Red Steel Wii

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2006
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 114
  2. Negative: 24 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 14, 2015
    5
    Red Steel is a big empty promise, the sword fights are just boring and the gunfights is full of bugs (your aiming point goes back on the center of the screen for no reasons in the middle of your gunfights) it would have been even more annoying if the game was difficult, but at least the game is very easy and you'll just have to walk your way through the levels to finish it (shouldn't takeRed Steel is a big empty promise, the sword fights are just boring and the gunfights is full of bugs (your aiming point goes back on the center of the screen for no reasons in the middle of your gunfights) it would have been even more annoying if the game was difficult, but at least the game is very easy and you'll just have to walk your way through the levels to finish it (shouldn't take more than 8 hours). The story comes right from a 80's D movie, so does the actors, and will at best make you smile for its stupidity. To finish with this list of problems, the graphics are pretty ugly even for a Wii launch game, and I'd just like to emphasize that the absence of blood for a game named RED steel, is also a bit dumb.
    But in the middle of all this there is some nice destruction and even a bit of fun.

    I could have ignore the ugliness if the controls were better thought and without bugs, but Red Steel is barely not a pain to play and doesn't deserve almost any kind of money from your pocket instead of other games out there.
    Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    7
    To begin with, I got my copy at a pawn store. Since it cost next to nothing (for a console game), I'm not price-quality-ratio biased. Even so, I can relate to the frustration of people who bought it at launch. Had I had my wii seven, eight years ago, woulda been a little disappointed either. But maybe not as much as to have it drowned in a puddle of diarrhea. It's also my first wii fps, soTo begin with, I got my copy at a pawn store. Since it cost next to nothing (for a console game), I'm not price-quality-ratio biased. Even so, I can relate to the frustration of people who bought it at launch. Had I had my wii seven, eight years ago, woulda been a little disappointed either. But maybe not as much as to have it drowned in a puddle of diarrhea. It's also my first wii fps, so I guess you could say I don't know any better.

    The game is flawed in many respects, with the katana fights on top of the list. It is easiliy the most crippled in-game mechanic here. But other than that, the control scheme ain't half as bad as I was convinced it would be, having read online reviews. The least them devs could have done was given us an option to somehow skip these mutilated katana duels.

    Aside from them, it's not like the motion controls are all good at all times. Every now and then, the camera tends to freak out as if it has gotten dizzy, in later chapters. Or is it just my wii mote losing it? Keeping in mind how crappy the controls were for, say, Medal of Honor for PS1 (doesn't mean I don't like the game), it still is quite convenient, but for occassional wrist strain.

    The presentation is decent. Wii may be supposed to be played on a classic tube tv but even if you connect it to a plasma, without an HDMI adapter, it won't make your eyes bleed. It could be better, though. Textures are blurred and the screen resolution leaves much to be desired. The backdrops are sort of claustrophobic for Ubisosft, who came up with the well-acclaimed and pseudo open-world Far Cry two years before (I'm talking the PC version, don't know how they fared with the wii port's 'open worldliness'). By way of contrast, Red Steel is more of a corridor shooter.

    NPCs are not the sharpest tools but they do take cover (sometimes), as opposed to what people say on the Internet. But I have seen for myself that, five times out of ten they act like dumb cannon fodder. And they blinking go away, once you get rid of them. Where are the corpses to mutilate with your sword? I want more blood (ha ha ha ha - madman's laughter).

    As far as the story is concerned, the game lacks cut scenes. It is a flaw, if you ask me. Events in the plot are presented in the form of picures/ drawings, which reminds me of first two Max Paynes, where you had comic strips to fill you in as for the goings-on between chapters. The thing is Max Payne in-game comic novel was well-made. Sadly, the one in Red Steel is not as good but it kind of does its job. Guess decent cut scenes were too much to ask for at that point, but then again there already had been more stylish cuts scenes for PS1 games.

