• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2010
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BooOob
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    Red Steel 2 is a great game. The melee combat can be described as Zelda on steroids rather than a WSR type 1:1 waggle fest. You circle strafe enemies, using A to dodge in all directions, either to get to the sides or behind the enemy, or to move further back, or close in. Then, you slash away at any angle you want with motion plus as shown in various videos. Holding A down blocks most Red Steel 2 is a great game. The melee combat can be described as Zelda on steroids rather than a WSR type 1:1 waggle fest. You circle strafe enemies, using A to dodge in all directions, either to get to the sides or behind the enemy, or to move further back, or close in. Then, you slash away at any angle you want with motion plus as shown in various videos. Holding A down blocks most melee and ranged attacks, except for strong attacks which need you to either hold the sword vertically, or horizontally, to counter their orientation. You also can't just waggle away, especially to make strong attacks against enemies that need them (to break their armor or break their block stance or whatever else) as you need a certain swing strength to activate them, so you'll find yourself playing it somewhat realistically, not waggling in front of you, but first swinging back to get room for a large and strong swing. This probably makes some people think it's not 100% reliable, they likely don't make a strong enough swing (but you can change the sensitivity). Then you get all sorts of move upgrades (some from the story, others you purchase, alongside new guns, and further efficiency upgrades both for the special moves and the guns, as well as health and armor stuff) that are mostly gesture based but enhance the combat greatly, including a parry that has you pushing forward with the remote and nunchuck just before an attack to make the opponent stagger, charging your sword with A+B then doing the upward slash to launch them, or a downward strike to send a wave around you, or a frisbee motion as seen in WSR to send a blast left, center, or right depending on when you release the buttons during your swing. It has many different moves that make the fighting system as robust as any good beat 'em up, having you exploit the weaknesses of the specific enemy type (there are many), not just 1:1 waggling. It is by far the better option for a deep engaging game, Ubisoft will surprise you all when you get it. It has minor flaws, but the combat system is way cool and up there with the best of the brawlers (cos that's what this game is in the end, closer to No More Heroes than a standard FPS, except with more variety), not to mention the shooting on top of that for even more variety, which while it has The Conduit-like settings for full control customisation, it also has cursor smoothing as seen in Metroid Prime 3 (smoothing is a separate option too) which makes the cursor movement feel much tighter and better than in lesser Wii shooters. As for the story, it's light hearted badassery like Samurai Jack or similar cartoons. It's certainly more appealing than the highly rated generic military shooters we've been getting lately. The game progresses nicely with a little bit of exploration thrown in the mix, similar to the Metroid Prime games. You usually get a hub area that connects to many different areas, some of them maybe inaccessible until you reach a certain story point. Then after major events, boss fights, etc, you progress to a completely different hub area with its own setting and theme, its own exploration, events, bosses, etc, until you complete the game. It has many different enemy types that spice things up as they need different strategies, and it does have the occasional change of pace, as well as some twists in the story which keep you going forward, leaving the hub setup aside and just going from action packed set piece to set piece before returning to the previous pacing and in the end a cool final confrontation. All in all, it's a great 10-13 hour package that you'll likely want to experience at least twice, first in normal difficulty, then in the toughest mode to put your fighting skills to the test. It just feels so satisfying to block a sequence of hits, vertical, horizontal, vertical, maybe do a parry somewhere in there, and retaliate with awesome moves of your own. Red Steel 2 may have staples of other first person shooters, or even action games like No More Heroes, but in the end it's an experience you've never had before. Buy it, rent it, or whatever else, just experience it at all costs. It's that good, regardless of what some stuck up reviewers may claim. We all know how most feel about the Wii. I'm sure if this was a Move exclusive it would have been rated much higher. Thanks for finally trying your best on Wii, Ubisoft, it paid off. Expand
  2. Kevin
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    I wish the rating system would allow intervals between 10 and 9. My true rating is 9.4 It's a very good game, worthy of purchase. It's been a long time since I've legitimately had fun playing a wii game. Red Steel 2 capitalizes on the accuracy of the wii motion plus to deliver the sensation of a super powerful cowboy warrior. Give it a shot.
  3. ShokioW
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    This is a very great game. It's not Triple A, but it's definitely AA. Now to be honest, at first, I was extremely disappointed when I first picked the game up. The gameplay and controls just felt mediocre. But after 20 minutes, everything picked up and the controls were fine. So for anyone who has given this game anything lower than a 8, I highly doubt they finished the game. This is a very great game. It's not Triple A, but it's definitely AA. Now to be honest, at first, I was extremely disappointed when I first picked the game up. The gameplay and controls just felt mediocre. But after 20 minutes, everything picked up and the controls were fine. So for anyone who has given this game anything lower than a 8, I highly doubt they finished the game. The further you go into the game, the better it gets. The voice acting is APPROPRIATELY chessy (for some characters) because it a comic-like game. You have so many powers you can use, and the great thing about those is that you can string them together and such to make combos. Im going to stop typing right now cause I could go on for days, but just know this - it's a great game. Expand
  4. RyanS
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    An incredibly fun and polished experience for the Wii. Red Steel 2 takes everything that the original Red Steel promised and delivers it in a way most Wii skeptics have been saying is impossible. A truly unique experience with amazing controls; if you've been waiting for a game that makes the most out of Wii's motion controls, Red Steel 2 is your game. Do not hesitate on this An incredibly fun and polished experience for the Wii. Red Steel 2 takes everything that the original Red Steel promised and delivers it in a way most Wii skeptics have been saying is impossible. A truly unique experience with amazing controls; if you've been waiting for a game that makes the most out of Wii's motion controls, Red Steel 2 is your game. Do not hesitate on this one, just go buy it, now. Expand
  5. May 9, 2011
    8
    This is the video game equivalent of a B-movie...but a really, really fun one. Essentially unrelated to the first game, this has on-the-fly switching between swordfighting with the Wii Remote and shooting with various guns, sometimes even within the same combo. This doesn't really get old! Story is basically nonexistent, but if you're here you should be here for the fast, arcade-y actionThis is the video game equivalent of a B-movie...but a really, really fun one. Essentially unrelated to the first game, this has on-the-fly switching between swordfighting with the Wii Remote and shooting with various guns, sometimes even within the same combo. This doesn't really get old! Story is basically nonexistent, but if you're here you should be here for the fast, arcade-y action and upgradeables. Expand
  6. May 8, 2012
    4
    I bought this game with high hopes, and after the first 30 minutes or so, thought it was brilliant. Sadly the shine soon wore off. The problem was that it was so repetitive. You essentially play the same 3 or 4 missions over and over again. Learn a move, collect, kill, move on.
