User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenG
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    quality framerates, but honestly this is the best (not to mention most elaborate) use of motion controls I've personally seen thus far, particularly the mudman combo which is one of the most rewarding maneuvers I've ever experienced in any game. If only there is an entire game based around controls like that but I only hear of games using the A button instead as if it's quality framerates, but honestly this is the best (not to mention most elaborate) use of motion controls I've personally seen thus far, particularly the mudman combo which is one of the most rewarding maneuvers I've ever experienced in any game. If only there is an entire game based around controls like that but I only hear of games using the A button instead as if it's somehow a good thing. Well until such a game exists there is Onechanbara. Expand
  2. BobS
    May 13, 2009
    10
    Now... the reason that this is a 10 is because of the price. It is SO cheap and you get a guilty pleasure that is actually fun. 4 different characters all with special abilities that you can upgrade makes this game playable for HOURS. Swords, throwing stars, SHOTGUNS, UZI'S, and powerups makes this game SIMPLY FUN! Since there are SO FEW games on the wii, if you need a break, this Now... the reason that this is a 10 is because of the price. It is SO cheap and you get a guilty pleasure that is actually fun. 4 different characters all with special abilities that you can upgrade makes this game playable for HOURS. Swords, throwing stars, SHOTGUNS, UZI'S, and powerups makes this game SIMPLY FUN! Since there are SO FEW games on the wii, if you need a break, this worked for me! Really, you wont be sorry. Such good fun. Expand
  3. NichS
    Mar 21, 2009
    3
    Onechanbara is a straight forward one motion wii mote game. With a poor story, simple gameplay mechanics and decent graphics, only those who really want to mindlessly use the same slashing moves to kill the same zombies over and over will want this. Game could have used a better story, more intricate controls, less being trapped in a box of zombies, and maybe some decent AI, you can walk Onechanbara is a straight forward one motion wii mote game. With a poor story, simple gameplay mechanics and decent graphics, only those who really want to mindlessly use the same slashing moves to kill the same zombies over and over will want this. Game could have used a better story, more intricate controls, less being trapped in a box of zombies, and maybe some decent AI, you can walk around the AI zombies and they barley make attacks on you. Expand
  4. MadHatter
    Feb 23, 2009
    9
    From the bad story to the all Japanese language track, this is a game that is destined for a well-deserved dedicated cult-following.
  5. ChristopherK
    Mar 3, 2009
    7
    I have been playing this game from the moment i bought it. I can't lie, i was very skeptical about purchasing this game. It was only $30 so i decided to get it and i like it a lot. The sound effects are great, it's very gory, and the controls work great. The sound compliments the action greatly, and all the gore or shall i say blood that spews out is satisfying. Yes the story I have been playing this game from the moment i bought it. I can't lie, i was very skeptical about purchasing this game. It was only $30 so i decided to get it and i like it a lot. The sound effects are great, it's very gory, and the controls work great. The sound compliments the action greatly, and all the gore or shall i say blood that spews out is satisfying. Yes the story doesn't make much sense, and the stages are the same for each character but in different orders and or in reverse, but just cutting into zombies with the ladies and seeing the blood makes you forget all about the poorly orchestrated story. Also there is co op and other items to earn and also level ups. There is really a lot of depth to this game. If you get past the poorly told story mode, you will truely like this game. Especially seeing that this is another addition for those gamers looking for a more adult feel to the Wii. Expand
  6. ab
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Don't listen to these n00b reviewers. For what it's worth, this game delivers more than any other wannabe Wii games. It would have been better with some cutscenes but its fluid action more than makes it up for its shortcomings.
  7. Dec 1, 2010
    8
    If you are looking for silly gory fun this is awesome. It plays well and is just crazy as a game. And who doesn't like bikinis and zombies? This could have been a worse game and I probably would have enjoyed it just for the visuals and the zombie shredding, but it turns out to be a good game overall, with good controls and addicting game play.
  8. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    If you are looking for a full 30 hour adventure experience, hold your horses because Onechanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers is not an adventure game per se.
    This game brings to 2009 an arcade experience rescued from the more frenetic pages of late 90's gaming saloons.
    The most tangible truth about Onechanbara, played on the Nintendo Wii, is that you ought to be open to the whole experience
    If you are looking for a full 30 hour adventure experience, hold your horses because Onechanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers is not an adventure game per se.
    This game brings to 2009 an arcade experience rescued from the more frenetic pages of late 90's gaming saloons.
    The most tangible truth about Onechanbara, played on the Nintendo Wii, is that you ought to be open to the whole experience with the wiimote, im talking about shake both controls, so the lack of an "attack" button is something that you have to consider.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24
  1. 69
    If you're looking for some cheap thrills, you could certainly do worse than this mindless hack-and-slash affair. If a little more work had been put into the game's presentation, this would actually be a highly recommended game.
  2. Gamers looking to burn $30 on this guilty pleasure should happily indulge.
  3. Onechanbara makes zombie-slaying women boring.