Okami Wii

Okami Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Okami tells the story of a mythical sun god who sets out to restore a dismal world, decimating the forces of evil who stand in the way by commanding the elements and mythical abilities the deity possesses. Mixing Japanese folklore and a stunning traditional Japanese art style, players mustOkami tells the story of a mythical sun god who sets out to restore a dismal world, decimating the forces of evil who stand in the way by commanding the elements and mythical abilities the deity possesses. Mixing Japanese folklore and a stunning traditional Japanese art style, players must utilize an inventive control scheme to overcome the challenges and evil that await. By enhancing the unique gameplay, visual style and story line of Okami with the control of the Wii Remote, it is sure to be the ultimate version of the game. Originally designed for the PS2 and released in 2006, Okami now comes alive in an entirely new way on the Wii with its visually stunning art style and beautiful scenic 3D levels that have the appearance and texture of paper scrolls brushed with watercolor-like calligraphy art. Throughout the vibrant and distinctive surroundings, players must use the Wii remote to interact with a dynamic world and cast of characters. The blend of stylized graphics, movements and unique gameplay will result in a rich and dynamic experience never seen before. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    Unique and captivating characters await you at every flower laden step. From combat to exploration, every action rewards the player with items, experience, or another breathtaking look at this gorgeous world.
  2. 97
    The Wii's best game to-date, if you'll just give it a chance to shine.
  3. While some minor control issues here blemish an otherwise flawless package, Okami remains one of the best games of recent years, if not of all time. It’s engaging, original, and a true work of art — Wii owners looking for a game worthy of their time need look no further.
  4. While we wait for new hardcore games, Okami is more than a satisfactory option.
  5. The journey to restore the world’s vitality is long and enjoyable, filled with memorable characters and scenes.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    89
    An excellent action adventure. It's suprisingly difficult to draw a straight line with wiimote, though. [June 2008]
  7. Nintendo Power
    75
    Okami is a work of genius, but you should play the original game instead of the Wii version if you can. [May 2008, p.88]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 72
  2. Negative: 4 out of 72
  1. JamesG.
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    I haven't enjoyed a game this much since Ocarina of Time (and being disappointed with Twilight Princesses' ultimately linear game I haven't enjoyed a game this much since Ocarina of Time (and being disappointed with Twilight Princesses' ultimately linear game play, Okami comes as a real breath of fresh air). I hope to see more games following this challenge-reward formula. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this game! the Japanese mythology is great for a storyline, and stays true to the source material. the art style makes itI absolutely LOVE this game! the Japanese mythology is great for a storyline, and stays true to the source material. the art style makes it look like you're playing a japanese painting. not to mention Amaterasu is a complete badass. she rips through enemies like they were nothing, and is extremely agile. she has a wide variety of abilities, including double jumps, the ability to sprint, and the brush techniques which lend her the power of the other gods. also, issun (the help character) is a lot less annoying than navi. (even though i'm patient and it doesn't really bother me) Collapse
  3. GrantC.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    I beat this game yesterday, and in all my life, the only better game I've ever played is Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The story isI beat this game yesterday, and in all my life, the only better game I've ever played is Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The story is flawless. The motion controls work perfectly with the original modern classic, The graphics were a work of art, truly breathtaking. I can't recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  4. j0ma2_
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    If the most important for you is a 3D stunning graphic, this game is not for you. Otherwise, you must bow in front of the best adventure game If the most important for you is a 3D stunning graphic, this game is not for you. Otherwise, you must bow in front of the best adventure game I have played on PC or Wii. Excellent 2D graphics, traditional Chinese pictures style, and music integrated with the story. Smooth movement of your character that makes you feel as flexible as bamboo while you run, jump, charge or parry. Guaranteed lots of hours of playing. Puzzles are not too easy to bore the addictive player and they are not too difficult to exasperate de casual gamer. A must for everyone. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    "Oh how many times have I played through this game and loved it every time?" You were expecting a response like that right? Well, my actual"Oh how many times have I played through this game and loved it every time?" You were expecting a response like that right? Well, my actual feelings are very similar and I do love the game, in fact, it's one of the most beautiful games in my Library. Course that's obvious since it's mostly littered with James bond games, Mario, Sonic, and Zelda titles, but I digress.

    The story gets a 10/10: I love it when a company takes REAL folklore and makes a REAL story from it, true Legend Of Zelda is an epic series, but there's not much truth to it. A good story could benefit from a few facts from real life. Even Naruto, the most overrated anime series ever has some real facts. (The ninja handseals are based on the mantra handseals that monks used during meditation according to the official wikapidia) As far as this game goes, it's a lovely story, and all the characters are unique and fun in their own way. I especially like Susano, that goofy guy, always sleeping while ammy is working her furry tail off to save the day~

    Controls: 8/10:
    The wii controls are a bit wonky, but once you get the hang of them it's quite alright. There's no massive button mashing required, as apposed to a fighting or action game. Just keep your eyes pealed during combat and your reactions sharp.

    Dungeons: 9/10: Not since Ocarina of Time have I puzzled myself to get through a dungeon, let alone a single room in some dungeon. However there are some minor repetitive tasks in these dungeons. The game could use some more applications of the paintbrush powers in the next Consol release if any. Using the same brush power over and over in the same dungeon gets stale after a while. But it doesn't harm the gameplay experiance any.

    Bosses: 6/10
    Here's the real let down, if you're a hardcore zelda fanatic, these bosses will pose little to no threat to your life meter. Of course, these bosses at least don't shove their "open face sandwitch" weakspots on you in their opening cutscene, as opposed to those of the Zelda series. All in all the bosses are fun to fight, and the designs are cool, though the minimal number of human-like bosses discourages me a bit. Fighting freakishly oversized creatures and even the occasional dragon is fun, but a human with supernatural powers can be just as threatening, especially in a game like this. Though not entirely needed for a game to be great, it would make a nice change of pace. Overall score: 9.5 /10
    Like I said, this game is epic as hell, if you love sprawling fields, massive bosses, and epic Sound Tracks, be sure to pick this one up. I promise you won't be disappointed in the least bit. I really hope my review helped your decision on getting this game. most reveiws focus on either the positive or negitive parts of a game. So I hoped to focus on a little of both sides of the story. ^+^
    Expand
  6. jojothehoboh
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Awesome, but not unbelievable. The cutscene at the beginning was ridiculously long and very boring with an extreme lack of color. Not only Awesome, but not unbelievable. The cutscene at the beginning was ridiculously long and very boring with an extreme lack of color. Not only that, but the characters voices were like Japanese versions of banjo-kazooie speaking! Other than that, it was great with some original ideas and sweet graphics. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2015
    0
    I'm not sure why everyone likes this game so much. Graphics are okay, but the character sound for dialog is way too annoying, all thatI'm not sure why everyone likes this game so much. Graphics are okay, but the character sound for dialog is way too annoying, all that repeated chirping of the same sounds over and over and over. Also, the Power Strike or whatever, seriously, does the line have to be perfect? Like immaculately perfect in order to use the move? I much prefer a button mash, smack down than a prissy "draw the line and even if the line looks fine it won't work cause the game didn't even recognize you did something." Mind you, I unfortunately rented the Wii version which, as I understand it, practically ruined the playability. Based on WII performance, if I could give a negative score on this I would chose negative 1 million for my trouble. Thank the universe I only rented it free from a library and only wasted my time and not money. Bottom line, if you like the PS version stay with that. Wii bombed on this one. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#5 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008