• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2009
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 150

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    Just to start you off, this game is NOT for children, this isn't the MOST inappropriate game ever, but it is pretty high up. Now to get to the review, i definitely liked the game, i wouldn't say it was the best game ever, but it was pretty good. One of my favorite things about the game was the black and white aspect of it, in fact, this game is different from almost all other games. The game play was fun, especially the absolutely horrid things you could do to people, like throw several sign posts into someone's head then slam a tire over their head, then you could do something like throw them onto a wall covered in spikes, or thrust their almost dead bodies into a running jet engine. overall i liked this game and hope that they make a sequel with maybe a few more innovations. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    one of the greatest video games ever made. Fantastic plot, fantastic amount of violence and gore, fantastic comedy and graphics, and some of the greatest gameplay and weapons in one game and one of Sega's greatest games
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    i admit it, this game has no real depth, however, i must say i enjoyed this game from beggining to end, i got never bored as the game progression always shows new deaths bosses and mini games cleverly.....what did you expect from this, a zelda game? this is a beat emup guys its simple and violent and i love it that way. Technically speaking is one of the best wii games in every aspect. Its also very original. This is the kind of game you will never see in other consoles. come on its just 7,50 bucks buy it Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    The games Mad World and Sonic Colors are the best game in the console so far, don't give Mario and Zelda **** WANT MAD WORLD DICK HEADS!
    The music is really good, the combat mode is just EPIC, the story is good.
    If you want to play a good game a the worst console of the 7th generation play this game!
  5. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    And Ps3 and 360 fanboys say "the Wii has no violent games." This game right here DESTORYS all arguments out of the water.
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Gritty, fun, awesome, killer good, and bloody amazing! Madworld brings the Wii to a level of violence that it needed and delivers perfectly! Done in such a crisp comic book style of art with the combination of great 3D graphics, this game will be driving you to the end with excitement, blood, laughs, and killer good ways to...well KILL! Madworld is something special for Wii owners, and considering it isn't ported to this day, it should be treasured and remembered! If you have a Wii, or need a reason to own one, this one of the best reasons to have it! Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    This is the most violently over-the-top game I have played yet. If you think Grand Theft Auto and Gears of War is known for its high level of violence, this game just completely makes them look like its child's play. Though the camera is very annoying, it makes up for its intuitive Wii controls, hilarious characters and utter glorious gore. Buy it!
  8. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    Excellent stylised graphics, fun gameplay and packed with adult humour. Nice job Platinum a very entertaining game. This is why i play videogames, a joy to play.
  9. Aug 11, 2012
    9
    This game is so unique the art in the game is just beautiful especially for a wii title the combat is fun and challenging and one of the bloodest games if ever played this game probably has more ways to kill people then any other game ever made the storyline is actually interesting but its not great because most of the time you spend just getting to know and like the character the only problems with this game is the camera system and little things like not being able to punch and move at the same time but other then that this is one of the best games on the wii Expand
  10. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Madworld is an insane beat 'em up made by one of the best developers around, Platinum Games. Graphically, the game takes on a black and white comic book style, and it just looks awesome. The only other color you see other than black and white is red, lots and lots of red.

    The mechanics of Madworld are those of any typical beat 'em up. However, the game is structured such that you can
    use your environment to your advantage by beating people with spare tires, sign posts, or by pegging them into giant spiked walls. There are a lot of ways to interact with your environment, which keeps the game fresh.

    The game is full of amazing boss battles against unique and downright weird enemies. Nothing is more fun than defeating a boss, only them to finish them off with your chainsaw arm. By the way, you have a chainsaw arm in this game. Need I say more?

    One of the coolest aspects of this game is the soundtrack, which is entirely made up of intense rap and hip-hop music. I don't even like rap, but I still loved the soundtrack.

    The only thing I disliked about the game were the motion control quick time events. The reason I disliked them is because they just didn't work. It'd say swing left, and I'd swing left, but it wouldn't work. That was especially annoying during boss battles where these quick times events are crucial.

