Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 90
    It may seem as if Arc System Works is whoring out the series for everything it's worth and while that may be true, Accent Core is a much different game to those who have played it before.
  2. Beautiful, action-packed and crazy as hell to boot. [May 2008, p.75]
  3. Gulty Gear XX Accent Core is a great game for the ones who like fighting games: hardcore gamers and fans of the series. It won't disappoint you.
  4. 2D fighters aren't so cool now, so GGXXAC was never going to unite the gaming world like "Street Fighter 2" did back in the early nineties, but it might just unite your frienids. [JPN Import; Nov 2007, p.48]
  5. The staple modes are offered in what is a comprehensive package, including a detailed training option that allows you to polish your fighting skills.
  6. Bottom line: If you have a Wii, but lack a PS2, get this game. But if you happen to have both systems and trying to figure out which version to get, stick with the PS2 version.
  7. As long as you have a Gamecube pad, or ideally, the Classic Controller, Guilty Gear XX Accent Core can go down as an essential purchase if you have at least a passing interest in the 2D fighting genre. It's fast, slick, easy to pick up and difficult to master, with mechanics that rival anything else currently on the market.
  8. This is distressingly similar to past Guilty Gear offerings - hence the 8 instead of a 9 - but it's still a fantastic fighting game with one of the deepest fighting systems ever seen and a cast of unique-but-balanced characters that will have you playing until your thumbs bleed. Good stuff.
  9. Play Guilty Gear XX Accent Core with a GameCube or Classic controller, and you'll be treated to 2-D one-on-one fighting at its finest--beautifully animated, amazingly deep, and with more technique than the average gamer can comprehend. [Dec 2007, p.86]
  10. A meaty and satisfyingly weird addition to teh 2D fighting genre. [June 2008, p.74]
  11. If you're looking for a 2D fighting game that's totally nuts, Guilty Gear XX Accent Core will give you what you want.
  12. An accomplished update but overdue a proper sequel. [May 2008, p.124]
  13. The game doesn’t feel like it was made for the Nintendo Wii as at no point in the game do players require to point the Wii Remote towards the sensor bar.
  14. A fun game that brings back some great memories of 2D fighting and considering that your options are slim to none on 2D fighters, Guilty Gear XX Accent Core may be your best, if not only, pick.
  15. 59
    Accent Core is a great game, if you have the right equipment. If you happen to be the proud owner of a Classic Controller, just consider the Wii version's score to be identical to the PS2 version. Unfortunately, because not everyone has a Classic Controller and it doesn't come with the system, we need to score the game based on the default controls, and that makes this a truly inferior title to its PS2 brethren.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. PaulD.
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    Who in their right mind would give this game a 1? I guess super sweet 2D fighting goodness is not your thing. I know I already said that Who in their right mind would give this game a 1? I guess super sweet 2D fighting goodness is not your thing. I know I already said that Naruto: CON Rev was the best fighting game of '07, then I played this underrated gem. If you love fighting games, you owe it to yourself to get this. Thank you Aksys for making my day, I'll be playing this one for a long time. Full Review »
  2. JeremyJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    2D fighting at it's purest form! The Wiimote controls might be trash, but if you've got a Classic Controller, think nothing of it. 2D fighting at it's purest form! The Wiimote controls might be trash, but if you've got a Classic Controller, think nothing of it. Even better is Hori's Wii arcade stick. The arcade mode is...notably harder than some other GGs, but not unconquerable. All the changes made to characters' movesets work and rock, the new animations are splendid, and the added SFX and BGMs are a blast. An already perfect fighting game just got it's second wind. Full Review »
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    Pros: The music rocks. Controls are tight, characters are fun to use, Arcade mode is very, very hard - and that's just on Normal. You can usePros: The music rocks. Controls are tight, characters are fun to use, Arcade mode is very, very hard - and that's just on Normal. You can use the Classic Controller, or even a Gamecube one.

    Cons: No story mode, almost nothing to do once you beat arcade mode, Arcade mode is VERY, VERY HARD.

    Now I am aware I've put the same thing on both lists; you see, it's a bit of a double-edged sword here. On one hand, you get used to the difficulty and you feel that much better when you beat that **** I-No. On the other hand, if you get through Arcade Mode and you can't beat I-No at ALL (I'm talking about hours fighting the SAME CHARACTER), you're going to get fed up, turn the console off and probably never feel like playing the character you were using for a long, long time. Also, it's possible that this game will ruin other fighters for you, due to the music and the extereme difficulty you end up overcoming. Personally, I love this game. But if you don't want a challenge, or you hate rock music, or even if you dislike anime-styled characters, go play Super Street Fighter 4 again.
    Full Review »