User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 210

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesG.
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    I haven't enjoyed a game this much since Ocarina of Time (and being disappointed with Twilight Princesses' ultimately linear game play, Okami comes as a real breath of fresh air). I hope to see more games following this challenge-reward formula. Highly recommended.
  2. ranran
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    Okami is an awesome game that gave me ~40 hours of giggling, near-crying, startled jumping, hectic activity, and overall amazement. Play it and see for yourself.
  3. JohnF
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Ok, I thought this game was awesome! I never even heard of the game at first and then one day one of my friends happens to rent it on PS2. I go over and try it out for a little, and the controls and how the game was setup seemed very good. Although the game went on for a long time, it had more thrills later on when you got in it. When it came out on Wii I bought it and yes at first I Ok, I thought this game was awesome! I never even heard of the game at first and then one day one of my friends happens to rent it on PS2. I go over and try it out for a little, and the controls and how the game was setup seemed very good. Although the game went on for a long time, it had more thrills later on when you got in it. When it came out on Wii I bought it and yes at first I totally had no sweet clue what to do and my artistic skills were poorly bad and we all no everyone isn't that good at drawing but some people are. I managed to get used to it and I managed to beat the game easily and got every single thing including the 100 stray beads. Anyways let's get to the point, the people who have rankings for this game of like 1 or 2 maybe even 3 or 4, well sheesh, this game isn't some sort of like fighting beserk, raging mode game where you swing the controller to your lifes content. Anyways, this deserves a ten and from what I hear from other sites of them making a sequel that doesn't have Amaterasu or "Shiranui," and it's only for the Nintendo DS. I hope they manage to do a sequel for the Wii because they won't do it for the PS2 because it's too old of a system now. I just hope since it came in Japan that they might be able to make a sequel with Amaterasu. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I have a lot of good video game ideas be poorly executed, this however was a good idea with GREAT execution. The environment was stunning and the combat seemed more graceful than violent. This has been the best game I've played in some time.
  5. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Even three years after I originally got it, I'm still playing this game. It's an absolute masterpiece that shows that a game's art style is often more important than how realistic the grass looks. This game, I mean work of art, is absolutely amazing. The environments are beautiful and a wonder to behold, enemies are original and always fun to fight. Customization is, initially, ratherEven three years after I originally got it, I'm still playing this game. It's an absolute masterpiece that shows that a game's art style is often more important than how realistic the grass looks. This game, I mean work of art, is absolutely amazing. The environments are beautiful and a wonder to behold, enemies are original and always fun to fight. Customization is, initially, rather poor, but once you beat the game, it rewards you with tons more options based on how well you've done, an excellent system that most games forget: Don't stick a carrot in front of the players face and tell them to go from point A to point B. Hide the carrot and encourage the player to explore and become immersed in the beautiful world. This is a masterpiece that has gone sorely unappreciated in mainstream gaming media, and deserves far more attention than it has gotten. Expand
  6. Ryan
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    Gameplay, visual-appeal, robust audio, clever-controls, genre-bending concepts are only the tip of the iceberg in this game. Many aspects surpass the Zelda series, (although it is obviously based heavily on that construct), and the only reason it doesn't receive that extra one mark from me is that I don't particularly like playing as a wolf! It's brilliant in every Gameplay, visual-appeal, robust audio, clever-controls, genre-bending concepts are only the tip of the iceberg in this game. Many aspects surpass the Zelda series, (although it is obviously based heavily on that construct), and the only reason it doesn't receive that extra one mark from me is that I don't particularly like playing as a wolf! It's brilliant in every important area and can only be treasured as a true unique gaming experience. Phenomenal. Expand
  7. TylerW.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    This is an amazing game. Anyone who has the chance should play this game. The graphics are beautiful and music is very in depth. Lots of humor and a good storyline to boot. Try this game its worth it.
  8. j0ma2_
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    If the most important for you is a 3D stunning graphic, this game is not for you. Otherwise, you must bow in front of the best adventure game I have played on PC or Wii. Excellent 2D graphics, traditional Chinese pictures style, and music integrated with the story. Smooth movement of your character that makes you feel as flexible as bamboo while you run, jump, charge or parry. Guaranteed If the most important for you is a 3D stunning graphic, this game is not for you. Otherwise, you must bow in front of the best adventure game I have played on PC or Wii. Excellent 2D graphics, traditional Chinese pictures style, and music integrated with the story. Smooth movement of your character that makes you feel as flexible as bamboo while you run, jump, charge or parry. Guaranteed lots of hours of playing. Puzzles are not too easy to bore the addictive player and they are not too difficult to exasperate de casual gamer. A must for everyone. Expand
  9. JohnC
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, with great graphics. Japanese quirky humor and all around fun. A must buy.
  10. MahirC.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    This is a brilliant game. I dare to say it's better than most Zelda titles. It's also pleasantly long and got TONS of things to do, if you feel like it. One of the best games ever!
  11. jojothehoboh
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Awesome, but not unbelievable. The cutscene at the beginning was ridiculously long and very boring with an extreme lack of color. Not only that, but the characters voices were like Japanese versions of banjo-kazooie speaking! Other than that, it was great with some original ideas and sweet graphics.
  12. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    This is, without a doubt, the greatest game I've ever played. Basically it takes what made Zelda: Ocarina of Time so great and makes it ten times better, longer and much more charming. Story, graphics and sound are al perfect. Game-play is near perfect (The Celestial Brush is sometimes unresponsive, but that's more a problem with the Wii Remote more than anything else). It's an absoluteThis is, without a doubt, the greatest game I've ever played. Basically it takes what made Zelda: Ocarina of Time so great and makes it ten times better, longer and much more charming. Story, graphics and sound are al perfect. Game-play is near perfect (The Celestial Brush is sometimes unresponsive, but that's more a problem with the Wii Remote more than anything else). It's an absolute joy to play, with loads of side quests and hidden goodies. In a world full of realistic looking Call of Duties and FIFAs, this stands out from the crowd and it's an absolute shame that it sold so few copies. I can't recommend it enough. Buy this or the HD re-release on PS3. Expand