    The story asks you to suspend your disebelief, to say the least:). Although cheesy and cliched, it still is quality-B-movie enough to get you coming back to see what'll happen next. Not as ambitious as Deus Ex, to name one example, but hey, while we are at it - did Far Cry have a good story? I think not. All the same, it did not prevent some reviewers from praising it like it was the best thing since the sliced bread. While the truth of the matter is that the plot in Far Cry was as dumb as could be.

    The price will have been slashed by now and Red Steel is no collector's gem. If you can get it for a reasonable price, give it a try. Even for the sake of gaming history, to see for yourselves what might have been, had the motion controls delivered like they were supposed to in first trailers.
    Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    7
    At the beginning of the the announcement of the first WII games, Nintendo had Red Steel( " We think that if we add a hard core game to it, we may gain more new players" ) i do not think this is so hardcore Nintendo, but i most say is great. The control is good and utilize all the gimmicks it needed. I complain a lot about the checkpoint, very irritating and sometimes the WII remote getsAt the beginning of the the announcement of the first WII games, Nintendo had Red Steel( " We think that if we add a hard core game to it, we may gain more new players" ) i do not think this is so hardcore Nintendo, but i most say is great. The control is good and utilize all the gimmicks it needed. I complain a lot about the checkpoint, very irritating and sometimes the WII remote gets messy. I'm happy though that Nintendo made the risk. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2010
    6
    I wasn't really impressed with this game. I bought it because the comedic trailer made it look fun and pretty cool. That is until I played through the whole thing. The problems that I have is the health system. You die so easily, you will be over raged to break the TV screen. The aim is really difficult, I can never get my Wiimote balanced when I'm trying to kill someone. Some First PersonI wasn't really impressed with this game. I bought it because the comedic trailer made it look fun and pretty cool. That is until I played through the whole thing. The problems that I have is the health system. You die so easily, you will be over raged to break the TV screen. The aim is really difficult, I can never get my Wiimote balanced when I'm trying to kill someone. Some First Person Shooters are like that on the Wii. Plus the story was cheesy, so this game isn't so good. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2010
    6
    Red steel is a hard game for me to review because I liked the game overall, but many of the game's glitches/problems could have been easily fixed. The hook of the game is that it is part shooter part sword fighter, but sadly the sword slinging is clunky and most of the time not much fun. The gun motion controls are also a bit of a problem, while most of the time they work fine some ofRed steel is a hard game for me to review because I liked the game overall, but many of the game's glitches/problems could have been easily fixed. The hook of the game is that it is part shooter part sword fighter, but sadly the sword slinging is clunky and most of the time not much fun. The gun motion controls are also a bit of a problem, while most of the time they work fine some of the time they will freak out and you will start spiraling in a circle for about a second, but keep in mind this is very rare problem (it will happen once or twice the entire game.)The graphics of red steel are not award worthy or great because they are bland, gray, and overall terrible even for a wii game, but there are some decent explosions. Too add to this seemingly never-ending list of problems the story seems to be taken out of a d movie, and while some will laugh at this story other will just skip it altogether. Possibly the largest problem with this game is that it is only 5 hours long with no on line, but since the game now is the price of a wiiware game I guess that isn't a huge problem. Even though all these problems are true and in the game I am giving it a 6 because even though the game has its faults is also has many fun mini games, a variety of weapons, good local multi-player, an original idea, and most of the time fun fast paced shooting action. Now to recap I do not recommend this game to everyone, but to those who can accept its faults should definitely buy the game used or rent it. Expand
  6. JasonH.
    Jun 12, 2009
    6
