User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 289

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Alongside a perfect amount of tension all the way through the game, Resident Evil captures the elements of suspense and fear, with only a few cheap shocks.Without a ridiculous amount of weapons, and several nasty surprises, we all can witness a game for the ages but now with precise Wii controls. Originally one of the best games ever, Resident Evil 4 can also add on of the best Wii games to its trophy cabinet. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  3. May 23, 2011
    9
    I originally had the Gamecube version but really disliked playing a shooter with a controller (main reason I haven't finished Metroid Prime). I didn't get too far so when the the Wii version came out I exchanged it at my local GameStop. For me it was a HUGE difference, the controls were much more intuitive and I was completely addicted to the game! The graphics were great, the controls were awesome, the story is intriguing and the bosses are intense. If you end up liking RE4 I suggest you checkout RE5 on PC/PS3/Xbox 360 also and definitely play it with a friend! Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Resident Evil 4 for Wii is the best game of the RE franchise. It has everything that a RE game needs, plus the precision and comfort of the Wii controller. Highly recommended to play only on the Wii system. No system ever will give you the satisfaction and pleasure the Wii version gives. I become speechless at how great the controller is suited for this game. After the Wii version I am not playing other RE games on other consoles. And trust me, I am not exagerating, after the Wii you too will understand how clumsy the regular controllers are. If you still haven't played it yet on Wii. Go get yourself a Wii and a copy of RE4 right now! Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    I don't care what anyone says - I love this game. I understand it's not like the other Resident Evil games, but you have to take it for what it is and not what you expected it to be. The weapons are all interesting and varied, and even the weapons that become outclassed in the short run are arguably superior in the long run once you unlock the weapon's "exclusive" ability. This, in relevance to having limited case size is what forces the player to make interesting decisions as to what weapons they will keep. I love the difficulty level of this game. It's not easy, but it's not frustratingly hard. I'll be playing through this game at least once a year for years and years to come. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    When people used to ask me what my favorite game was I would always say Zelda Ocarina of Time. Now, I have to seriously decide how I'm feeling that day whether I say this or that.
  7. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    This is exactly why I love Resident Evil. I loved it when Resident Evil stopped using a fixed camera, its even better in 3rd person. And now its even better, its very satisfying to be able to point and shoot. Hopefully the series will go back to this, scary and easy to control. The Wii version is the best version of RE4 by far, it includes everything from the PS2 and GameCube versions. It's a must buy. Expand
  8. May 12, 2011
    10
    To me It's the Best of all the Resident Evil Games and the first to get everything right! Sure the Chainsaw Wielding Maniac is Scary but he doesn't scare me! Overall It is the Best game in the Resident Evil Genre!
  9. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Movement is slow and clunky, and character is unable to strafe. Boat sections in particular are very frustrating to try navigating. Much of the game is an annoying escort mission. Enemies are "zombie-like," meaning they're very slow and have poor pathfinding. Voice acting is sub-par and the dialogue very bland. Controls are unintuitive and I would have liked more musical and atmosphere variety. With the bad out of the way, the boss fights are very impressive, unique, and fun. Being able to "combine" items in inventory usually means you need to use moon logic or click every single item on another - but RE:4 handles it very well. Enemies are well-varied and surprising. Puzzles are challenging enough to be enjoyable but not too much to become frustrating. Balance and pacing are solid -- unlike many in its genre, it does not draw out gameplay by making you walk around aimlessly for 30m+. Devs create tension very successfully though the game cannot touch the ankles of games like those by Frictional in creating an atmosphere of dread. Still, the game is a fun shooter with plenty of gameplay variety, very worthy of a play. Expand
  10. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    As good as the Gamecube version but better with all modes being unlockable (Assignment Ada, Separate Ways, Mercenaries)... Also, the Wii controls make the game more fun and actually loosens the gameplay up for better control. I am not a huge fan of ports when the graphics aren't improved upon but in this case they added more content and different controls so the score stays the same for me
  11. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Would have to be my most played game ever. It has everything that I like in a game, being that it has a good story, big range of weapons, available upgrades, heaps of sell-able items, action and re-playability! It also beats the PS2/PC versions I reckon, with a better aiming system, motion sensed aiming and extra features. Yup
  12. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    The game is great. It's scary and full of action. The anger that grows in the player when talking with the main villains make the game more realistic and enjoyable. Despite I not being a fan of FPS, RE4 is the best one-player FPS out there.
  13. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    This is everything the PS2 version offers, but with the visual quality of the gamecube version. The wii version is a slight improvement over the cube version on a graphic stand point. The motion controls almost make this version too easy. However, they work and are very fun.
  14. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    When I saw it in game store, I just thought 'Yes, another brutally Shooter." But, then I insert it in my Wii, and 'Wow', graphic, animations, setting and story are only awesome. I recommend this game for every person, who loves zombies or similary stuff.
  15. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    Probably the best survival horror game i've ever played and also one of the best game for the Wii. The gameplay is great and holding the wii remote as a gun is definetly an improvement to the experience. The game also has a pretty good story. The only complaint I have about the game was that some of the boss fights where to easy, however it's only a minor issue to the overall game experience. I'd definetly recommend this to anyone who likes horror games and maybe even to those that doesn't. Expand
  16. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil 4 (no matter what console you play on) is a fantastic game. Graphics were pretty good and it was a very fun game. Mercenaries gave me incentive to beat everything and five star everything and the story was a fun ride. The Wii version is a great way to control the action, because aiming the Wii remote to someone's head never felt so good. People complain that you can't move while you shoot, and give the stupidest score for that reason. I say it adds to the tension so that you don't have your sights aimed at all times so you can fire a few shots and get out before the enemies get to you. I still find this game better than RE5 or RE6. Fantastic on whatever platform of choice. Expand
  17. 4DI
    Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Ultimate game with ultimate controls. With an ultimate widescreen mode, with the ultimate affordable price.
    Need I say more?
  18. Dec 16, 2012
    6
    Good game. It is nothing compared to the old REs, but it's still good. Nice graphics, gameplay and plot. Recommended only if you like Resident Evil very much, but you don't care about its big gameplay change.
  19. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This one is far too good. I looked at this when it first came out and it has nice graphics the enemies was smart enough to know your every move. This is what Resident Evil games should really look like and feel, Capcom has done a lot on this game that it's too good on any console! I like the controls for most part of this game but sadly it has been on other consoles too so you won't get much on this game as it's the same thing from the PS2 and Gamecube versions. Expand
  20. May 27, 2013
    10
    The best version of Resident Evil 4. The wii controls are really outstanding; the proof is that the game is easier than the gamecube version.
    In my opinion the best resident evil to date: it has the survival horror vibe but it's never boring because it's packed with action.
    If you have a Wii, you must have this game!
  21. May 19, 2013
    9
    A great game. I recommend it to people who want a really good third person action game. Apart from Revelations, it was the last great resident evil game.
  22. May 5, 2013
    8
    Come one guys this is just a copy over from the PS2 version just on the Wii now don't add new things to this game at all so Capcom what is the point of this?