    There are loads of weapons, upgrades and techniques you can get, but you never really get any time to enjoy
    I bought this game with high hopes, and after the first 30 minutes or so, thought it was brilliant. Sadly the shine soon wore off. The problem was that it was so repetitive. You essentially play the same 3 or 4 missions over and over again. Learn a move, collect, kill, move on.
    There are loads of weapons, upgrades and techniques you can get, but you never really get any time to enjoy anything in comparison to what you had previously.
    Another thing that annoyed me was the "point of no return" bits. Why? Why can't I return? The area is tiny, with about 4 sections, with each section being a street.
    There are only 4 kinds of enemies as well. Easy, medium, hard and boss - essentially - with no break in repetition. Why are there so many weapons and sword techniques when by 2 hours in you have figured out how to kill everything effectively?
    Also, the majority of the secret techniques you get taught don't actually work on the bosses - so why learn them? They only work on the grunts and low-rankers, and you can kill them just by mindlessly swinging your remote from side to side.
    Why can't I buy ammo when I need it (I never, ever find JohnnyGun ammo), rather than endlessly walking in a circle through the tiny hub looking for yet more crates?
    Another thing that irritated me is the fact that the wii motion plus doesn't really seem to add much. You only use if for sword fighting, and within that, the only time it matter is when blocking or breaking blocks, and you can just switch your style from horizontal to vertical by holding B, so why do you need it? If anything it just complicates matters.
    In a game where, pre-release, the main hype was about how awesome the combat was going to be, why did they make it so repetitive?

    The only things I genuinely like about this game are the concept (cowboy samurai things), the graphics and, I suppose, the story.
    Expand
  7. JoseA
    Mar 28, 2010
    10
    Wow! this has been an amazing ride!! trust me if you are bored with your Wii-which you shouldn't be with all the great games- then check this one out! If your wallet only allows you to purchase one newly released game on the Wii make it this one. The visuals, gameplay, and story are all so intreaguing and satisfing. I own all consoles and playing this game made me confuse myself as Wow! this has been an amazing ride!! trust me if you are bored with your Wii-which you shouldn't be with all the great games- then check this one out! If your wallet only allows you to purchase one newly released game on the Wii make it this one. The visuals, gameplay, and story are all so intreaguing and satisfing. I own all consoles and playing this game made me confuse myself as to which console i was playing it on. The quality of this game can be mistaken for MassEffect, Halo, or Borderlands, and the visuals! Jesus the visuals! Let ubisoft take you on a ride on their Red Steel rollocoaster. Expand
  8. LarknokL
    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    This game is quite something. Quite something indeed. The first 20-30 minutes of breaking crates and trying to get that last bottle is very tiresome, until that is, I figured out I could customize my controls and learned the Storm. (So for all you people complaining about crate breaks, just learn the storm.) The rest of hte game (as I have played so far) is awesome. Some may say a few This game is quite something. Quite something indeed. The first 20-30 minutes of breaking crates and trying to get that last bottle is very tiresome, until that is, I figured out I could customize my controls and learned the Storm. (So for all you people complaining about crate breaks, just learn the storm.) The rest of hte game (as I have played so far) is awesome. Some may say a few enemy types, but I'm good at counting: Double guns (no armor), Sword (no armor), Sword (armor), Double guns (armor), Hammer trooper, power up soldiers (flash things red), Katakara machinegunners, and Katakara samurai is everything I've seen and I JUST got the third gun. (That's 8 so far, and I've seen footage of guys that twirl their swords.) This game gives you amazing amounts of adrenaline once you figure out how to perform awesome combos (my personal favorite so far: A - Forward Thrust (Rush), then A - A - Down Thrust (Guillotine) Its absolutely beautiful to watch yourself stab the sword into the enemy. The controls are great (CUSTOMIZEABLE), graphics awesome, gameplay begins simplistic, actually requires you to try to swing hard (can be customized too), but gets way more fun. I really suggest this game to anybody who can figure out how to customize controls after 20 minutes for something truly awesome. Great buy. Expand
  9. Mark
    Mar 23, 2010
    4
    After Metroid Other M this was next game I was most looking forward to. Gameplay monotonous - walk round dusty desert slashing and shooting identical enemies. After 6 hours only met 3 kinds of foe. Combos dont work consistently. Swordfighting flawed - you have to point at screen to direct yourself and aim gun meaning everytime your not locked on to an enemy and want to swing sword to After Metroid Other M this was next game I was most looking forward to. Gameplay monotonous - walk round dusty desert slashing and shooting identical enemies. After 6 hours only met 3 kinds of foe. Combos dont work consistently. Swordfighting flawed - you have to point at screen to direct yourself and aim gun meaning everytime your not locked on to an enemy and want to swing sword to break a crate you lose all direction. Dusty hi-tech desert nice at first but environments very samey. Such a shame. Great graphical style and nice intro level. Controls very simple too. No jump button. Just push "A" for most other "actions". To be honest, motion + doesnt add anything new to this game. Unnecesary - holding B while sword is out deflects bullets, regardless of how your positioning wiimote. And during duels you dont have to be accurate - swing left or right . . . the wiimote can detect that movement without motion+. And to be honest,finding the wide swinging motion required for power slices tiresome in the extreme. Not sure where the future of motion+ lies but on this outing, its a major disappointment. Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    This is a shooter like no other. I'm not saying it's better or worse than, say, Call of Duty, or Halo, it's just different. Everything about it is different. Unlike the vast majority of other first person shooters, your not a soldier, but something more unique than that. You are an outcast, who wields the sora katana, the most powerful sword that ever existed. Eventually you will discoverThis is a shooter like no other. I'm not saying it's better or worse than, say, Call of Duty, or Halo, it's just different. Everything about it is different. Unlike the vast majority of other first person shooters, your not a soldier, but something more unique than that. You are an outcast, who wields the sora katana, the most powerful sword that ever existed. Eventually you will discover the powers of the sword, which adds to the gameplay. Your wii remote is a sword. This isn't Zelda where you flick you wrist a little to swing your sword, you have to swing your sword like a sword. The harder you swing the more damage you do. You also get a revolver, which you to upgrade, and you can buy other guns, like a shotgun, but you can't upgrade these. This game is very short. It took four days to beat it twice. The story is okay, but that's not why you playing. At least I hope not. The story isn't anything special but the cutscenes are sure to make you feel like a badass. This is a game for the gamer who is dying inside because there isn't many good shooters out there for the wii. Well here you go. Expand
  11. Mar 15, 2011
    6
    Red Steel 2 showcases some good ideas and the potential for a great game, but falls well short. It was released in a bare-bones state, arguably unfinished, and definitely unpolished. Some copies contain serious bugs that can break save data and require chapter resets, wiping out an hour or more of progress. Essentially the main character of this game is a samurai gunslinger who wasRed Steel 2 showcases some good ideas and the potential for a great game, but falls well short. It was released in a bare-bones state, arguably unfinished, and definitely unpolished. Some copies contain serious bugs that can break save data and require chapter resets, wiping out an hour or more of progress. Essentially the main character of this game is a samurai gunslinger who was banished wrongfully from his clan and is now on a quest for revenge when he learns that another clan has killed all of his former clansmen. Why did they do this? They want the mythical katana held by his clan for generations, which he carries. That's about all you'll get as setup for RS2, and the game is sparse even with the basics. There is no development for characters, no changing motivations, and only three NPCs. These NPCs are never developed in any meaningful way - even at the end of the game you'll hardly know who they are, and care little about them. So as far as story and character goes, the story is never elaborated on past the very basic premise, and the game is essentially one big ghost town. There is no one to care about or interact with. It's hard to shake the feeling that this entire layer of the game was planned but cut during development. The presentation of the game is well done, with strongly honed aesthetics and a nice progression of desert environments (it is a Western, albeit a Samurai Western with some technology thrown in). However, the levels themselves are weighed down by three awful design choices. First, there's no overworld map, and the game badly needs one. Second, there is the illusion of exploration, but in fact the progression requires a linear approach that's reminiscent of the 8-bit NES days. In other words, despite the choice to wander around, things must be done in an exact order. The game uses green arrows on the minimap to guide you around, and the game is best played following the arrows. It's odd, because you'd never follow these paths by any natural means. There are doorways everywhere, but you can never interact with them until the relevant objective opens up. The main issue with the levels, though, is that they are filled with generic junk. Crates, barrels, phone booths, vending machines, and inexplicable lockers of some sort - these are scattered about and one of the main means of obtaining cash if breaking random junk. It gets old fast. There is never anything new to find. A safe found in the first 20 minutes of play will contain the same gold bars as a safe found in the last 20 minutes - because the developer created may 10 pieces of junk and populated every single level with them. There's no sense of place and no reason why this crap would be so ubiquitous. There's certainly no explanation why for you find money by slashing open garbage bags and the like - it's the Zelda principle of money-making, but far dumber. The the levels are weighed down by forced and unnatural linearity, ubiquitous and generic junk, and a complete absence of interaction with objects or people. So what doesn't suck about this game? Well, the combat is pretty slick and upgrading your character is fun (and clearly inspired by RE4). That's really what it comes down to. It's a pretty game to look at, plays at a reasonable pace if you beeline from A to B, and has a good variety of swordplay and gunplay. Even here, though, there are major annoyances, and signs that the game was released in an "workable" state, but only just. For example, near the end of the game, there's no indication that you've encountered a shop for the last time. So you can enter the final level having no idea that you should have just spent every penny you had - and there's no way to back this up. Even more bizarre, the final level is filled with hidden money stashes that are completely unusable. The final boss is also identical to the midboss from hours earlier, so of course he's much easier - a total joke at that point, killable in less than a minute, without expending much ammo or taking any damage. And then the game ends - literally with a tacked on "the end" screen. The game features a "challenge" mode that is a basically a non-functional save+ mode. You can't play more than one chapter a time, tutorials are still required, and money from the endgame is lost, and upgrades are still parceled out in the original order even though you have more or all of them. It's not worth more than a quick look. Red Steel 2 would have been a promising launch title for the Wii. As is, it's barely playable. You'll get some fun hours out of this but only if you speed through and don't expect any lasting value or depth. It's pure rental fluff, all potential and no follow-through. Expand