  13. ConorL.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
  14. RP.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Love this game. Cool concept. Great with game for Wii.
  15. JohhnyC
    Apr 21, 2008
    6
    Great game. Bad port.
  16. Tonys
    Jan 18, 2010
    3
    Bah, I wanted to like this game so much. I played for 4 hours, the quit after the game made me break my wii mote all over the damn place. The painting scenes require way too much precision. I got to a part that makes you sit through a minute long cut scene, (why you can skip through all other cut scenes but not this one is beyond me) and then makes you draw little circles over fruit for Bah, I wanted to like this game so much. I played for 4 hours, the quit after the game made me break my wii mote all over the damn place. The painting scenes require way too much precision. I got to a part that makes you sit through a minute long cut scene, (why you can skip through all other cut scenes but not this one is beyond me) and then makes you draw little circles over fruit for about a minute. sounds easy right. HA. goddamned pos likes to accept half ass circles, and then completely ignore perfect circles, making you start over again. After my 5th retry I snapped. goodbye wii mote. Goodbye Crap game. Oh yeah, the fighting sucked too. Expand
  17. KenS
    Dec 4, 2009
    5
    Played for 15 hours, got bored after 3. Ultra repetitive, super easy. Why is this a 30 hours game?
  18. CarrieB
    Jul 8, 2009
    2
    I was enjoyed the game but gave up about 45 minutes into it when I couldn't advance. The brush strokes made the game completely aggravating. They have to be perfect otherwise they won't work and with the jumpiness of the remote this was near impossible. I play games to enjoy myself not to make me suicidal.
  19. DaveC.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    The game aside... does anyone else see the irony that two companies said the EXACT same thing about the game, yet Metacritic assigned a 100 to one, and a 94 to another?? Everything not in uppercase is identical, look- 1UP- (100) It's one of the few games TO overcome shaky fundamentals in light of an astonishingly engaging experience. Electronic Gaming Monthly- (94) STILL, it's The game aside... does anyone else see the irony that two companies said the EXACT same thing about the game, yet Metacritic assigned a 100 to one, and a 94 to another?? Everything not in uppercase is identical, look- 1UP- (100) It's one of the few games TO overcome shaky fundamentals in light of an astonishingly engaging experience. Electronic Gaming Monthly- (94) STILL, it's one of the few games THAT CAN overcome shaky fundamentals in light of an astonishingly engaging adventure. If this is the same review on two different media outlets, shouldn't that make it just one Metascore? Additionally, why is one a 100 and the other a 94 if it's the same review, word for word? Expand
  20. SkyeB
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This game is the true Zelda killer! The storyline with the mix of Japan's old folklores is the best, the graphics on this game is very phenomenal because of the use of traitional artworks from ancient Japan, and the soundtrack has a very good theme that matches game perfectly. Furthermore, Capcom did the best job ever since "Mega Man 2". Nintendo should just retire the "Zelda" series This game is the true Zelda killer! The storyline with the mix of Japan's old folklores is the best, the graphics on this game is very phenomenal because of the use of traitional artworks from ancient Japan, and the soundtrack has a very good theme that matches game perfectly. Furthermore, Capcom did the best job ever since "Mega Man 2". Nintendo should just retire the "Zelda" series immediately because of the last 5 failed me miserable and "spirit Tracks" gonna flunked big time and the new "Zelda" game for Wii is first-class butt-ugly fake that Nintendo cooks-up ever since. Expand
  21. SwizzT.
    Oct 22, 2008
    1
    I have a big problem with this game, seeing as the PS2 version was one of the best looking, most playable games I ever saw on that console. I got the Wii version and couldn't wait to play it only to find that the graphics looked washed out and seemed to have lost their 3D 'look' and bad graphical jitters in places... and this was in the first 30 seconds of playing the game. I have a big problem with this game, seeing as the PS2 version was one of the best looking, most playable games I ever saw on that console. I got the Wii version and couldn't wait to play it only to find that the graphics looked washed out and seemed to have lost their 3D 'look' and bad graphical jitters in places... and this was in the first 30 seconds of playing the game. The worst thing of all though is that I can't even draw the with the brush to gain the first power! No matter how many times I try and draw, it looks like my brush stroke at the beginning doesn't even register on the screen. This is apart from the fact that my brush jumps all around the screen at times? Have I a bust Wiimote? All in all, I've had to use all my self control to not Frisbee my game disc out of the window. Has anyone else had similar issues, especially with the brush controls? Expand
  22. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    Let me get one thing straight. I LOVE OKAMI!!! the game is great its a perfect 10 on any other console BUT the Wii. Get it it for the PS2 or the HD version for the PS3 or any other console that lets you use a controller and not some thing like the Wiimote. The Wiimote just kills this game and makes it virtually unplayable This game is not ment toi be played with a motion controller
  23. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    absolutly sensational gameplay mixed with the awesome story. However, combat mostly sucks, its a PORT, and drawing with wiimote is dumb, getting a 91%
  24. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    ell as I first heard of this game being better than Zelda, I got very curious about it. But as much as I tried to love this game or even to like it I couldn't come along with it. I mean it has some cool gameplay mechanics and the graphics looks good (except for the washed-out effects which made my eyes going crazy !) but after only a couple of minutes it became repetitive and boring. Iell as I first heard of this game being better than Zelda, I got very curious about it. But as much as I tried to love this game or even to like it I couldn't come along with it. I mean it has some cool gameplay mechanics and the graphics looks good (except for the washed-out effects which made my eyes going crazy !) but after only a couple of minutes it became repetitive and boring. I cannot understand how many people can argue that this game is in some opinions even better than a Zelda game.
    I don't know, but for me this game shows us once more how high the bars of The Legend of Zelda franchise really are. Don't get me wrong, I like Okami (otherwise I never would gave it a 6) but to say that this game is at the same (or even higher) level as Zelda is downright wrong. It's a good game on its own..So don't compare it to Zelda...a franchise which now last over 25 years !!

