Just Dance Wii

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2009
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 110
  2. Negative: 16 out of 110
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KyleD
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    I am a hard core game and this game is a lot of fun. My girlfriend and I play it and she gets really into the game trying to get everyone to jon in. It has some wonky controls at time, the sensor doesn't seem to pick up all of the different moves even if you do them correctly. It's best played when in the company of others and isn't a bad tool to keep you up and moving. I am a hard core game and this game is a lot of fun. My girlfriend and I play it and she gets really into the game trying to get everyone to jon in. It has some wonky controls at time, the sensor doesn't seem to pick up all of the different moves even if you do them correctly. It's best played when in the company of others and isn't a bad tool to keep you up and moving. Some of the dancers though look like they were taken from an 80s music video, but I just thought that was funny. Overall, good game to play with friends and family. Expand
  2. LuzM
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I love Just Dance!! At first I thought the sensor was imprecise as well, but when you hold the wimote exactly as it tells you and accurately hit the right moves, it detects JUST FINE. Sure I'd like more tracks but I'm sure they had to pay a pretty penny for the popular songs. The figures are hilarious and I don't mind the simple graphics, if I want cool graphics I switch I love Just Dance!! At first I thought the sensor was imprecise as well, but when you hold the wimote exactly as it tells you and accurately hit the right moves, it detects JUST FINE. Sure I'd like more tracks but I'm sure they had to pay a pretty penny for the popular songs. The figures are hilarious and I don't mind the simple graphics, if I want cool graphics I switch over to my PS3. As a dancer, it was easy to get into the rhythm and I got a real workout! You start sweating within minutes of the game. I can't wait for the next version, or an update with additional tracks. Expand
  3. TochTake
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    Great game if you play with friends. Only hardcore gamers with no friends don't like it. Video game change! at last!
  4. Sep 25, 2010
    8
    I play a LOT of games, and there is no denying that in technical terms (graphics, responsiveness, variety) this is pretty poor. On the other hand, it achieves exactly what the Wii is supposed to achieve: getting people off the sofa and engaging with their friends and families through games. Today I had 3 neighbours and 4 kids all dancing and hooting with laughter for about an hour. Priceless.
  5. EllenH
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    I'm a baby boomer who has finally found a fun way to exercise, even if the songs were the ones my kids listened to. It's great. Thank you.
  6. RickL
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    Great game to play with friends and family! It is hilarious to watch people attempt to stay in the beat with the on screen characters. If you tuck away your shyness and are open minded you will have a blast playing this game!
  7. TheM
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    I am a hardcore action adventure type player, but get the right mix of family and friends and this game is great fun. Had a blast!!
  8. RalphB
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    I bet you this wouldnt get posted coz metacritic is biased on what to post. All I have to say is this game is awesome and enjoyable, a 10 out of 10! of course people from IGN or any reviewer wont enjoy something hip and cool like this, they are nerds and old people..
  9. DWheeler
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    I'm just going to have to stand up and defend this game. In the uk its only £17.99 (best price) so its perfect for that - only going to play a few times but great to get out when friends are around genre. Its funny, the tracks are great (with 1 or 2 exceptions Baha what where you thinking) and everyone wants to get involved. Dump off you shyness and give it a go the more effort I'm just going to have to stand up and defend this game. In the uk its only £17.99 (best price) so its perfect for that - only going to play a few times but great to get out when friends are around genre. Its funny, the tracks are great (with 1 or 2 exceptions Baha what where you thinking) and everyone wants to get involved. Dump off you shyness and give it a go the more effort you put in the better!! My only real critisims are that there is no unlockable features and the scoring could be sharper but at this price point who can complain!! Expand
  10. LianneM
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    The "professional" reviewers of this game are too jaded and are not taking this game for what it is-- it's not for your hardcore competitive shoot-em-up gamer... it's for people who just want to shake it and have a good time, and it does that extremely well! I took this to a party and initially no one wanted to try it-- too uptight, I guess. Well, after my 15 year old daughter The "professional" reviewers of this game are too jaded and are not taking this game for what it is-- it's not for your hardcore competitive shoot-em-up gamer... it's for people who just want to shake it and have a good time, and it does that extremely well! I took this to a party and initially no one wanted to try it-- too uptight, I guess. Well, after my 15 year old daughter and I (overweight and over 40) did "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" everyone else at the party was dying to get in on the fun! They played for over 4 hours, and one guest even plans to buy a Wii and this game because she enjoyed it so much. A bonus is the amazing workout you can get if you really do try to do the dances-- I *hate* to exercise but love this, and it's something my daughter and I have fun doing together. It loses a point with me only for not having more songs, and unlockable songs (say, after you complete a certain number of other songs) would be great. We are really, really hoping that there will be as many versions of this as there have been of Guitar Hero! Ignore what the professional critics say about this and listen to what the actual every day users say-- it's amazing fun! Expand
