User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 521 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 521

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best episode of Mario I played. Can play a lot of people and the story mode and more successful, the proper graphics and gameplay is really correct. For me, it's Mario is the best all of Mario.
  2. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    To say this sucks is to say you hate gaming, this is the 3rd best 2d (2.5d, whatever it's still in the 2D realm) mario game i've played. Next to SMB3 and SMB1. The story is the same, the gameplay is awesome, as typical mario games are. The graphics are suited for 2.5D awesomeness, which means they are good. The Bosses are good, i like koopalings, Epesically the final bowser To say this sucks is to say you hate gaming, this is the 3rd best 2d (2.5d, whatever it's still in the 2D realm) mario game i've played. Next to SMB3 and SMB1. The story is the same, the gameplay is awesome, as typical mario games are. The graphics are suited for 2.5D awesomeness, which means they are good. The Bosses are good, i like koopalings, Epesically the final bowser fight. Overall: 9 out of 10 Expand
  3. MichelJ
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing single-player, amazing multiplayer (up to 4 people what a mess) but thats the fun the mess, amazing game, both thumbs Up
  4. MarkH
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game is a great mix of old school and new school and is up there with the best of the Mario games. It also has one of the best boss battles of all-time (I love the throwback to older Mario games). Plus there is lots of replayability with the star coins and secret exits.
  5. Steph
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    As a casual gamer I loved it. Sure, some levels were difficult but not impossible if you're persistant. Nostalgically reminded me of the old NES Super Mario only with enough fresh moves to make it new, different and better! Multiplayer mode is very, very fun.
  6. ibrahime
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    i love this game. haven't had this much fun with a game since super mario world and its easily should have 90 on here but the stupid critic love shit codmw to give this a chance
  7. BobM
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no coincidence either. This game is one of the best I've played in years, and simply put, hands down, this game has one thing that 99% of the HD, cinematic blockbusters on other consoles sorely lack: replay value. I've already played through this game twice, and I have been playing it a third time, simply because the levels are FUN to play through. Plus, as a bonus, the multiplayer modes are, in fact, while chaotic, very very fun. Kudos to Nintendo on another masterpiece. Expand
  8. SnoozerBear
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Love it... Too tired from playing to write anything else! I don't think it's too hard; I can speed run most levels in a minute or two without losing a life... It might be too hard for your 'Average' gamer, aka. Casual gamer. Casual gamers beware! This game is not for wimps; only people who can press at least 2 buttons at once... XD
  9. EvanB.
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Nintendo succeed. This game is exactly where this series needed to go. Bravo, Nintendo, you deserve high marks! Expand
  10. RJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    This is an essential game in every gamer's library. The lack of online may put some people off, but for me it's just a minor issue (it all depends on your gaming habits). The single player is solid and challenging at just the right level, the co-op is a blast, and the game differentiates itself enough from the DS version. I would have liked a more streamlined restart after This is an essential game in every gamer's library. The lack of online may put some people off, but for me it's just a minor issue (it all depends on your gaming habits). The single player is solid and challenging at just the right level, the co-op is a blast, and the game differentiates itself enough from the DS version. I would have liked a more streamlined restart after losing one life, but that's also just a minor gripe. All in all, this game is a must-buy. Expand
  11. the_ghost_master
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, when you want to play 4 players, it just rocks! The mess created makes it really fun, cooperative and competition is good, so that you can kick the enemy or help him defeating and enemy. This brilliant enemy woke up Mario 2D games and I hope it sells a lot. Expand
  12. Fix
    Jun 21, 2012
    9
    You can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motionYou can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motion control for the spin jump. I can't tell you how many times I accidentally shook the controller during an intense moment, thus activating the spin jump at the worst time possible. I don't throw my arms around when I play either, it's just very sensitive. I would give 10 stars if the shaking of the controller action was mapped differently or it supported a classic controller. Expand
  13. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    Simply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of newSimply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of new ideas. The game also has a multiplayer mode...but that's where it falls flat. Characters can bounce off of each others heads, and the levels start to feel very cramped in multiplayer. There is also not a lot of item variety, and when a Nunchuk is plugged in, the on-screen directions still act as if the Nunchuk is not plugged in. This confused me in the beginning. On the plus side again, the 3 Star Coins hidden in each level mean that New Super Mario Bros. Wii will keep gamers entertained for a long time. So, overall, I'd say that New Super Mario Bros. Wii rules as a Mario game, and it is certainly worth buying if you're a Mario fan. Expand
  14. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This game pays tribute to former games glory, difficulty, and story. Actually, that was it's only downside, the fact that I knew Bowser was gonna pull his same old trick. But, then, the game absorbed me into fun levels, new power-ups and enemies, and Toad houses to win 1-Ups, Power-ups, and Star Powers in every world.
  15. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    This game is worth. buying and completing.

    PROS
    -fun
    -nice story to listen too
    -easy controls
    -creative worlds

    CONS
    -poor graphics

    Expect a fun, but low graphic experience when buying this.
  16. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome! The 2nd best NSMB game. The graphics are great for the Wii. The level designs are awesome. You can play as Toads which I like. The multiplayer is very fun. New Super Mario Bros Wii is an awesome game and you should definitely buy it!
  17. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This was my All-Time Back up favourite game. New Super Mario Bros. 2 just came out in 2012 when I was obsessed with this game. Fufufu and I played together for at least 30 min. and one time, my Aqua Blue Nintendo 3DS needed to be fixed, so I had to play this instead of NSMB2 for 2weeks or so. You should totally get this game. It is FLAWLESS! I'm on World 9.
  18. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and MarioWhen the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  19. NateSc
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    wow....frustrating fun you can't stop playing. I cannot find a fault in this game. The final fight is amazing. Some of it gets tricky but nothing impossible. Also, the more people...the 10 times funnier it gets. Still fun first player but still. The games takes about 4 non stop days to beat but maybe 2 weeks if played on occasions. Get it or rent it now!