    Bottom line = Good Game with lots of very good aspects (gameplay, graphics and music), but after a while it gets repetitive and tyring. I would say give it a shot!
    Expand
  25. Jan 28, 2015
    0
    I'm not sure why everyone likes this game so much. Graphics are okay, but the character sound for dialog is way too annoying, all that repeated chirping of the same sounds over and over and over. Also, the Power Strike or whatever, seriously, does the line have to be perfect? Like immaculately perfect in order to use the move? I much prefer a button mash, smack down than a prissy "draw theI'm not sure why everyone likes this game so much. Graphics are okay, but the character sound for dialog is way too annoying, all that repeated chirping of the same sounds over and over and over. Also, the Power Strike or whatever, seriously, does the line have to be perfect? Like immaculately perfect in order to use the move? I much prefer a button mash, smack down than a prissy "draw the line and even if the line looks fine it won't work cause the game didn't even recognize you did something." Mind you, I unfortunately rented the Wii version which, as I understand it, practically ruined the playability. Based on WII performance, if I could give a negative score on this I would chose negative 1 million for my trouble. Thank the universe I only rented it free from a library and only wasted my time and not money. Bottom line, if you like the PS version stay with that. Wii bombed on this one. Expand
  26. PhilipD.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Literally. Lots of fun, works well on the Wii once you get used to doing the brush strokes. Great music, great graphics, a LOT to like. Very cool, and likely to appeal to Zelda fans.
  27. ColinC
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Loved this game! Love the controls, although yes, using the wii remote to control the paintbrush did take a couple of hours to get used to. Not bad considering I put in over 50 hours to the game. The story is epic. Just when you think it's done, it goes and get bigger and bigger. Graphics? On my 65" widescreen with component cables, it was absolutely beautiful. I breezed through most Loved this game! Love the controls, although yes, using the wii remote to control the paintbrush did take a couple of hours to get used to. Not bad considering I put in over 50 hours to the game. The story is epic. Just when you think it's done, it goes and get bigger and bigger. Graphics? On my 65" widescreen with component cables, it was absolutely beautiful. I breezed through most of the combat, but still I always find it fun. And the bosses are a definite high-point. If you haven't played it yet, then go and give it a try. Now I'm off to pick up Fallout 3. Expand
  28. VianyteX
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    If you love Action-Adventure games like The Legend of Zelda then you should love this as its very simular (and in my opinion: Better!). If you love cartoony art style, Japanese culture and wolves then you would proabably love this even more. Or if you're looking for something new and original (Even if you have played a lot of Zelda games) then Okami is a great game to play. For me If you love Action-Adventure games like The Legend of Zelda then you should love this as its very simular (and in my opinion: Better!). If you love cartoony art style, Japanese culture and wolves then you would proabably love this even more. Or if you're looking for something new and original (Even if you have played a lot of Zelda games) then Okami is a great game to play. For me this is by far my favourite game on the Wii and my favourite game of all time. Okami does have some RPG elements to it but i would class it as Action-Adventure. The game is very based off ancient Japanese culture which is fantastic for me as i don't know much about it and find it really interesting. The graphics are the best i've seen in a game ever. The Wii controls suit the game perfectly and you shouldn't really be having any problems with it. The game even gives you tips for drawing something tricky like a straight line which really help. The characters are well presented, full of personality and easy to get attached to. Even Amaterasu (The white wolf) has a better personality than most characters (I'm looking at Link and Mario) and can't even talk. Issun is also a great character and is hilarious too. What he says about the Priestess's breasts is worth quoting. The storyline is quite simple but quite well thought out and decent. There are many twists and things to keep the game exciting. The game is quite easy for someone who plays games a lot (AKA "Hardcore gamer") but isn't bothersome. Its one of the only 2 flaws in the game that i can think of. The other is that there should have been more monsters. I know that Japanese culture has absolutely loads of monsters. Probably more than all the other cultures in the rest of the world put together. Seeing more of these in Okami would have been awesome. There are still a lot (more than Zelda) but i would have liked more. The Bosses however are probably the best i have ever seen in a game. They are all unique and interesting and some of them even have personalities of their own! My favourite of them is the last one, which helps make one of the best game endings ever. I could go on a lot longer why Okami is so good but you, YES YOU! Need to buy it for yourself and give it a go if you haven't already. Ignore Johhny C, it is a fantastic port. I think the Wii version is actually better than the PS2 version. If you have a Wii or a PS2 then buy it. You are missing out on such an Amazing Game. Expand
  29. BrianM.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    awesome game. But more importantly did the reviewer from electronic gaming monthly literally copy the 1up review. They say the same thing with the exception of one word! see for yourself
  30. MMorris
    Apr 17, 2008
    8
    PS2 version was great. Controller has helped immensely. I don't care what the reviews said, the controller on PS2 was inadequate for Ukiyo-e (Edo) ink painting. as a painter would have inked their works such as in the movie "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", painting was done as a form, and wiimote makes that STYLE believable. "The Sun Goddess Amaterasu is considered Shinto's PS2 version was great. Controller has helped immensely. I don't care what the reviews said, the controller on PS2 was inadequate for Ukiyo-e (Edo) ink painting. as a painter would have inked their works such as in the movie "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", painting was done as a form, and wiimote makes that STYLE believable. "The Sun Goddess Amaterasu is considered Shinto's most important kami" japan-guide.com History is the greatest story EVER told, and Ameratsu was not a "dog" when I first read about any history of Japan (Nippon). Expand