  12. OlisaN
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    I can simply say that this is a really good sequel. It eradicates the many problems that severely plagued the over-hyped mess that was the original. Wii players are not only treated to a gameplay system that works but one of the best looking games with an awesome visual style to match on the console. The sword fighting is awesome thanks to the motion plus and as a result it is easy to I can simply say that this is a really good sequel. It eradicates the many problems that severely plagued the over-hyped mess that was the original. Wii players are not only treated to a gameplay system that works but one of the best looking games with an awesome visual style to match on the console. The sword fighting is awesome thanks to the motion plus and as a result it is easy to pull off the many deadly and cool moves that the games provides the players with. The gun play is good even though it doesn't play a huge role in terms of combat. My only gripes with this first person hack'n 'slasher is the loading times which are masked through the door opening sequences, and the story is a little under developed which is a shame as the characters look cool despite the fact they have a strange resemblances to the characters of borderlands and the concept isn't bad. Despite these flaws I highly recommend this game to all Wii owners and a good reason to dust off/or buy a motion plus. Expand
  13. AlanB
    Mar 30, 2010
    9
    I actually had fun playing Red Steel 1. Was it mediocre? Yes. Painfully so. Was there a good underlying concept and occasional flashes of what it could have been? Yes. Red Steel 2 is everything that Red Steel 1 wanted to be. Red Steel 2 starts out strong and keeps it going. The first thing you notice is the completely revamped art style and general atmosphere of the game world. Its an I actually had fun playing Red Steel 1. Was it mediocre? Yes. Painfully so. Was there a good underlying concept and occasional flashes of what it could have been? Yes. Red Steel 2 is everything that Red Steel 1 wanted to be. Red Steel 2 starts out strong and keeps it going. The first thing you notice is the completely revamped art style and general atmosphere of the game world. Its an eclectic mix of east, west, past and future that somehow works and is constantly fun to look at. Then you actually meet the hero himself, the "Swordslinger" as he is reffered to in the game guide. He's pretty much every 10 year old kids fantasy hero. He's a ninja samurai cowboy slicing and shooting his way through the nevada desert while constantly looking badass. The badass level in this game never lets up. The second you get your first sword and unleash hell on your first enemy you are left with a tingling sensation that only wears off when your arms becomes sore from slashing and shooting for the past hour and a half. That, along with the rather long and far too common loading times are the only real drawbacks to this game. The loading times occur when you try to open certian doors, which sit there until the next area loads, a la "Dead Space" (One of the funnier examples of this is when your sword slinging gun shooting badass samurai ninja cowboy seems to struggle to open swinging saloon doors because the area behind them is loading). Other than those small, minor faults, the whole product comes out to be EXACTLY what a Wii FPS should have been the whole time. Wii MotionPlus adds a depth to the motion tracking that can only really be understood by playing the game. Its like trading in a bike for a space shuttle. If you own a Wii there is absolutely no excuse not to get this game, its easily one of the best games released for the console. Expand
  14. Hiltz
    Mar 30, 2010
    8
    Visually, the game is among the best looking on the Wii. It sports attractive cell-shadedl graphics with a a slick art style, and fluid animation. There's no slowdown in the framerate either which stays locked at 60 fps. In terms of audio, the voice acting is appropriately cheesy while the sound effects are fairly punchy and the music is very well done and fits in with the Visually, the game is among the best looking on the Wii. It sports attractive cell-shadedl graphics with a a slick art style, and fluid animation. There's no slowdown in the framerate either which stays locked at 60 fps. In terms of audio, the voice acting is appropriately cheesy while the sound effects are fairly punchy and the music is very well done and fits in with the game's fictional setting. While the story is quite simplistic with one-dimensional characters, the few cut scenes featured in the game are great in a short but sweet way. The controls are intuitive and highly responsive while the combat feels fluid and pretty fast-paced especially with the ability to switch between sword and gun on the fly. The special moves signicantly help spice up the gameplay, adding a several satisying ways to dispatch enemies with a sense of style. They use a combination of button presses and motion control. The game managest to balance the use of swords and guns quite well, never really forcing you to choose between one or the other. The Ir pointer used for aiming works just as well as it does in games like Metroid Prime 3. Motion Control is also used in other ways. For example, The game's camera is well polished and does a fine job of keeping up with the action on screen while the lock-on system works well in quickly switching