Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 Wii

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 20, 2016
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is important to me like the first game but it is important to me for the opposite reason. It taught me to not get caught up in the hype. I had dreams about this game as I was plagued with excitement about the gameplay from the first game combined with the Civil War era. I was also interested in the idea of power fusion which sounded like a good idea on paper. Unfortunately those work against the game instead of helping it. The combat is monotonous but unlike the previous game it is unsatisfying. It felt floaty and it lacked the weight of the first game. The enemies drop like flies in this game as they can only take a few hits and then they are down for the count. The enemies in the previous game were not the toughest and they where not the brightest bulbs but they at least attempted to outflank you and they did provide some form of challenge. The A.I is inept not just with the enemies but also with your companions as they just sit back and you do all of the work. The bosses just stand there as they take abuse from your attacks and no strategy whatsoever is involved. The giant boss battles are beaten just b pushing a few levers and some buttons just to beat them than a cut scenes plays and than the battle is over. The ability to fuse powers were not as glamorous as the advertisements made it out to be as they all feel the same. Characters can combine in to a tornado, beam struggles, or shield deflecting. All of the fusions feel the same and they are not fun to pull off either. The creme de la creme of the bad design comes with the hacking mini-game. It revolves around you moving the green or red cube through the virtual world via Wii remote to get from point A to point B. This is gimmicky at best and infuriating at worst. The biggest disappointment for me was the Civil War or lack thereof. The game was marketed as being part of the Marvel Civil War but it only takes up about one fifth of the narrative. Most of the focus is on battling nanite powered super villains in stead of the war itself. The final boss battle was very definition of tacted on and there are no real consequences for what side you choose. Both sides give you the same outcome so there was no choice of having branching paths. Do yourselves a favor and skip this game it will save the disappointment. Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    It isn't awful, I'm sure the PS3 and X360 versions are great, but the game is too short and it doesn't feel like developers tried as hard with MUA2 as they did with MUA
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    5
    While I did enjoy this game overall, it is not as good as the 1st Marvel Ultimate Alliance. It felt too short and the characters in the game are not much different from the original.
  4. VictoriaB
    Jan 17, 2010
    7
    Not bad story love it more than the first one but they need to allow you to use the classic controller or the game cube controller too hard to work with the remote and numchuk
  5. JohnF
    Dec 21, 2009
    2
    So many issues. I'm not even sure where to start. The bottom line is these issues practically make the game unplayable. Even if you can get beyond these playability issues, you won't have any fun. So odd that the first game (which was one of the early Wii games too!) is superior in every single way. No exaggeration. Honestly.
  6. BrunoBruno
    Oct 5, 2009
    1
    Not even one cool cutscene, poor characters, poor control on wii, worst mini game ever, the first game was awesome.
  7. KeithT
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    I got to comment because my 5-year-old and myself love it! 1,000 times better than the first one.
  8. TomD
    Sep 21, 2009
    0
    I enjoyed the first Wii version of this game and was looking forward to the improvements in this one. Boy was I shocked to see such a huge step backward. The graphics engine looks worse than before and the gameplay is tiresome and without any sense of fun. What's with those ridiculous mini-games?!!! It's like the developers hated making this game and wanted to take out their I enjoyed the first Wii version of this game and was looking forward to the improvements in this one. Boy was I shocked to see such a huge step backward. The graphics engine looks worse than before and the gameplay is tiresome and without any sense of fun. What's with those ridiculous mini-games?!!! It's like the developers hated making this game and wanted to take out their misery on us gamers. I can't believe I paid for this sad excuse for a "game". Expand
  9. TaeTaeRichards
    Sep 20, 2009
    6
    The Good: It is fun to team up your favorite superhero and pull off some really cool moves.
    The Bad: the lack of dialog choices, removal of many RPG elements, poor and frustrating 'unlock' character missions, and the confusing camera angles to go along with an equally confusing patchwork of a story.
    Recommend: Wait until Bethesda or Raven creates a true MARVEL RPG.
  10. oz
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    This is marvel allaince 2 it sticks to the core of x men legends. This game is meant for hardcore gamers of the marvel unversive. In essence it does the secret war and civil war justice. The graphics and xontrols may not be all that great but its stll one great game overall
  11. MarceloN
    Sep 18, 2009
    0
    It's a ridiculous game like the DiRT 2. Ugly and creepy. Stay away for this.
  12. Aug 5, 2013
    0
    It isn't awful, I'm sure the PS3 and X360 versions are great, but the game is too short and it doesn't feel like developers tried as hard with MUA2 as they did with MUA

Awards & Rankings

#25 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#41 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. 58
    There's no spark to Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 on the Wii. The same cutscenes are used from the 360/PS3 version so you're getting the story of Secret and Civil War, but other than that you're left with a ho-hum game that packs some dumb AI, frustrating bits, and odd hold ups.
  2. It's inelegant and underdeveloped, and it represents a major step backward when compared to the original. Halfhearted dialogue, bad AI, unimaginative level design, stripped RPG elements, and all sorts of other factors make the game feel as if it were pieced together on an assembly line and quickly tossed onto store shelves.
  3. The game offers very few moments of entertainment and for the most part you are simply going through the motions, and on the Wii those motions are painful and repetitive.