    You should do yourself a favor and pick this game up. I got a copy for literally $5, so there's no reason to miss out on this. Games like Madworld and No More Heroes show that the Wii isn't just a console for 5 year old children and that there are badass games on Nintendo's platform.
    Expand
  11. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best Wii games out. I loved it; the graphics work very well, and the soundtrack is awesome. If you own a Wii buy this game. End of story...
  12. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    This is a must own game for anyone with a wii that can stomach it. The music is superb. The commentators are actually laugh out loud funny! The boss battles are also a blast...quite literally. Just when you think it is overkill the game does something crazy to take it up a knotch. The weapons and everything about the game is great. Even the graphics on this game are wonderful. The black and white environments are not at all bland or boring to look at. I only have 2 major gripes with this game. 1. Multiplayer is TERRIBLE! They dumbed down the actual attack moves you can use and made it so you have to compete for points in a stupid get more points than your partner mode. I invited a friend over because I was loving the singleplayer and wanted to try the multiplayer. I had to stop after about 15 minutes....and literally apologize for making my friend play it. I then proceeded to show him singleplayer and why I thought multiplayer was going to be badass and he got it. This is a single player game period. I mean all they had to do to make it multiplayer was add split screen co-op to the single player.....either that or not dumb down the game controls. One thing they did right though was the commentators gave special 2 player dialogue in multiplayer. Very funny, very appropriate! Second gripe: the game itself isn't that long. Yes you can replay it with unlocked super weapons and its still fun....but it loses its charm after a certain amount of playthrough. It still is a must play experience. There are so many cool ways to kill enemies and score points. I will seriously get flagged if I illustrate the cool combo's you can do. They just use the environments so well in the game, to create such a satisfying experience. For example you can use 3+ different environmental objects/events on a single enemy for some truly gut wrenching displays. Expand
  13. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Very easy to love, though while technically flawed it features some astonishing and unique visuals. It's not as fluid and perfect as its grpahics, but that wuld make one of the best games of all time. Madworld isn't one of the best agme ever though, but is a very good Wii game, and anyone finding a need for brutal violence hould buy this, it's a funny, fun and ultra gory piece of flawed genius.
  14. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    MadWorld is a fun game that brings a level of uniqueness to a Wii system that is littered with "kiddy" games. The gameplay is your typical brawler game, but offers up some unique and cinematic sequences that involve the Wii's motion controls to mix things up. The music is great and goes well with the theme. The game can get repetitious a little after playing it for a while, but it is still fun. The graphics are perfect compromise for the Wii with its hardware limitations. It has a stylized "Sin City" look that is totally original. The camera can be a pain sometimes, but you get used to it and isn't too big of a deal. Expand
  15. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    MadWorld is exactly as advertised. It's mindless, gory, stylish, and most importantly, it's fun. MadWorld is not a perfect game, and it won't fill the desire for deeper gaming experiences on the Wii, but it does accomplish two key things - 1) It's reminiscent of the mature-cuz-we-can SEGA games of Genesis past, and 2) It offers unique and well-implemented motion controls. Too bad it also caters to an audience that isn't really interested in owning a Wii, meaning hardcore and mature gamers that mostly populate the true next-gen consoles PS3 and XBox360. Expand
  16. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    a great exclusive of nintendo wii
    it has a lot of violence
    with a lot of action
    ps3 and xbox fanboys said that wii is for kids?
    i dont think so
    this good is awesome,people should buy it
  17. Oct 21, 2010
    7
    fun to kill people for a while then it gets repetitive very fast, the commentating is the same every level.. it goes like this, he talks like a dumba rse then he gets thrown to death by this chick
  18. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    In Madworld, the best choices led to the worst flaws! For example, the black and white used is amazing, and renders an atmosphere which is both compelling and very rare on WII, but sometimes it gives headaches to the player who does not know where to go to find the just spawned powerups. Given the way Madworld is thought and realised, it all comes down to level design, and in this case it's not the best. The more articulated the levels are (Chinatown for example) and more entertaining the game gets; you will never replay the wider areas, the big places, because after a while thrashing bodies to raise points is not fun anymore. Fortunately, the bloodbath challenges are genius, and sometimes the bosses are, too. This game does not lack creativity or fresh ideas, especially on WII, but it fails in creating a fully compelling experience with the amazing ingredients it has. It's a pity, because style and the basic gameplay cycle are unique! Expand
  19. Jun 23, 2012
    7
    The gore does not get boring easily. There is not a dull moment within the game and the graphical style is unlike anything you'll ever see. Probably one of the most violent wii games ever.
  20. May 31, 2013
    7
    A goretastic exclusive title for the wii. Fun gameplay and satisfying executions, however the black and white graphics are frustrating especially when you're trying to see what the you're doing and it is a bit short, but I'm just glad this game exists.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. 90
    I realize that not everybody will find MadWorld's unique visual and aural presentation appealing, but to me, the game is an instant collector's item and a Wii showpiece, not just for its amazing style, but for its label-busting content.
  2. Although the game is unquestionably brutal, the violence is so over-the-top that it's more humorous than gruesome...For any hardcore gamer, this one is not to be missed. [Apr 2009, p.82]
  3. Brutality, tons of blood and the most violent show ever seen to come exclusively to Wii. Former Clover members prove their talent with this beat'em up portrayed with this comic-book look drawn with black, white and red colors. Modern art with a great sense of humor mixed with a macabre tone, MadWorld can only be blamed for its 6 hours campaign and the little depth it offers as a brawler, compared to the biggest games in the genre.