  31. BradleyB.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    The gameplay is amazing, the storyline epic. Using the Wiimote to control the celestial brush is much faster than using the analog stick on the ps2 version. So much so, that you will inevitably find yourself using the brush a lot more often in this incarnation. The only gripes I have about the version in its entirety are: 1) The lack of voice acting. Reading the text while listening to The gameplay is amazing, the storyline epic. Using the Wiimote to control the celestial brush is much faster than using the analog stick on the ps2 version. So much so, that you will inevitably find yourself using the brush a lot more often in this incarnation. The only gripes I have about the version in its entirety are: 1) The lack of voice acting. Reading the text while listening to the mumbling sounds in the background really detracts from the mood... It is especially distracting when the fantastic musical score is drowned out by the non-sensical mumbling. This flaw was present in the original though, so I would still rate this version higher than its predecessor. 2) The D-pad allows you to control the camera, but occasionally it feels as if the camera rotation speed is just too slow to be effective. Those flaws aside, I believe this to be a must buy for every core gamer that owns a Wii console. (unless of course you still own the ps2 version). Expand
  32. ZackB
    Apr 28, 2008
    8
    If ever there were a prime candidate for the argument of "games are art", then Okami would safely secure itself at the forefront of this debate. This game proves to be an exercise in adept game design - it integrates refreshing game-play mechanics with visuals so majestic, you could swear you were interacting with a Van Gogh painting sprung to life. A charming narrative helps propel the If ever there were a prime candidate for the argument of "games are art", then Okami would safely secure itself at the forefront of this debate. This game proves to be an exercise in adept game design - it integrates refreshing game-play mechanics with visuals so majestic, you could swear you were interacting with a Van Gogh painting sprung to life. A charming narrative helps propel the game forward. Goddess', magical astral brushes, and talking animals are the norm in this quirky tale. Something about this game's world is absolutely enrapturing. Not since watching Hayao Miyazaki's "Spirited Away" have I been so compelled to experience every beautifully crafted second the work had to offer. If you have any interest at all in adventure titles -- especially those that manage to incorporate original ideas -- then do yourself a favor, and purchase this game posthaste! Expand
  33. MatthewL.
    Jun 7, 2008
    8
    This was very, very good, but it isn't a "Zelda Killer" in the least. A few brush strokes feel gimmicky, and there are not very many puzzles in this game. That and the game was extremely easy. All in all, worth its $40. But at the other Zelda game for $50, you get what you pay for.
  34. MikaH.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    I really loved this game once it came out for PS2 and I still love playing it on my Wii! Graphics are still awesome and the new controls just rock!
  35. AndrewC.
    Jul 9, 2008
    8
    I am not a big "Zelda-Style" game fan. This had some twists that make it unique and fun. The controls are a little frustrating at times but after playing for awhile the controls become smooth and almost flawless.
  36. AlexR.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Let me say this, if you love the Legend of Zelda series definentally try this game. And for the some of you who never have picked up a Zelda game yet, stil try this amazing game. The overall art and storytelling of this game is incredible (and sometimes humorous in a good way) and this is personally one of my favorite Wii games. The ONLY flaw I see in the Wii version is that "brush Let me say this, if you love the Legend of Zelda series definentally try this game. And for the some of you who never have picked up a Zelda game yet, stil try this amazing game. The overall art and storytelling of this game is incredible (and sometimes humorous in a good way) and this is personally one of my favorite Wii games. The ONLY flaw I see in the Wii version is that "brush stroking" is a little more difficult then say the PS2 version but it's quite the minor, unoccasional flaw that can be overlooked. Expand
  37. GrantC.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    I beat this game yesterday, and in all my life, the only better game I've ever played is Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The story is flawless. The motion controls work perfectly with the original modern classic, The graphics were a work of art, truly breathtaking. I can't recommend this game highly enough.
  38. JordanG
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. An inspiring art style, epic storyline and great gameplay. Only problem I have with it are the badly translated combat controls on the Wii. The paintbrush works great but the combat controls can be an issue, but leave no negative impact on the overall play of the game. It's too good
  39. JohnB
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    Okami is a great game by it's own right, but not as immersive as the greatest true Zelda games. Nearly every aspect of this game has polished near perfection. Somehow, i still felt that the game was lacking "something". Sidequests were pretty annoying and not fun, and Amaterasu's "funny" sidekick Issun was a total jerk. Some of the boss fights were truly awesome, but the final Okami is a great game by it's own right, but not as immersive as the greatest true Zelda games. Nearly every aspect of this game has polished near perfection. Somehow, i still felt that the game was lacking "something". Sidequests were pretty annoying and not fun, and Amaterasu's "funny" sidekick Issun was a total jerk. Some of the boss fights were truly awesome, but the final boss, oversized superball, was a major dissapointment. I'm still inclined to give this game a 10, since it does so many things right, and looks and sounds beautiful. Expand
  40. [Anonymous]
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    Best adventure-rpg on the Wii with Zelda.
  41. ParkerG.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    This game was basically the Legend of Zelda for the PS2, and now that it's here on the Wii, people are gonna go nuts!!! Awesome Game!!!
  42. PaulD.
    Apr 21, 2008
    8