  11. fredYu
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    I love this game, as well as my wife. we are not gamers, I don't like Mario games, I can't play Rock Band, and I hate COD. but we, non-gamers also have right to play games! and we are usually the people who can decide which game a family can buy. I think from my point, core-gamers can understand why this game gets so low score in almost all the gamer web sites, but still beat I love this game, as well as my wife. we are not gamers, I don't like Mario games, I can't play Rock Band, and I hate COD. but we, non-gamers also have right to play games! and we are usually the people who can decide which game a family can buy. I think from my point, core-gamers can understand why this game gets so low score in almost all the gamer web sites, but still beat COD off the top. I gave this game a score 9, and, for sure, I bought it! Expand
  12. DanielT
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Got it figured out! Just Dance doesn't track physical location. It tracks momentum. The Wiimote's accelerometers are what's being used, almost exclusively. Subtle movements, slow movements, swift movements. This is how the scoring system works, and it's quite subtle. By slowing my movements in half, my scores have immediately doubled. What's more, I've Got it figured out! Just Dance doesn't track physical location. It tracks momentum. The Wiimote's accelerometers are what's being used, almost exclusively. Subtle movements, slow movements, swift movements. This is how the scoring system works, and it's quite subtle. By slowing my movements in half, my scores have immediately doubled. What's more, I've discovered a nasty little secret about this game: you don't need to follow the dancers at all. Not one bit. As long as you keep the proper tempo, and move your Wiimote at the key moments, you can perform any dance moves you wish. You can even sit on the couch and do nothing but turn your wrist. That's what I've done just now, in fact. This has definitely proven one thing: the "hardcore" game critics who bashed this game so mercilessly have no clue what they are talking about. I doubt any of them even bothered to play more than one or two songs. If I could crack this nut on the first night, then they should have, too. They're not even trying. Frankly, if this is what passes as video game journalism in 2009, then we need to sweep out the whole damned lot. This also raises the possibility of real improvisation in Just Dance. The Wiimote is only paying attention to the acceleration. That means you have far more freedom than Ubisoft has let on. I suspected all along that this game offered more freedom than the Dance Dance Revolution school of rhythm games. I think we're going to discover just how much freedom we've got. Just Dance is the spiritual cousin to Wii Music. They're poinitng the way to the post-DDR, post-Guitar Hero world. And that revolution can't come soon enough. This is easily one of the year's best video games. Expand
  13. SallyW.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    Finally, a game that does not include stomping on a mat to "dance". I have been waiting for something like this to come along for a long time. THANK YOU UBISOFT! It is an absolute blast, I like the simplicity of the graphics, its easy to follow, and if you actually do all of the dance movements it is a very fun way to exercise! I could care less at what score it gives me, or who wins, it Finally, a game that does not include stomping on a mat to "dance". I have been waiting for something like this to come along for a long time. THANK YOU UBISOFT! It is an absolute blast, I like the simplicity of the graphics, its easy to follow, and if you actually do all of the dance movements it is a very fun way to exercise! I could care less at what score it gives me, or who wins, it is just plain fun to play. The only downfall is that I wish there were more songs to unlock--hopefully there will be Just Dance 2, 3, 4...... Expand
  14. GraceB
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    Hilarious and very entertaining. Worth getting, great idea for a party! You have loads of fun and gets you up and moving unlike just sitting pressing a button or two like most games. Yeah the graphics arent great but its not one of those games where graphics really matter that much. The only negative thing is that it dont count your feet movement or your left hand but apart from that its Hilarious and very entertaining. Worth getting, great idea for a party! You have loads of fun and gets you up and moving unlike just sitting pressing a button or two like most games. Yeah the graphics arent great but its not one of those games where graphics really matter that much. The only negative thing is that it dont count your feet movement or your left hand but apart from that its TOTALLY AWESOME! Collapse
  15. OliverG
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    What do you get when you take away the extraneous, convoluted gameplay and interface in most dance games and leave just the music, dancing and point scoring? A darned good game that gets right to the point and lets us simply enjoy ourselves. The Just Dance team obviously spent all of their time and resources on the most important aspects of Dance games to create a satisfying overall What do you get when you take away the extraneous, convoluted gameplay and interface in most dance games and leave just the music, dancing and point scoring? A darned good game that gets right to the point and lets us simply enjoy ourselves. The Just Dance team obviously spent all of their time and resources on the most important aspects of Dance games to create a satisfying overall experience. All good stuff all the time, no time wasted on stupid stuff you didn Expand