    Anyway I think the game can be so easy if you shoot a guy in face or leg he be stunned enough for you to attack him a special move that's the point I hate because like Dr Salvador who is quite hard when shot in face but these guys
    are easy if only they was hard too then I would accpet it.

    I am sorry but most the time you will be shooting them in the face and doing special moves a lot in this game. It's has some decent puzzles like when you had to find all these 5 bits for a wall then you can leave the place a nice RE game only copyed over it is nice to use the wii remote and stuff or you can use the controller too which I find helpful to, all in all tihs game is grand outing for re fans.
    Expand
  23. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    This is the best Resident Evil Game yet.
    This is better than the other platform versions of the game.
    A lot of thrills, twists, zombies and awesome Boss fights.
    The ultimate Survival Game..
  24. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This game is so awesome. long and hard, this game will last for months! you have to buy this game. get it for free on http://kickass.to/ i cant believe this game gets even one bad review!
  25. Dec 10, 2013
    4
    When Resident Evil 4 first released back 2005, Gameplay turn from Good to Worst since became Noobish, Story was ok part just thanks to Ada Scenes along with Wesker Scenes, only good part of this Rerelease is Motion Sensing Gameplay.
    Gameplay: 4/10
    Story: 6/10
    Total: 7/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  26. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    many people consider this one of the greatest survival horror games of all time, and I would have to disagree. It is scary at times and has a tense atmosphere throughout the game, but I found previous games in the series such as resident evil 2 better horror games since they simply scared me more. but with that being said, it is still a respectable survival horror game but its strengths lie more in the gameplay and mechanics. the controls feel great and making a headshot in a game has never felt more satisfying. the settings in the game look great and are very memorable, such as the village in the beginning of the game. as far as games go, this one is nearly flawless, I'm sure people prefer the gamecube or playstation 2 version better because of the controller and what not and Ashley is one of the most annoying NPC is video game history, but besides that, this game is pure gold, just wish it could have been a bit scarier. The regenerators were pretty terrifying though Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Though they suffer a bit when things get hectic, the Wii-mote-enabled controls generally serve RE4 well: Aiming weapons, swiping your knife, and shaking off face-sucking nasties with real-world moves adds urgency to an already incredibly intense experience. [July 2007, p.82]
  2. It has the looks, it has the compelling level design, and it has the scary bits. Check, then: this is Resident Evil 4 all over again, but slightly better.
  3. The most intense gaming experience on the Wii...It will consume you. [July 2007, p.80]