between enemies. The enemy AI is smart and puts up a good fight even on easy mode. Outside of combat, there's exploration through the linear level design where you can break destructible objects that drop cash ranging from barrels, boxes, beer bottles and chairs and tables to vending machines, pay phones, window frames, garbage bags and various utility panels. There is also some light QTE-based platforming since there is no jump button but it is done in a seamless and stylish manner.The majority of missions are optional, but they're ideal for completing in order to gain large amounts of cash so you can quickly purchase new weapons, special moves and upgrades. Speaking od upgrades, you can choose to improve e everything from weapons and special moves to armor and health. The missions themselves are mundane where you're tasked with things like blowing up trucks, destroying wanted signs, activing certain objects and finding certain hide out areas full of cash. As for the flaws of the game, the lack of variety in the missions contributes to the repetitive gameplay and pacing issue. It's unfortunate that there aren't many bosses and the few mini bosses featured in the game are recycled. The story is very straight forward with no plot twists offered so don't expect to be amazed by any means. The loading times are quite similar to Metroid Prime's where the doors mask the loading times which are quite obvious and appear frequently but they're length isn't bad at all. In terms of gameplay length is adequate, Red Steel 2's is adequate. It can be beaten in 6-7 hours if you chose to quickly plow through. On the other hand, choosing to take your time to explore the environments, earn money by breaking objects and completing the optional missions for upgrades and new moves and weapons and searching for optional sheriff stars and gold tokens (hidden in high to reach places and behind objects that will net you extra cash) will last between 8-12 hours. While Red Steel 2 only features a single player mode along with a challenge mode, if you dig the combat, then you will certainly find a lot of replay value here. Overall, Red Steel 2 is one of the best games on the Wii and one of a kind given its focus on sword fighting and being the first must-have core game that supports MotionPlus exclusively. Not only that, but it offers some of the best use of motion control on the Wii and its an experience that cannot be replicated with a traditional game controller.Yes, the controls aren't entirely 1:1, but Red Steel 2's controls and combat are so enjoyable you'll be quick to realize the seemingly failed logic in demanding a complete 1:1 sword fighting simulator with the potential amount of issues it would be facing. Make no mistake, while Red Steel 2 shares the main fundamental gameplay mechanics of its predecessor, the two games are completely different animals. Red Steel 2 is not a direct sequel but rather a spiritual sucessor that manages to improve on the original game's concept in every way. Ultimately, Ubisoft has nailed swordplay combat with Red Steel 2 and thus has redeemed itself after the disappointment of the original game. It's an experience that can't be missed! Expand
  15. PaulM
    Mar 30, 2010
    8
    Though the story is far from engaging, the wii motion plus controls are outstanding. Red Steel 2 offers a myriad of upgradable moves, weapons, and hidden powers that the player will use to dispatch equally varied enemies. RS2 is a fun cross between an action game and a first-person shooter.
  16. AndréC
    Mar 30, 2010
    9
    Just finished the game yesterday. And i have to say that this game is the best Wii action game ever. I was waiting for this game since it was announced and im not disappointed. It does a good use of Wii Motion Plus and it has a great graphical style. The only flaw in the game is the story mode longevity. It should have a online mode, or more playable characters in the story mode to Just finished the game yesterday. And i have to say that this game is the best Wii action game ever. I was waiting for this game since it was announced and im not disappointed. It does a good use of Wii Motion Plus and it has a great graphical style. The only flaw in the game is the story mode longevity. It should have a online mode, or more playable characters in the story mode to increase the game longevity. Because the Challenge mode ain't that fun... But at the end, the game is worth purchasing and if i could be more accurate with the rate i would give it 8.8. If you have a Wii go get it! Expand
  17. Danny
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    This game is just ridiculous! The setting is absurd, the concept a joke, the story laughable.. however.. it doesn't matter because it all somehow works and ends up being the most fun I have had with a wii game ever. Sword slashing is extremely satisfying and being able to pull the trigger on one of four well designed guns anytime you need them will have you feeling like your in a This game is just ridiculous! The setting is absurd, the concept a joke, the story laughable.. however.. it doesn't matter because it all somehow works and ends up being the most fun I have had with a wii game ever. Sword slashing is extremely satisfying and being able to pull the trigger on one of four well designed guns anytime you need them will have you feeling like your in a clint eastwood (draw fast or die) western. The cel shaded look is absolutely gorgeous... but in the end all that matters is that the ability to finish off your opponents with precision and ridiculously pleasing finishers will have you feeling like one bad sword wielding gun shooting samurai cowboy. Two boyhood fantasies smashed into one... simply divine and oh so tasty! Expand
  18. MathewM
    Mar 24, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. Thanks to Wii Motion Plus, the swordplay is much better. How much better you say? Well, it's enough to give the first Red Steel the finger Another great thing is the customizable controls. It appears that The Conduit has definitely set the standard for shooters on Wii. This game is is wonderful and it's definitely worth a buy.