  16. RobertS
    Dec 27, 2009
    8
    This game is FANTASTICS let me break it down for you. 1. The track list will appeal to almost everybody 2. You actually dance. (for all you people who wish to learn this is the game) 3. Forget all the other exercise games out there. This is pure cardio and calisthenics and its so much fun. In fact if your living with your partner and you don't buy this game your really missing out. This game is FANTASTICS let me break it down for you. 1. The track list will appeal to almost everybody 2. You actually dance. (for all you people who wish to learn this is the game) 3. Forget all the other exercise games out there. This is pure cardio and calisthenics and its so much fun. In fact if your living with your partner and you don't buy this game your really missing out. 4. ITS ONLY 40 BUCKS which is pretty sweet Now that is not to say the game is perfect there could be alittle more defintion of the dancers features maybe a more of an interactive tutorial. Plus if they don't release more tracks the game will eventually get too repetitive, Expand
  17. MarcusW
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    Why is it that the average score for the pro reviews here are so much lower than the user reviews? I have a theory on that. The kind of people that buy this game (like myself) enjoy this sort of game. Do the pro reviewers have people on staff that enjoy dancing games? Apparently not, because the experience we users are getting out of this is far superior to the experience conveyed by the Why is it that the average score for the pro reviews here are so much lower than the user reviews? I have a theory on that. The kind of people that buy this game (like myself) enjoy this sort of game. Do the pro reviewers have people on staff that enjoy dancing games? Apparently not, because the experience we users are getting out of this is far superior to the experience conveyed by the pro reviewers. Just read the user reviews to see that this game is far better than it Expand
  18. BonnieM
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    When you want to get down and dance this game is a great choice to do it with. Straight to the point and good fun for family and friends to share. Some of the dances aren
  19. MikeC
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Screw professional reviews. My wife and I have played DDR, Dancing with the Stars, We Cheer, that other Wii game with the microphone - all terrible. This game is great because it is fun. End of story. All you pro reviewers are wrong. Great job Ubisort. Cut a sequel soon!
  20. DelilahK
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Honestly, why didn
  21. GeorgieD
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    This game makes me feel free. That
  22. SendhilG
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    Thank goodness for games like this in a world full of shooters, action and puzzle games, all of which are great but it
  23. TaliaS
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    Shake your groove thing and shake it hard! This game is better than the reviews give it credit for. User reviews are very good, why are the
  24. DanielO
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    Most possibly the best party-game for the Wii in 2009. Requiring contestants to simply get up and start moving, it just beats other popular titles such as Sing Star, Guitar Hero and Rock Band. Great tracks, easy to get started, and fantastic party fun!
  25. IngridS
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Dancing the night away is easy and fun when you do it at home with Just Dance. No traffic, no parking issues, no crowded noisy smoke filled clubs and no jerks trying to pick you up. Just you and your friends and a terrific game with loads of good music. I guess that without all of the bothersome things that come with clubbing, this game lives up to it
  26. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    The official reviewers dont understand what this game is all about. You start up the game and you just dance. There's no modern unlocking of things, there are no controls other than holding the wiimote. You just have fun and dance. Very well done for non-gamers and people who just want to dance and not be bothered with anything else. Lots of fun when family gathers around.
  27. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    Just dance is pretty awesome ! You have have a wide range of songs they you know nearlly all of them. It picks your moves up so accuratley. If you like to loose weight I could tell you it made me loose weight more than the 'Wii fit' because when I came off it and went on the wii fit I lost my weight to my target.
  28. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    Multiplayer this game and you'll have laughs, laughs and guess what? MORE LAUGHS!
    The game makes you DANCE, not just step here or there, dance!

    The only bad thing in this game is the ausense of level choise and the fact that the game comes with all song unblock! There's no purpose playing singleplayer to unlock things or "fight" with another dancer :(

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 9 out of 21
  1. Nintendo Gamer
    69
    Technically flawed but undeniably fun with the right company (and probably several crates of beer). [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Granted, at the $40 price tag you'd probably be better off investing more money and grabbing DDR, Rock Band, or Guitar Hero for an experience that is going to last longer, and is ultimately more satisfying.
  3. Just Dance is the sort of game that you should know if you’re going to hate it or not just from taking a moment to examine the box. If the thought of recreating Katy Perry and Kylie Minogue videos in your living room makes you want to bash your head into a wall, then you probably don’t need me to tell you that this game will drive you to act on that desire.