    This game is beautiful. The graphics are vibrant and the style, mimicking Japanese watercolor, is breathtaking. A 40 plus hour adventure of Zelda-like proportions gives you a definite bang for your buck. The only gripe I have is with the controls which can be downright frustrating at times. However, for such an epic game chockful of visual artistry and funny dialouge I can overlook the This game is beautiful. The graphics are vibrant and the style, mimicking Japanese watercolor, is breathtaking. A 40 plus hour adventure of Zelda-like proportions gives you a definite bang for your buck. The only gripe I have is with the controls which can be downright frustrating at times. However, for such an epic game chockful of visual artistry and funny dialouge I can overlook the brush controls. I definitely recommend it for any serious gamer who doesn't own the ps2 version. Expand
  43. AnonymousMC
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    One of the best games out for the Wii, and possibly any console (except the PS2, where it originated). Some of the controls take a little gettting used to, like the combat, but with the Wii-Mote drawing is fast and easy. This game got passed by once, let's hope it doesn't happen again.
  44. MarkH
    Jul 26, 2008
    10
    Great Game! One of my favorite titles on the wii. It uses the wii remote brilliantly. There are many fun puzzles and lots of action. However, my favorite part about this game is all the sidequests you can do. I spent about 10-15 hours just completing the many different and entertaining sidequests. A game that was equal to Zelda Twilight Princess, if not a little better, and also very Great Game! One of my favorite titles on the wii. It uses the wii remote brilliantly. There are many fun puzzles and lots of action. However, my favorite part about this game is all the sidequests you can do. I spent about 10-15 hours just completing the many different and entertaining sidequests. A game that was equal to Zelda Twilight Princess, if not a little better, and also very similar. Another thing that makes this game great is the plot. It is much more interesting and intriguing than the plot of every single zelda game (Save Zelda from Ganondorf). Of course there is the breath-taking graphics that come along with the game. Expand
  45. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    I find it impossible not to fall in love with Okami, the Wii is a perfect fit for the celestial brush, with a unique and splendid character design, with rich, vibrant enviroments and a massive game with plenty of content to un-earth. Awesome graphics, unqiue gameplay- whats not to like?
  46. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Like stepping into a Hayao Miyazaki film. Beautiful, epic, heartwarming and uplifting, Okami is one of the greatest games ever made. It is incredibly sad that the game was overlooked by so many.
  47. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    In a generation filled with classics like God of war, Resident evil 4, Shadow of the colossus, Prince of persia the sands of time, Ico and such, one game stood out for me and turned not only into my favourite game last gen but also into my favourite game of all time. Okami is everything I have ever looked for in a game and then some. The art style and graphics are still the best i haveIn a generation filled with classics like God of war, Resident evil 4, Shadow of the colossus, Prince of persia the sands of time, Ico and such, one game stood out for me and turned not only into my favourite game last gen but also into my favourite game of all time. Okami is everything I have ever looked for in a game and then some. The art style and graphics are still the best i have ever seen in a game. The game is like a huge beautiful painting that can be considered a masterpiece. The story is very interesting and the game is really long( about 40 hours). the characters and dialog are absoloutly fantastic and the music is like nothing you have ever heard. The soundtrack consists of 4 cds!, it just shows you the composers really worked hard for this game. The gameplay is also unique in ways I cannot explain. I can talk about the game for hours and write many pages but all I need to say is that Okami gave me the best gaming experience of my life, and had my crying and laughing. It amazed me from start to finish and I have played through it 3 times now. If you ever thought videogames can be an art form then Okami is one of your best examples. Shadow of the colossus did it, POP: The sands of time did it, but Okami did it better then them all and it is, without a doubt, a classic and my favourite game of all time. In case you were wondering, yes you should get this game( if you haven't allready) for either the wii or the ps2, the experience is still perfect and memorable for the ages. Masterful. Expand
  48. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    I don't really like Japanese designs, i don't really like Japanese cliches, but this game oh god you just have to play it, gorgeous and fun from start to finish, and off course Amaterasu is one of the best video game characters ever
  49. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    I feel my previous review was unsatisfactory so here we go. When I played this game the first time, I didn't think it was anything special. But when I decided to replay it, it quickly became one of my favourite games of all time! Everything about this game is amazing: the art-style, the music (which is probably my favourite aspect of the game!), the areas, the characters being some of myI feel my previous review was unsatisfactory so here we go. When I played this game the first time, I didn't think it was anything special. But when I decided to replay it, it quickly became one of my favourite games of all time! Everything about this game is amazing: the art-style, the music (which is probably my favourite aspect of the game!), the areas, the characters being some of my most memorable, the storyline, the main character(wolves are my favourite animal after playing this game!), the mythology behind this game, the powers (climbing up walls? HELL YEAH! Slowing down the very fabric of time!? SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!), the sidequests and the overall attention to detail. While the Celestial Brush can be a bit finicky, it really isn't that big of an issue of a truly AMAZING game! Witness the magic of Okami yourself by playing it on PS2, Wii or the PS3 HD version! Expand
  50. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Hands down the single best game on the Wii system, and my personal favorite game of all time. A joy to play from start to finish - and well beyond the finish. There is just so much to do in this game.
  51. May 27, 2011
    10
    I give Okami all ten. Great story plot, incredible cell coloring graphics, and a lil humor makes this a must adventure game. I haven't seen anyone of it's kind and wish Clover could continue their line of work.