  19. LoganB
    Mar 24, 2010
    9
    This is easily the best action game on the Wii, and possibly this entire generation. I would dare say this is the best innovation of the motion control fps genre and a new gold standard for this genre. The game features a near perfect mix of sword play and gun slinging. The shooting is solid, but the real show stealer is the sword play. To put it in simple terms, the motion control sword This is easily the best action game on the Wii, and possibly this entire generation. I would dare say this is the best innovation of the motion control fps genre and a new gold standard for this genre. The game features a near perfect mix of sword play and gun slinging. The shooting is solid, but the real show stealer is the sword play. To put it in simple terms, the motion control sword play is one of the best combat systems I've ever seen in a game. While many complain that Red Steel 2 doesn't have exactly 1:1 control over the sword, its better that it doesn't. If it was really that accurate it would completely destroy the combo system, and over complicate the melee combat by introducing too much realism into the mix. In an action game like this you don't really need anything more than strong attacks and weak attacks, and people need to realize that this is an action game first and foremost, not a sword fighting simulator. Even though its not 1:1, its still incredibly accurate in simulating player's strikes. The combo system is great and one of the better aspects of the game. Most combos tend to involve either some combination of "A" "B" or "Z" and a corresponding slash with the Wiimote, or using a dash and a corresponding slash. Its simple, intuitive, but extremely fun and satisfying allowing for fun, varied combat. This game also features some of the best and most stylish graphics on the Wii, and are so amazing its easy to assume its a 360. I'm not sure how they managed to pull it off, maybe magic or something, but they're really striking. I assume this has more to do with the hyper stylized cel shading, which gives the world a unique visual flavor. The setting is a mishmash of the Western and the Samurai settings, and the soundtrack reflects this very well, and really makes the game feel pulse pounding and exciting when it needs to be. That said, the game isn't quite perfect. The missions are mostly average. The map layout is also fairly uninspired, with most areas either being large rooms or small tunnels. The game also makes players do this round about way of activating certain switches by making players tilt the Wiimote, and its rather annoying. However, even with this I still feel that the combat system is still amazing enough to overcome these flaws; Its just that fun, unique and revolutionary. I never got tired of the combat through playing this game, and its just a blast to play through. If you're a Wii owner and a fan of action games, you NEED to get this game. There is literally nothing like it on the market. Expand
  20. LewisD
    Mar 28, 2010
    9
    Sword slinging action that plays like no other! More combo brawler than FPS, this game packs both a physical and visceral punch, it looks fantastic and has one of the most original and interesting settings for a game in recent memory (Wild West Feudal Japan in the future!) Great game, deserves a great score.
  21. DME
    Oct 23, 2010
    8
    Red Steel 2 lacks variety. It's basically the same game all the way through. But even so, I had a ton of fun with it. The motion+ works great. I love the ability to switch from gun to sword and back to gun in seconds! It's cool. The futuristic-desert-western-comic-style graphics are appealing. The only things that I didn't like about this title is the short single player mode andRed Steel 2 lacks variety. It's basically the same game all the way through. But even so, I had a ton of fun with it. The motion+ works great. I love the ability to switch from gun to sword and back to gun in seconds! It's cool. The futuristic-desert-western-comic-style graphics are appealing. The only things that I didn't like about this title is the short single player mode and the lack of replay value. Definitly worth renting. Expand
  22. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    The best thing about this game is the top-drawer combat. Precise motion control's mean thanks to the accuracy, even without the gore, Red Steel 2 is a brutal game. The soundtrack is brilliant too, atmospheric Western tunes and some lovely cel-shaded graphics. While the rest of it is't particularl smart, generic enemies and generic, but well done, areas. One of the finest FPS's on Wii, andThe best thing about this game is the top-drawer combat. Precise motion control's mean thanks to the accuracy, even without the gore, Red Steel 2 is a brutal game. The soundtrack is brilliant too, atmospheric Western tunes and some lovely cel-shaded graphics. While the rest of it is't particularl smart, generic enemies and generic, but well done, areas. One of the finest FPS's on Wii, and one of the finest combat systems too. Expand
  23. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Overall, Red Steel 2 is a great game. The motion controls work well and the combat is satisfying. The graphics are very good and the voice acting is good too. But it has a few bugs that can get in the way of the fun.
  24. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    Red Steel 2, a game which is a sequel only in name to one of the first Wii shooters which got 'meh' reviews. I only briefly played the multiplayer of the first one, so it doesn't really count. Red Steel 2 is a game that feels like it benefited from a longer development cycle. The game has style. No doubts about that. It takes some wild west, mixes it with ninjas, samurai and Japanese loreRed Steel 2, a game which is a sequel only in name to one of the first Wii shooters which got 'meh' reviews. I only briefly played the multiplayer of the first one, so it doesn't really count. Red Steel 2 is a game that feels like it benefited from a longer development cycle. The game has style. No doubts about that. It takes some wild west, mixes it with ninjas, samurai and Japanese lore and throws some steam and cyberpunk in. Story is pretty basic, but there's no complaints about it. You're the last of your kind, learn the secrets of your clan and go for revenge! The story severs as a backbone to take you to different locations, which sadly don't quite leave the Wild West/Japanese style. There's no radical winter level or evergreen forest level. Game play wise Red Steel 2 is the best sword fighter game on the market. The game also has a wonderful shooting aspect to it and the sword and gun play flow seamlessly together. The game feels like it was heavily inspired by Metroid Prime, especially the last chapter 3: Corruption with it's shooting and some puzzles.s Re While Prime 3 had a lot more variety of puzzled Steel 2 does a good job of taking hints on how to make FPS or FPA work on the Nintendo Wii. Red Steel 2 also takes the loading doors from the Prime series as well, but whatever, it works. The game does have a few weak points, some of the missions feel very similar in style. It's usually Get To Point A, but you have to go to Point B and unlock/cut/something to there first. While on the way be on the look out for safes to crack, wanted posters to destroy and random encounters. The game also has several hidden tokens to find and shoot, but doesn't tell you how many there are. There's also no New Game + option where you could start again with all your upgrades, thus making money hunting in the last level completely useless because there's no shops at all. The game also gives you a list of all the moves you've learnt.. but doesn't tell you how to pull them off or gives you a place to practice them. The dojo would have been perfect for this.