    This game is not very fun. I thought that the cut scenes were just really tacky, and the story didn't motivate me at all. There's a MAJOR flaw in the aiming ability, which I'm surprised was over looked. Aiming with out close up (zooming in and out was terrible) was fine: just point and shoot. However, if you're a distance away, and you want to aim up close, the stupid This game is not very fun. I thought that the cut scenes were just really tacky, and the story didn't motivate me at all. There's a MAJOR flaw in the aiming ability, which I'm surprised was over looked. Aiming with out close up (zooming in and out was terrible) was fine: just point and shoot. However, if you're a distance away, and you want to aim up close, the stupid game auto targets, making it difficult to shoot the enemies you want to shoot. Aside from that, the graphics when not in a cut scene are great (weird huh?), and people can be shot through the tiniest of crack. Also, the AI are pretty smart. Expand
  7. FrankO.
    Jan 7, 2009
    7
    one word: solid It's not the best game I've played in my life, but by far not the worst. It has its problems: some bugs which should've been fixed and strange swordfight. But: It was a launch title and therefore you should find it on your bargain desk. The solo-campaign took me about 10 hours alone that should be worth the money. At then there is a really fun one word: solid It's not the best game I've played in my life, but by far not the worst. It has its problems: some bugs which should've been fixed and strange swordfight. But: It was a launch title and therefore you should find it on your bargain desk. The solo-campaign took me about 10 hours alone that should be worth the money. At then there is a really fun split-screen-multiplayer-mode. My friends picked up the controls easily in 15 minutes and then the real fun began! Give it a try, I wasn't dissapointed Expand
  8. ScottS.
    Sep 30, 2008
    7
    What can I say...I have mixed feelings for this game. The best things about this game are the graphics (which at times can look really nice), sound effects and music (top notch) and the general gameplay of the gunfights is very fun and feels like you're in an action movie with all the destructible environments. Despite all this there are a tonne of bad things about the game which What can I say...I have mixed feelings for this game. The best things about this game are the graphics (which at times can look really nice), sound effects and music (top notch) and the general gameplay of the gunfights is very fun and feels like you're in an action movie with all the destructible environments. Despite all this there are a tonne of bad things about the game which brings it down. The story is extremely bland & boring and is too much effort to try and keep up with it. The Japanese theme doesn't work and is just corny. I would have preferred some gang story in the USA instead (even if a little less original). The voice acting is atrocious simply because this game was made by non Japanese (ie the french) and so most of the dialogue involves ppl trying to imitate Japanese accent which at times sounds Chinese (I'm Japanese I can tell). Every time they spoke about something I wanted to skip it cause it was just too much of a chore to listen to it but it wouldn't let me. One of the other major annoyances is the swordfights which is absolute rubbish. It's repetitive, frustrating and unresponsive and is so tacked onto the game that I would like to skip it completely if I could...it's that bad. The actual aiming and moving around problem everyone mentions isn't THAT bad. It's not the best cause you have to move to far to the edge to turn. It takes a long time to get used to but once you're pretty used to it, you'll be able to play pretty well. I really like the gunfights cause the destructible environments and great sound effects and music create an exciting atmosphere, however the controls can hinder you when you're frantically trying to move quickly. If you buy this game, give it a go. I turned it off after an hour of first playing thinking 'omg this is so bad..I'm selling it' but I came back to it the next day and managed to find it's strengths despite its many weaknesses and after 10 hours managed to finish the game. The story, voices/voice acting and swordfights are so bad that it will test your patience. Just hope that the sequel will be set in the west, won't revolve around Japanese (since non Japanese are making it and don't know how to make it), improve the swordfights and controls and actually include blood and gore (which was lacking)..........only then might the game be a great game overall. Atm it's an average game with some great gunfights brought down by a load of mess. I give it a 7 and that's being generous. Expand
  9. DerekS.
    Dec 13, 2007
    6
    Red Steel is a good shooter, but not great. It was rushed at launch. Though there is 4 person multiplay, a satisfying single player, and fun gameplay, most of the time, there are blatant flaws. Bad voice acting, bad character models, small bugs, no online play, boring sword fights. There's a sequel coming out. You are better off purchasing that.
  10. ChrisM.
    Sep 19, 2007
    7