    For the Wii, I wish they would add bonus stuff (considering it's a console transfer from the PS2) and kept the credits (of course, liability issues prevented it). But otherwise, I
    I give Okami all ten. Great story plot, incredible cell coloring graphics, and a lil humor makes this a must adventure game. I haven't seen anyone of it's kind and wish Clover could continue their line of work.

    For the Wii, I wish they would add bonus stuff (considering it's a console transfer from the PS2) and kept the credits (of course, liability issues prevented it). But otherwise, I would forever say: This game is the only one I would keep to play forever, aside from the golden aged SNES/PS1/N64 times.
    Expand
  52. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    "Oh how many times have I played through this game and loved it every time?" You were expecting a response like that right? Well, my actual feelings are very similar and I do love the game, in fact, it's one of the most beautiful games in my Library. Course that's obvious since it's mostly littered with James bond games, Mario, Sonic, and Zelda titles, but I digress.

    The story gets a
    "Oh how many times have I played through this game and loved it every time?" You were expecting a response like that right? Well, my actual feelings are very similar and I do love the game, in fact, it's one of the most beautiful games in my Library. Course that's obvious since it's mostly littered with James bond games, Mario, Sonic, and Zelda titles, but I digress.

    The story gets a 10/10: I love it when a company takes REAL folklore and makes a REAL story from it, true Legend Of Zelda is an epic series, but there's not much truth to it. A good story could benefit from a few facts from real life. Even Naruto, the most overrated anime series ever has some real facts. (The ninja handseals are based on the mantra handseals that monks used during meditation according to the official wikapidia) As far as this game goes, it's a lovely story, and all the characters are unique and fun in their own way. I especially like Susano, that goofy guy, always sleeping while ammy is working her furry tail off to save the day~

    Controls: 8/10:
    The wii controls are a bit wonky, but once you get the hang of them it's quite alright. There's no massive button mashing required, as apposed to a fighting or action game. Just keep your eyes pealed during combat and your reactions sharp.

    Dungeons: 9/10: Not since Ocarina of Time have I puzzled myself to get through a dungeon, let alone a single room in some dungeon. However there are some minor repetitive tasks in these dungeons. The game could use some more applications of the paintbrush powers in the next Consol release if any. Using the same brush power over and over in the same dungeon gets stale after a while. But it doesn't harm the gameplay experiance any.