    Overall with an additional 3 weeks (or less!) of development to put those last couple of complaints could have made this game a solid A, but as it is, it's still a solid B, lots of fun, great use of the motion controls and style.
    Expand
  25. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Still the game that best proves that Nintendo's motion system does indeed work. It's not just flopping around your WiiMote anymore, this time around you actually need to swing it the right way to make it work. There are enough upgrades, collectibles and things to see to keep you interested, and combined with the great art style it makes for a very good game. One of the few remarks is thatStill the game that best proves that Nintendo's motion system does indeed work. It's not just flopping around your WiiMote anymore, this time around you actually need to swing it the right way to make it work. There are enough upgrades, collectibles and things to see to keep you interested, and combined with the great art style it makes for a very good game. One of the few remarks is that the game is short (I'm thinking around 8 hours), but by now I've played through it three times, and it hasn't bored me once. Expand
  26. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    this game is very good in every aspect, sound..visuals..gameplay........but the ultra energetic action really shines here, its like 1st person zelda(well, far more simplistic) but more realistic and adult oriented, even if theres no blood at all (shame).............minor control issues dont really matter as the game is so intense and enjoyable .......must have
  27. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Now. I was super excited for this particular game. First time I played it. I loved it, it was great. I have played it though a second time now and am ready to make a fair review. Red Steel 2's opening is fact paced, the music sets the scene and it shows off the games artistic visual style. The shooting is allot more precise with wii motion plus and the sword swings are great fun after youNow. I was super excited for this particular game. First time I played it. I loved it, it was great. I have played it though a second time now and am ready to make a fair review. Red Steel 2's opening is fact paced, the music sets the scene and it shows off the games artistic visual style. The shooting is allot more precise with wii motion plus and the sword swings are great fun after you go through the tedious process of being taught them. The story is interesting but I wish it was more prominent and there were more characters. The boss fights are challenging and fun. My complaint is the setting never really changes, and desert scenery gets boring and bland. Red steel 1 was more diverse with different buildings around the city, you would go to a neon lit pole dancing club for one mission and a Japanese garden in another. The other problem is there is only a few different enemy types. A final problem is that I have hurt my wrist money farming in this game on two occasions. Overall a good game, but not as great as it could be. Expand
  28. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    The original Red Steel was a wii launch title that did not live up to the expected, the developers of this game took that concept out and started from scratch, they managed then to create something special, something that is worth playing in the wii because there is no other game in any platform like this. The develpoers first of all managed to create a unique environment, combiningThe original Red Steel was a wii launch title that did not live up to the expected, the developers of this game took that concept out and started from scratch, they managed then to create something special, something that is worth playing in the wii because there is no other game in any platform like this. The develpoers first of all managed to create a unique environment, combining cultural things of the far west and the far east with futuristic technology which give you something great. Something to mention when talking about how this game looks is the graphics, the wii is not great for graphics but this game looks great. The cell-shaded graphics are great and give you more immersion in your surroundings, I believe this graphics are just wonderful and get quite close to the graphic level of games like borderlands. Gameplay has also changed, this time sword fighting and gunslinging combine to make something unique and enjoyable. Collectibles and upgrades you can buy give you even more reason to keep playing. The two issues I had with this game were the fact that you only get 4 guns in all of the game and the dialouge that varied from really good to bad. The final verdict for this game would be a recommendation to buy, this is something unique that any wii player cant miss. Expand
  29. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Red Steel 2 is very fun. The main problem with this game is the short story length and a lack of multiplayer. The gameplay was good and the characters were engaging. Red Steel 2 is the best action game on the Wii.
  30. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    I love the new idea of first person motion plus sword fight. Finally something than just a shooter. Metacritic this game is only one player. The lack of multiplayer hurts. Story and graphics are excellent. Ubisoft I want on-line for the future. This a perfect example of a sequel, so keep it up.
  31. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Why is this game even called "Red Steel 2"? It has absolutely nothing to do with the first game. And that's a very good thing. Those who remember the first Red Steel were plagued by half-baked graphics, sluggish controls and abysmal sword combat. Red Steel 2, a complete overhaul of the first game, fixes every single problem the first had. It no longer takes place in our world as we knowWhy is this game even called "Red Steel 2"? It has absolutely nothing to do with the first game. And that's a very good thing. Those who remember the first Red Steel were plagued by half-baked graphics, sluggish controls and abysmal sword combat. Red Steel 2, a complete overhaul of the first game, fixes every single problem the first had. It no longer takes place in our world as we know it, but in a land where feudal Japan meets the Wild West steam punk setting. I'll first touch on the gameplay. It rocks. The game is stylized as a sort of free roam shooter. Shooting and turning feels completely natural now and I have had no problems regarding it. But the sword combat is probably one of the major reasons you want to play this game. In the first game, depending on how you swung the wii remote, you could swing your sword vertically or horizontally or if the controller even registered your movements at all. Now you can swing wherever the heck you want. This is the best use of the Wii Motion+ I've EVER seen to date. Every once in a while there will be a misread but about 98% of every slash, stab, hack occured exactly how I intended it. The graphics. The graphics are good. And I mean they are jacked up good. This game has the same feel and quality as a high-end PS3 or Xbox game like Borderlands. Every character moves and acts naturally and every corner is incredibly detailed. But the graphics do come at a cost. Almost every door hides a 7-10 second loading screen, but in no way is that a game breaker. The story actually sticks out compared to other FPS stories on the wii (coughcouchconduitcoughcough) and isn't all too cheesy. While playing this game, I had the pleasure of listening to one of the best gaming soundtracks I've heard in a while. It really is very memorable and suits the mood of the game. People have been complaining about seeing only three enemy types. That is no where near the truth. I've seen many variations of gunslingers, swordslingers, a guy with an frickin' MINIGUN and ninja gunners (and many many more!). All in all, this is easily one of the best titles for the wii and I do recomend buying it. It's a steal. Collapse
  32. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    A very underrated game, it's actually one of the best on the Wii. A great action/shooter game, someone might label it a brawler.

