MySims Wii

  • Publisher: EA Games
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2007
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
Buy On
  1. AceGamez
    80
    The controls highlight just how diverse and easy to play the Wii can be when it comes to gaming and the little tykes will love decorating their houses with furniture they've crafted with relative ease.
  2. It’s not exactly The Sims, being toned down to appeal to a much younger audience. In fact, it’s hard to believe anybody except females under the age of 14 will find the MySims’ pastel-colored universe and sugarcoated characters a charming gaming adventure.
  3. Much like the ocean, MySims is unfathomably deep in some areas, yet relatively shallow in others.
  4. At once accessible and complex, kid-friendly and adult-pleasing, and full of personality, MySims is an excellent and original idea that's well-suited to the console, even if it won't be an essential purchase for everybody.
  5. While somewhat shallow, My Sims will spark your imagination and awaken the inventor in you with its ingenious art-driven gameplay. [Oct 2007, p.121]
  6. Games Master UK
    90
    It's "Lego Animal Crossing." A brilliant idea that deserves to be a monster hit. [Oct 2007, p.74]
  7. Nintendo Gamer
    90
    We can't figure out how on earth we've spent so much time in the game, or what we've actually accomplished, but doing next to nothing has never been so much fun. [Nov 2007, p.38]
  8. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    94
    It's better than "Animal Crossing" and "Harvest Moon" in almost every way, whle also being a completely different kind of game...Barring a few options we'd have liked to see, it's a perfect second life experience. [Oct 2007, p.78]
  9. MySims, with its focus on finding Essence, building furniture (and friendships) and decorating homes ends up feeling more like Animal Crossing than a true Sims game. With that said, MySims is an incredibly charming game that will please more than a few fans looking for lighthearted fare.

Awards & Rankings

41
26
#26 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
45
#45 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. CindyL
    Dec 6, 2009
    2
    I found this game to be tedious, frustrating, and incredibly boring. The user spends the whole time being ordered to build things for the I found this game to be tedious, frustrating, and incredibly boring. The user spends the whole time being ordered to build things for the town's whining residents and bossy mayor, and no time actually doing anything fun. Plus the game is difficult to navigate and it takes FOREVER for every new screen to load. Full Review »
  2. John
    Oct 18, 2008
    2
    Wow, this game is soooo overated! Ok, it was fun for the first couple hours or so. After that, the game gets very repetitive and boring. You Wow, this game is soooo overated! Ok, it was fun for the first couple hours or so. After that, the game gets very repetitive and boring. You do the same thing over and over again. Might be a fun game for young kids but definitely not as fun for people in their 20s. My biggest problem with this game is the loading screens...so many of them and they take sooo long. I was hoping there would be some mini-games like they did for the DS but nope, there were none. Full Review »
  3. GenevieveBL
    Sep 23, 2007
    4
    One word: Boring