    Bosses: 6/10
    Here's the real let down, if you're a hardcore zelda fanatic, these bosses will pose little to no threat to your life meter. Of course, these bosses at least don't shove their "open face sandwitch" weakspots on you in their opening cutscene, as opposed to those of the Zelda series. All in all the bosses are fun to fight, and the designs are cool, though the minimal number of human-like bosses discourages me a bit. Fighting freakishly oversized creatures and even the occasional dragon is fun, but a human with supernatural powers can be just as threatening, especially in a game like this. Though not entirely needed for a game to be great, it would make a nice change of pace. Overall score: 9.5 /10
    Like I said, this game is epic as hell, if you love sprawling fields, massive bosses, and epic Sound Tracks, be sure to pick this one up. I promise you won't be disappointed in the least bit. I really hope my review helped your decision on getting this game. most reveiws focus on either the positive or negitive parts of a game. So I hoped to focus on a little of both sides of the story. ^+^
    Expand
  53. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    Many great points already made. Game has a lot of promise and is very innovative and interesting mechanics, but the Wii kills it. I've been trying out a Wii in the past couple months and trying out just about everything, and the unfortunate conclusion I've come to is that the main computer itself is solid and smart -- it's value-conscious and has forced devs to value aesthetics over howMany great points already made. Game has a lot of promise and is very innovative and interesting mechanics, but the Wii kills it. I've been trying out a Wii in the past couple months and trying out just about everything, and the unfortunate conclusion I've come to is that the main computer itself is solid and smart -- it's value-conscious and has forced devs to value aesthetics over how many gritty-brown pixels they can shove in. This is best shown in Okami which has some of the most fantastic cel-shading graphics I've yet seen. The Wiimote, however - as has been mentioned - just doesn't have many practical applications outside of point-and-shoot, and that is also very clearly demonstrated in Okami. My God -- there's a mechanic where you hunt "wanted" monsters and when you kill one, you have to cross out the name. It took me 10-20x more time to draw a line through a name precisely right than kill the monster. This is a common problem -- the Wiimote should never be used for drawing. Ever.

    A much less frustrating problem is how broken the game seems after bombs are introduced. Combat was already very easy, but bombs cause incredible damage, cost virtually nothing, have large range, and can be deployed precisely at long range. I can't believe the devs introduced that, tested it, had professional testers test this, and then left it in as-is. It breaks the game.

    The story is sometimes a little heavy in a bad way, but it's broken up with some witty and what I imagine was pretty time-intensive dialogue broken up with novel animations, breaks in music, and character depth. The story is overall charming, though having a small bug-wisp-man threaten to reside in a god's kimono if not rewarded is just a bit beyond "the line."

    Very much recommend others give it a go, and very much hope if the devs do something like this again, skip a lot of the "drawing" mechanics which add nothing but frustration to the game (such as having to draw a line through the names of monsters you've killed).
    Collapse
  54. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games, the reason I bought a Wii and one of the video games that really supports the whole 'video games are art' argument. I love the Japanese traditional folk tales and the characters from them as well as those from the Shinto religion. This game made was the reason i went to a summer program to learn Japanese and about Japanese culture. Changed my life.
  55. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    CApcom is one of the greatest video game companies of all time and this game is one of their best, sure it is a bit confusing at first but then it just got addicting.
  56. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing game. It's the same game on PS2 but the Wiimote gives a nice addition to the gameplay and it doesn't feel forced at all. The only bad thing it's that the Wiimote's precision it's not perfect, but not bad at all. Expand
  57. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Out. Standing. This game is one of the best adventure games ever. The brush techniques work like a dream, it looks gorgeous, the story is humourous and very interesting. Everything is beautiful and brilliant. As close to perfection as possible in a game.
  58. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Although it's true that the brushwork requires frustrating precision at times, and the story scenes can be a little over-indulgent, the general gameplay is superb. I didn't know there could be a life after Zelda... but Okami comes very close. In 2011, it's cheap to buy, and with all the intrigues, mini missions and battle style, it will definitely keep Zelda-lovers interested (and yourAlthough it's true that the brushwork requires frustrating precision at times, and the story scenes can be a little over-indulgent, the general gameplay is superb. I didn't know there could be a life after Zelda... but Okami comes very close. In 2011, it's cheap to buy, and with all the intrigues, mini missions and battle style, it will definitely keep Zelda-lovers interested (and your partner hating your guts!) for a few weeks, if not months. Love this game. Expand
  59. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    Okami may take some getting used to, but is a diverse adventure, full of power ups, stylized art and a clearly Japanese influence. Game play is long, but does not typically fill monotonous. I entered the game unsure of what to expect, and soon felt emerged into a world were the service I gave those around me seemed oddly fulfilling.

    For the most part, the controls are fun to use and the
    Okami may take some getting used to, but is a diverse adventure, full of power ups, stylized art and a clearly Japanese influence. Game play is long, but does not typically fill monotonous. I entered the game unsure of what to expect, and soon felt emerged into a world were the service I gave those around me seemed oddly fulfilling.

    For the most part, the controls are fun to use and the game is enjoyable. I spent time testing the different ways I could jump, and getting my attacks timed for the most damage. However, the one thing that did disappoint me was the brush. Though much smoother in certain aspects than I expected, it can be unforgiving at times.