    Amazing cell-shaded graphics, which could easily be mistaken for a Ps3 game. It's a truly unique experience you likely won't play again. Swinging the Wii remote like a sword gets really satisfying, and utilizing different combo's earn you money, which can be
    A very underrated game, it's actually one of the best on the Wii. A great action/shooter game, someone might label it a brawler.

    Amazing cell-shaded graphics, which could easily be mistaken for a Ps3 game. It's a truly unique experience you likely won't play again. Swinging the Wii remote like a sword gets really satisfying, and utilizing different combo's earn you money, which can be spent to upgrade your katana and your different guns.
    You get a revolver, machine gun, double-barrel shotgun, and a powerful rifle which when fully upgraded, actually shoots explosive rounds - really cool!

    I can't recommend this game enough, give it a try, I bet you'll like it.
    Expand
  33. May 22, 2015
    7
    Ever imagined swinging around a sword as a little kid? Then this game's for you. With the precision provided by the Wii MotionPlus accessory, cutting down foes is fun and generally responsive. On top of the swordplay, you'll obtain a few firearms that you can upgrade. You can also learn new and awesome moves. Also, the art style is neat. So, there are no clear major flaws but this gameEver imagined swinging around a sword as a little kid? Then this game's for you. With the precision provided by the Wii MotionPlus accessory, cutting down foes is fun and generally responsive. On top of the swordplay, you'll obtain a few firearms that you can upgrade. You can also learn new and awesome moves. Also, the art style is neat. So, there are no clear major flaws but this game just pales in comparison to some of the best games out there and I simply didn't enjoy it enough to give it more than a 7 or an 8 (I'd say it's a 7.5). To sum things up, if you have a Wii, play this game because it's a fun action game. Expand
  34. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    Why is this game even called "Red Steel 2"? It has absolutely nothing to do with the first game. And that's a very good thing. Those who remember the first Red Steel were plagued by half-baked graphics, sluggish controls and abysmal sword combat. Red Steel 2, a complete overhaul of the first game, fixes every single problem the first had. It no longer takes place in our world as we knowWhy is this game even called "Red Steel 2"? It has absolutely nothing to do with the first game. And that's a very good thing. Those who remember the first Red Steel were plagued by half-baked graphics, sluggish controls and abysmal sword combat. Red Steel 2, a complete overhaul of the first game, fixes every single problem the first had. It no longer takes place in our world as we know it, but in a land where feudal Japan meets the Wild West steam punk setting. I'll first touch on the gameplay. It rocks. The game is stylized as a sort of free roam shooter. Shooting and turning feels completely natural now and I have had no problems regarding it. But the sword combat is probably one of the major reasons you want to play this game. In the first game, depending on how you swung the wii remote, you could swing your sword vertically or horizontally or if the controller even registered your movements at all. Now you can swing wherever the heck you want. This is the best use of the Wii Motion+ I've EVER seen to date. Every once in a while there will be a misread but about 98% of every slash, stab, hack occured exactly how I intended it. The graphics. The graphics are good. And I mean they are jacked up good. This game has the same feel and quality as a high-end PS3 or Xbox game like Borderlands. Every character moves and acts naturally and every corner is incredibly detailed. But the graphics do come at a cost. Almost every door hides a 7-10 second loading screen, but in no way is that a game breaker. The story actually sticks out compared to other FPS stories on the wii (coughcouchconduitcoughcough) and isn't all too cheesy. While playing this game, I had the pleasure of listening to one of the best gaming soundtracks I've heard in a while. It really is very memorable and suits the mood of the game. People have been complaining about seeing only three enemy types. That is no where near the truth. I've seen many variations of gunslingers, swordslingers, a guy with an frickin' MINIGUN and ninja gunners (and many many more!). All in all, this is easily one of the best titles for the wii and I do recomend buying it. It's a steal. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Red Steel 2 isn't just the game everyone wished Red Steel was, it's better than that. It single handedly proves the Wii MotionPlus's value for adventure games, while providing one of the best action experiences on the system. That said, it's almost a tech demo for the hardware, lacking in terms of story and gameplay variety.
  2. 86
    There are still some issues, both in game balance as well as wishy-washy motion sensing control, but the awesome style and energetic gameplay are enough to make this one of the top titles on Wii.
  3. 70
    If the satisfying melee combat was tied into a better game with a compelling story, I'd praise Red Steel 22 as the next step in the Wii's evolution. But the nonsensical narrative, the repetitive nature of the gameplay, and the poor pacing keeps it from being anything more than a promising glimpse at the future of FPS games on the Wii.