    This is an awesome game. Ignore all of the fake reviews giving it bad scores (they are all obviously paid by competitors to slander the game, no one gives games a 1, 2 or 3 unless they're trying to reduce the overall rating of it), it's an obvious tactic because they're getting smashed by the Wii. Red Steel has sold over a million copies world-wide, despite the political This is an awesome game. Ignore all of the fake reviews giving it bad scores (they are all obviously paid by competitors to slander the game, no one gives games a 1, 2 or 3 unless they're trying to reduce the overall rating of it), it's an obvious tactic because they're getting smashed by the Wii. Red Steel has sold over a million copies world-wide, despite the political tactics employed by competitors. I didn't buy this game for a while after getting my Wii because of all the bad reviews, but I finally did get it and it's a very fun game to play. All everyone does is talk about graphics, but no-one mentioned graphics when the Gamecube had games that looked better than anything on XBOX or PS2, (Metroid 2, Mario Soccer etc...) but now that's all anyone talks about. This game is fun to play. The controls are NOT HARD TO LEARN. WHAT IS HARD ABOUT DUCKHUNT??? If you can't point a gun at a screen then you should be classified as disabled, and as a disabled minority you should not really comment on what the masses should or shouldn't think of something. BTW this game is not short either, despite what some reviews have said. The reviews I've read for this game have led me to not trust any reviews anymore. Reviewing videogames has become a form of paid advatorial. These game sites are leeches... they don't create anything, they just attempt to dictate what other people should do and like... anyone with half a brain should realise this and take reviews as what they are - namely ONE PERSON'S OPINION. Of course this review is only one person's opinion (mine), but I'm reviewing the state of videogame critics and the legitimacy they have in this current world-state. I never cared what score a game got back in the early nineties when I was 10 years old, I just cared if it was fun. Now all anyone cares about is the score the game gets! And for the record, the term "next gen" could possibly refer to many things. The supposed "Next-Gen" graphics of the PS2 and XBOX 360 are not really as immersive as "NEXT-GEN CONTROLLERS!" All that aside, I'll probably still be playing Haze on the PS2 because Free Radical aren't bringing it out on any other system, same for GTA4 (cause I don't have $2,000 for a new PC to run it)... but I'll have to wait until the system price is reasonable, because right now IT COSTS TOO MUCH. It doesn't cost Sony any more money to produce these systems than it does to produce the PS2 systems they sell for next to nothing. Perhaps these companies might realise the way to dominate is to make the system affordable (almost at a loss or breaking even) and then to sell LOTS of games, instead of making the system unaffordable and mutilating the market, when the actual real costs of making the machine are so minimal it's almost criminal. Expand
  11. truedat
    Jul 6, 2007
    5
    This game is incredible at first, but gets boring really fast. Limited amount of weapons, horrible AI and choppy conrtoller motion take away from the not-so-bad storyline. All the levels are the same enemies, same weapons in a different setting. It has so much potential, especially with the sword fighting, but it's just an unpolished game. Definately expected more from ubisoft.
  12. NoahW.
    Jul 1, 2007
    7
    This is an excellent game. It uses the wiimote and numchuck in a way no other game I've played has, making you feel as though you are holding the gun. It also has a style unique to most modern FPS's. Instead of missions or battles, you just fight your way to the next place, usually in little skirmishes. The interface is like a cross between those flash games where you shoot the This is an excellent game. It uses the wiimote and numchuck in a way no other game I've played has, making you feel as though you are holding the gun. It also has a style unique to most modern FPS's. Instead of missions or battles, you just fight your way to the next place, usually in little skirmishes. The interface is like a cross between those flash games where you shoot the targets moving across the screen and a mouselook FPS shooter. The swordplay could use a bit of work, though. You use moves, such as slashing with the wiimote and parrying by swing your numchuch, so it's pretty fun, but actually happens so little in the game. You will on swordfight someone only a few times per level, and you can't at all in multiplayer mode. The graphics are ok, not very flashy (except maybe for the explosions... preeetyyy explooosiiiooons), but what they lack the gameplay makes up for. Expand
  13. KarlP.
    Mar 12, 2007
    7
