Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New Super Mario Bros. Wii offers a combination of cooperation and competition. Players can pick each other up to save them from danger or toss them into it. Mario, Luigi and two Toads are all playable characters, while many others from the Mushroom Kingdom make appearances throughout the game. Players can even ride different Yoshi characters and use their tongues to swallow enemies, items and even balls of fire. In some areas, players use the motion abilities of the Wii Remote controller. The first player to reach a seesaw might make it tilt to help his or her character reach a higher platform - or might maike it tilt incorrectly just to mess with other players. New items include the propeller suit, which will shoot players high into the sky with just a shake of the Wii Remote, and Mario’s new ability to transform into Penguin Mario. At the end of each stage during the coin battle multiplayer mode, players are ranked based on the number of coins they have collected. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. 100
    A truly great Mario title and a bold and brilliant new multiplayer direction for the series. Buy it now!
  2. Haters can ignore the qualities and say that "is only one more game of Mario", but any fan of Mario will recognize the intense brightness of this game.
  3. 92
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii demonstrates one more time why Nintendo are masters of the all-ages gaming market, relevant and refreshing but at all times reverent and above all, incredible fun.
  4. NSMBW gets a lot right, nailing the classic vibe while also evolving the series in some interesting ways, but a few flaws keep it from achieving the the sort of classic status enjoyed by Super Mario World and Super Mario Galaxy.
  5. New Super Mario Bros Wii is a fun game, plain and simple.
  6. In an era where retro games are almost sickeningly trendy to make, New Super Mario Bros. Wii turns back the clock and does it right. Other developers doing retro games ought to take notes.
  7. The lack of a strong concept in this game brings that decades-old sameness to the fore and makes New SMB Wii the least essential Mario title to date.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 115
  2. Negative: 10 out of 115
  1. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I've ever gotten for the wii. I really don't understand all those negative reviews. the multiplayer is awesome and putting the two toads as playable characters was a nice touch. Nintendo, you've done it again!!! Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    one most fun mario game that i have ever enjoyed
    new super mario bros wii has mario back in 2d and yes 2d not a 3d super mario game but a 2d
    again, this has one fun moments ever bring new things like toad houses and saving items to use them later i had alot fun using the wii remote for this game Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  4. old_skool_gamer151
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    This game really lives up to the title. I love the new controls on this how it has the basic buttons but adds in the occasional shaking and tilting to achieve goals. Nintendo has kept the great aspects of the old mario platforms but added new powerups like the propeller hat and penguin suit (very funny and cool). The 4 player multiplayer is really fun and crazy. The only downside is how you sometimes feel you're playing your old super nintendo again. But overall the game has great gameplay and just really fun overall. Mario fans will not be dissapointed by this. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    Playing this game with your friend is just awesome. Single player is pretty cool, but multiplayer mode kicks ass. The classic mario bros side scrolling game on NES now is on Wii. Play it on multiplayer, I recommend.
    Still, after lots of stages, the game starts to get boring...call a friend and make it better ;)
    Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a solid 2D Mario game but it fails to capture the magic of previous Super Mario Bros. games, It is fairly challenging but I wouldn't say it's hard. The gameplay is great with very good controls using the Wii Remote held sideways, the game has a great amount of content that can be enjoyed solo or with up to 4 people and is definitely worth playing for any Mario fan but if you are looking for the best 2D Mario game to play, You would be better off playing New Super Mario Bros. U or Super Mario Bros. 3/Super Mario World. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2011
    0
    hello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he had only just learnt the controls. he only lost 7 lives in the hole game!! i am really sorry for anyone who has got this game if you play it you must always be really bored - if i were you i would get cooking mama 2 if you are a girl or star wars 2 if you are a boy. if you are a parent or have a younger relative who has this game dispose of it immediately other wise they will get sucked into a world of boringnes and will NEVER stop complaining and if you are thinking of buying this for someone - think again because you are wasting your time! that is all thank you for reading this. Collapse

See all 115 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.
  2. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.