No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle continues the tale of punk anti-hero Travis Touchdown, the Japanese anime Otaku, and pro wrestling-obsessed assassin. Travis finds himself at the bottom of the UAA (United Assassins Association) rankings and must wage war to become the No. 1 assassin onceNo More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle continues the tale of punk anti-hero Travis Touchdown, the Japanese anime Otaku, and pro wrestling-obsessed assassin. Travis finds himself at the bottom of the UAA (United Assassins Association) rankings and must wage war to become the No. 1 assassin once again. The follow-up to the popular No More Heroes will offer fans infectious, fun gameplay that allows you to wield not just one, but two swords and face multiple bosses simultaneously in bigger-than-ever boss battles. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    A brilliantly twisted love letter to the videogame medium, scrawled in blood and pixels.
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    90
    A Suda51 game anyone can enjoy. [Mar 2010, p.44]
  3. 90
    Quirky, crass, and incredibly fun, Suda51's stylish sequel to 2008's No More Heroes slashes its way onto the Wii with even more boss battles, much-improved gameplay, and loads of worthwhile new content.
  4. Those that loved No More Heroes will really enjoy Desperate Struggle. The winning gameplay has been retained and polished for an even more enjoyable experience, and the changes made to the overall gameplay makes things a lot more accessible, quicker, and more fun overall.
  5. Same great dialogue and voice acting.
  6. The game's concessions to traditional game design make No More Heroes 2 a more palatable, satisfying experience. But in doing so, you feel Suda 51 and his team have moved away from Grasshopper's boisterous 'Punk's Not Dead' slogan.
  7. Fans of the original wanting to know where Travis has been will want to pick this up, while people new to the Suda 51 universe would be best at a rental.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    This game gets a 10 because of its simple, fun combat system, multiple boss fights, and one of the best messages ever given to the playerThis game gets a 10 because of its simple, fun combat system, multiple boss fights, and one of the best messages ever given to the player through gameplay alone, that revenge isn't all it's cut out to be. Expand
  2. LukeK.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    A stylized, hedonistic action game that people with the necessary sense of humor will truly appreciate. Epic yet absurd battles combine with A stylized, hedonistic action game that people with the necessary sense of humor will truly appreciate. Epic yet absurd battles combine with the hilariously self-aware dialogue to form a masterpiece. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    I have a hard time deciding if this is the best game on the Wii or the best game [period] GRAPHICS: Perfect. It feels like playing a cartoon-I have a hard time deciding if this is the best game on the Wii or the best game [period] GRAPHICS: Perfect. It feels like playing a cartoon- an awesome cartoon. Great style and greater cool factor. 10/10
    ADVENTURE: Travis Touchdown may be the greatest murdering sociopath hero ever. Every encounter feels epic. Every character is memorable. The minigames, humor, and mindblowing awesomeness of it all just cannot be praised enough. 10/10
    MECHANICS: Solid. Except for one part playing as Shinobu (jump puzzle/boss fight) I never had any problem with the controls. They were fun (Wiiiii) and intuitive. 9/10
    EXTRAS: Did I mention how awesome everything about this game is? Desperate Struggle embraced and ridiculed everything that is gamer/anime/dork culture. I could spend the next 4213 characters explaining how lights out fantastic this game is, but then you would be wasting time not playing it which would be a horrible loss. 11/10
    Expand
  4. MathewM
    Feb 12, 2010
    9
    I would give this a 10, but the fights kind of dragged on near the end. In one level, I was fighting henchmen in the same area for about 30 I would give this a 10, but the fights kind of dragged on near the end. In one level, I was fighting henchmen in the same area for about 30 minutes or possibly even an hour. I thought I had to do something to stop them from coming. It turned out that, no, I just had to keep fighting. It was annoying, But when I found out that I just had to keep fighting, It wasn't so bad. Enough of the bad and into the good now. The game has been improved in almost every way. The graphics, the fighting, and the pace in the game are all much better. Anyone who enjoyed the original MUST BUY THIS GAME! You will not regret it. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2016
    9
    jajajja que juego tan divertido... y un poco pervertido, me recuerda a las famosas peliculas de Kick-ass ya que este juego posee un humorjajajja que juego tan divertido... y un poco pervertido, me recuerda a las famosas peliculas de Kick-ass ya que este juego posee un humor negro vastante notable y el gameblay exelente Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    An excellent game and much improved than the original but unfortunately is a bit too short.But it has great fighting, strange but interestingAn excellent game and much improved than the original but unfortunately is a bit too short.But it has great fighting, strange but interesting characters and at times emotional.Great game and along with the original, there is nothing like it. Expand
  7. marcC
    Feb 18, 2010
    3
    I was going to give this game a solid 10 but for the absurd difficulty on shinobus mission in sweet mode. Im giving it a 3 Yeah it starts off I was going to give this game a solid 10 but for the absurd difficulty on shinobus mission in sweet mode. Im giving it a 3 Yeah it starts off great but in shinobus first mission in the game after you battle bad guys you have to destroy things to take out beams that block your progress you have all the time in the world and no eemies are coming at you but there is one device on a wall I can not hit with my range attack or upclose It takes several trys to jump from the perch you can climb onto to the perch accross from this final one and even when your accross from it your to low to hit it with a range attack and you cant reach it So apparently you have to jump at it and hit or So I was reading but I just can't do it. ALso you think your gonna get to fight 50 people cause after you beat the first guy your told your ranked number 51 But then you fight number 50 and 24 of hiss groupies all at once as one on one battle you win and are now ranked 25 after 2 more battles 4 in total your ranked 23 your told you will fight 12 opponenets but you only fight one opponent And I guess something happened to the other 11 cause all of a sudden you are ranked number 11 or 10 Yeah I forgot the ranking Then comes the shinobu mission which starts off awesome but reaches a point where you wish there was an easier mode than sweet. Yeah I don't mind getting my butt kicked by one of the bad guys but when I get my butt kicked by a puzzle well thats just annoying. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010