    What can you say about this game? A passable 3rd person shooter which takes control to the next level by using a combination of control stick (nan chuck) for movement and light gun for looking around & aiming (wii remote). It ought to be really good, but somehow it's just OK (sword fighting is an after thought, controls are a bit fiddly, game gets repetitive). Try this game to see What can you say about this game? A passable 3rd person shooter which takes control to the next level by using a combination of control stick (nan chuck) for movement and light gun for looking around & aiming (wii remote). It ought to be really good, but somehow it's just OK (sword fighting is an after thought, controls are a bit fiddly, game gets repetitive). Try this game to see where this genre will be heading, but don't expect to remember this one in a few years time. Expand
  14. BRIAND.
    Feb 16, 2007
    7
    Good graphics and gameplay but didn't last long enough. Finished in less than 10 hrs of playing. Would have been very good if it were online multiplayer.
  15. JamesT.
    Jan 31, 2007
    7
    Even though the gamplay isn't the best in the world, a good story line and a nice fun, easy game to play is all you need after you have came in from work. With the throw of a numchuck doors will open, tables will be kicked to use for cover and other great features. Theres one major fault I found with the game when playing and that was the swords! Only three ways to attack with the Even though the gamplay isn't the best in the world, a good story line and a nice fun, easy game to play is all you need after you have came in from work. With the throw of a numchuck doors will open, tables will be kicked to use for cover and other great features. Theres one major fault I found with the game when playing and that was the swords! Only three ways to attack with the sword, a dodging move and one blocking move lets the amazing gun play seem stupid. Expand
  16. SteveW.
    Jan 9, 2007
    6
    This game is not deserving of the harsh criticism it is receiving. Nor is it worthy of any accolades some have given it (nintendo UK). I am finding it about as much fun as Call of Duty 3 but red steel has more play time and multi player. The swordplay could have been better (like Zelda) and the AI is not good. But, I still enjoy easy shooters nonetheless.
  17. JonnyT.
    Dec 11, 2006
    6
    I was really hyped for this game but i gotta say i was disappointed. I personally dont mind the bad graphics all that much. But in multiplayer mode, theyre just way too horrible to overlook. youre player's arm doesnt even match with the person youre using! Pretty bad v-acting Controls were alrite but too difficult to explain to my friends for multiplayer mode.
  18. AllistairP.
    Dec 5, 2006
    7
    Decent enough, and sadly in the top 3 launch titles for the Wii. I had a good time with it, and especially enjoyed the controls (although they were buggy). It'd be nice to see a Half-Life caliber shooter with this control set up. Better than COD3, but not as flashy.
  19. ChrisH.
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    Critics are slamming it a little too hard. Dual-analog control sucks anyway, this is paving the way for the Wii's future. Not perfect but pretty fun.
  20. ChrisD.
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    It's a pretty nice looking game with a great soundtrack, but the controls are a little iffy and there are a few glitches. It's not too bad, but not un-noticiable. There are some nice touches though using the controls for certain features such as opening doors and zooming in. The sword fight sequences are the most disappointing though. The sword has a delayed response and is It's a pretty nice looking game with a great soundtrack, but the controls are a little iffy and there are a few glitches. It's not too bad, but not un-noticiable. There are some nice touches though using the controls for certain features such as opening doors and zooming in. The sword fight sequences are the most disappointing though. The sword has a delayed response and is really lacking the fun you get from using the guns. For anyone looking to purchase the game, I found it to be a good introduction to the FPS genre on the Wii. Expand
  21. BryanM.
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    this game is really good, its controls are a little bad but other than that the game is a great wii game if you like killing this may be the game for you. I mean when can you use a sword then a gun in the same game. thats right never.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 54
  2. Negative: 5 out of 54
  1. It's liquid movement... A massive improvement on previous console FPS control... Not only making excellent use of the Wii's controllers, this is huge fun in its own right. For a launch title to get so much right is an indicator of great things to come. [Dec 2006, p.70]
  2. There are still some minor control issues, and the game is still incredibly inconsistent in terms of visual acuity, but in spite of this Red Steel is still an unquestionably fun game to play.
  3. Red Steel introduces a promising control scheme both for shooting thugs and for slashing them with samurai swords, but wraps it in a buggy, thoroughly unimpressive game.