  20. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Yeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - NewYeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - New Super Mario Bros..?? What's up with that? "Yeah it's the old game.. only new! But without any new ideas!" .. that's so cheap. The power-ups are gimicky and boring and the feature where you can play as up to four players at the same time is just frustrating. You end up killing eachother all the time which sucks. And why can't you play this game with the classic controller? It would have been perfect for that retro feel, but no. You have to hold the Wiimote sideways, which is uncomfortable and annoying. So this is definately the best Mario game since Super Mario World, but that doesn't really say much, does it? Expand
  21. JohnB
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Dont rate the game before you have collected all the star coins and completed the world 9 stages. I'll tell you, not until when you start doing that the real game and challenge begins. This is one of the best 2d- mario game ever created.
  22. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Not too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game isNot too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game is that it lacks the 'x element' that made past 2D Mario games top of their class and essential purchases. It's not something specific that I can put my finger on, but it definitely effects my feelings towards this game. I just don't hold this title in the same regard as, say, Super Mario World or Super Mario Bros 3. Expand
  23. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    This game is about Mario the main player (which you play if player one) and you have to save the princess, Mario
  24. MattJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    6
    Uninspiring, unimaginative, "by the numbers" Mario game that is also far too difficult for the average gamer. The Mario magic is definitely missing from this one. Play 'Super Mario World' instead, it's far superior.
  25. Suffering
    Jan 2, 2010
    5
    Just too, too hard!
  26. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Possibly the worst game ever played. To say the controls are sluggish would be the understatement of the year. It isn't that the game itself is hard in design, it is on par with other fun 2D mario games, however the developers went way over the top with handicapping the player with slow, laggy movements. You might as well be trying to play this game with mittens on.
  27. JohannD
    Jan 1, 2010
    0
    This game is terrible. My brother and I tried for hours to play together and it was sheer torture. This game is a relentlessly unforgiving and punishing hell. There isn't real strategy or enjoyment, just the same "dodge this, jump that" redundant garbage. Don't buy this game unless you love to torture yourself and desire an ulcer.
  28. Mar 27, 2011
    4
    The game is unoriginal and way too difficult, and not difficult as in challenging, but rather difficult as in cheap. Really easy to die and when you do die you usually lose a lot of progress, and playing the game with other people is borderline impossible thanks to the bizarre decision on the part of the developers to make characters wildly bounce off each other. Also, the music isThe game is unoriginal and way too difficult, and not difficult as in challenging, but rather difficult as in cheap. Really easy to die and when you do die you usually lose a lot of progress, and playing the game with other people is borderline impossible thanks to the bizarre decision on the part of the developers to make characters wildly bounce off each other. Also, the music is absolutely awful, every song has this one horrendous sound effect used constantly. The gameplay is decent enough when it isn't frustrating but those moments are few and far between. I would recommend taking a pass on this one. Expand
  29. AGuyWithAnActualOpinion
    Jan 22, 2010
    0
    This is the worst Mario game to have ever been created since Super Mario 3. Do yourself a favor and get Mario Party 8 instead of this if you want a REAL Mario game.
  30. LUIGI
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    Extremely frustrating in a halaeriouse "I can't believe that just happened" kind of way. The main thing about this game that bothers me is the fact that untill you beat the game you can only save after beating a castle. Seriously? That's like if you weren't allowed to move left until you got a mushroom or weren't allowed to run untill you've collected all the star Extremely frustrating in a halaeriouse "I can't believe that just happened" kind of way. The main thing about this game that bothers me is the fact that untill you beat the game you can only save after beating a castle. Seriously? That's like if you weren't allowed to move left until you got a mushroom or weren't allowed to run untill you've collected all the star coins. Saving should be a basic and easy function of any game! That would be like if you weren't allowed to eat until you turned five or something. What if I wanted to rent this game and only play through it once, or play one stage before going to school? Well, I guess I'll have to beat the entire game to get the best out of it. I only planned to write a sentence but this is a HUGE problem, I mean WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?! As far as the rest of the game, it's what you'd expect from a mario game. It sucks that most star coins require powerups or really specific platforming to get. To quote another review I've read "maybe I'm not Japanese enough, but failing the whole thing because I messed up once just doesn't work for me. This game is frustrating as hell, the ice levels in particular, but it's the kind of Demon's Souls frustrating where you want to say "just one more try" and than fail a thousand more times, but fortunatly it's generouse with the 1ups so actually dieing wouldn't be much of a problem. This game is really flawed, but it's the best 2d Mario game I've played, so check it out if your in to it. Oh, lastly I want to ask if anyone noticed that on every game review The Onion AV Club is always "that one reviewer" who drags down the overall score like four points. Expand
  31. AndrewK
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    This game is at its best with 4 players. With fewer players it's just yet another Mario game that you can safely assume is just like all the others you've played over the years.
  32. StevenA
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    A rather satisfying mario game. I haven't bought a nintendo wii game since April 2008, when Okami came out. All the 3rd party video games for Wii inflicted zero interest upon me. I have been playing my PS3, wondering when a good Wii game would come out. Finally, it came. And it was this game. It's classic mario with a bunch of enhancements and power-ups that were thought up with A rather satisfying mario game. I haven't bought a nintendo wii game since April 2008, when Okami came out. All the 3rd party video games for Wii inflicted zero interest upon me. I have been playing my PS3, wondering when a good Wii game would come out. Finally, it came. And it was this game. It's classic mario with a bunch of enhancements and power-ups that were thought up with originally and utmost care. I was so happy to hear that it could be 2-4 player co-op and I was happy to hear that the game was very challenging. Maybe sometimes too challenging, but when 4 people play, it works much better. Graphics are good enough for me. The story is a bit silly, but I expected nothing less of a Mario game. The only thing that really bothers me is the game's hefty price. Here in Canada, it's 65 bucks. That's too much for a nintendo wii game. Let alone, a game that's simply a unique turn of a classic mario game. If you are good at side-scrolling platforms, you can run through new super mario bros wii in 6 hours (without cannon skips). It'll probably take you 15-25 hours to get 100% and there are a few mini-games to entertain you, but that's about it. Too bad there was no online co-op option available. Maybe next time. But I can't help give this game a 9 out of 10 for being a new success for Nintendo Wii and because the Nintendo company never lets us down when it comes to their own games. Twilight Princess, Mario Galaxy, Metroid Prime 3, SSB Brawl and New super mario bros wii are amazing games. You just have to sit through all the crap games to get to them. Expand
  33. Mailtoad
    Dec 27, 2009
    6
    There is a good single player adventure, however the multiplayer is a shambles. Multiplayer Mario still has a long way to go.
  34. Nov 16, 2010
    6
    I am not going to be noobish and claim I gave this game a 6 because it is too hard. Sure, this game is frustrating in places, but that is not the reason for my condemnation of it.
    My main problem with NSMB Wii is that it is just too much of the same. Some levels (especially those early in World 1) look like they have been lifted straight out of NSMB on the DS, and the general feel of the
    I am not going to be noobish and claim I gave this game a 6 because it is too hard. Sure, this game is frustrating in places, but that is not the reason for my condemnation of it.
    My main problem with NSMB Wii is that it is just too much of the same. Some levels (especially those early in World 1) look like they have been lifted straight out of NSMB on the DS, and the general feel of the game doesn't feel revolutionary and fresh like the Galaxy games. The only gameplay element I will seek to praise here is the addition of the Koopa Kids, Bowser's 7 'other' children - they add variety to the game, though sadly not as much as the varied and interesting bosses of NSMB DS.
    I will agree some levels in this game are frustrating (particularly some of those in World 2 which had me literally screaming at the TV), but thankfully this game is not as easy as the cakewalk of the DS prequel.
    All in all, an OK game, but for something truly special and/or revolutionary, reach for Mario's 3D Wii cousins rather than this slightly lacklustre 2D edition.
    Expand
  35. Feb 1, 2011
    6
    This game has absolutely no right to exist. I've played it 100 times before. Even with some creative new levels, and enjoyable moments it can't stop me from feeling like Nintendo has been milking the same game for far to long. I love Mario games don't get me wrong, Galaxies 2 is one of the finest 3d platformers I know, this is because it does things I haven't seen before. This game on theThis game has absolutely no right to exist. I've played it 100 times before. Even with some creative new levels, and enjoyable moments it can't stop me from feeling like Nintendo has been milking the same game for far to long. I love Mario games don't get me wrong, Galaxies 2 is one of the finest 3d platformers I know, this is because it does things I haven't seen before. This game on the other hand is the SAME THING I played on the nes, snes, and every other system. Pure nostalgia is the only reason this game is so favorably reviewed. Is it bad? No it's not. Great? Hell No. Expand
  36. Dec 9, 2011
    3
    I would not recommend this game to long time Mario fans. If you play Mario 3 and Super Mario World a lot, I doubt you would like this. In SMB3 and World, Mario is very quick, light, and agile. In this game he is very slow and clunky, and he can't even turn around properly. The stages are pretty bland and it was like they used this new, slower Mario as a way of justifying that. I'm notI would not recommend this game to long time Mario fans. If you play Mario 3 and Super Mario World a lot, I doubt you would like this. In SMB3 and World, Mario is very quick, light, and agile. In this game he is very slow and clunky, and he can't even turn around properly. The stages are pretty bland and it was like they used this new, slower Mario as a way of justifying that. I'm not saying the game shouldn't be set relative to its own mechanics but in SMB3 and World, you had to be quick. The fast-pacedness was what kept the games fun and NSMBW took that away from the Mario series. Expand
  37. Jun 21, 2011
    6
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is just not as fun as the originals. I do like how it has it's own new items and controls utilizing the Wii remote but it is still just not as fun. I would only say it is fun for a little while but then you lose interest. If you are looking for a Mario game for the Wii I would recommend Galaxy and Galaxy 2. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is nice to have but itNew Super Mario Bros. Wii is just not as fun as the originals. I do like how it has it's own new items and controls utilizing the Wii remote but it is still just not as fun. I would only say it is fun for a little while but then you lose interest. If you are looking for a Mario game for the Wii I would recommend Galaxy and Galaxy 2. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is nice to have but it definitely shouldn't be your favorite game for the console. Expand
  38. Sep 13, 2011
    7
    New Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - thatNew Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - that they do little new or more than what is expected, I WANT TO BE SURPRISED! The game play is great but its the same game we have played before, the new power ups are fun but the end product is shy of its potential. SUPER MARIO WORLD IS BETTER, and that came many years ago Collapse
  39. Jun 4, 2013
    3
    First we got the disappointement of Super Mario Galaxy, and now this, the worst Mario game ever, it might be original with the new powers and stuff, but it is all the same, I regret in playing and buying this game.
  40. Oct 30, 2011
    0
    hello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he hadhello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he had only just learnt the controls. he only lost 7 lives in the hole game!! i am really sorry for anyone who has got this game if you play it you must always be really bored - if i were you i would get cooking mama 2 if you are a girl or star wars 2 if you are a boy. if you are a parent or have a younger relative who has this game dispose of it immediately other wise they will get sucked into a world of boringnes and will NEVER stop complaining and if you are thinking of buying this for someone - think again because you are wasting your time! that is all thank you for reading this. Expand
  41. Oct 29, 2012
    1
    Honestly, there is nothing new here. It's just cashing in on the nostalgia of people who enjoyed the good ol days of super mario bros and super mario world. This type of repackaging with a fresh coat of paint would usually warrant a 5/10 because they're emulating a game that was pretty damn good. The problem is that they did change something, they managed to make the controls unresponsive and ****
  42. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    The game can be too difficult in some Worlds. If you have completed all the normal levels in a World but lose all of your lives on the castle then the game makes you beat all of the levels in that World over again as the game only saves after you beat a castle. There should have been a feature to where you can save the game and come back to that save when you lose all of your lives.
  43. Jan 1, 2012
    5
    A blip in a series of games that are otherwise great. This is nowhere near as good as the original SMB games or the Galxy games. The multiplayer is just carnage and the single player is better but level design is good in points but controls are odd and the physics feels too sluggish and floaty.
  44. Dec 12, 2011
    5
    Sincerely, the game is not bad at all, but the problem is that, it was a bad idea to put all of those new items instead of only keeping the classic items or eventhough the items used in New Super Mario Bros. It was really dissapointing.
  45. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    For a retro game junky like myself, this game was everything I could ask for. Well, okay, it was too short. . . but only because I could play Mario levels forever. This takes players back to the old-school one-dimensional Mario games with a lot of the same moves and controls, only now with a much greater level of accuracy in Mario's movements. Thank god. The multiplayer mode is awesomeFor a retro game junky like myself, this game was everything I could ask for. Well, okay, it was too short. . . but only because I could play Mario levels forever. This takes players back to the old-school one-dimensional Mario games with a lot of the same moves and controls, only now with a much greater level of accuracy in Mario's movements. Thank god. The multiplayer mode is awesome because it is total chaos! The secret levels are, for the most part, a challenge to even Mario veterans. Over all, if you liked the older Mario titles or are curious about what they were like, try this one out. Expand
  46. Jan 26, 2013
    1
    The game is really bad, does not worth de price, cant believe nintendo is make horrible games like this, further using one of the most acclaimed gaming franchises. Controls are bad, does not have support wii classic control, and the graphics, oh my... the graphics are horrible, another frustrated nintendo fan. wii is a total failure, wii u will be worse
  47. Jun 22, 2013
    2
    El juego puede ser demasiado divertido para algunas personas pero dando mi opinión es malo y aburrido, pues demuestra ser saltos y saltos con muy poco que sobresalir.
  48. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolute blast with friends, it's just the story needs to improve because oh wait a minute SPOILER ALERT the princess gets captured again, The gameplay is alright, the missions were good the environment was awesome, the controls are a little sluggish, but the game is still good Expand
  49. ElliottW
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Wow. This game blew me away. I was expecting another watered-down adventure like the good, but samey DS counterpart, but here I got more than I bargained for. Its amazing to play on your own or in multiplayer. The level design is far better than the DS version's, and its a lot more challenging. When the game was first unveiled, people started to worry that levels would be too open Wow. This game blew me away. I was expecting another watered-down adventure like the good, but samey DS counterpart, but here I got more than I bargained for. Its amazing to play on your own or in multiplayer. The level design is far better than the DS version's, and its a lot more challenging. When the game was first unveiled, people started to worry that levels would be too open (to allow more room for extra players) and that the game would be too easy in single player. Luckily, this isn't the case. The game is packed with so many 'wow' moments, that simply weren't present in the DS version. If there's one word to describe this game, its 'balance'. It's not too easy, yet not as nail-bitingly hard as some other Mario games. The game is a culmination of everything you loved about mario, with some new suprises. The motion controls work well, and they aren't overused. The new power-ups are some of the most useful and imaginative suits to date. The yoshi levels are superb. This game deserves at least a 90, yet some critics seemed to be too swept away with COD6 that they ignored the brilliance of this. This game is literally flawless. There's nothing to fault about it. In an age where Nintendo are dumbing down their core franchises, its refreshing to see they are still the kings of platforming. Expand
  50. JuddMan
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    Pretty uninspiring, the main game has a few small improvements over the DS title, but there is zero replayability value. once you've done everything, the game kindly tells you so and it's time to put it on the shelf forever. What happened to all the awesome multiplayer minigames from the DS version?
  51. LudwigV.
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Everything promised was delivered. 1 player is fun, 4 player is hectic, 2 players is perfect. The levels all offer new things, generally something from an old game, coupled with an original concept. This game has enough variety to be 3X as long as it is without getting boring, but that's just not Nintendo's style. After playing through a level, I found it easy to remember which Everything promised was delivered. 1 player is fun, 4 player is hectic, 2 players is perfect. The levels all offer new things, generally something from an old game, coupled with an original concept. This game has enough variety to be 3X as long as it is without getting boring, but that's just not Nintendo's style. After playing through a level, I found it easy to remember which one was which; none of them were too similar. My only true complaint would be the lack of reward for doing everything. You get to unlock bits and pieces of world 9 if you collect all the star coins in each world, but collecting everything in world 9 gets you...some short fanfare, and a message that says you've done everything. Kinda anticlimatic, but Mario games have always been about the journey more than the destination. Expand
  52. [anonymous]
    Dec 27, 2009
    8
    This game is the best 2d mario game I've played, but it's also the most frustrating, but it's that certain kind of funny "I can't believe that just happened" frustrating that doesn't get you too angry. It's also generouse with extra lives to make up for the constant dieing.
  53. NeilP
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Miyamoto-san does it again. Stuck this in the Wii and it brought an immediate smile to my face. Small touches like the goombas etc dancing to the tune show that Nintendo are unsurpassed for attention to detail. I have most consoles and yet it is this game, SMG and Zelda for the Wii that keep my kids mesmorised. Highly recommended.
  54. PeterJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Thankful to be stuck on World 6 at the moment. This is much more of a challenge that past Mario games, yet still incredibly fun at the same time.
  55. Darren
    Nov 28, 2009
    7
    Good game overall and will keep fans of Mario happy. The multiplayer is lacking unless you have 4 players. I was hoping for something like the star battle game on the New Mario Bros DS which made for more fun and frantic playing.
  56. DannyLy
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    It has been well over a decade now that a side scrolling Mario game has been made. This new one takes the best elements from all previous Mario games we love and enjoy so much, and now bringing it to the modern day for a new generation to experience. Combining classic platforming with modern day technology is an ingredient for new comers and older gamers to come together and play united.
  57. JimB
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome, totally lives up to the series, really in the top 3 of all Mario titles
  58. old_skool_gamer151
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    This game really lives up to the title. I love the new controls on this how it has the basic buttons but adds in the occasional shaking and tilting to achieve goals. Nintendo has kept the great aspects of the old mario platforms but added new powerups like the propeller hat and penguin suit (very funny and cool). The 4 player multiplayer is really fun and crazy. The only downside is how This game really lives up to the title. I love the new controls on this how it has the basic buttons but adds in the occasional shaking and tilting to achieve goals. Nintendo has kept the great aspects of the old mario platforms but added new powerups like the propeller hat and penguin suit (very funny and cool). The 4 player multiplayer is really fun and crazy. The only downside is how you sometimes feel you're playing your old super nintendo again. But overall the game has great gameplay and just really fun overall. Mario fans will not be dissapointed by this. Expand
  59. noahl
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    i love 4 player it is just so hectic because everyone is screaming why the **** did you kill me
  60. brenty
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    Fun by your self, fun with people, i read other reviews and they kept on smashing it on how hard it was when it was multiple people, that they didn't think about how people were gona jump, but i believe that they made it that way to give it a little more madness, and it works. In the end if you want a 2d mario game that reminds you of the old day you can always play it by yourself Fun by your self, fun with people, i read other reviews and they kept on smashing it on how hard it was when it was multiple people, that they didn't think about how people were gona jump, but i believe that they made it that way to give it a little more madness, and it works. In the end if you want a 2d mario game that reminds you of the old day you can always play it by yourself and it works perfectly that way, on the other hand if you want a completley new way to play, it doesn't completely deliver, however enough to keep you entertained. My favorite way to play was with my friends, and we have gotten into a couple of fights taht way, but it was worth it. Only complaint is that the 9th world is too annoying to get, you have to get every star in a single world to unlock the correponding level in the 9th world, way too much work. Expand
  61. ChrisC
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    What bothers me is that some reviewers call this a rehash but call COD MW2 unique. This goes to show that you cannot trust reviews anymore. Nearly every title that has some hype behind it gets 9-10 scores and on rare occasion, at the very least an 8. Every Mario game does NOT have to be innovative. Why can't this one just be immense amounts of fun? Thats a problem that we finally What bothers me is that some reviewers call this a rehash but call COD MW2 unique. This goes to show that you cannot trust reviews anymore. Nearly every title that has some hype behind it gets 9-10 scores and on rare occasion, at the very least an 8. Every Mario game does NOT have to be innovative. Why can't this one just be immense amounts of fun? Thats a problem that we finally have the next great 2D console Mario adventure in almost 20 years and its one of the most entertaining platformers you'll ever play and nothing more? Reviewers can seriously go screw themselves. This game is astounding. Worlds of fun that contains a final Bowser battle that will be remembered for years and years to come. Online play is NOT necessary and to be honest, if it was in here it'd be just another thing to vote down because Nintendo's Wi-Fi sucks. So I'm glad it didn't even make the cut becuase playing with real friends right next to you is 10x more fun anyway. Another thing, the level design is inspired. The difficulty is ramped up. I am a Mario veteran and I've had the Super Guide Block (great idea btw) come up in almost 3/8 of all the levels. Okay now I'm going to bring this to a close by saying: go with your gut. Its a Mario side-scroller. You know its going to be fun. So forget what these reviewers say because if this game was given fair ratings it'd have a metacritic average of 96-97. Fantastic title. Expand
  62. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    New Super Mario Bros Wii has brought Mario back to consoles for the first time in many years. The game is worse than it's DS counterpart that was made two years ago. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoy this game, but always in the back of my mind I was thinking "man this is like a bad version of the DS Mario." This game does improve the power ups and swimming portions of Mario games (plus ifNew Super Mario Bros Wii has brought Mario back to consoles for the first time in many years. The game is worse than it's DS counterpart that was made two years ago. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoy this game, but always in the back of my mind I was thinking "man this is like a bad version of the DS Mario." This game does improve the power ups and swimming portions of Mario games (plus if you like a challenge you will find it here), but the controls are not as tight as its DS version, and the graphics aren't improved at all. I love good 2D games that are original, and while Mario Wii does fit the first part, it falls short of being original. Expand
  63. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    While the single player is dissapointing, it's very un ambitous and has few good ideas, the multiplayer is a as much fun as any Mario title. The DS game is arguably better, with more imaginative levels, the latest console 2D Mario game is dissapoiting, but still a solid and good platform game, and has some of the best multiplayer co-op action on Wii, only beaten by the likes of Monster Hunter 3.
  64. Sep 6, 2010
    7
    An impressive game with a variety of co-op game play. Not exactly up there with Mario bros for the DS, and can get very Frustrating at times when falling or dying at the last bit of the game. I do think the items you can save for later levels is a good idea. All in all an above average game but isn't the best Mario game ive ever played.
  65. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    I waited for a new 2D Super Mario Bros. on a home console since the Super Nintendo. First of all, considered me disappointed that Nintendo made the game too safe as it lacks features that Nintendo knows it needed to be in it. Online play, more characters and overall more variety. Aside from that, this game is a complete throwback to the NES and SNES Super Mario games, adding to itsI waited for a new 2D Super Mario Bros. on a home console since the Super Nintendo. First of all, considered me disappointed that Nintendo made the game too safe as it lacks features that Nintendo knows it needed to be in it. Online play, more characters and overall more variety. Aside from that, this game is a complete throwback to the NES and SNES Super Mario games, adding to its nostalgia factor. The gameplay is tight as any other 2D Mario game and also the most difficult since Super Mario Bros. 3. It is recommended to your Wii collection. Expand
  66. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    I was really excited for this game, but just in case it was gonna be crap I rented it. I was pretty happy I rented It cause I beat it in like 3 days, but thats how addicting it was. For hours I just played by myself in my basement. Its not better then new super mario bros. DS though.
  67. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    Fantastic! New Super Mario Bros. Wii takes all the great things about previous side scrolling Mario games and makes it even better. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a great party game. It starts out easy and builds up the difficulty from world to world. I hope there is a second Mario Bros. Wii game.
  68. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is arguably one of the best mario games ever! It has great graphics and music, simple controls, brilliant solo player and hectic multiplayer. Its a essential game for any wii owner.
  69. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I've ever gotten for the wii. I really don't understand all those negative reviews. the multiplayer is awesome and putting the two toads as playable characters was a nice touch. Nintendo, you've done it again!!!
  70. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This game is all about fun. It doesn't provide too much challenge, but the multiplayer in itself is enough difficulty. It gets very hectic when four players are trying to accurately time jumps, meaning usually at least one of them will get accidentlly (or purposely) stomped down the pit. The game gives the tools to mess up other players, such as picking them up and then throwing them. TheThis game is all about fun. It doesn't provide too much challenge, but the multiplayer in itself is enough difficulty. It gets very hectic when four players are trying to accurately time jumps, meaning usually at least one of them will get accidentlly (or purposely) stomped down the pit. The game gives the tools to mess up other players, such as picking them up and then throwing them. The new suits, propeller and penguin, work well also. Very much worth it, but prepare for craziness. Expand
  71. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    NSMBW is the second best Mario game I have seen and one of the best choices on family/single gaming I have ever had the pleasure of playing! All the new costumes, plus the bosses, plus the numerous new levels with the flagpole at the end, means the best 2D plat-former I have played.
  72. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is one of the best game on the Nintendo Wii. Yes, it's another 2D Mario platformer, but what's wrong with that? The game adds new spice to the old Mario platforming and with the addition of a fan and frantic 4 player multiplayer, with every stage you visit playable, it's well worth the money.
  73. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Fantastic fun game, 100% quality execution as you would expect from Nintendo, but so hard and unforgiving, much like arcade games of old! This game will annoy the hell out of you but keep you coming back for more. Unfortunately for the younger kids this will be way too hard.
    Took of 1 score for being too hard! ;)
  74. Dec 29, 2010
    8
    This is a good Mario platformer with some good ideas incorporated into it. However, I wouldn't say it was up there with Mario finest moments. I feel it suffers from an identity crisis from it's DS cousin, even though, by the way, it's all new levels with new ideas incorporated into it. It's also annoying to see Yoshi not being used that much. You won't see him in much more than one or twoThis is a good Mario platformer with some good ideas incorporated into it. However, I wouldn't say it was up there with Mario finest moments. I feel it suffers from an identity crisis from it's DS cousin, even though, by the way, it's all new levels with new ideas incorporated into it. It's also annoying to see Yoshi not being used that much. You won't see him in much more than one or two levels per world if you're lucky. However, the boss fights are brilliant. I love battling Koopa Kids, and the final Bowser boss fight has to be up their with the best boss fights in a Mario platformer. It also has good graphics for a Wii game, and multiplayer is a good laugh with your mates, expect havoc to break loose then. The controls, in my opinon, were a brilliant fit and worked really well in my experience. Overall, a good Mario adventure and a game you must own on the Wii, even if it isn't the finest of Mario's adventures. Expand
  75. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    Same old super mario bros, still quite fun. My only gripe is that its repetitive, and I just think repetition sucks in most cases. This version is harder than all the previous versions of the game that Ive played, which in most cases makes in more fun. Its rare to be totally challenged in a mario game for me, but this one did it. I liked this game.
  76. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    A little hard at first but you get used to it. The thing that i think they tried to do was try and remind you of early days while still trying to be new and modern, but it doesn't remind me of the early marios. Its insanely fun though, i highly recommend it to people who love platforming, and multiplayer games. I truly loved this game and had a great time.
  77. May 17, 2011
    9
    This is one of my all time favorite Mario games but I find it hard yes but it is fun! Another Gripe I have is I can't play as Luigi. I also think the Multiplayer isn't great. I'd say stick to the Single Player Mode.
  78. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    This game brings out the old tradition mechanics of Super Mario Bros. But I feel this game to be too difficult for an actual family to enjoy together (i've had ugly experiences with it.). Good game, just not made for the family.
  79. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    When you think about it, the last Mario 2D side-scrolling came out in the early nineties. Tastes have developed since then, as some of the reviews here clearly state, they don't like challenging games. This is trying to go back to the series's roots by making it harder. It's a great game when playing by yourself and a less great one with 4 people. With 4 people playing, platforms that areWhen you think about it, the last Mario 2D side-scrolling came out in the early nineties. Tastes have developed since then, as some of the reviews here clearly state, they don't like challenging games. This is trying to go back to the series's roots by making it harder. It's a great game when playing by yourself and a less great one with 4 people. With 4 people playing, platforms that are hard enough landing on with one person now has to be shared with 4 people, which makes it a lot more frustrating when the worst player of the 4 some-how lands on it while the others die, when the less experienced gamer dies a few seconds later. It is fun and looks lovely, but be prepared. Expand
  80. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Not the best Super Mario Bros. game out there, but definitely not a bad game either. Although the game can be hard at time, this game is packed with game play, fun boss fights, and even another world at the end of the game.
  81. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    imo best 2d mario game evar so get out and buy, the only mario game i can thin of thats beter id=s kart wii, but thats just what i though of now so...

