• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games contains over 50 original Olympic themed events playable in both single and multiplayer modes. Bringing a whole new dimension to the Mario & Sonic universe, the glasses-free 3D visuals and the unique control systems mean there are plenty of new and exciting ways to compete for a coveted gold medal! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    86
    The new Mario & Sonic game offers some new mini games. You will enjoy the game probably at your new years eve parties with your friends.
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    80
    This new Mario & Sonic olympic game isn't going to surprise anyone for its new features, but the game has improved and offers improved gameplay for everyone. Although we miss an Olympic mode like in the previous game, the new London For Everyone is a great addition and provides hours of fun.
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    75
    It's also a fun game for adults to play in a party situation, and is likely to provide some level of entertainment to people of all ages - just keep in mind the high waggle factor and the convoluted controls; this will definitely lead to frustration for some.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    65
    Mario & Sonic at the London Olympics 2012 is the game that we expected: pros and cons balance each other giving players an interesting arcade game for Christmans.
  5. Dec 2, 2011
    60
    Thanks to the strange combination of one diverting new mode with a slew of rehashed sporting events, Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games disappoints as much as it entertains.
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    60
    This is a game targeting the younger ones. Easy to play, those new olympic trials include football, cycling, badminton, beach volley, kayaking, and horse riding. Globally, they are well implemented, and there's the "dream challenges", which offer a new take on some classic sports through action, racing and platforming levels to boost the content. It's perfect for a birthday with chocolate cake, fun and accessible, but that's if you haven't reached puberty yet.
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    35
    Bad games happen all the time, and so do brand-extending cash-grabs. But when a game is this blatant in how it wants to take consumers' money-by mashing up long-standing franchises with mostly solid reputations-it's cause for disgust.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite entry in the m&s seris and by far the best in the franchise and not only is it one of my favourite mario games it's on of my favourite sonic games too Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    The Game is very well when you play with your friends in the mode LONDON PARTY. The events are so fun and the graphics are no the best, but it´s acceptable. This game continue the other games of Mario and Sonic in a correct way Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    In the latest installment of the Mario and Sonic series we see the two mascots head off at the summer Olympics once again but unlike the original this game has much more to offer. The graphics in the game are very well done and the music for the regular Olympic events (if listened closely) gives you a Sonic Adventure 1 and 2 feel. The Dream Events are where everything gets much more interesting, in the Dream Events you explore areas from both the Mario and Sonic series exploring areas from your favorite games such as Super Mario Galaxy 2 and Sonic Adventure 2. The game also provide remixes of themes that you know and love and many of these remixed themes can be unlocked through the game which gives you some nice replay value. Also the game introduces London Party Mode and in this mode you participate in quite a few mini-games in a fashion similar to the Mario Party games and you can also fight rivals who are from both series such as Jet the Hawk and Birdo. This game has plenty to offer and it includes tons of unlockables like Mii Costumes specifically made for this game, i would recommend this game to anyone who has a Wii cause trust me you will enjoy this and i would recommend picking up the 3DS version when its released as well because that version will be even more fun then the Wii version with its inclusion of new events and a story mode! Collapse
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    I got two games this month and this was one of them. It's pretty fun! My cousins have been over and we have been playing the other game I got more so I'm kind of scoring this game against the other. But we did play Mario & Sonic enough to have a good time. If you like playing with other people I think this one is good to have. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2012
    6
    The game is okay but not great ... excellent graphics, but the game certainly offers a bit of Sonic characters, and I, Sonic, I think there are too many stories and characters useless. Otherwise average game because there is no story mode! (Finally, a short story mode, and again ...) Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    This series keeps adding new stuff to make it better and usually I like that but for this game it just seems to be too much like the first game just with some new stuff. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2012
    3
    This game is by far the worst game in the "Mario & Sonic" series so far. I own all version of the games including the DS versions of the first 2 and the 3DS counterpart of this. The fiddly controls make the games boring and repetitive, yet alone hard to play. For example, in the 100M event, there is no longer any inclusion of the Nunchuck. This is a bizarre decision considering how these events where so easy to play in the Beijing version, where you had the option of playing with or without the extra controller. Also, having no circuit mode or any fun Single Player mode means the game is lacking in content. It seems like Sega have rushed this game to get it out as early as possible, amid the British Olympic fever, in an attempt to receive as much money as possible from a dwindling series. If the game was the original with some extra events and the London theme printed on, this would have got a score of 8. Unfortunately, the game could have 5 events on it and it would still sell like hotcakes due to the inclusion of Mario & Sonic. Buy the Beijing version, or even better, the official game if you have access to an Xbox or PlayStation. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews