court. However, even with that accuracy nailed down, you can definitely expect the game AI to make you work for every point, making every match very rewarding. I highly recommend any tennis fan to give this a try, and commit to the practice and experimentation required to get comfortable with the controls. It's well worth the effort! Expand
  2. MarcB
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    Best tennis game I've ever played. Modes galore and rewards system keep the single player experience fresh. Online multi works perfectly, no framerate loss. Serious gamers, myself included, should only play with Motion Plus and the nunchuck...this gives you control over every aspect of your shot. Even with Motion Plus there will be a hiccup once in awhile...but it is BY FAR the most Best tennis game I've ever played. Modes galore and rewards system keep the single player experience fresh. Online multi works perfectly, no framerate loss. Serious gamers, myself included, should only play with Motion Plus and the nunchuck...this gives you control over every aspect of your shot. Even with Motion Plus there will be a hiccup once in awhile...but it is BY FAR the most accurate motion tennis experience available. Enjoy. Expand
  3. LukeD
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    What a great game, this is the type of game thats gets you lazy people off the couch and into the action(with the use of the wii-motion plus). If you try to sit down or play lazyly, you will be punished. Hard practice and effort goes a long way with this game. As I did stuggle at first but realised I wasnt playing like a tennis player(still trying to play like you do with wii sportsWhat a great game, this is the type of game thats gets you lazy people off the couch and into the action(with the use of the wii-motion plus). If you try to sit down or play lazyly, you will be punished. Hard practice and effort goes a long way with this game. As I did stuggle at first but realised I wasnt playing like a tennis player(still trying to play like you do with wii sports tennis). The single player career mode is fun, but could have been more involved. The online is where most of the fun will be had, with player and nation rankings being recorded. Every now and then you may be affected by some lag online, however across the board online is relativley smooth. I definately recommend this game, just stick with it and train, train, train. Expand
  4. paulj
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    This is an excellent, atmospheric, good lookign game which is highly addictive. The controls encourage ou to use exaggerated swings....flick the remote like you would in other games and it will be unresponsive, as some of the lower reviews state. actually attempt to use the remote like a real racket, however, and they are spot on. certainly better than the alternatives by a long way. This This is an excellent, atmospheric, good lookign game which is highly addictive. The controls encourage ou to use exaggerated swings....flick the remote like you would in other games and it will be unresponsive, as some of the lower reviews state. actually attempt to use the remote like a real racket, however, and they are spot on. certainly better than the alternatives by a long way. This is a game to play tennis on...not a waggle-fest. Expand
  5. TomC
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    The people that're having problems with the controls are quite simply not doing things correctly. When the match starts hold the remote in a center position for a couple of seconds. Then serve. At the break between points hold the remote in the same or similar position to recalibrate the MotionPlus. After a while you won't even notice you're doing it. It'll take you The people that're having problems with the controls are quite simply not doing things correctly. When the match starts hold the remote in a center position for a couple of seconds. Then serve. At the break between points hold the remote in the same or similar position to recalibrate the MotionPlus. After a while you won't even notice you're doing it. It'll take you 2-3 hours to get used to the controls but once nailed down you'll be able to put the ball where you want. This game is better by far than Virtua Tennis. Just be patient. And learn how to play the game before judging it. Expand
  6. NathalieBayeu
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    The game is realistic, once you get the hang of it you will stop blaming the software if anything goes wrong. Although on-line may be frustrating, sometimes you will encounter a 'crazy' referee who counts double bounces as a single one, or your player might suddenly run away in one direction if you're on nunchuk. On average some flaw or another will occur a couple of timesThe game is realistic, once you get the hang of it you will stop blaming the software if anything goes wrong. Although on-line may be frustrating, sometimes you will encounter a 'crazy' referee who counts double bounces as a single one, or your player might suddenly run away in one direction if you're on nunchuk. On average some flaw or another will occur a couple of times in a set.
    Nevertheless I play it only with nunchuk as it is much more precise, and despite all those occasional flaws, it's extremely addictive. And in my case it burns some 190 Kcal in 1 hour of play!!!!!
    Expand
  7. SimonW
    Jun 21, 2009
    9
    I'm sick of people saying its broke and wii motion don't work. you need to spend some time getting used to how to swing and time the ball, just like in real tennis. once you get used to it it really is like a game of tennis. it has good AI and a very rewarding game when you have spent the hours getting comfortable with control. highly recommended.
  8. AlexA
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Very COOL and FUN! This game is a great way to let tennis fans blow their tennis skills. In a day I already won a title. I recommend this game to everyone who love tennis. I LOVE IT!
  9. JoelC
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    I don't understand the problems people are having with the M+. For me, as in a real game of tennis, before every serve my Wiimote is centered and ready to go, because you never know which way the serve will come. And it's worked flawlessly for me. The critics are morons, buy this game. The best tennis game I have ever played. Don't like tennis? Then rent it first. I love I don't understand the problems people are having with the M+. For me, as in a real game of tennis, before every serve my Wiimote is centered and ready to go, because you never know which way the serve will come. And it's worked flawlessly for me. The critics are morons, buy this game. The best tennis game I have ever played. Don't like tennis? Then rent it first. I love tennis however, and I love this game. For realz yo. Expand
  10. AlexS.
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    This is by far the most authentic tennis game ever made. Once you get a grip on the controls ( I recommend checking out the EA Forums) the game is perfect. In future I hope EA includes an in-game tutorial so people don't have to watch Youtube video on how to play the game.
  11. JoshF
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    Fantastic tennis game. easily the most realistic one out there, from the controls to the motions of the characters to the courts, everything. anyone complaining about the motionplus clearly doesn't understand how to use it, cuz it works great for me. i'd assume that they get it off center and don't know how to reset it (hold it still for 2 seconds, then it will be back to Fantastic tennis game. easily the most realistic one out there, from the controls to the motions of the characters to the courts, everything. anyone complaining about the motionplus clearly doesn't understand how to use it, cuz it works great for me. i'd assume that they get it off center and don't know how to reset it (hold it still for 2 seconds, then it will be back to the right position). the only reason i gave it a 9 rather than a 10 is because there are some glitches online (i love online play btw, its great), but there is a serve glitch, a double bounce glitch, and serve and volley players have it way too easy (learn how to play the game, seriously). Expand
  12. AndyP
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    Whilst itis not perfect, and lacks some depth in single player, the controls work well once you've got used to them - and that can take time especially as it registers your backswing.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. To sum it up, EA Sport’s Grand Slam Tennis is definitely one of the best sport games that we have played on the console, thanks to Wii MotionPlus.
  2. Grand Slam Tennis is fun, but it’s hard to master for beginners. Wii MotionPlus works very good and gives the game an extra touch.
  3. Grand Slam Tennis is a great tennis simulation. Probably the Wii Motion plus does not shows its real potential, but this product is perfect for tennis lovers, thanks to the big variety of shots, the large number of game modes and a perfect online support.