Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Madden NFL 09 All-Play features fun, approachable and innovative gameplay by unleashing the power of the Wii Remote through the all-new EA SPORTS Call Your Shots feature. Call Your Shots allows the player to create his or her own plays on the fly and direct receivers where they should run. Gamers of all skill levels can also enjoy an all-new fast paced 5-on-5 mode which has a reduced field length and big head NFL players. Experienced Madden players or rookies to the game can utilize the all-new play calling system. No matter the skill level, players can be competitive with three playbooks to choose from, ranging from Easy to Advanced. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. So while EA may not have lived up to its marketing directive, it's succeeded in creating quite possibly the best, most fully featured sports sim available on the Wii. [Sept 2008, p.85]
  2. The best Madden yet. [Nov 2008, p.102]
  3. Madden NFL 09 All Play improves greatly on last years Wii effort, there is a bit of retreading on old ground, especially in the Party Play area but in all it makes for a great family game, keeping a sensible balance for beginners and experienced players.
  4. 80
    Madden NFL 09 is a big improvement over last year's version, if only because it's more playable. The new features aren't earth shattering, and it's hard to fathom why the five-on-five mode wasn't juiced up to provide an even more arcade-like experience.
  5. It’s an undeniably fun experience that will please many in its target audience, and even includes roster updates and online play. Not to mention we’re really starting to like a little waggle with our football.
  6. Discovering which control system works for each player can be a little difficult at first, mainly due to a lack of information on choosing the advanced controls over the easier All-Play methods, but there are choices and people of all skill levels will enjoy playing a game of football on the Wii.
  7. Simple controls and a number of newcomer-friendly features make Madden 09 on the Wii a good game for beginners, but there's very little new here for series veterans.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. OhshiA.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    A solid football game for the Wii, the dumbed-down controls make it easier to play than the next-gen versions.
  2. EdwardB.
    Aug 29, 2008
    9
    This is the best football game out there the all play contorls are good and the best mode in the game is the 5on5 monde but i don't know y they have more to do with the nigechuck and not the wii remot olwy you know Expand
  3. JohnT.
    Aug 13, 2008
    9
    Finally, EA has done it right. It isn't the BEST football game in the world, but it is SUPER fun, and plays like a breeze! If you are wery of this game because of the lackluster showing that was NCAA--don't be. Night and day, really. Which makes me sad because I prefer college to pro--but if you are any kind of football fan and have a Wii, you need to pick this up. Expand
  4. DarrenZ.
    Sep 2, 2008
    9
    Short and sweet, this is one great playing game. The Wii controls are executed very well and make you wonder why you ever thought it was fun to just push buttons. Flick the remote up to snap, swing it forward to pass, shake it to blow past a defender: it all adds up to a wonderfully immersive experience that'll have you jumping to your feet during big plays. And don't worry, the gamplay isn't watered down. You still have all the strategic play calling depth you expect from a football sim. Then there's Call Your Shots which is an amazing feature that lets you reroute any receiver on a passing play and will have you shredding the defense in no time. There are a few niggling criticisms, like the lack of precipitation when it's raining or snowing (the only affect weather has is to slightly alter the color of the field) and the fact that Franchise and Superstar modes are identical to last year, but the game is otherwise solid with a noticeable absence of bugs and glitches. If you haven't bought Madden in a few years, or like me you've never owned it before, then 09 is easy to recommend. It's nice to see EA actually deliver on the Wii for a change. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    5
    Let's define who plays what. Football addicted play Madden. They don't care if it is on WII, PS3 or else. They want something close to reality. Now, imagine you played a whole season with your team, and after having achieved a 5-11 record, you look forward to the draft, and enter the combine to watch some of the prospects in action. To see how good they are, you must play some minigames, like passing the ball with a QB, returning a ball with a RB/WR, or else. Some of these minigames (great idea) are completely messed up by the WiiMote use! You'll never be able to pick the right reciver, the right cornerback, the right guard. It is just not possible to come up with good results. And that obviously translates also in the career mode, when you play a single man. If it is a DB, you'll never get the hang of that, you'll always be thinking how to swat a ball!
    Another dreadful defect: presentation. It is not possible to have Miis as umpires, it kills any kind of atmosphere, and it is also a shame to have such small fonts in the screens, especially in Dinasty mode.
    Even if it uses motion controls, this version is for these reasons way behind the others for HD consoles. The graphics is good, sounds too, and some aspects of the game are too (Runs, passes), but will NFL maniacs close an eye on too many flaws?
    Expand
  6. BrianK
    Dec 21, 2008
    4
    The all-play version of Madden is probably more fun for casual gamers who are new to the series. However, as someone who is quite familiar with Madden, I was very dissapointed. The controls have completely changed from the previous versions. Before, for example, you could stiff arm by extending your arm. Now, you have to hold Z at the same time. It's that kind of needless difficulty that bothered me. Another problem was the graphics. The players look great, but the field and animations are worse than previous Wii games in the series. Furthermore, there are little things that bothered me, like seeing my quarterback lined up too far to the side of the center or accidentally calling a timeout (minus button) when all I wanted to do was get out of call-your-shot mode. Also, there were a few times when my player threw the ball without me actually making the corresponding movement with my arm. My last complaint would be the ridiculous dancing with the remote and numchuck that is required after a TD or INT. Now for the good features. The new 5 on 5 mode is a fun. Party mode games can be done alone (but it's better with friends) and it can be addictive. The most important thing is that some all-play settings can be turned off. Call-your-shot mode is good for those times when you just can't find the exact play you want in the playbook. Conclusion: All-play has basically none of the improvements that were made for Madden 09 on the other systems. Unfortunately, these were the improvements that seemed most appealing to me. Graphics and controls are worse than in previous years. Incorporation of Miis as refs is kinda cute, but doesn't help or hurt the game. I'd say that if you have some experience with video games or are familiar with the Madden franchise that this game isn't for you. However, if you've never played Madden more than once or twice and/or want something simple, this game is probably a good way to introduce yourself to the Madden franchise. Collapse
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 12, 2008
    0
    The game would be good if not for the dumbed down controls. There are times when you are trying to throw to a receiver and the game confuses that receiver with another one in the near by vacinity. How in the world can a quarterback accidently throw to the wrong receiver just because he got confused about who he was throwing to?? EA needs a patch or I'm done with them. I have no idea why All Play is getting so many rave reviews considering the lack of intelligent play. It doesn't make sense. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers