Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 95
    Ivy the Kiwi? is one of the most unexpected, best games to happen on the Wii and DS.
  2. There's no denying that Ivy the Kiwi? is absolutely overflowing with charm and personality.
  3. Looking back over my experience, I can safely say that Yuji Naka delivered once again at creating a simple, fun, and challenging platforming game.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    83
    Like the platformers of yesterday, Ivy the Kiwi? has an engaging personality all its own– and it's Ivy's table where other games should sit.
  5. If you want a game that will make you think quick on your feet, but not over burden you with a convoluted story, then Ivy the Kiwi may be for you.
  6. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    The latest Yuji Naka's creation is a cute action-platform that, for a very reasonably price, delivers a charming (but a little bit short) experience.
  7. Jan 5, 2011
    80
    A captivating, simple and easy gameplay. Unluckily it doesn't take too long to finish the game.
  8. 80
    There's a kind of elegance to this game that you don't really see anymore.
  9. Dec 21, 2010
    78
    Though it's paved with courage and good intentions, the road of experimentation in videogames hides many, too many pitfalls. Ivy the Kiwi? comes as a fresh, delicate and dreamy experience, it's supported by a series of nice artistic choices and furthermore the price is very affordable. The downside, in the Wii version, is represented by the controls, that sometimes may ask you more speed and accuracy of what the Wii-mote is capable of.
  10. 75
    I prefer the DS version because I like playing a few levels at a time when I'm out and about. But if you prefer the appeal of a bigger screen, and more multiplayer options, the Wii version is just as good.
  11. Appealing simplicity builds to an engaging challenge in this charming, accessible platformer.
  12. Its charming exterior belies a pretty hardcore character-action game. [Oct 2010, p.88]
  13. Ivy the Kiwi? is a real winner in the action-puzzle genre, striking the right tone of simplicity while keeping the game's difficulty moving along at a nice pace.
  14. 75
    Ivy the Kiwi is not your normal platform adventure game that it might appear to be. Its unique blend of puzzle and action really set it apart from the normal shovelware found on the Wii.
  15. While the story mode's brevity betrays Ivy's roots as a Windows Phone game, the 50 extra challenge stages and competitive multiplayer modes flesh out the package nicely.
  16. I think that despite the cute visuals and simple, beautiful art style, the difficulty curve of Ivy the Kiwi's later stages are going to put off a lot of gamers.
  17. Ivy The Kiwi? is deceptive. While it looks lighthearted it's really a serious and challenging platform game, but in spite of its difficulty, the simple controls and game mechanics make it very approachable, and while you'll almost certainly die a lot the game is very forgiving.
  18. 75
    It's not heavy on strife, narrative, or story, but there are a considerable number of medals, feathers, and extra levels to collect even after you finish the game. So long as you don't mind guiding a hapless bird to the exit a couple hundred times, Ivy the Kiwi? is a gorgeous tale with a whole lotta heart.
  19. With its unique gameplay and cool art style, Ivy makes a great first impression. The game mechanics get a little tiring as the game goes on, but there's more than enough depth and challenge to warrant the purchase!
  20. Dec 25, 2010
    74
    If fantastic, yet challenging gameplay, nasty spikes, frustrating retires and annoyingly placed enemies float your boat then this is made for you. [Issue#231, p.97]
  21. Jan 12, 2011
    70
    It's a charming little create-a-platformer that will endear itself to you even if – like the real article – it never truly takes flight.
  22. Jan 12, 2011
    70
    Thus, while it may be difficult to call Ivy The Kiwi? an innovative title, particularly because so much of the gameplay harks back to a five-year-old Nintendo DS near-launch title, Ivy's exploits are a breath of fresh air in today's gaming landscape.
  23. Dec 21, 2010
    70
    Ivy the Kiwi's simplicity is both a blessing and a curse.
  24. That's not to say that this game isn't a good choice to play with a friend – we'd actually highly recommend playing the main single player game and just take turns handing the controller back and forth.
  25. Ivy is an enjoyable little game, if one that's a bit too short. An extra mode and collecting each of the ten feathers from the game's numerous stages adds replay value, though the stages themselves can be short.
  26. Ivy the Kiwi? is a curious beast and certainly worth at least a rental, but it certainly isn't for everyone. Like Let's Tap before it, it feels more like an experiment instead of a tightly focused game.
  27. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Like Yoshi Touch & Go, Ivy the Kiwi? is a nice little game you can treat yourself with like a snack. Not much to keep playing it though, since both the gameplay and content are too light for the long run.
  28. A good first step, but not brave enough to venture very far. [Oct 2010, p.57]
  29. 50
    An odd little puzzle platformer that can be fun for short periods, but doesn't offer anything that hasn't been done better before. There are too few surprises along the way, and so you'll quickly feel that you've seen all the game has to offer.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    This is actually a really fun game. I was kinda iffy on getting it but it was cheap where I got it so I chanced it. It got decent reviews andThis is actually a really fun game. I was kinda iffy on getting it but it was cheap where I got it so I chanced it. It got decent reviews and honestly I don't know why they aren't higher if only by a little. I understand, it IS a platformer and it uses the dumbest remote/controller of all time but the graphics are good, the storyline though simple is cute, and the music is pretty upbeat. The levels are challenging it's fun for killing time.

    Would I take it over a Zelda title? Probably not because I'm a Zelda nerd... (unless it's spirit tracks, god awful abomination of the series) but it's still a pretty decent Wii title especially if you have young children around.

    I would however recommend motion plus (not sure if it's required for it but it should be) because the controls are a little finicky and that improves it a bit. It would also be great if Ivy would stop running constantly as that causes more problems in the game although perhaps to add to the challenge of an otherwise simple platformer with a simple story and simple goals to reach as you progress.

    It's a quick play and it's a nice game but it can quickly become frustrating as well which is why I can only give it an 8. If Ivy didn't run constantly and if you didn't have to use the stupid wii-mote (versus making the classic controller available or something) pointing at the stupid screen, it would have gotten at least a 9. There isn't much to complain about anyways and again, it'd be a great choice for a child to play...
    Full Review »