    still, if u like everything decent about life, youd get this 98% good game, wouldnt you
  82. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    Bottom line, this is a rock solid addition to the Mario franchise. Although lacking the immersive gameplay and environments of titles like Mario 64, Mario Galaxy (2), it isn't meant to be that kind of game. The graphics are flawless and it's design is equally as entertaining as the gameplay. Finally a modern platforming game with 3D graphics in 2D environments that doesn't suck! Not onlyBottom line, this is a rock solid addition to the Mario franchise. Although lacking the immersive gameplay and environments of titles like Mario 64, Mario Galaxy (2), it isn't meant to be that kind of game. The graphics are flawless and it's design is equally as entertaining as the gameplay. Finally a modern platforming game with 3D graphics in 2D environments that doesn't suck! Not only that but it's just super fun. Sure it's a little on the short side but if you try to get all of the level 9 worlds opened (which IS challenging) and also take into account the hilarious multiplayer, you have another great addition to your collection. The multiplayer does come with some intentional problems, namely the characters having squishy heads you bounce off of and running into each other or off screen but, that is what makes it more challenging to take on with a friend. There is even a competitive mode if you don't play well with others or want some laughs. Any Mario fan will love this and if you own a Wii and like platform games, this is a good purchase. Expand
  83. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This game is classic Mario and being a HUGE Mario fan since super Mario Bros. 3 I found this game very highly entertaining and with awesome co-op, stomping goombas, kicking koopa shells and trying to throw each other off the edge was extreeeeeemly fun and entertaining. The story was pretty much the same "Mario, help me, Bowser has kidnapped me" etc. but I didn't mind that as it reminded meThis game is classic Mario and being a HUGE Mario fan since super Mario Bros. 3 I found this game very highly entertaining and with awesome co-op, stomping goombas, kicking koopa shells and trying to throw each other off the edge was extreeeeeemly fun and entertaining. The story was pretty much the same "Mario, help me, Bowser has kidnapped me" etc. but I didn't mind that as it reminded me that Mario hasn't changed too much since the very start. Also the inclusion of Yoshi instantly brought a smile to my face being able to swallow koopas and then spit out the shells was awesome. And I've heard people saying that this game was hard, but I completely disagree. I had hours of fun with this game and I felt so good when I got that kiss on the cheek from peach after I rescued her (Even though I just rescued her from a demon-turtle-dragon-thing). Expand
  84. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    My 2nd favorite Multiplayer game for the Nintendo Wii besides Smash Bros. This game offers fantastic multiplayer fun factor. Yoshi up to for players at one time defeating Bowser's minion friends. Mario teams up with Luigi and two Toads to grab a Yoshi friend and bring it! One of the best multiplayer games for the Wii. Highly suggested! Fun fun and more fun!
  85. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    Mario makes his way into the multiplayer market for a main game in the series, very successfully. Everything works in the game; the graphics are fantastic, the gameplay is as solid as ever, the music is great fun and it's a blast to play multiplayer. Now, the Co-op, the big draw of the game. I enjoyed it a fair amount and I'm sure some people will absolutely love it, but I personally foundMario makes his way into the multiplayer market for a main game in the series, very successfully. Everything works in the game; the graphics are fantastic, the gameplay is as solid as ever, the music is great fun and it's a blast to play multiplayer. Now, the Co-op, the big draw of the game. I enjoyed it a fair amount and I'm sure some people will absolutely love it, but I personally found the game more fun and easier to play in single player. All in all a fantastically fun Mario game that doesn't reach the dizzying heights of the Galaxy games. I highly recommend it to anybody with a Wii. Expand
  86. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    It is even better than New Super Mario Bros. for the Nintendo DS. It is better because it has a much higher difficulty and you can play the game with 3 others at once!
  87. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    It's a Mario game, which means that it is very similar to its predecessors. That is a good thing. I can't say the game stands out though, minimal effort was put into making the graphics nice even though they succeeded in making a pretty game before (super mario Galaxy). Playing as Mario again is nice and this time you can play with 4 people which is great when you have friends over. All inIt's a Mario game, which means that it is very similar to its predecessors. That is a good thing. I can't say the game stands out though, minimal effort was put into making the graphics nice even though they succeeded in making a pretty game before (super mario Galaxy). Playing as Mario again is nice and this time you can play with 4 people which is great when you have friends over. All in all a good quality game, but not outstanding. Expand
  88. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    New Super Mario Bros Wii brings old and new aspects to the Mario Universe. If you are a fan of the traditional Mario games you will love this game like the older games, if you are a new fan to the Mario Universe, you are in for a treat because this game is both great for veteran and new players alike. The game includes a decent storyline (for new fans), an amazing gameplay structure,New Super Mario Bros Wii brings old and new aspects to the Mario Universe. If you are a fan of the traditional Mario games you will love this game like the older games, if you are a new fan to the Mario Universe, you are in for a treat because this game is both great for veteran and new players alike. The game includes a decent storyline (for new fans), an amazing gameplay structure, beautiful visuals and an amazing soundtrack. If that isn't enough, you now have access to multiplayer with up to 4 players at the same time to assist or to enjoy the game with you. Expand
  89. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun game! Even if you play this single player, it is a worthy entry in the Mario series.

    The bulk of the fun comes from multiplayer. While it can be frustrating at times, especially with newer players, the fun factor increases as people become more comfortable with the game. In a nutshell, it's a traditional 2D Mario game with multiplayer but you don't have to take turns. It's a fantastic experience.

    So why not a 10? The difficulty. I don't mind difficult games. I have fun with easy games as well. The problem with this Mario game is the first 8 worlds are relatively on the easy side. The difficulty goes up progressively as you move from world to world but it is still manageable. The problem I have is when you successfully collect all of the star coins from Worlds 1-8. After you accomplish this, a special World 9 opens. The difficulty in World 9 almost gets to the point of not wanting to finish the game. It can get extremely frustrating. Again, I don't mind difficulty in games but I was completely unprepared for World 9. If you want to finish the game (and I did), be prepared to be patient and be almost perfect to complete this World.

    Other than this one minor gripe, I recommend this game for everyone!
    Expand
  90. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This is a brilliant Mario Game, much much better than the DS title with a similar name. It's a fairly tough game, but no more so than any of the other old school mario games. The graphics look great, it's a joy to finally see a 2d platformer done this well. The game is clearly made with 1 player in mind due to most of the levels accommodation for on space, so the co-op element of theThis is a brilliant Mario Game, much much better than the DS title with a similar name. It's a fairly tough game, but no more so than any of the other old school mario games. The graphics look great, it's a joy to finally see a 2d platformer done this well. The game is clearly made with 1 player in mind due to most of the levels accommodation for on space, so the co-op element of the game can be a bit annoying at times as you bounce off each other, but it's still a lot of fun and is worth doing. If you own a Wii and don't own this, why do you own a wii? Expand
  91. Nov 27, 2011
    8
    To say this game is challenging is an understatement. You will get to know every pixel of most backgrounds, and every step and fall in scenery, as you will replay levels a LOT. I have only played one player, so I do not know if the co-operative game is made any easier.