    What is clearly a circle to you and me, may not be picked up as such by the engine, requiring several attempts, adjustments etc. When timing is factor, this can be frustrating, especially if you shake. As such, I would advise those without steady hands to avoid this game. Additionally, I would advise every to stay away from getting the dodge move, it does not work as intended.
    Expand
  60. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    The paint brush controls, implemented with motion control, were for me at the time I picked this game up for dirt-cheap the best new thing I'd played in awhile. Probably the best experience I had with motion control games and I'd had a little bit of fun on both the Wii and Kinect. Oddly this game wasn't even made for the Wii originally but the new twist was welcome. It would be nice to seeThe paint brush controls, implemented with motion control, were for me at the time I picked this game up for dirt-cheap the best new thing I'd played in awhile. Probably the best experience I had with motion control games and I'd had a little bit of fun on both the Wii and Kinect. Oddly this game wasn't even made for the Wii originally but the new twist was welcome. It would be nice to see a follow-up to this game but even if there isn't one Okami will have a fond place in my gaming memory for a long time to come. Expand
  61. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Okami is a very creative and enjoyable game. The graphics are gorgeous, the music is amazing, and the game's creativity never fails to impress. The use of brush techniques (especially with the wii-mote) is intuitive and responsive. At times, it can get a little repetitive, however this occurs very rarely.
    It's a very fresh and creative game worthy of anyone's time.
  62. May 8, 2013
    9
    Okami is a amazing game, The gameplay is alot of fun, The characters are memorable, The visuals are breathtaking, The soundtrack is great, And it is better than any Zelda game released on the Nintendo Wii. That's sad by the way Nintendo..., The clone of a Zelda game is better than both Zelda games on your console...) It's an amazing experience, I recomend it to anyone that likes adventure games
  63. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    The best video game in the last decade. Period.
    Okami does the impossible, matching Ocarina of TIme stride for stride to become the second greatest game ever made. There is not a single fault in this game and as I made my way through I wondered to myself if we would ever see something as amazing as this ever again. There were 8 years between Ocarina and Okami, so maybe something great
    The best video game in the last decade. Period.
    Okami does the impossible, matching Ocarina of TIme stride for stride to become the second greatest game ever made. There is not a single fault in this game and as I made my way through I wondered to myself if we would ever see something as amazing as this ever again. There were 8 years between Ocarina and Okami, so maybe something great will be coming soon.
    Expand
  64. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    Great game, graphics are beautifully painted, gameplay is solid and I have fallen in love with the games amazing characters, and the story is very interesting neat and interesting, Very solid and a must buy.
  65. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this game! the Japanese mythology is great for a storyline, and stays true to the source material. the art style makes it look like you're playing a japanese painting. not to mention Amaterasu is a complete badass. she rips through enemies like they were nothing, and is extremely agile. she has a wide variety of abilities, including double jumps, the ability to sprint,I absolutely LOVE this game! the Japanese mythology is great for a storyline, and stays true to the source material. the art style makes it look like you're playing a japanese painting. not to mention Amaterasu is a complete badass. she rips through enemies like they were nothing, and is extremely agile. she has a wide variety of abilities, including double jumps, the ability to sprint, and the brush techniques which lend her the power of the other gods. also, issun (the help character) is a lot less annoying than navi. (even though i'm patient and it doesn't really bother me) Expand
  66. Jul 3, 2011
    0
    Many great points already made. Game has a lot of promise and is very innovative and interesting mechanics, but the Wii kills it. I've been trying out a Wii in the past couple months and trying out just about everything, and the unfortunate conclusion I've come to is that the main computer itself is solid and smart -- it's value-conscious and has forced devs to value aesthetics over howMany great points already made. Game has a lot of promise and is very innovative and interesting mechanics, but the Wii kills it. I've been trying out a Wii in the past couple months and trying out just about everything, and the unfortunate conclusion I've come to is that the main computer itself is solid and smart -- it's value-conscious and has forced devs to value aesthetics over how many gritty-brown pixels they can shove in. This is best shown in Okami which has some of the most fantastic cel-shading graphics I've yet seen. The Wiimote, however - as has been mentioned - just doesn't have many practical applications outside of point-and-shoot, and that is also very clearly demonstrated in Okami. My God -- there's a mechanic where you hunt "wanted" monsters and when you kill one, you have to cross out the name. It took me 10-20x more time to draw a line through a name precisely right than kill the monster. This is a common problem -- the Wiimote should never be used for drawing. Ever.

    A much less frustrating problem is how broken the game seems after bombs are introduced. Combat was already very easy, but bombs cause incredible damage, cost virtually nothing, have large range, and can be deployed precisely at long range. I can't believe the devs introduced that, tested it, had professional testers test this, and then left it in as-is. It breaks the game.

    The story is sometimes a little heavy in a bad way, but it's broken up with some witty and what I imagine was pretty time-intensive dialogue broken up with novel animations, breaks in music, and character depth. The story is overall charming, though having a small bug-wisp-man threaten to reside in a god's kimono if not rewarded is just a bit beyond "the line."

    Very much recommend others give it a go, and very much hope if the devs do something like this again, skip a lot of the "drawing" mechanics which add nothing but frustration to the game (such as having to draw a line through the names of monsters you've killed).
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 80
    This is a marvelous game in terms of artistry, sound, and yes, even gameplay, despite being hamstrung by the poorly implemented Celestial Brush controls. Despite the headaches you'll undoubtedly experience, it's still worth playing Okami on your Nintendo Wii.
  2. 100
    Unique and captivating characters await you at every flower laden step. From combat to exploration, every action rewards the player with items, experience, or another breathtaking look at this gorgeous world.
  3. A must-have title for anyone who has ever loved a Zelda game, a Clover Studio game, or any time-intensive 3D adventure game. The only people I would advise against buying Okami are those on the extreme left or extreme right of the "casual/hardcore" gamer divide.