    Apart from that one small gripe, this is a worthy game on the Wii, the graphics, sound and gameplay are constantly being
    To say this game is challenging is an understatement. You will get to know every pixel of most backgrounds, and every step and fall in scenery, as you will replay levels a LOT. I have only played one player, so I do not know if the co-operative game is made any easier.

    Apart from that one small gripe, this is a worthy game on the Wii, the graphics, sound and gameplay are constantly being ramped up (like the difficulty). If you are immune to frustration, this title deserves a spot in your library.
    Expand
  92. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    A very good single player game. Although most levels don't seem to be built for multiplayer, playing with others is still fun and chaotic. The controls are spot on as usual in any Mario game. There many very creative fun levels and some very dull unimaginative levels as well. Perhaps with better level design suited for multiple players my score would have been raised to a 9/10. ButA very good single player game. Although most levels don't seem to be built for multiplayer, playing with others is still fun and chaotic. The controls are spot on as usual in any Mario game. There many very creative fun levels and some very dull unimaginative levels as well. Perhaps with better level design suited for multiple players my score would have been raised to a 9/10. But overall, this is a very good game. Expand
  93. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Defiantly the best Mario game so far
  94. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Game play, graphics, level design, items, bosses and even Yoshi make this a top notch entry into the Super Mario Bros. franchise. It's possible to breeze bye the game. Completing it 100% however is another story. The multi-player experience will prove an enjoyable and frustrating one.
  95. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    It's a four-player, 2.5D, side-scrolling Mario Game. What you see is what you get, and although we could and should ask for more, that's good enough for me.
  96. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    Another great idea from Nintendo...combine the old style of playing with the new graphics. A very long game, not easy but not too hard, set in the classic variety of scenarios (deserts, snow, forests, clouds,ghosts-castles, mountains,and more).It can be played with 1 up to 4 users together ( I think 2 players mode is better) and you can decide to help your friends to win, or help toAnother great idea from Nintendo...combine the old style of playing with the new graphics. A very long game, not easy but not too hard, set in the classic variety of scenarios (deserts, snow, forests, clouds,ghosts-castles, mountains,and more).It can be played with 1 up to 4 users together ( I think 2 players mode is better) and you can decide to help your friends to win, or help to lose.There are new skills: Mario penguins, that allows you to slide on the ice and swim better; Mario helicopter, to fly high and than plane; and in some levels there's Yoshi. One of the most beautiful features in the game: in each level there are 3 special coins, sometimes visible, sometimes hidden; if you take all the coins in every world, something happens......So, I don't understand again who gave a negative score. Somebody said the movements are too slow and were better in Mario bros 3(it was a great game!), but I personally think that the movements are very good (and more realistic)for this new version.As said NateSc, "I cannot find a fault in this game"...perhaps there's a fault:there isn't a successor, New Super Mario Bros wii 2 !!â Expand
  97. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    Playing this game with your friend is just awesome. Single player is pretty cool, but multiplayer mode kicks ass. The classic mario bros side scrolling game on NES now is on Wii. Play it on multiplayer, I recommend.
    Still, after lots of stages, the game starts to get boring...call a friend and make it better ;)
  98. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Super Mario Bros. Wii takes you back to the old school days of Mario while still incorporating newer, improved technology. This game is like the classic version of Super Mario that was originally made for Super Nintendo on steroids. The graphics are way better, obviously. Itâ
  99. May 27, 2012
    8
    For the first time since Super Mario World on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Nintendo brings us a side-scrolling action platformer Mario game on a home console. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a pleasure for longtime fans of the series like myself, with fond memories of the first four Mario titles on the Nintendo Entertainment System and SNES. The simplified control scheme usesFor the first time since Super Mario World on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Nintendo brings us a side-scrolling action platformer Mario game on a home console. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a pleasure for longtime fans of the series like myself, with fond memories of the first four Mario titles on the Nintendo Entertainment System and SNES. The simplified control scheme uses only the Wii Remote held sideways like an NES controller, and works pretty well, though for an old-timer like me the "shaking" required for several of Mario's moves takes some getting used to. I also found NSMBW to be much more challenging than I expected; several levels took me quite a few tries to complete, but the game is very generous with 1-Ups and power ups, so there's no major frustration to be had. Unfortunately, I haven't had the pleasure of trying multiplayer (which, like most Wii titles, is local only); an online multiplayer co-op or competition would have been most welcome. Expand
  100. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Nintendo have worked fantastic on this game. Lots of effort has been put into making it one of the best Mario games out there. The multiplayer function is great, having four people playing at once is complete chaos. Loads of characters from previous Mario games return back, many old bosses from Super Mario World are back again, and the game is perfect for young children, being quiteNintendo have worked fantastic on this game. Lots of effort has been put into making it one of the best Mario games out there. The multiplayer function is great, having four people playing at once is complete chaos. Loads of characters from previous Mario games return back, many old bosses from Super Mario World are back again, and the game is perfect for young children, being quite difficult, gradually getting harder. Expand
  101. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    New Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - thatNew Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - that they do little new or more than what is expected, I WANT TO BE SURPRISED! The game play is great but its the same game we have played before, the new power ups are fun but the end product is shy of its potential. SUPER MARIO WORLD IS BETTER, and that came many years ago Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Enjoying Mario in the genre that saw him born is always a great pleasure, even if you are not a fan of the platform titles. Nintendo returns to its specialty: to offer hours and hours of fun by giving us games with their own personality and a shellproof gameplay.
  2. 80
    That sense of cohesiveness isn't always present in New Super Mario Bros. and it makes for an uneven experience that's difficult to score.
  3. 80
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game with friends, and I had a great deal of challenging fun with the solo mode. But if you’re looking for a new Mario adventure that’s tailored to creating the maximum amount of fun for just one person, you’ll have to wait for next year’s Super Mario Galaxy 2.